Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Landau, Rom, 1899-1974.
Title:	Rom Landau Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1927-1979
Quantity:	12.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the British author, educator, biographer, Arabist. Correspondence (1927-1974); writings, including lectures on Morocco and Islamic culture in general, typescript essays, diaries; book reviews; photographs memorabilia; recordings of songs, music and dance of Morocco and other countries, and of interviews and lectures.
Language:	Primarily English, some in Arabic, Dutch, French, and German
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Rom Landau (1899-1974) was a sculptor, author, educator and Arabist. Although born in Poland, he became a British citizen and served as a volunteer in the Royal Air Force during World War II. His particular area of interest was Morocco, and he authored numerous works about Morocco and the Middle East, mainly in the 1950s and 1960s. He taught Islamic Studies at the College of the Pacific in Stockton, CA, and was also an artist and art critic. His extensive knowledge of Arabic issues earned him a place on the Arab committee of the Intelligence Department of the British Foreign Office.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Note: Portions of this collection, particularly Landau's personal journals, contain representations of racial and ethnic prejudices that were conventional during Landau's life, although no less harmful and inaccurate than they are today. This material is preserved and presented for its historic and research value. Researchers may find some of this content objectionable.

The Rom Landau Papers contains the papers of the British author, artist, educator, and Arabist. Although Landau's particular interest was Morocco, the collection also includes material on Algeria, Jordan, Iraq, Israel, Syria, Lebanon, Turkey and Palestine. The collection is divided into six series.

Biographical data and public recognition comprises short excerpts of biographical information, instances where Landau was mentioned in the press, etc.

Correspondence contains business (1927-1974), personal (1972-1974) and legal material.

Writings and art consists of Landau’s papers, manuscripts, lectures, notes, and speeches on the Middle East, political intelligence, religion, and other topics; it also includes a small selection of Landau’s sculpture and a copy of his book, God Is My Adventure.

Printed material contains brochures for the University of the Pacific.

Memorabilia comprises personal items such as Moroccan art, copies of Landau’s books, a passport, photographs, scrapbooks, silverware, and other miscellaneous items.

Recordings contains reel-to-reel tape audio recordings made by Landua of the songs, music and dance of various countries in the Middle East, and of some of his radio interviews, lectures and other speaking engagements, along with one apparently professional production, King Mohammed V by Leo Diner Films. There are also eight home-made recordings of opera singers and performances. Tapes relating to his Islamic studies are numbered and listed individually; opera recordings are not.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Other than the division into the six series described above, the material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Romuald R. Landau Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Rom Landau, 1966-1974.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Dec 1999
Revision history: 25 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD, minor revisions (MRR); 7 Jun 2010 - tapes returned from Belfer (MRC); 1 Dec 2021 - content warning added (MRC); 12 Apr 2023 - media descriptions expanded (IRP); Sep 2024 - oversize pkgs rehoused into boxes; overfull Box 1 split into 1 and 1A (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical data and public recognition
Box 1		Miscellaneous (2 folders)

	Correspondence
Box 1		Assorted
Box 1		Faber and Faber 1950-1952
Box 1		Letters from important correspondents
Box 1		Arberry, Professor A. J. (Pembroke College, Cambridge, England) -
Box 1		Miscellaneous 1964-1966
Box 1		Paderewski
		Peace Corps
Box 1			California State Polytechnic and speaking tours 1962-1964
Box 1			in Morocco summer 1963 - original notes
Box 1		Personal correspondence
Box 1A		Publishers
Box 1		Business 1927-1963
Box 2		Business 1963-1979 (3 folders)
Box 2		Personal 1927-1974, undated (7 folders)
Box 2		Legal

	Writings and art
Box 2, 3		Morocco (5 folders)
Box 3		Political intelligence (2 folders)
		Lectures (university)
			See also Memorabilia : Scrapbooks : Lectures.
Box 3			Arab history
Box 3			Africa
Box 3			Algeria
Box 3			Arabia and Egypt
Box 3			Iraq, Jordan, Libya, Israel
Box 3			Modern Muslim world
Box 3			Syria, Lebanon, Turkey and Tunisia
		Lectures and speeches, general
			See also Memorabilia : Scrapbooks : Lectures.
Box 3			Lectures at Commonwealth Club 1936-1949 - lectures and speeches
Box 3			The supreme spiritual ideal
Box 3			Palestine: Petition or...
Box 3			The secrets of seven
Box 3			Spiritual situation in the Near and Middle East
Box 3			Speech for opening of debate at the Sorbonne
Box 3			Lecture given at the Bishop's Palace, Norwich
Box 3			Lecture at Lady Ravensdale's house
Box 3			Lecture at the S. Finnes book fair
Box 3			Radio address for BBC and West Sussex County Libraries
Box 3			Opening address at the Bishop's Palace
Box 3			Address to the World Congress of Faiths
Box 3			Radio talks given at Radio Diffusion Rabat, Israel
Box 3			Announcements of radio talks on KPFA-Oakland
Box 3			The Moroccans yesterday and today
Box 3			Announcements of radio talks on KPFA-Oakland
Box 3			Lecture information from American Academy of Asian Studies
		Artistic work and unbound manuscripts
Box 4			Artist's work
Box 4			Documentation for God is My Adventure
Box 4			Documents, Pilsudski
Box 4			Hassan II and Miss Hislop Has a Good Cry
Box 4			Islam (6 folders)
			Manuscripts
Box 4				Changed Lives
Box 4				Kasbas of Southern Morocco
Box 4				Last Thirty Years of the Peace Corps in Morocco
Box 5				Miscellaneous
Box 5				Moorish Africa
Box 5				Morocco
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 5			Notes and interviews on first year of Moroccan independence
Box 5			Notes, A Summer in North Africa
Box 5			Notes and manuscript, A Summer in North Africa
			Peace Corps in Morocco
Box 5				First version
Box 5				Second version
Box 5				Final version
Box 6			Works in progress
		Bound manuscripts
			God is My Adventure
Box 6				Documents
Box 6				Fourth version
Box 6				Final version
Box 6				Proof and postscript
Box 6			Hassan King of Morocco
			Paderewski
Box 6				First version
Box 7				Final version
Box 7			Pilsudski
Box 7			Pilsudski notes
Box 7			Search for Tomorrow
			Seven
Box 7				First version
Box 8				Second version
			Thy Kingdom Come
Box 8				First version
Box 8				Final version
		Literature reviews
Box 8			Letter to Andrew, The Brother Vane, Islam Today
Box 8			Love for a Country
Box 8			Islam and the Arabs
Box 8			The Merry Oasis, Human Relations, Odysseus
Box 8			Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 9			Paderewski
Box 9			Pilsudski
Box 10			Search for Tomorrow
Box 10			Seven
Box 11			Sex, Life and Faith
Box 11			Thy Kingdom Come
		Articles
			See also Memorabilia : Scrapbooks : Articles and clippings on Landau.
Box 12			Deutscher Bote
Box 12			Landau articles in British and American magazines

	Printed material
Box 13		University of the Pacific - information, tourist brochures
Box 13		Morocco - tourist brochures, clippings

	Memorabilia
		Photograph albums
Box 17			Poland, Germany, China, U.S.A., England 1917 - ?
Box 17			Italy, Tunisia, Switzerland 1929-1934
Box 17			Poland, England 1935
		Photographs
Box 14			Morocco
Box 15			Morocco
Box 16			Morocco
Box 17			Morocco
Box 17			United Kingdom
Box 18			United States 1960s (2 folders)
Box 19			Britain, Morocco (2 folders)
Box 20			Moroccan photographs with Mohammed V and Hassan II (envelope)
Box 20			Rom Landau photographs of American Academy of Asian Studies (envelope)
Box 20			Landau with King Mohammed V and King Hassan II
Box 20			Landau sculptures, portraits of Landau, Landau in R.A.F.
Box 20			Landau aboard H.M.S. Suffolk
Box 20			Landau with King Hassan II (framed)
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous, album
				Due to deterioration, album has been disbound and pages interleaved; laid-in loose photos have been sleeved.
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous, matted
Oversize 2			Miscellaneous
Oversize 5			Miscellaneous
		Miscellaneous
Box 20			Autograph book
Box 20			Moroccan art
Oversize 3			Mirror - wood from wih mother-of-pearl decorations; severely deteriorated, many small pieces have come loose
Box 20			Silver dish
Oversize 4			Silver dishes - 8 spoons, various sizes, and small plate with coins as handles, housed in black box stamped KIMBERLY
Box 21			Glass bottles (2)
Box 21			Silver creamers (2)
Box 21			British passport
Box 21			Plaque 1963 - from the Peace Corps Morocco Project, dedicated to Landau
Box 21			"Doctor of Human Letters" degree 1967 - from the University of the Pacific
Box 22			Photocopies of photographs and autographs 1960 - from trip on HMS Suffolk
Box 22			Permission of the Queen to wear insignia of Officer of the Order
Box 22			Ouissam Alaouite
Box 22			Account of honorary doctorate granted 11 Jun 1967
Box 22			Clippings on Landau sculpture show
Box 22			Press release on Landau donation - description of Landau books and papers donated to the University of the Pacific, Stockton, California
Box 22			Notes on Landau books and papers
Box 22			Information on 70th birthday
Box 22			Information on book exhibit at British Embassy in Rabat 1969
Box 22			Commencement Address at Kenitra American High School 9 Jun 1969
Box 22			List of articles sent to Moroccan Room at University of the Pacific
Box 22			Journal of trip to Morocco 1937
Box 22			Moroccan journal
				This item contains representations of racial and ethnic prejudices that were conventional during Landau's life, although no less harmful and inaccurate than they are today. It is preserved and presented for its historic and research value. Researchers may find some of this content objectionable.
Box 22			Scrapbook on Morocco
Box 22			Leather folder
Box 22			Visit of King Mohammed V of Morocco 5 Dec 1966
Box 22			Press clippings 1966 - visit to Morocco
Box 23			Address book
Box 23			Date books (19 books)
Box 23			Journals (2)
Box 23			Glass handles (2)
Box 23			Medals (2)
Oversize 1			Certificate, unidentified - handwritten in Arabic, possible some sort of honor or award?
		Published books
			English
Box 24				Among the Americans 1953 - paperback edition
Box 24				The Beauty of Morocco 1951 - paperback edition
Box 24				God is My Adventure 1935, 1936, 1964 - hardcover (3 copies)
Box 24				Hassan II King of Morocco 1962 - paperback edition
Box 24				Human Relations 1968 - paperback edition
Box 24				Islam and the Arabs 1958 - proof
Box 24				Moroccan Drama 1956 - proof copy
Box 24				Morocco Independent 1961 - proof copy
Box 24				Odysseus 1948 - paperback edition
Box 24				Personalia - paperback book
Box 24				Philosophy of Ibn Arabi 1948 - paperback edition
Box 24				Search for Tomorrow 1938 - paperback edition
Box 24				Thy Kingdom Come 1937 - paperback edition
Box 24				We Have Seen Evil - proof copy
			Languages other than English
Box 24				[unknown Arabic? title] 1907 - paperback edition
Box 24				[unknown Arabic? title] 1971 - paperback edition
Box 24				[unknown Arabic? title] 1974 - paperback edition
Box 24				God Heb Ik Gevonden 1937 - paperback edition
Box 24				Sexe Vie Moderne et Spiritualite - paperback edition
Box 24				Sexualitait Geloof En Leven 1948 - hardcover edition
Oversize 1			Book jacket
		Scrapbooks
Oversize 5			Lectures in U.S.A. 1952-1953
Oversize 5			Lectures 1953-1963
Oversize 5			Articles and clippings on Landau 1956-1958

	Recordings
		Recordings relating to Landua's Islamic studies are numbered and listed individually under the title or descriptive caption written on the box.The few recordings of opera singers and other music are not numbered or listed individually.
Box 25		Ahidora commentary undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_002)
Box 26		Ahidoria; Moroccan constitution, read by Rom Landau undated - note on box: "Property of Gal Poly" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_018)
Box 25		Ahouash - Guedra undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_003)
Box 25		Andalusian undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_005)
Box 25		Andalusian commentary; Moroccan tape by Rom Landau undated - note on box: "Property of Cal Poly; bad copy" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_007)
Box 25		Andalusian concert and commentary undated - note on box: "good copy" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_006)
Box 25		Arab Contribution to Western Civilization, American River Junior College February 5, 1964 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_004)
Box 25		Barber music undated - handwritten note in box: "Prof. Rom Landau: Barber music - indigenous music of Morocco, Parto [?] village festival with some striking songs. ed. by Betty Ford" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_008)
Box 25		Barber music Ahidous and song undated - note on reel: "v. good" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_010)
Box 25		Barber music: Ahidous undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_009)
Box 25		Barber music: Gehdra "Strip-tease" July 24 [no year] - accompanied by handwritten note: "Gehdra on of more sensuous of Moonish dances in one corner of Arabia alone. Actually this is "strip-tease" music edited by betty Ford. [shake by shake acct.] professional detachment" (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 23:00) (ID#: landau_r_012)
			Recording ends with: "...if we can speak of "Great primitiveness."
Box 25		The Death of the King of Morocco March 7-8, 1961 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 10:00) (ID#: landau_r_011)
			Recording ends with: "...but for all people of good will."
Box 25		Guedra commentary undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_013)
Box 25		Himno Nacional de Marruecos, played by Pacific Wind Ensemble undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_014)
Box 25		Islam and Christianity, talk by Rom Landay, Professor of College of the Pacific, Reel #1 February 23,1960 - at Drew University (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_015)
Box 26		Islam and Christianity, talk by Rom Landay, Professor of College of the Pacific, Reel #2 February 23,1960 - at Drew University (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_016)
Reel		King Mohammed V undated - film title in Arabic (16mm film) (ID#: landau_r_001)
Box 26		KPFA FM: Rom Landau on Morocco, interview with Elsa Knight Thompson 15/12/1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_020)
Box 26		KPFA: Christmas in Morocco Jan. 1965; Mar 29-30 1965 - more notes on the box (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_024)
Box 26		KPFA: Talk on King Mohammed Jan 23 1967 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_022)
Box 26		KPFA: Trouble brewing in Morocco, by Rom Landau #2 October 27, 1965 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_023)
Box 26		Moroccan national song undated - note on box: "from Dr. Applegate UCLA" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_019)
Box 26		[Opera recording] 04/07/1983 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_027)
			Contains: [La] Gioconda #530, London, performed by Dimitrova, Domingo, Cappuccilli, Conrad, Guadagna, conductor.
Box 27		[Opera recording] Feb 3, 1981 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_031)
			Contains: T. D. #78: Ballo, C. G. Feb 3, 1981.
Box 27		[Opera recording] 4/13/1981 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_032)
			Contains: T. D. #204: Lakme, C. H. 4/13/1981.
Box 26		[Opera recordings] January 5, 1978; April 1978 - accompanied by content notes (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_025)
			Contains: Track A, side 1 & 2: Roberto Devereux by Donizetti, Hamburg State Opera Live concert Performance; Track B, side 1 & 2: Norma by Bellini, Teatro de la Zarzuela, Madrid.
Box 26		[Opera recordings] 4/17/1937; 1964 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_026)
			Contains: Carmen #922 at Metropolitan opera, performed by Maison ; Aida #649 at Covent Garden, performed byVickey, Senienoto[?]
Box 26		[Opera recordings] 03/8/1976; 03/14/1976 - accompanied by printed content note (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_029)
			Contains: Track A, side 1 & 2: Le Cid, by Massenet, performed by Opera Orchestra of New York at Carnegie Hall, New York City, March 8, 1976; Gemma di Vergy, by Donizetti, performed by Opera Orchestra of New York at Carnegie Hall, New York City, live performance of March 14, 1976.
Box 27		[Opera recordings] 10/12/76; 9/18/76 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_030)
			Contains: Track A, Aida # 1435, Met[ropolitan] 10/12/76; Track B, Forza #1438, SF [San Francisco] 9/18/76.
Box 26		Opera scenes 1/15/1983 - accompanied by printed content note; illegible note on the box (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_028)
			Contains: Potpourri, Volume one.
Box 26		Rom Landau Jan 23 1967 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_021)
Box 26		[Rom] Landau on present king of Morocco undated (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: landau_r_017)

Return to top