Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Portfolio Club presidential year, 1999-2000
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Koerner, Polly. |
| Title: | Polly Koerner Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1984-2004 |
| Quantity: | 0.75 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers, programs, notes, and other material relating to Polly's involvement with the Portfolio Club of Syracuse, including her presidential yer (1999-2000) |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Organization History
Polly Black Koerner (d. 2023) was a resident of Cazenovia, New York and a long-time member of the Portfolio Club of Syracuse, New York. While attending college and earning her degree as a medical technician she met her husband Jack to whom she was married for 68 years, until his death in 2022. She and Jack lived and raised their five children -- as well as many horses -- at Tamarack Ridge Farm in Cazenovia, also spending time at their second home in Lake George. Polly was active in many local and regional organizations including the Junior League of Syracuse, CazCares, the Cazenovia Library, and the Portfolio Club. An accomplished painter, she was a long-time member of the Cazenovia Watercolor Society.
The Portfolio Club is a women's organization that was founded in 1875 in Syracuse, New York. The club meets regularly from the first Monday in October to the second Monday in April. Club meetings are held at the homes of members or at local venues. A general topic, chosen by the President at the beginning of the program season, is broken down into a specific assignment for members to research and present on a designated date. Ranging over broad fields of interest, yearly topics have covered economics, religion, world culture, music, art, and science. The club is still active.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Polly Koerner Papers relate entirely to her membership in the Portfolio Club of Syracuse. The material is subdivded into material related to Koerner's year as president of the Portfolio Club (1999-2000), and club material from other years
Arrangement of the Collection
Material relating to her presidential year is arranged alphabetically by type or topic. Material relating to other years is arranged chronologically.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Polly Koerner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Leslie Lepine, Polly's daughter, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: ## creator of finding aid content (initials)
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history:
Inventory
| Portfolio Club presidential year, 1999-2000 | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Bylaws revisions Jan 2000 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Booklet, presentation text, schedule, etc. 1999-2000 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Correspondence 1999-2000 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Papers 1999-2000 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Photographs 2000 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Printed material 1987, 2002 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1999-2000 - small notebook with notes about each meeting, lists, notes, etc. | ||||||||||
| Portfolio Club files | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Booklets, notes, handouts, etc. 1984-1999 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Booklets, notes, handouts, etc. 2000-2002 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | "A Christmas Portfolio" Dec 2002 - holiday program notes, handouts, etc. | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Booklets, notes, handouts, etc. 2002-2004 | ||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Buffalo Today Show - episode of the Today Show, possibly related to one of Polly's papers (VHS) (ID#: koerner_p_001) | ||||||||||