Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kindler, Hans, 1892-1949. |
| Title: | Hans Kindler Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1933 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Letter from conductor and cellist Hans Kindler to Mrs. Charles Edward Russell, regarding Kindler's refusal to sign an unspecified petition. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Hans Kindler (1892-1949) was an American cellist and conductor. He played with the Philadelphia Symphony for many years and founded the National Symphony Orchestra in 1931; he was its conductor until 1949.
Theresa Russell was an American suffragist. Her husband Charles Edward Russell (1860-1941) was an American journalist, politician and author. He wrote several books, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning biography, The American Orchestra and Theodore Thomas (1928).
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Hans Kindler Letter consists of one letter from Kindler to Charles Edward Russell's wife, Theresa, concerning Kindler's refusal to sign a petition. The nature of the petition is not given.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Hans Kindler Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1969.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 27 May 2010
Revision history: