Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Leach, Henry Goddard, 1880-1970.
Title:	Henry Goddard Leach Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1898-1969
Quantity:	54 linear ft.
Abstract:	American author, educator, intellectual; editor of the intellectual and literary national periodical The Forum (1923-1940); president, American-Scandinavian Foundation (1926-1947), president, Poetry Society of America (1934-1937). Collection includes correspondence relating to The Forum and the American-Scandinavian Foundation, unpublished essays, articles, diaries, lectures, photographs, clippings, juvenilia and more.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Henry Goddard Leach (1880-1970) was an American author, educator and poet. He was editor of the intellectual and literary national periodical The Forum (1923-1940), president of the American-Scandinavian Foundation (1926-1947), president of the Poetry Society of America (1934-1937), an active member of the Adirondack Trail Improvement Society, and a leading intellect of his time.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Goddard Leach Papers contains correspondence, unpublished essays, articles, diaries, lectures, photographs, clippings, juvenilia and other material. Apart from a few boxes accessioned and processed in 1964, the collection is unprocessed and remains in its original folders and containers, as arranged by Leach. Most of the diaries, lectures and photographs are stored in flip-top cases with Leach's typed labels on the outside; these are indicated in the inventory below by the notation "(boxed)". Leach's titles for these boxes have been retained and are given in quotation marks. Where an item had no title, one has been supplied.

Highlights of the collection include:

Letters and papers of Leach's father, Dr. Alonzo L. Leach (referred to by Leach as "A.L.L."), who served as a medical officer with the Union Army during the Civil War

H. G. Leach's "diary," kept almost daily from early in the 1900s to the early 1960s, with commentary on events both public and private over three generations; most of these are not bound volumes but rather boxes of typed sheets along with souvenirs and memorabilia such as programs, photographs, clippings, etc.

Bound volumes of The Forum, which under Leach's editorship was known as "the magazine of controversy" and which Carl Sandburg dubbed "the barometer of American intelligence"

Photographs of and correspondence with scores of notable writers and intellectuals who were regular contributors to The Forum

An autographed drawing of George Bernard Shaw (the box list does not specify where this item is)

Numerous volumes of poetry, including some of Leach's own, and correspondence with many leading poets, along with material relating to the Poetry Society of America, of which Leach was president during the 1930s

Books and papers on Scandinavian affairs and the American Scandinavian Foundation, of which Leach was secretary and president for thirty years; these may (or may not) be the items listed below as "correspondence-subject files"

Manuscript of lectures and speeches given by Leach at colleges across the country, and material from his days as a teacher at Groton and Harvard University

Files of the Adirondack Improvement Society, of which Leach was an active member for decades; the box list does not specify which these are, but they may (or may not) be the items listed below as "correspondence-subject files"

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The bulk of the collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Unprocessed portions of the collection are not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Goddard Leach Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Henry Goddard Leach, 1964, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1969
Revision history: 27 Apr 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 1 Jul 2011 - box list added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Processed (1964 accessions)
		Central Park assault
Box 54			Letters
Box 54			Press clippings
		Compositions
			Classical High School
Box 54			Princeton 1899-1903
Box 54			Groton 1903-1905
		Newspapers
Box 55			Scandinavian news stories by Leach 1909-1912
		Personal press clippings
Box 55			Miscellaneous 1912, 1915
Box 56			Miscellaneous 1912-1923 (5 folders)
Box 57			Miscellaneous 1924-1926 (4 folders)

Return to top