Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Kodakery Manual |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1920 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | handwritten photography guide containing drawings, handwritten text, and photographs |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Eastman Kodak Company (usually referred to simply as Kodak) is an American company that produces various products related to analog (non-digital) photography. Incorporated in 1892 and headquartered in Rochester, New York, the company held a dominant position in the industry for most of the 20th century, and developed a number of technological innovations through its Kodak Research Laboratories. Kodak produced some of the most popular camera models of the 20th century, including the Brownie and Instamatic.
Nothing is known of the creator of this homemade instruction manual. "Kodakery" appears to be the creator's term for the photographic process, from the taking of pictures to the development of film and creation of prints.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Kodakery Manual is a handmade guide to photography, covering topics such as the parts of a camera, a comparison of fixed versus variable focal length, the composition of film, and how to develop it and make prints. The manual is illustrated with hand-drawn diagrams and photographs, both original and printed.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Kodakery Manual,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 20 Feb 2023
Revision history: