Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Le Guin, Ursula K., 1929-2018 |
| Title: | Ursula K. Le Guin Correspondence |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1973-1976 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Two letters from the American scirence fiction author to her Spanish translator |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Ursula K. Le Guin (1929-2018) was an American author. She is best known for her works of speculative fiction, including novels and short stories set in her Hainish universe and in the world of Earthsea. Among her accolades are eight Hugo, six Nebula, three Jupiter, and twenty-four Locus awards, as well as a nomination for a Pulitzer (1997). She was named a Living Legend in the "Writers and Artists" category by the Library of Congress for her significant contributions to America's cultural heritage (2000). She was also an accomplished essayist, poet, and translator.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Ursula K. Le Guin Correspondence consists of two letters from Le Guin to Francisco Porrua, translator of her works into Spanish. One of the letters mentions Jorge Luis Borges and Stanislaw Lem.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Ursula Le Guin Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 6 Mar 2023
Revision history: