Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Kipling, Rudyard, 1865-1936.
Title:	Rudyard Kipling Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1874-1964
Quantity:	16.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the British author, novelist, poet, journalist. Includes correspondence, writings, and memorabilia of Kipling himself, well as research material from a number of private collections. Kipling material consists of correspondence, totaling over 950 items (over 750 authored by Kipling); writings, including manuscript (handwritten and typed) and published versions of Kipling's prose, speeches, verse and dramatic works; memorabilia (legal material, photographs, portraits and caricatures); printed materials; writings by others; and miscellany. The private collections consist of Kipling material formerly owned by H.H. and S.S. McClure, E.W. Martindell, and Alan D. Wilson.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Joseph Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936) was an English author and poet. His best-known works include the novels and short story collections The Jungle Book (1894), Just So Stories (1902), Puck of Pook's Hill (1906), and Kim (1901), as well as a number of poems such as "Mandalay" (1890), "Gunga Din" (1890), and "If--" (1910).

Kipling was born in Bombay, India, into an artistic family: his father was a sculptor, pottery designer, and professor of architectural sculpture and two of his aunts were married to painters (Georgiana to Edward Burne-Jones and Agnes to Edward Poynter). At the age of six and he his sister were sent back to England to school, as was common with the children of British colonial India. After six unsatisfactory years with a Mr. and Mrs. Holloway, Rudyard and Trix were taken in by their aunt Georgiana.

Kipling attended the United Services College in Devon and then went to Lahore in what is now Pakistan to become assistant editor of a small newspaper. In addition to editing, Kipling contributed a great many stories to the paper (approximately 39 in one year) and several travel sketches. In 1889 Kipling returned to London via a roundabout eight-month journey that took him to Rangoon, Singapore, Hong Kong and Japan, and various cities in the United States and Canada. Upon his arrival in London he began building a reputation as a writer, publishing two novels in two years along with several short stories.

In 1892 Kipling married Carrie Balestier and shortly thereafter the couple moved to the United States, settling in Vermont, where Kipling began writing the Jungle Book stories and produced four novels in four years. In July 1899, despite their pleasant life in Vermont, Kipling decided to return to England and came to Torquay on the Devon coast. Kipling soon earned a reputation as "the poet of the Empire" and when he and his family paid a Christmas visit to the British colonies in South Africa (which became an annual tradition) they were warmly received.

In 1907 Kipling was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature "in consideration of the power of observation, originality of imagination, virility of ideas and remarkable talent for narration which characterize the creations of this world-famous author," becoming the first English-language recipient.

After World War I, during which Kipling's only son John was killed, he wrote (1923) a two-volume history of his son's regiment, the Irish Guards, which is considered to be one of the finest examples of regimental history. He also became a "roving correspondent" for the British press. Among his other occupations, in 1922 he developed "The Ritual of the Calling of an Engineer" for the University of Toronto, a statement of duties and responsibilities to be recited by graduates in engineering; the ritual is sometimes called the Kipling Ritual and is still in use today. In 1925 he became Lord Rector of St. Andrews University in Scotland, though his writing began to slow somewhat in the late 1920s and early 1930s.

Kipling died in 1936 and his ashes were interred in Poet's Corner in Westminster Abbey, in the company of other luminaries of British literature including Geoffrey Chaucer, Edmund Spenser, Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, and Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Samuel S. McClure (18570-1949) and Herbert Henry McClure (died 1938) were cousins and members of a publishing family, who founded the first American newspaper syndicate. Together they lauinched and/or supported numerous authors including Willa Cather, Booth Tarkington, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Charles Dana Gibson. H.H. McClure counted Kipling amond his personal friends. E.W. (Ernest Walter) Martindell (1873-1951) was a British lawyer, member of the Royal Anthropological Institute, and Kipling's first bibliographer. No information can be found about Alan D. Wilson.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Rudyard Kipling Collection contains the papers of the British author, novelist, poet, and journalist, as well as three small collections of Kipling material formerly owned by H.H. and S.S. McClure, E.W. Martindell, and Alan D. Wilson.

Correspondence contains more than 950 items, both incoming and outgoing, with the vast majority from Kipling. Some items were written by his secretaries on his behalf. Correspondents include publishers and editors (H.H. and S.S. McClure, Doubleday), other authors (Somerset Maugham, Frederick W. Childs) collaborators (Louise Sington, who set some of Kipling's verse to music), and relatives (aunts, uncles, cousins). There is also some correspondence of Kipling's close family (wife, parents, children) and a small amount of correspondence between third parties.

Writings include Kipling's prose, speeches, verse and dramatic works, and so on. Formats include manuscript (handwritten and typed), proofs, galleys, and published versions. KpR numbers in this section refer to those assigned by Barbara Rosenbaum in the Index of English Literary Manuscripts (London; New York: Mansell, c1990, Vol. 4, pt. 2).

Memorabilia consists of legal material, photographs, and portraits and caricatures. Of particular interest is a power of attorney concerning the estate of Cecil John Rhodes, British politician and South African Prime Minister for whom Rhodesia was named.

Printed material includes clippings about Kipling and miscellaneous items such as dealer catalogues, and writings by others about Kipling. Published editions originally in this series have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; a list of titles is retained in the inventory.

Miscellany includes bookplates, Kipling's pipe and typewriter, several scrapbooks, and assorted other items. There is also a printed meeting notice listing Kipling as an honorary member of Masonic Authors Lodge No. 3456.

The McClure collection contains a few items of correspondence, writings (one item by Kipling, the rest by McClure), some notes on Kipling's lawsuit against Putnam, and memorabilia (clippings, photographs, etc).

The E.W. Martindell collection contains one letter, a folder of 29 uncollected Kipling verses, and a folder of clippings with a short explanatory piece by Martindell.

The Alan D. Wilson collection, the largest of the three private collections included here, consists of correspondence (one item is from Kipling and one from his secretary; the rest are to/from others), several pieces of writing about Kipling (most are by Lloyd H, Chandler), and some personal memorabilia of Wilson's

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged by correspondent's name. Correspondence of his close family (wife, children, parents) is arranged by family member. Third party (neither from nor to Kipling) is arranged alphabetically by sender. Writings and Memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type. The three smaller collections are arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Published editions of Kipling's work, and a few other published items, have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, as noted in the inventory below. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Rudyard Kipling Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection purchased from various dealers, starting in 1950.

Some items, gift of William Pearson Tolley, David J. Holmes, and Lisa Lewis.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: Mar 1993
Revision history: 20 Nov 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Apr 2015 - amended date on Henley letter (MRC); 5 May 2017 - Goodchild items added, abbreviations expanded (MRC); 2 May 2019 - additions (KD); 10 Sep 2021 - additions processed, correspondence redone (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Actors' Orphanage 1923 - signed by Gerald du Maurier
Box 1		Adam, Pearl [Mrs. George] 1920, 1926-1931
Box 1		Adee, Mr. [Alvey?] 1897
Box 1		Alden, P. M. 1916
Box 1		Aldous, B. E. 1932
Box 1		Allen, George 1897
Box 1		Arkwright, John S. 1901
Box 1		Armitage, Mrs. 1898, 1908
Box 1		Association of American Authors 1893
Box 1		Baldwin, George 1904-1906, 1913
Box 1		Barnett, Mr. 1916
Box 1		Barr, Robert [aka Luke Sharp] 1896
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Barr, Robert.
Box 1		Barton, Plunket 1926
Box 1		Baskerfield, William V. 1933, 1935 - letters relate to duties as chauffeur
Box 1		Beaman, A. G. 1933
Box 1		Beauchamp, Earl [William Lygon] 1927
Box 1		Becher, Mrs. 1932
Box 1		Beckett, Captain 1915
Box 1		Beith, J. H. [John Hay] 1922
Box 1		Bell, Fitzroy 1890-1891
Box 1		Belt, Anthony 1913, undated
Box 1		Bensusan, S. L. (Samuel Levy) 1913, 1926-1935
Box 1		Bentley, Richard 1925
Box 1		Berthout, Leon 1916
Box 1		Besant, Walter 1898
Box 1		Bisland, Elizabeth [1890]
Box 1		Black, [Steven William?] 1908
Box 1		Black, Mrs. 1912
Box 1		Blackburn, Vernon [1899]
Box 1		Blankenberg, [R.A.?] 1920
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Jan Christiaan Smuts.
		Blanchan, Neltje
			See [Doubleday], Nelli.
		Block, Rudolph Edgar
			See [Lessing, Bruno].
Box 1		Blogg, Miss [1897]
Box 1		Blumenfeld, [Ralph D.?] 1911, 1918
Box 1		Blyth, Lord 1912, 1918, 1920
Box 1		Bok, Edward William 1893, 1902-1915, 1918, 1920, 1923-1925, 1935, undated (4 folders)
Box 1		Booth, John Bennion 1927, 1934-1935 - includes 1 letter written by Kipling's secretary, C.L. Nicholson
Box 1		Boothby, Guy Newll 1893, 1901
Box 1		Boothby, Geoffrey 1921, 1927
Box 1		Bradley, A. O. 1931
Box 1		Brand, Mr. 1908
Box 1		Braver, Miss undated
Box 1		Brentanos 1899
Box 1		Bres, Dr. Pierre and Madame 1934-1936
Box 1		Brisbane, Arthur 1899
Box 1		British Empire League 1899
Box 1		Bruce, A. Selwyn 1909
Box 1		Buckle, George Earle 1897, 1902, undated - includes one item written to Mrs. Buckle, which would have been his first wife, Alicia Isobel Payn
Box 1		Bullen, [Frank Thomas] 1898, 1914 - includes typescripts of the 1898 letters
Box 1		Burlingame, [Edward L.] 1894, 1897 - includes cover layout of 1894 issue in which article appeared, original watercolor by Howard Pyle; one item (1897) letter is photocopy of original letter in Burlingame Family Papers at SU
Box 1		Burne, C. V. 1917
Box 1		Byng, Lady [Marie Evelyn, Viscountess Byng of Vimy?] undated
Box 1		Camp, E. M. 1894
Box 1		Canney, Leigh 1903
Box 1		Capel Cure, E. 1916
Box 1		Carnegie, Andrew [1899?] - written by someone on Carnegie's staff conveying a personal note from him to Kipling
Box 1		Cecil, Lady Edward [Violet Georgina] 1902, 1908-1917 (4 folders)
			Following her second marriage, Lady Cecil became Viscountess Milner; thus, see also Milner, Lady Alfred.
Box 1		Chandler, Lloyd H. 1929-1930 - photocopies of originals in the Alan D. Wilson material (see below)
			See also Correspondence : Third party (below); there are also numerous Chandler items in the Alan D. Wilson material (below).
Box 2		Chapman, Major [1910?]
Box 2		Chappell, H. [Henry] 1917-1918 - known as the 'Bath Railway Poet'
Box 2		Cherry-Gararrd, Apsley 1913
Box 2		Childs, Mr. and Mrs. 1900 - authors of The Ancients Abroad in 1896, thus presumably Frederick W. Childs
Box 2		Clark, [ ] 1922, 1926 - letters addressed variously to "Lady", "Mrs.", and "Major Hartley", about their son's book on Afghan carpets
Box 2		Colvin, Ian D. 1909-1913, 1916-1922, 1933, undated (2 folders)
Box 2		Conant, Miss 1895
Box 2		Connabeer, A. J. 1908
Box 2		Cooke, J. H. Corpl. 1893
Box 2		Cope, Mr. 1906
Box 2		Creighton 1925
Box 2		Curties, Dr. [Arthur William Statter] 1913, 1926-1930, 1934, undated (3 folders)
			See also Correspondence : Family : Kipling, Caroline (wife).
Box 2		Cushing, J. 1922
Box 2		Customs Officer 1934
Box 2		D. Appleton and Company 1893
Box 2		Davis, Mr. [Richard Harding?] 1892
Box 2		Dawson, Sir Bertrand 1911
Box 2		Dixon-Spain, Rev. T. 1913
Box 2		Dodge, Mary Mapes 1894, 1897
Box 2		Doubleday, Nelli [Mrs. Frank N.] 1905
Box 2		Drury, Col. W. P. 1925
Box 2		Dufferin, Lord 1924
Box 2		Edmonds, P. N. 1918
Box 2		Edwards, R. W. K. 1913
Box 2		[Elliott & Fry] [1894]
Box 2		Ensor, Miss [Mary C.] 1911
Box 2		Falconer, Bruce M. 1901
Box 2		Farrère, [Claude] 1933
Box 2		Feilden, Henry Wemyss 1904-1914, 1918-1920 (9 folders)
Box 3		Feilden, Henry Wemyss 1921, 1932, undated (3 folders)
Box 3		Fiennes, [ ] 1923
Box 3		Fletcher, Sir Henry 1900
Box 3		Flight, Claude 1906-1909 - artist
Box 3		Flint, Henry N. 1936 - written by Kipling's secretary, C.L. Nicholson
Box 3		Foster, A. T. 1924
Box 3		Fraser, [William A.?] [1897?], undated
Box 3		Frazer, Sir James George 1923
Box 3		French, W. 1900
Box 3		Frere-Reeves, A. S. [Alexander Stuart] 1925, 1927-1934, undated (2 folders)
Box 3		Frewen, Moreton 1912, 1914, 1918, undated
Box 3		Frost, E. Elliott 1906 - photocopy; original is cataloged (View catalog record)
Box 3		Frost, John W. [son-in-law of Augustus T. Gurlitz] 1929
Box 3		Fry, Oliver Armstrong 1899
Box 3		Furlong, Gerald 1919
Box 3		Garlick, Mr. 1908
Box 3		Gilder, [R.W.] 1892
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Gilder, R.W.
Box 3		Gill, Mr. 1917
Box 3		Gilmour [Gilmore?], Mr. 1919
Box 3		Glossop, Miss undated
Box 3		Gollancz, [Israel] 1917
Box 3		Goodchild, Mr. undated - 4 telegraph messages to a Mr. Goodchild in Springfield, MA
Box 3		Gosse, Edmund 1890 - includes book cover that held the letter
Box 3		Grandande 1921
Box 3		Grayson, Tristram 1931
Box 3		Greely, H. W. 1899
Box 3		Grosvenor, [Caroline] undated
Box 3		Gubbins, J. G. 1925
Box 3		Guitous Stores 1934
Box 3		Gurlitz, Augustus 1899-1904, undated - includes 2 empty envelopes
			See also Correspondence : Family, under both Caroline and John Lockwood; and Correspondence : Third party: Watt, A.P.
Box 3		Gurney, J. H. [John Henry] 1911
Box 3		Guthrie, Mrs. 1901
Box 3		Gwynne, Roland [Vaughan] 1930-1935
Box 3		Haines, Reginald 1906
Box 3		Hanlon, Elizabeth (Betty) 1930
Box 3		Harding, W. J. 1912
Box 3		Hargreaves, Mr. 1914
		Hay, Ian
			See Beith, J. H. [John Hay].
Box 3		Heard, General G. S. 1928
Box 3		Heathcote 1901
Box 3		Henley, [William Ernest] 1890, 1892, undated
Box 3		[Herbert], Stephen 1893
Box 3		Heron-Maxwell, Mrs. 1926
Box 3		Hodgson, [William] Earl 1909
Box 3		Hodgson, J. E. 1921
Box 3		Hodson, [Leonard James] 1915, 1921
Box 3		Holland, T. [?] 1907
Box 3		Hooper, G. 1889
Box 3		Hooper, Maggie [1910]
Box 3		Hunt, [A.?] 1905, 1928, undated - one item is a photocopy; original is tipped into The Five Nations, which has been cataloged
Box 3		Hunting, H. A., Sub-Lt. 1922
Box 3		Huth, Captain 1915
Box 3		Jacobs, Joseph 1909
Box 3		James, F. E. 1902
Box 3		Janeway, Edward G. 1899, undated - notes written about Kipling's health during his bout with pneumonia
Box 3		Jefferson, Miss 1918
Box 3		Jillbert, [?] 1890
Box 4		Johnson, Charles P. [Plumptre] 1922
Box 4		Johnson, R. M. 1912
Box 4		Johnson, [Robert U.] 1935
Box 4		Kaye, W. J. 1920
Box 4		Kell, Copeland [1899], undated
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Kell, Copeland.
Box 4		Kett, R. 1929
Box 4		Keyes, Sir Roger 1920, 1925, 1928
Box 4		Klingel, M. P. 1927
Box 4		Larkin, Mr. [Peter Charles] 1922, 1928
Box 4		Lawrence, Neville 1933
Box 4		Lawrence, Miss T. 1935
Box 4		Lawrence, T. E. 1919, 1922
Box 4		Lawrence, Walter 1897-1900, 1904, 1928
Box 4		Le Blond, Mrs. [Elizabeth Hawkins-Whitshed?] 1924
Box 4		Lee, John S. 1891
Box 4		Legal and Commercial Insurance Co. Ltd. 1911
Box 4		Legouis, Emile 1922
Box 4		Leonard, Mr. and Mrs. 1904-1905, 1908, 1910
Box 4		[Lessing, Bruno] 1898
Box 4		Levy, Monsieur 1927
Box 4		Lewis, Randolph 1922
Box 4		L'Hopital, Captain 1927
Box 4		Livingston, Mrs. Luther S. [Flora V.] 1935
			See also and Correspondence : Third party : Livingston, Flora V. and Alan D. Wilson collection : Correspondence.
Box 4		Loraine, Mr. 1913
Box 4		Low, [Morgens] undated
Box 4		Low, Peter 1899
Box 4		Low, Sir Sidney 1922
Box 4		Lucas, E. V. 1930, 1932
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Lucas, E.V.
Box 4		Lyons, Arthur 1922
Box 4		MacAlister, Ian 1931
Box 4		MacColl, Norman 1891
Box 4		Mahon, Captain R. F. Haviland 1924
Box 4		Mais, S.P.B. [Stuart Petre Brodie] 1934
Box 4		Malleson, [R.] 1905
Box 4		Marconi, G. 1911
Box 4		Martyn-Linnington, [ ] 1925
Box 4		Massey, Major C.F. 1910
Box 4		Matheson, G. 1901
Box 4		Matheson, Mr. 1902
Box 4		Maugham, Somerset 1928
Box 4		Maury, Miss 1901
Box 4		Mayor of Bath 1923
Box 4		McCarthy, M.J.F. 1914
Box 4		McClure, Harry H. [cousin and employee of S. S. McClure at Doubleday] 1896, 1899-1901, 1907, 1920, 1932, undated - includes several letters written by Kipling's secretary, Sara Anderson, as well as 3 telegrams sent by Kipling but signed as someone else, as a joke (2 folders)
			See also Correspondence : Third party in general, including Anna S. Balestier, Ellis Ames Ballard, Robert Barr, Kell Copeland, Frank N. Doubleday, Frank, Charles Eliot Norton, and J.B. Pond .
Box 4		McClure, S. [Samuel Sidney] 1893, 1899
			See also Correspondence : Third party : R.W. Gilder.
Box 4		Medley, Mr. 1925
Box 4		Melville, D.O. 1894
Box 4		Melville, George W. 1894
Box 4		Methuen, Lady [Emily Caroline] 1925
Box 4		Methuen, Sir Algernon 1905, 1908, 1913
Box 4		Mildmay, St. John 1935
Box 4		Milner, Lady Alfred (Violet Georgina, Viscountess Milner) 1922-1933 (3 folders)
			See also Cecil, Lady Edward.
Box 4		Milner, Lord Alfred (Viscount Milner) 1911, [1914], 1918, 1921 - one item is a copy; original in Bodleian Library
Box 4		Mineloz, H. 1897
Box 4		Minnigerode, F.L. 1926
Box 4		Mirrielees, [Sir Frederick James] 1900
Box 4		Mohommed, Sher 1911
Box 4		Monroe, Captain F. 1917
Box 4		Montague, Albert E. 1923
Box 4		Moreton, T.W.E. 1923, 1927, 1935
Box 4		Moroney, Herman 1911
			See also Writings : Miscellany : Royal Automobile Club Touring Report.
Box 4		Morrison, W.R. 1930, 1934
Box 5		Mortimer, Charles G. 1924-1927 - some responses written by Kipling's secretary, M.E. Walford
Box 5		Murray, Douglas 1907
Box 5		Nesbit, Miss 1896
Box 5		Nesbitt, Mrs. 1905
Box 5		New York Press 1899
Box 5		Nicholson, Mrs. T.J.B. 1907
Box 5		Noble, Edward 1905
Box 5		Norton, Mr. [Charles Eliot] 1895 - includes clipping that looks like it came from a more recent publication
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Norton, Charles Eliot.
Box 5		Nott, Miss M. 1916
Box 5		Nourse, Mr. [J.L.] 1895
Box 5		Paget, Stephen 1912
Box 5		Paine, Mr. 1910
Box 5		Parkin, Dr. [Sir George Robert] 1918
Box 5		Paton, J.L. 1923
Box 5		Pearson, Lucy W. 1909
Box 5		Pegram, Henry 1907
Box 5		Perry, Private 1915 - includes one written by Kipling's secretary, M. Chamberlain
Box 5		Phillips, [W.] Hallett 1895 - bound in slipcase
Box 5		Pollock [Poro?], Lady [Aug 1891?]
Box 5		Poore, Lady [Ida Margaret] 1922
Box 5		Poynter, Agnes Macdonald ("Dear Auntie") 1890
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Poynter, Agnes Macdonald.
Box 5		Poynter, Ambrose [Kipling's cousin] ("Dear Ambo") 1902
Box 5		Poynter, Hugh [Kipling's cousin] 1913
Box 5		[Poysen, Arthur] 1911
		Pyle, Howard
			See Burlingame, [Edward L.].
Box 5		Price, Mr. undated - includes typed transcription
Box 5		Ramsay, Mr. [Allen] 1918
Box 5		Rawlinson, A.R. 1934-1935
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Geoffrey Barkas.
Box 5		Raymond, Ernest 1935-1936
Box 5		Reith, Captain J.M. 1930
Box 5		Reuben Best Co. 1896
Box 5		Reynolds, L. 1924
Box 5		Ritter, Captain Morgan 1902
Box 5		Robinson, [Harry] Perry 1928 - regarding a chapter Kipling wrote ("The Silent World") for the book War Graves of the Empire
Box 5		Rochy, Jean, John, and Peter 1929
Box 5		Rodd, Lady Lilias Georgina 1909, 1915
Box 5		Rodd, James Rennell 1909, 1917, 1923-1924
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Morris, Mowbray Walter.
Box 5		Rogers, Mrs. 1930
Box 5		Rolfe, C.W.N. 1900, 1910
Box 5		Rosher, Frank 1914
Box 5		Rubin, Mr. 1932
Box 5		Runtree, Fred 1909
Box 5		Rutter 1901
Box 5		Sanders, Bernard 1934-1935
Box 5		Scott, [Frank Hall] 1894
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Scott, Frank Hall.
Box 5		Scott, Mr. undated - Kipling's note to Scott written on back of telegram from Doubleday to McClure
Box 5		Scottish Provident Institute 1909 - includes typed transcription
Box 5		Scribner, [Charles] 1906
Box 5		Scribner's Magazine 1894
Box 5		Seccombe, Thomas 1909 - contains both original letter and photocopy
Box 5		Sedgwick, Ellery [1918]
Box 5		Shee, Mr. (of the National Service League) 1910
Box 5		Shields, James Van Allen 1924
Box 5		Sington, Mrs. [Louise?] 1892-1899, 1902-1903, 1907, 1916, 1920-1925 (3 folders)
Box 6		Sitwell, Colonel 1917
Box 6		Sladen, Douglas 1910, 1912
Box 6		Smith, Mr. 1919
Box 6		Smith, Sir James Dunlop 1917
Box 6		Smith, Miss M.M. 1922
Box 6		Smith, W.J. 1902-1904 - mostly relating to Rottingdean, where Kipling briefly lived before Bateman's in Burwash
Box 6		Smith & Winchester 1895
Box 6		Smither, W. 1912
Box 6		Snow, [ ] 1932
Box 6		Spearing, Mr. 1898
Box 6		Spencer, Walter T. 1900 - written by Kipling's secretary, Sara Anderson
Box 6		Squire, [J.C.] 1927
Box 6		Stanley, Ursula [Kipling's goddaughter] 1924, 1927-1929
Box 6		Steed, [Henry] Wickham 1935
Box 6		[Sterling, General John Barton] 1912
Box 6		Stuart, J. 1894
Box 6		Sutherland-Harris, [Col.] A. [Kipling's next door neighbour in Burwash] 1904-1908, 1911-1912, 1916, 1920, 1923, 1926, 1929, 1934, undated (3 folders)
Box 6		Swezey, Mr. 1927
Box 6		Swope, Herbert B. 1914
Box 6		Sydenham, Lord 1918
Box 6		Tait, W. Cumming 1933
Box 6		Tallents, Stephen 1926-1930, 1935
Box 6		Thompson, Rev. G. 1916
Box 6		Tomalin, Mr. 1905
Box 6		Tregaskis, James 1917, 1931-1932
			See also Correspondence : Third party : E.V. Lucas.
Box 6		Trevor-Battye, [ ] 1921
Box 6		Trotter, [ ] 1911, 1915-1916, 1920
Box 6		Trotter, Mrs. A.F. 1924
Box 6		Trotter, Mrs. 1899, 1903
Box 6		Unman, J. Fisher 1894
Box 6		Unwin, Edwin 1917
Box 6		Vaux, C. Bowyer 1913
Box 6		Vedrenne, Mr. 1913
Box 6		Villares, Senor 1927
Box 6		Wakefield, Sir Charles 1916
Box 6		Walford, M.E. [Mary Elizabeth] [Kipling's secretary] 1930-1931, 1935, undated
Box 6		Walker, Lady 1915
Box 6		Walker, Mr. 1901
Box 6		Walker, P.M. 1926
			See also Correspondence : Third party : George E. Vincent.
Box 6		Wallis, H.M. 1932
Box 6		Warne, Browne [Alfred J.] 1904
Box 6		Watson, [J. Porter] 1900, 1907, 1910-1911, 1925, 1929
			It is unclear if these were all in fact sent to the same person, especially regards the 2 latter ones.
Box 6		Watt, Mr. [A.P.] 1890
			There is a good deal of Watt material distributed throughout the collection; search on his name to locate other items.
Box 6		Wayt, A.E. 1901-1902, 1924, undated - includes transcriptions of letters
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Rosenbach Co.
Box 6		Webb, A. Patterson 1924
Box 6		Westell, W. [William] Percival 1911
Box 6		Wheeler, Ethel Rolt 1910
Box 7		White, Brother [Harved E.] 1935
Box 7		White, Edward Lucas 1893
Box 7		White, Lieutenant Commander C.E. Hughes 1935 - tipped-in letter from White and Kipling's response, in Kipling's book Sea Warfare
Box 7		Whitney, Caspar 1899
Box 7		Willard, Miss E.M. 1893
Box 7		Wilson, Alan D. 1896, 1928-1929, 1932 - includes types transcription of one letter (2 folders)
			See also Correspondence : Third party : Ballard, Ellis Ames, Correspondence : Third party : Martindell, E.W., and Alan D. Wilson material (below).
Box 7		Wilson, Sir Guy Fleetwood 1919
Box 7		Woods, W. 1898
Box 7		Wyatt, Paul 1895
Box 7		Wynne, Mr. 1928
Box 7		Young, A.B. Filson 1903-1904
Box 7		Young, John Carleton 1900-1901, 1904, 1906, 1911 - responses written by Kipling's secretaries Sara Anderson, M. Quarrier Hogg, K.E. Parker, E.R. Blaikie, and J.E. Coates (2 folders)
Box 7		The Youth's Companion 1893
Box 7		Zogbaum, Rufus Fairchild 1896, 1899 - all three items tipped in to copies of Kipling books ( Many Inventions, Barrack-Room Ballads, and Kim) (3 folders)
Box 8		Miscellaneous, first name only
Box 8		Miscellaneous, unidentified - includes letter from Kipling to unidentified publication, with pencil and ink sketch on reverse
		Family
			See also Miscellany : Letters from Kipling to his niece, nephew, and godchildren, below.
Box 8			Bambridge, Elsie (daughter) 1956 - with George P. Anderson
Box 8			Bambridge, George (son-in-law) 1910 - with Edward Knoblock
Box 8			Kipling, Alice (mother or sister; both named Alice) 1910 - with Mrs. Hales
			Kipling, Caroline (wife)
Box 8				Bensusan, [S.L.] 1936
Box 8				Black, Mrs. undated
Box 8				Carnegie, Andrew undated
Box 8				Curties, Dr. 1936
					See also his correspondence with Kipling, above.
Box 8				Doubleday, Mrs. F.N. 1899, 1930, 1936, undated - includes one to Mr. Doubleday
					See also Correspondence : Third party : Ferber, Edna and Correspondence : Third party : Laffin, William M.
Box 8				Du Chaillu, Paul 1899
Box 8				Edwards, R.W.K. 1913
Box 8				Flynt, Henry N. 1936
Box 8				Garland, Hamlin 1899
Box 8				Gurlitz, Augustus 1899-1904, undated (4 folders)
					See also his correspondence with Kipling, above, and with John Lockwood Kipling, below.
Box 8				Gwynne, Roland 1935
Box 8				Macdonald, George A. 1900
Box 8				MacLaren, Ian 1899
Box 8				McClure, H.H. 1899, 1901, 1904, undated - includes one addressed to Mrs. McClure
					See also Correspondence : Third party : Ferber, Edna and Correspondence : Third party : Laffin, William M.
Box 8				McClure, S.S. 1899
Box 8				Page, Thomas Nelson 1899
Box 8				Penniman, Mrs. Nicholas 1936
Box 8				Tesla, Nikola 1899
Box 8				Trotter, Mrs. 1901
Box 8				Watson, J.P. 1900
Box 8				Watson, John 1899
Box 8				Watt, [A.W.] 1899
Box 8				To others, by first name
Box 8				Unnamed 1895, 1899, [1929], undated
			Kipling, John Lockwood (father)
Box 8				Gurlitz, Augustus 1901
Box 8				McClure, H.H. undated
Box 8				Murray, Douglas undated
		Third party
			These items do not involve Kipling or any of his family. Items are arranged by name of sender.
Box 9			Baldwin, Stanley 1936
Box 9			Balestier, Anna S. 1899
Box 9			Ballard, Ellis Ames 1930, 1935, 1938
Box 9			Barkas, Geoffrey 1934
Box 9			Barr, Robert 1892, 1905
				See also Barr's correspondence with Kipling, above.
Box 9			Bazley, Basil M. 1955, 1961
Box 9			Birkenhead, Earl of undated
Box 9			Chandler, Lloyd H. 1936
				See also his correspondence with Kipling, above; there are also numerous items in the Alan D. Wilson material, below.
Box 9			Curtis Publishing Co. 1956
Box 9			Daily Telegraph 1919
Box 9			Frank Nelson Doubleday undated
Box 9			Ferber, Edna 1930
Box 9			Fuller, Henry B. undated
Box 9			Gilder, R.W. 1899
Box 9			Hamilton-Russell, May L. undated
Box 9			Hodder & Stoughton 1941
Box 9			Hopkins, R. Thurston 1915-1916
Box 9			James, Henry 1903-1904 - letters to his brother William
Box 9			Kell, Copeland 1899
Box 9			Ladies Home Journal 1955
Box 9			Laffan, William M. 1899
Box 9			Livingston, Flora V. 1934, 1936
				See also Correspondence : Livingston, Mrs. Luther S. [Flora V.] and Alan D. Wilson collection : Correspondence.
Box 9			Lucas, E.V. 1930-1931
Box 9			Martindell, E.W. [Ernest Walter] 1928, 1951
Box 9			McClure, H.H. 1938
Box 9			Morris, Mowbray Walter 1899
Box 9			Norton, Charles Eliot 1895, 1899
Box 9			Pond, J.B. 1899
Box 9			Poynter, Agnes Macdonald 1890
Box 9			Rosenbach Co. 1929
Box 9			Scott, Frank Hall 1896
Box 9			Smuts, Jan Christiaan 1921
Box 9			Stockton, Frank R. 1899
Box 9			Vincent, George E. 1899
Box 9			Watt, A.P. 1904
Box 9			Wilson, Alan D. 1928

	Writings
		KpR numbers in this section refer to those assigned by Barbara Rosenbaum in the Index of English Literary Manuscripts (London; New York: Mansell, c1990, Vol. 4, pt. 2).
		Prose
Box 9			"At the End of the Passage" [KpR 1411] - galley proof pages with corrections
Box 9			"Below the Mill Dam" [KpR 1435] - typescript manuscript
Oversize 1			"Dis Aliter Visum" The Pioneer [KpR 1545] 4 July 1885 - corrected copy of 1st publication; comments by Martindell written on inside folder flap
Box 9			"In the Interests of the Brethren" - 3 Galley proofs with corrections
Box 9			"Letters to the Family" - mock-up with 8 pages printed, remainder blank; printed copy with hand written notes (Toronto: Macmillan, 1910) (2 folders)
Box 9			Limits and Renewals - proof [A] with handwritten corrections
Box 10			Limits and Renewals - proof [B] with handwritten corrections
Box 10			"Naval Manoeuvres" - typescript with corrections
Box 10			"Plain Tales From the Hills" - clippings from serialized story that appeared in The Civil and Military Gazette (British India) mounted on paper, along with a written explanation on the folder by E.W. Martindell
Box 10			Preface to Andre Chevrillon's L'Angleterre et la Guerre - autographed manuscript with handwritten revisions
Box 10			Puck of Pook's Hill 1906 - proof copy of first edition (London) with handwritten corrections
Box 10			Soldier Tales - 13 head and tail pieces
Oversize 2			Soldier Tales - painted illustrations (approx. 13" x 9"), matted, 10 full-size pieces
Oversize 3			Soldier Tales - painted illustrations (approx. 13" x 9"), matted, 11 full-size pieces
Box 10			"Surgical and Medical" - handwritten manuscript
Box 10			"The Tabu Tale" - galley proof with handwritten corrections
Box 10			"Thy Servant a Dog" - proof
Box 10			"The Visitation of the Sick" - typescript with holographic corrections
Box 10			"The War in the Mountains" [KpR 2219] - revised typescript of first (discarded) article; 2 sets of galley proofs for the first edition, each with Kipling's corrections (2 folders)
Box 10			"The Way That He Took" Parts I and II Nov-Dec 1900 - The Cosmopolitan, vol. 30, no. 1 and no. 2
		Speeches
Box 10			Untitled, re: Thugs in India - 1 p. fragment typescript, with handwritten corrections
		Verse and dramatic works
Box 10			After O. W. the Unutterable [KpR 10] - handwritten, with drawings
Box 10			The Answer [KpR 29] - manuscript with signature, and typescript copy
Box 10			A Ballad of Bitterness [KpR 62] Dec 1883 - handwritten manuscript
Box 10			A Banjo Song - handwritten manuscript
Box 10			The Baths of Biddlestone [KpR 92] - handwritten manuscript
Box 10			The Bridge-Guard in the Karroo - handwritten manuscript
			The Burden of Jersualem
				See Unpublished items by Rudyard Kipling.
			A Chapter of Proverbs
				See Unpublished items by Rudyard Kipling.
Box 10			Chartres Windows [KpR 190] 1925, undated - handwritten manuscript; printed 1st edition published by Doubleday, Page, & Company, Garden City, NY
Box 10			The English Way - 4 typescript pages with handwritten corrections
Box 10			The Female of the Species [KpR 359] - 3 typescript pages with handwritten corrections
Box 11			The Five Nations - typescript
Box 11			Four Feet [KpR 390] - handwritten manuscript
Box 11			The Gipsy Trail [KpR 418] - handwritten manuscript
Box 11			The Heritage [KpR 463] - typescript, with autograph
Box 11			The Holy War [KpR 472] - typescript with handwritten corrections, signed; galley proof with handwritten corrections (2 folders)
Box 11			La peinture a l'huile [KpR 584] - poem handwritten and signed on photo reproduction of Kipling
Box 11			The Mater [KpR 1368] - photocopy of handwritten poem found in copy of Echoes
Box 11			McAndrew's Hymn, in Scribner's Magazine - Dec. 1894 cover proof; original in Kipling letters, 1893 June 22 - note before KpR 691
Oversize 4			M.I., in Windsor Magazine [KpR 701] - production material: 3 cards each approximately 14x11 in. with "M. I." verse and illustrations by L. Raven-Hill
Box 11			Mine Sweepers [KpR 705] - typescript, initialed "R.K."
Box 11			Morning Song in the Jungle - photocopy
Box 11			A Mother to Her Son - handwritten
Box 11			Oh, Radiant Bay of Naples - handwritten manuscript in pencil in small address book; private printing (3 copies); photocopies of letters about the poem (2 folders)
Box 11			Pink Dominoes [KpR 845] - handwritten manuscript, initialed "R.K."
Box 11			The Shepherd of Dartmoor Plain - handwritten manuscript
Box 11			The Sin of Witchcraft - 7 pp. handwritten manuscript, signed
Box 11			So For Some the Wet Sail [KpR 357] - photocopy of handwritten poem found in copy of Actions and Reactions
Box 11			Songs From Books [KpR 1111] - proof sheets in slipcase
Box 11			The Sons of the Widow - handwritten manuscript
Box 11			South Africa [KpR 1118] - typescript, signed
Box 11			The Stumbling Block - handwritten manuscript
Box 11			There's Never a Flood - handwritten poem, signed, with photograph of Kipling skating in Switzerland
Box 11			Unpublished items by Rudyard Kipling
				Bound copy of "The Burden of Jerusalem" and "A Chapter of Proverbs", both signed by Sir Alfred Webb-Johnson with the inscription as "An unpublished item by Rudyard Kipling, given to me by Mrs. Kipling. Copy in the British Museum."
Box 11			Ulster [KpR 1297] - typescript
Box 11			The Vampire [KpR 1306] - typescript
Oversize 4			The Years Between 1918 - 2 sets of galley proofs of 1st English edition, each with Kipling's revisions in holograph
Box 11			Uncollected verse - typescript, possily taken from a published book; this section is titled "Some Uncollected Verse, etc."
		Miscellany
Box 12			Autographs, Kipling
Box 12			Preface to unknown volume, signed by Rudyard Kipling - possibly a draft for From Sea to Sea: Letters of Travel vol. 1
Box 12			Royal Automobile Club Touring Report
Box 12			Revisions of "War Graves" article - possibly the chapter Kipling wrote ("The Silent World") for the book War Graves of the Empire
Box 12			Miscellaneous notes

	Memorabilia
		Legal
Box 12			Kipling's will 25 Jan 1892
Box 12			Papers assigning Power of Attorney 1919 - relating to transfer of Cecil John Rhodes' estate in South Africa
		Photographs
Box 12			Of Kipling - 10 originals, 2 photocopies
Box 12			Toomai of the Elephants - illustration, negative
		Portraits and caricatures
Oversize 5			Caricature of Kipling, on Royal Academy of Arts Annual Dinner seating chart 30 Apr 1904 - possibly by Sir George James Frampton; his name as well as those of others are written in pencil on the seating chart
Oversize 5			Caricature of Kipling by Garretto, The Graphic 24 Sep 1927
Oversize 4			Caricature of Kipling by Steven Spurrier - pen and ink with charcoal and white
Oversize 5			Photograph of 1899 portrait painting of Kipling by Philip Burne-Jones - probably albumen; mount is signed by Kipling and inscribed with poem "The [?] Bay" 1900
Oversize 5			Portrait of Kipling by E. P. Upjohn - poster of the cover of The Metropolitan Magazine Special Autumn Number, September, with heading of "Rudyard Kipling" and "China and the Chinese War"
Oversize 4			Pen and ink drawing of Rudyard Kipling by R. Mathews
Box 12			Miscellaneous - includes several photocopies

	Printed material
		Books
			Barrack Room Ballads / Rudyard Kipling 1926 - signed R. K. to R. K.
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			Collection de Contes et Chansons Populaires Tome XXIV Contes Birmans d'apres le Thoudamma Sari Dammazat par Louis Vossion 1901
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			The Heart of Japan / C. L. Brown 1902
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			Historical Study of the Mother Tongue / H. C. Wyld 1906
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			The House Building and Other Poems / Marshall Bruce Williams 1902
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			Kate of Kate Hall / Ellen Thorneycroft Fowler and Alfred Laurence Felkin 1904
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			The Loves of Miss Anne / S. R. Crockett 1904
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			Memoirs of a Person of Quality / Ashton Hilliers 1907 - inscribed by author to Rudyard Kipling
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 12			Prophesies, Miracles, and Visions of St. Columba 1895 - title page only with inscription to Kipling
			Sir Roger's Heir / F. Frankfort Moore 1904
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
		Clippings
Box 12			Reviews of Kipling books 1891-1898, undated
Oversize 4			"Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs with Ms. notes by Author Kipling 1883-1884" - collected by Martindell, with his handwritten explanation of material
Box 12			Miscellaneous clippings 1898-1951, undated (2 folders)
		Miscellany
Box 12			Dealer catalogues - collected by Harvey Taylor
Box 12			Kipling burial service program 23 Jan 1936
Box 12			Masonic Authors Lodge No. 3456 meeting notice 1936 - Kipling listed as an honorary member
Box 12			Royal Literary Fund Anniversary Dinner 21 May 1908
		Writings by others
Box 12			"Cervantes, Zola, Kipling, & Co." / Brander Matthews in The Cosmopolitan Mar 1893
Box 12			" 'Cum Laude Platypus' by John R. Ornithorhynchus" / Albert B. Fowler
Box 12			Foreword to Thomas Tussser's Five Hundred Points of Good Husbandry / E.V. Lucas 1931 - reprint, typescript; notes; copies of letters to/from Lucas; scrapbook with clippings about book
Box 13			"John Howell, Bookman and Collector Reveals Kipling Rarities" / Harvey Taylor
Box 13			"Kipling: Laureate of the Empire" / Harvey Taylor - handwritten and typescript
Box 13			"Kipling's India" / Arley Munson in The Bookman Mar 1914
Box 13			"A late lark twitters..." / unidentified author undated - 2 handwritten pages
Box 13			"Mr. Eliot's Kipling" / Lionel Trilling in The Nation 16 Oct 1943
Box 13			Notes of Harvey Taylor
Box 13			"On Some Tales of Mr. Kipling's" / S. R. Crockett in The Bookman Feb 1895
Box 13			"Rudyard Kipling" / William Brunton - poem
Box 13			"A Series of Thirty Etchings by William Strang, Illustrating Subjects from the Writings of Rudyard Kipling" / William Strang circa 1901 - original etchings (28 of 31, wanting #10 and #28) and typescript copy of manuscript; proofs of the final states by Wm. Strang, printed and signed by Strang's son David Strang (2 folders)
Box 13			"Today September the 16th 1890 I went up..." / unknown author undated - 5 typescript pages

	Miscellany
Box 13		Advertising instructions 1906 - includes handwritten note, "Typed for me by his own hand by Rudyard Kipling 23/8/06"
Box 13		Bookplates
Oversize 5		Celluloid drawing, hand painted - used in Walt Disney's animated movie The Jungle Book
Box 13		Change purse, autographed
Box 13		"Kipling Flowers" - dried flowers
Box 13		Letters from Kipling to his niece, nephew, and godchildren - photocopies
			Gift of Lisa Lewis.
		Pipe (broken, Kipling's) [MISSING 9/10/2021]
Box 13		Report card from Haileybury College Mar 1874 - signed by Cornell Price, later headmaster at a Kipling school
Box 13		Sketches, pen and ink, by Kipling - includes photocopy of sketch from a Kipling letter
Box 13		Stationery, Kipling's
Oversize 6		Typewriter in case - Kipling's Remington Noiseless
Box 13		Scrapbook 1926-1936 - clippings about Kipling
Box 14		Scrapbooks 1926-1936 - clippings about Kipling (3 volumes)
Box 14		Scrapbook, T. W. E. Moreton - includes letters from Kipling
Oversize 7		Scrapbook, Henry H. Schlosser - relates to the printing of Ellis Ames Ballard's Catalogue Intimate and Descriptive of My Kipling Collection, privately printed in Philadelphia in 1935

	McClure collection
		Correspondence
Box 15			Ballard, Ellis Ames 1938
Box 15			Conland, Dr. 11 Jun 1899
Box 15			de Forest, L. 29 May 1899
Box 15			Watt, A.P. [1899]
Box 15			Kipling family - photocopies
Box 15			Miscellaneous - photocopies
Box 15			Miscellaneous letters to R. Kipling via McClure 1899
		Writings
Box 15			"The Absent-Minded Beggar" / Rudyard Kipling circa 1899
Box 15			"Before Kipling Becomes a Myth" / H. H. McClure 2 Feb 1936 - typescript, printed release; includes photocopy
Box 15			The Courting of Dinah Shadd: A Contribution to a Bibliography of the Writings of Rudyard Kipling 1898 - private printing (photocopy)
Box 15			"Do women have to be alive today. . ." / H. H. McClure 28 Apr 1937
Box 15			"The King" / Rudyard Kipling 1899 - 1st edition American copyright (photocopy; original transferred to Rare Books for cataloging)
Box 15			"Kipling's Life In America" / H. H. McClure - includes photocopy
Box 15			"Mr. Kipling visited our office. . ." / H. H. McClure 7 Mar 1899 - typescript
Box 15			"To the Editor, Readers' Digest" / H. H. McClure - includes photocopy
Box 15			Notes on Kipling / H. H. McClure undated
Box 15			Miscellaneous - letters and statements about Kipling's suit against Putnam
		Memorabilia
Box 15			Clippings - originals (3 folders)
Box 15			Clippings - photocopies (3 folders)
Box 16			Photographs
Box 16			Miscellaneous

	E. W. Martindell collection
		Correspondence
Box 16			Kirkman, Rev. W.A.
		Writings
Box 16			Collection of 29 uncollected Kipling verses 1884-1906 - typescript copies
				Contents as follows: "Amir Ali Locuitur," Pioneer, July 18, 1888 "Ballad: by an Em-n-nt Lord," Civil & Military, May 8, 1886 "The Blind Bug," National Observer, Dec. 27, 1890 "The Bugler," The Regiment, No. 1, Oct. 25, 1902 "The Bushman's Daughter," St. James's Gazette, Aug. 13, 1890 "The City of Berlin," Sept. 26, 1889 "Departmental Delirium," Pioneer, April 26, 1887 "'An Echo from Old Calcutta'," Pioneer, March 15,1886 "An Excellent Reason," Pioneer, May 23, 1887 "The Half-Way House," Pioneer, Apr. 15, 1887 "How Breitmann Became President . . .," New York World, Apr. 26, 1890 "In Answer," Civil & Military, Oct. 14, 1887 "The Lament of C. I. E.," Pioneer, Jan. 20, 1888 "The Last Call," The Week's News, Mar. 31, 1888 "Ms. Verses to A. E. W.," Feb. 4, 1884 "The Michigan Twins," Boston Advertiser, Mar. 1889 "A Nightmare of Names," Civil & Military, Dec. 10. 1886 "A Picture in Smoke," Pioneer, June 30, 1885 "Possibilities," Pioneer, July 13, 1885 "The Rape of the Breeches," Pioneer, Mar. 5, 1889 "A Rhodian Portrait," 1886 "Rudyard and Kipling," Boston Advertiser, Mar. 1889 "Selling the Cross," St. James's Gazette, Feb. 2, 1890 "Signs," Pioneer, Nov. 11, 1886 "Silence is, Golden(?)," Pioneer, Aug. 18, 1886 "The Simla Exodus," Pioneer, Aug. 5, 1886 "A Soliloquy from the South," Pioneer, Dec. 8, 1886 "South Africa," The Standard, July 27, 1906 "Summer Homes for Nursing Sisters," Pioneer, Aug. 1, 1887
		Memorabilia
Oversize 4			"Seven Miscellaneous Paragraphs with Ms. Notes by Author, Uncollected, Kipling 1883-4" - includes folder with Martindell's history of the clippings

	Alan D. Wilson collection
		Correspondence
Box 16			re: Kipling
Box 16			Ballard, Ellis Ames 1928-1930
Box 16			Ballard, Frederick L. Jr. to Robert Dechert 28 Feb 1964
Box 16			Carpenter, Mrs. W. M. to Lloyd H. Chandler 22 Oct 1931
Box 16			Chandler, Lloyd H. to Ellis Ames Ballard 1927-1935
Box 16			Chandler, Lloyd H. and M.E. Walfind [sic; name is actually Walford, Kipling's secretary] 1929
Box 16			Chandler, Lloyd H. and Alan D. Wilson 1929-1930
Box 16			Dunsterville, L.H. to Lloyd H. Chandler 10 Oct 1930
Box 16			Kipling, Rudyard to Lloyd H. Chandler 23 Oct 1930 - copy
Box 16			Rudyard Kipling and Alan D. Wilson 1928-1932 - copies
Box 16			Livingston, Flora V. and Alan D. Wilson 1928-1933
				See also Correspondence : Livingston, Mrs. Luther S. [Flora V.] and Correspondence : Third party : Livingston, Flora V.
Box 16			Martindell, E.W. to Lloyd H. Chandler 6 Oct 1930
Box 16			Martindell, E.W. and Alan D. Wilson 1928
Box 16			Miscellaneous
Box 16			Miscellaneous re Mark Twain
		Writings
Box 16			"Charles Buford: His Ancestors and Descendants; Together With Excerpts From His Correspondence and An Appeal to the Republican Party of the United States of about 1857 Presumably Drawn up by Him; Together with an Attempted Identification of the Persons Mentioned in These Papers" / unidentified author
Box 16			"A Kipling Problem, 'Three and -- an Extra' or the Story of 'The Light That Failed' " / Lloyd H. Chandler 1929 - typescript
Box 16			"List of Kipling Stories Contained in Magazines (Owned by Ellis Ames Ballard)" / Ellis Ames Ballard (2 copies)
			"A Summary of the Work of Rudyard Kipling Including Items Ascribed to Him" / compiled by Lloyd H. Chandler 1930
Box 16				"Introduction" by Ellis Ames Ballard
Box 16				Typescript draft and research notes (4 folders)
Box 17				Typescript draft and research notes (3 folders)
Box 17			"Talk on the Kipling Society in the United States and Upon Mr. Kipling's Works, to be Given at a Meeting of the Kipling Society in London by L. H. Chandler" / Lloyd H. Chandler June 9, 1931 - typed transcript
Box 17			"Three and -- an Extra" / Lloyd H. Chandler - typescript
		Memorabilia
Box 17			Account book of Helen and Alan D. Wilson 1898-1920 - lists wedding gifts, household furnishings, and books in their library along with estimated prices; history of book noted inside by son-in-law Robert Dechert
Box 17			Dealer catalogues listing Kipling and Twain items 1929-1932, undated (4 folders)

Return to top