Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lerner, Leo Alfred, 1907-1965.
Title:	Leo A. Lerner Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1929-1968
Quantity:	37.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American editor, publisher of Lerner Newspapers, also known as the Chicago Northside Newspapers. Correspondence, incoming and outgoing (1931-1965); personal notebooks, speeches (1941-1962), articles, editorials; clippings, tape recordings, and pocket calendars.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Leo Lerner (1907-1965) was an American newspaper editor and publisher. Born in Chicago on September 20, 1907 (the eldest of ten children), he attended the Chicago Public Schools, Crane Technical High School and Northwestern University, finishing there in 1928 with the help of a scholarship. In 1929 he married Deana Duskin, with whom he had three children, Louis, Robert and Rosanne.

In addition to their home on Marine Drive in Chicago, the Lerners owned the Kettle Moraine Farm in North Lake, Wisconsin.

Leo Lerner's career in the newspaper business began while he was still attending Northwestern University, when he was Night Editor of the Daily Northwestern for two years and Drama Editor for a like period. During the period 1924-28, he filled various editorial positions on the Morton Grove News, the Lincoln Belmont Booster and the North Side Sunday Citizen. He then became a co-partner of A. O. Caplan in the management of sixteen papers, which included most of the earlier group and were known as the Myers Newspapers, with a total circulation at that time of 219,000. Other papers were slowly added. By 1949, after more reorganization, Lerner was President and Treasurer of the group ever since known as the Chicago Northside Newspapers. Growth continued, and by 1958 Lerner was President, Editor, and Publisher, controlling the Myers Publishing Co., the Lincoln Belmont Publishing Co., the Times Home Newspapers (J. L. Johnson Publishing Co.) and the Neighbor Press of Chicago. The following is a list of papers published by the various divisions of the Chicago Northside Newspapers:

Booster Newspapers:

• The Booster
• Lincoln-Belmont Booster
• Lake View Booster
• Sheridan Center Booster
• The Sunday Booster

Times Home Newspapers:

• Jefferson Park Times
• Mayfair Times
• Norwood-Edison Times
• Portage Park Times
• Higgins-Oriole Times
• Logan-Armitage Booster, which split into Logan Avondale Booster, and Armitage Avenue Booster
• North West Sunday Times
• Albany-North Park Times

Myers Newspapers:

• Edgewater Uptown News
• Ravenswood-Lincolnite News
• North Town News
• Rogers Park News
• North Side Star
• Life of Niles Township (Thursdays only)

Lerner was deeply involved in public service throughout his life and was active in many social and civic organizations in the Chicago area. He was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Chicago Public Library on November 13, 1936, and remained until 1947, serving as Director after 1943 and greatly expanding and improving the service. In 1940-1941 he was President of the Citizens Schools Committee, which was instrumental in combating corruption and raising the educational standards in Chicago. He was a member of the Americans for Democratic Action, a founder of the liberal Independent Voters of Illinois (1943), a director of the Lincoln-Belmont YMCA, and a member of various hospital improvement groups. During World War II he sponsored and aided a number of European refugees to the United States. He was a member of the Cancer Prevention Center of Chicago from 1958 until his death, serving as Chairman of the Board of Directors from 1962.

Lerner also helped found Roosevelt University, and taught a journalism course there. From 1950 to 1960 he served as president of its Board of Trustees. In 1960 he joined the Board of Trustees of the Scandinavian Seminar, a plan providing nine months of study in any Scandinavian country for qualified students. In 1962, Lerner became a member of the Board of the Chicago Better Business Bureau, and in March of that year he was appointed to the Illinois Parole and Pardon Board. In 1964 President Johnson invited him to join the Citizens Advisory Board of the Community Relations Service.

Active in professional organizations, Lerner was a member of the Abraham Lincoln Memorial Commission in 1955, the Illinois Press Association, National Editorial Association, American Political Science Association, and the Institute of General Semantics. Much in demand as a speaker and author, he also wrote a large number of speeches and articles, and four books: Continental Journey, written during his 1947 tour of Europe, The Itch of Opinion (1956), The Italics Are Mine (1960), and The Truth Ripens, finished just before his death. In addition, he was co-author of Lincoln of the Ages (1960).

Lerner was recognized many times for his contributions both to journalism and to the civic and social life of Chicago. He was the only neighborhood newspaperman accredited by the State Department to cover the United Nations Conference at San Francisco in 1945, and the following year he received the Decalogue Society of Lawyers' Annual Award of Merit. 1961 brought him the Chicago Medal of Merit, presented by Mayor Daley. In 1937 he received the first Editorial Award presented by the Illinois Press Association. He also was the recipient of the National Herrick Award in 1951 and the Publisher of the Year Award in 1953.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leo A. Lerner Papers consist of correspondence, general subject files, manuscripts and other writings, memorabilia, published materials, and tape recordings. Part of the collection is a separate accession which has not been integrated with the main collection; this material is identified by "(1979 addition)."

Main Collection

The main part of the collection consists of general subject files, personal files, manuscripts, published materials, and tape recordings.

General subject files consists of correspondence, brochures, clippings, reports, memoranda and some housekeeping records. The papers relate to such subjects as business, politics, city, county, state, national and international affairs, colleagues, universities and schools, and religious organizations. Especially noteworthy are the files concerning the Abraham Lincoln Memorial, the Cancer Prevention Center of Chicago, the Chicago Board of Education and the Citizens Schools Committee, the Elmer Gertz folder (for its inclusion of news clippings and correspondence on the Chicago censorship case of Henry Miller's Tropic of Cancer), the Illinois Parole Board, Roosevelt University, Stevenson for President, and the United Nations.

Personal files consists of correspondence, a subject file and journals. Correspondence concerns personal affairs and includes related clippings, mementos, etc. The folders are arranged chronologically. The subject file consists of materials relating to books, trips, and tours, awards, photographs, homes, automobiles, letters to his wife and misc. unidentified papers and notes. The letters to his wife were written during his participation in the 1945 United Nations Conference and contain impressions of people and events. Journals consist of undated personal notebooks and pocket calendars for 1944-1964.

Manuscripts contains speeches, articles, editorial material and misc. materials relating to these manuscripts.

Published materials consist of articles by Leo Lerner, articles about Leo Lerner and miscellaneous published materials.

Tape recordings consist of five tapes made for radio broadcasts. One bears the date 1961 and the remaining four are undated.

1979 Additions

The 1979 additions consist of correspondence, memorabilia, printed material, and writings. Correspondence section includes business, congratulatory and personal subheadings which range from 1927 to 1966. Within this period there is a typed letter signed by Adlai Stevenson and photocopied letters signed by Senator Claude Pepper, Mayor Daly, and Franklin Roosevelt. Memorabilia consists of awards, memorial material of Mr. Lerner and several photographs. Printed material covers a large variety of subjects, and includes four of Mr. Lerner's books, a wide range of editorials, some tape recordings, and other miscellaneous written material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts are arranged chronologically by year, 1941-1962, with some undated materials located at the end. Published materials are arranged chronologically within each group, undated materials appearing at the end.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leo A. Lerner Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Leo Lerner, Feb. 17, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: GDG
Date: Jul 1966
Revision history: Aug 1979 - additions (DW); 12 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 Sep 2008 - updates to bioghist (MRC); 1 Oct 2008 - name correction (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	General Subject File
Series I Box 1		A, miscellaneous 1937-1964 (4 folders)
		Abraham Lincoln Memorial Commission
Box 2			1942-1956 (3 folders )
Box 3			Published materials 1956
Box 3		Abraham Lincoln Book Shop
Box 3		Abrams Department Store
		Accredited Home Newspapers of America
Box 4			to 1955
Box 4			1958-1965 (2 folders)
		Adams, James Luther
Box 4			[Miscellaneous]
Box 4			Festschrift
Box 5		Advertising Council
Box 5		American Arbitration Association
Box 5		American Cable and Radio Corp.
Box 5		American Cancer Society
Box 5		American Civil Liberties Union
Box 5		American Express Co.
Box 5		American Legion Posts
Box 5		American Political Science Association
Box 5		American Friends of the Hebrew University
Box 5		American Red Cross
		Americans for Democratic Action
Box 5			1955-1957 (2 folders)
Box 6			1958-1963 (2 folders)
Box 6		Amlie, Tom
Box 6		Anti-defamation League
Box 6		Anti-Semitism in schools
Box 6		Applications for employment
Box 6		Arbitration case
Box 6		Arvey, Jacob M.
Box 6		Art Institute of Chicago
Box 6		Ash, Harry A.
Box 6		Associated Press
Box 6		Atomic Information
Box 6		Audit bureau of circulations
Box 6		Automobile safety
Box 6		Axford, Roger W.
Box 7		B, miscellaneous 1935-1955 (4 folders)
Box 8		B, miscellaneous 1956-1965 (2 folders)
Box 8		Balaban and Katz
Box 8		Barton's Candy Co.
Box 8		Bell and Howell
Box 8		Benson Associates
Box 8		Bergman, Joe
Box 8		Bernhard, Edgar
Box 8		Binswanger, Charles A.
Box 8		Blair, Edward McCormick
Box 8		Blaine, Mrs. Emmons (Anita)
Box 8		Blewett
Box 9		B'nai Zion Congregation (Rabbi Henry Fisher)
Box 9		B'nai Berth and Lodges
Box 9		Book Publishers
Box 9		Boyle, Charles
Box 9		Bradley, Preston
Box 9		Braude, J. M.
Box 9		W. Brain Co.
Box 9		Broadcast Music Inc. (Carl Haverlin)
Box 9		Brookstone, Louis
Box 9		Broun Award
Box 9		Broyles Committee
Box 9		Buescher, Walter
Box 9		Burck, Jacob
Box 10		Buik, George C.
Box 10		Burman, Judge Henry L.
Box 10		Bureau on Jewish Employment Problems
Box 10		Burnette, Wells
Box 10		C, miscellaneous 1943-1952 (3 folders)
Box 11		C, miscellaneous 1953-1964 (4 folders)
		Cancer Prevention Center of Chicago
Box 11			1952-1957
Box 12			1958-1960 (3 folders)
Box 13			1961-1964 (4 folders)
Box 14			1965
Box 14		Capital Times
Box 14		Caplan, A. O.
Box 14		Carey, Archibald
Box 14		Carpentier, Charles F.
Box 14		Casey, Verne
Box 14		Castle, Latham
Box 14		Catholic Youth Organization
Box 14		Cherdron, Irving T.
Box 14		Cherry, Senator Robert E.
Box 14		Chicago Accredited Newspapers
Box 14		Chicago Allied Printing Trades Council
Box 14		Chicago's American
Box 14		Chicago Association of Commerce and Industry
Box 14		Chicago Bar Association
Box 14		Chicago Bears Football Club (George Halas)
Box 14		Chicago Better Business Bureau
Box 14		Chicago Board of Education
Box 14		Chicago Board of Education
Box 14		Chicago Board of Election Commissioners
Box 14		Chicago Board of Health (Dr. Andelmann)
Box 14		Chicago Commission on Human Relations
Box 15		Chicago Community Music Foundation
Box 15		Chicago Council on Farm Relations
Box 15		Chicago Cubs
Box 15		Chicago Daily News
Box 15		Chicago Daily News
Box 15		Chicago Housing
Box 15		Chicago Housing Authority
Box 15		Chicago Medical School
Box 15		Chicago Memorial Hospital
Box 15		Chicago Motor Club
Box 15		Chicago Northwestern Railway System
Box 15		Chicago Park District (2 folders)
Box 15		Chicago Police Department
Box 15		Chicago Police Department, Superintendent of Police, Orlando Wilson
Box 15		Chicago Press Club
Box 15		Chicago Public Library
Box 15		Chicago Rabbinical Association
Box 15		Chicago Safety Council
Box 15		Chicago Stereotypers
Box 16		Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Box 16		Chicago Teachers Union
Box 16		Chicago Transportation
Box 16		Chicago Transit Authority
Box 16		Chicago Tribune
Box 16		Chicago Typographical Union
Box 16		Chicago Web Printing Pressman's Union
Box 16		Chicago White Sox
Box 16		Child Labor Laws
Box 16		Christian Science
Box 16		Christmas advertising letter
Box 16		Christmas list
Box 16		Church, Mrs. Ralph
Box 16		Circulation Dept.
Box 16		Citadel Press
Box 16		Citizens of Greater Chicago
Box 16		Citizens Schools Committee
Box 16		Citizens Traffic Safety Board
Box 16		City Club of Chicago
Box 16		City News Bureau
Box 16		City of Hope
Box 17		Civil Intelligence Service
Box 17		Civil Service Commission
Box 17		Civil Service Centennial Commission
Box 17		Civil War Round Table
Box 17		Civilian defense
Box 17		Classified Department correspondence
Box 17		Clinton, Stanford
Box 17		Cohen, Nathan M.
Box 17		Cole-Finder Records
Box 17		Combined Jewish Appeal
Box 17		Combined Insurance Co. of America
Box 17		Commercial Insurance Co.
Box 17		Commissions
Box 17		Commercial National Bank
Box 17		Community Fund of Chicago
Box 17		Conant, Howard R.
Box 17		Consolidated Balance Sheets
Box 17		Consulates
Box 17		Cook County Office of the Department of Purchase
Box 17		Cook County Democratic Committee
Box 17		Cook County National and Cook Co. Central Democratic Committee
Box 17		Cook Electric
Box 17		Crawford's Department Store (Sam & Al Garber)
Box 17		Credit Department
Box 17		Culberg Asbestos Co.
Box 17		Cunniff, Luke F.
Box 18		Cushman, Elliott L. - San Diego Shopping News
Box 18		D, miscellaneous 1942-1964 (4 folders)
Box 18		Daily cash sales reports 1955
Box 18		Daily Compass
Box 18		Daley, Richard J., Mayor 1954-1965 ( 2 folders)
Box 18		Daniels, Jonathan
Box 19		Danon, Richard
Box 19		Davis, Dick - Transcript Publications
Box 19		Day, J. Edward, Postmaster General, Washington, D.C.
Box 19		Deadlines - Myers
Box 19		Decalogue Society of Lawyers 1946-1965 (2 folders)
Box 19		Delfino, Adrian
Box 19		Democratic National Committee 1955
Box 19		Democratic National Convention
Box 19		Denoyer Geppart Co.
Box 19		Delove, S. L.
Box 19		Department of Commerce
Box 19		Despres, Leon
Box 19		Detroit Shopping News
Box 19		Devon Avenue Parking Project
Box 19		Devon Avenue Paving
Box 19		Devon North Town State Bank (2 folders)
Box 19		Dewitt, Edward - Wallace Tubes Com.
Box 19		Diamond Jubilee Edition 1889-1964
Box 19		Dipletro, Nick - Chicago Typographers Union
Box 19		Dirksen, Senator E. M.
Box 20		Dollar Day correspondence
Box 20		Donaghue, Pete
Box 20		Doubleday
Box 20		Douglas, Senator Paul H. (2 folders)
Box 20		Drury, John
Box 20		Duffy, John J. - President, Cook County Board of Commissioners
Box 20		Dun & Bradstreet
Box 20		E, miscellaneous 1951-1964 (3 folders)
Box 21		Easy Travel
Box 21		Edgewater Folk Fair
Box 21		Editor and Publisher (2 folders)
Box 21		Editorial Style
Box 21		Editor's Mail (2 folders)
Box 21		Eisenhower, Dwight D.
Box 21		Elliott, Ivan A.
Box 21		Electric Association
Box 21		Encampment for Citizenship
Box 21		Engraving Costs
Box 21		Equipment-Machinery
Box 21		Equitable Life Assurance Co.
Box 21		Erickson, William N. - Board of Commissioners of Cook Co.
Box 21		Evanston Broadcasting - WNMP
Box 21		Evanston Mail
Box 22		Everston, Joseph
Box 22		Excess profits
Box 22		Executive Committee meetings
Box 22		F, miscellaneous 1943-1964 (4 folders)
Box 22		Fazackerly, Donald
Box 22		Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
Box 23		Charles R. Feldstein and Co.
Box 23		Ferstl, Joseph
Box 23		Finnegan, Edward R.
Box 23		Finnegan Memorial
Box 23		First Commercial Bank of Chicago
Box 23		Fleck & Pollack
Box 23		Four year college
Box 23		Fox, Seymour
Box 23		Frank, Morron
Box 23		Franklin Association
Box 23		Free Press
Box 23		French Provisional Government
Box 23		G, miscellaneous 1943-1954 (2 folders)
Box 24		G, miscellaneous 1955-1965 (3 folders)
Box 24		Gansberg, Joan
Box 24		Gavin, Mrs. Ruth
Box 24		General Semantics 1934-1964 (2 folders)
Box 25		Gerber, Ann
Box 25		Gertz, Elmer
Box 25		Glasser, Charles
Box 25		Glasser, Mrs. Morris
Box 25		Glazer, Barney
Box 25		Gluck-Citron, Inc.
Box 25		Goddess, Norman
Box 25		Goldblatt's Department Store
Box 25		Goldwater, Barry
Box 25		Gordon, Lou
Box 25		Goss Printing Press Co.
Box 25		Grace, Edward (Springfield Shopping News)
Box 25		Green, Dwight
Box 25		Greisdorf, Myron
Box 25		Gunlock, Virgil E.
Box 25		Gutknecht, Judge John J.
Box 26		H, miscellaneous 1941-1965 (4 folders)
Box 27		Headline Club, Sigma Delta Chi
Box 27		Hirsh, Alderman Morris H.
Box 27		Hoe & Co.
Box 27		Hoellen, Alderman John J.
Box 27		Hoffenberg, Sol
Box 27		Holleb, Marshall
Box 27		Holleb, Paul
Box 27		Horwich, Bernard (Jewish Community Center)
Box 27		Hull House
Box 27		Humphrey, Hubert H.
Box 27		Huppert, Jerome
Box 27		I, miscellaneous 1943-1964
Box 27		Illinois Bell Telephone Co.
Box 27		Illinois, House Bills
Box 27		Illinois, House Banking Committee
Box 28		Illinois Inst. of Technology
Box 28		Illinois, Legals
Box 28		Illinois Lincoln Sesquicentennial Commission
Box 28		Illinois Parole Board March, 1962
			See also Leopold, Nathan.
Box 28		Illinois Parole Board Apr., 1962-1964
Box 28		Illinois Press Association
Box 28		Illinois Secretary of State
Box 29		Illinois State Highway Commission
Box 29		Illinois State Historical Library
Box 29		Inaugurations (V.S. Pres.) 1949, 1961
Box 29		Independent voters of Illinois 1945-1957 (2 folders)
Box 29		Inland Steel
Box 29		Insurance (miscellaneous)
Box 29		Interstate Steel Co.
Box 29		Israel Bonds
Box 29		J, miscellaneous 1943-1964 (2 folders)
Box 30		Jacobs, Sidney J.
Box 30		Janowitz, Morris
Box 30		Hernberg, Pete
Box 30		Jewish Federation
Box 30		Jewish organizations
Box 30		Jingle winners
Box 30		John Birch Society
Box 30		John Price Jones Co.
Box 30		Johnson, Lyndon Baines
Box 30		Judges
Box 30		Justin Furniture Co.
Box 30		K, miscellaneous 1943-1957 (3 folders)
Box 31		K, miscellaneous 1958-1964
Box 31		Kelly, Edward J., Mayor
Box 31		Kennedy, John F.
Box 31		Kennelly, Martin, Mayor
Box 31		Kerner, Otto, Governor
Box 31		Kinnare, Paul 1950-1961 (2 folders)
Box 32		Kinnare, Robert
Box 32		Kiwanis Clubs
Box 32		Klopp, Clarence G.
Box 32		Koinonia Farm
Box 32		Komaiko, Charles
Box 32		Korshak, Marchall
Box 32		Kravtter, Betty Bialk
Box 32		Krawchek, Julian
Box 32		Krug, Mark M.
Box 32		Kukla, Fran and Ollie
Box 32		L, miscellaneous 1943-1950
Box 33		L, miscellaneous 1951-1965 (3 folders)
		Lake Meadows Hospital
Box 33			1955-1956 (2 folders)
Box 34			1956
Box 34		Lakeview Citizens' Council
Box 34		Lakeview Trust and Savings
Box 34		Lapp, John
Box 34		League of Women Voters of Chicago
Box 34		Lear, Les
Box 34		Le Blane Corporation
Box 34		Lennon and Rose
Box 34		Leopold, Nathan
Box 34		Lepawsky, Albert
Box 34		Lerner, Dora
Box 34		Lerner, Edward
Box 34		Lerner, Louis
Box 34		Lerner, Robert
Box 34		Levy, Russell
Box 35		Lewis, Fulton, Jr.
Box 35		Libel information
Box 35		Life of Niles Township 1958-1964 (2 folders)
Box 35		Lincoln Belmont Booster 1958, 1962-1964 (2 folders)
Box 36		Lincoln Belmont Business Association
Box 36		Lincoln Belmont Parking
Box 36		Lincoln Square Savings and Loan Association 1957-1959 (2 folders)
Box 36		Little City
Box 36		Long, Valerie Zawila
Box 36		Lorenz, Francis F.
Box 36		Loukas, James P.
Box 36		Lowenthal, Mrs. Alfred
Box 36		Loyalty oath 1947-1949
Box 37		M, miscellaneous 1943-1957 (5 folders)
Box 38		M, miscellaneous 1958-1965 (2 folders)
Box 38		MacArthur editorial - reaction
Box 38		McCallister, Frank
Box 38		McCormick Place
Box 38		McCrohan, Margaret
Box 38		McCulloch, Frank
Box 38		MacDougall, Curtis D.
Box 38		McFetridge, William
Box 39		Maga, Don
Box 39		Magazines & newspapers, miscellaneous
Box 39		Mail promotion
Box 39		Maps
Box 39		Maremont, Arnold
Box 39		Margolis, Richard
Box 39		Marina City
Box 39		Marovitz, Abraham L.
Box 39		Marquis Publications
Box 39		Marshall Field & Co.
Box 39		Mayers, Dr. Benedict
Box 39		Mayo Clinics
Box 39		Mellus, William M.
Box 39		Metropolitan Fair and Exposition Authority
Box 39		Millar, John H.
Box 39		Milwaukee Journal
Box 40		Modern Poetry Association
Box 40		Montmorency Paper Co. 1943-1958 (2 folders)
Box 40		Montgomery Ward
Box 40		Moran, Jim
Box 40		Movie script
Box 40		Museum of Science and Industry
Box 40		Myers, Thomas Jr.
Box 40		Myers family
Box 40		Myers Publishing Co.
Box 41		Myers Publishing Co., misc. materials
Box 41		Myers travel bureau
Box 41		N, miscellaneous 1943-1964 (3 folders)
Box 41		Narcotics & Alcoholism
Box 41		Nathanson, Ben (East side shopper)
Box 41		The Nation
Box 41		National Conference of Christians and Jews
Box 41		National Editorial Association 1950-1957, 1961-1965 (2 folders)
Box 42		National Education Association
Box 42		National Forum
Box 42		National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis
Box 42		National Jewish Hospital
Box 42		National Lawyers Guild
Box 42		Navy League of U.S.
Box 42		New Republic (Harrison, Gil)
Box 42		Newman, Danny
Box 42		Newsprint information
Box 42		Newsprint supplies
Box 42		North Shore National Bank
Box 42		North Town Chamber of Commerce
Box 42		Northernaire
Box 42		Northwest Realty Corporation (Jackson, Arthur)
Box 42		Northwestern University
Box 42		O, miscellaneous 1943-1963
Box 42		Offset file
Box 42		Open Court Publishing Co.
Box 42		Orient trip 1963
Box 43		O'Rourke, Robert J., Alderman, 48th
Box 43		P, miscellaneous 1943-1957 (2 folders)
Box 43		Peoples Gas, Light & Coke Co.
Box 43		Peltz, Cissie Libshutz
Box 43		J.R. Pershall Co.
Box 43		Petrie, Donald A.
Box 43		Photographic costs
Box 43		Petroleum Heat and Power Co.
Box 43		Pica's Peek
Box 43		Pillen, Herbert C.
Box 43		Pioneer Publishing Co.
Box 44		Politics (2 folders)
Box 44		Pollak, Robert
Box 44		Portes, Caesar
Box 44		Price Paper Corp. (Wickliffe B. Moore)
Box 44		Print Promotion
Box 44		Printing Center (Wm. McDonnell)
Box 44		Printing correspondence.
Box 44		Prospective customers for printing jobs
Box 44		Publicity Club of Chicago
Box 44		Publishers Auxiliary
		Publishers' statements
Box 44		Pulitzer Prize (Hillman Foundation)
Box 44		Pucinski, Roman C., Congressman
Box 44		Q, miscellaneous 1943-1962
Box 44		Quaal, Ward L.
Box 44		Quilici, George L.
Box 44		Quinn, James R.
Box 45		R, miscellaneous 1943-1965 (4 folders)
Box 45		Race discrimination
Box 46		Rapid Reading Program
Box 46		Ravenswood Hospital
Box 46		Receipts, Civic Organizations, etc.
Box 46		Red Owl Stores
Box 46		Reitzel, Al
Box 46		Remington Typewriter Co.
Box 46		Republican National Committee (Conventions)
Box 46		Resa, Alexander
Box 46		Robie House
		Roosevelt University
Box 46			Miscellaneous 1950-1956 (3 folders)
Box 47			Miscellaneous 1956-1958 (4 folders)
Box 48			Miscellaneous 1958-1965 (4 folders)
Box 48			Reports
Box 49			Board of Trustees Minutes
Box 49			By-Laws, amendments, constitution
Box 49			Faculty Manual 1948-1949
Box 49			Journalism 201, papers
Box 49			Report of the President 1950-1951
Box 49			Treasurer's Reports
Box 50			Auditorium restoration (Sparling)
Box 50			Auditorium restoration
Box 50			Auditorium restoration (incl. Lerner's resignation)
Box 50		Rose Bowl game
Box 50		Rosenberg, Marvin
Box 50		Rosenberg, Thomas
Box 50		Rosenblatt, Abner
Box 50		Rosenbloom, I. J.
Box 51		Rotman, Morris
Box 51		Rover, Edmund
		S, miscellaneous
Box 51			1943-1955 (4 folders)
Box 52			1956-1958
Box 53			1960-1965
Box 53		Sachs, Morris B.
Box 53		Sain, Frank G., sheriff
Box 53		St. Lawrence Project
Box 53		Salomon, Kurt J.
Box 53		Saltiel, Ed
Box 53		Sandburg, Carl
Box 53		Sane nuclear policy
Box 53		Saperstein, Esther
Box 53		Satin, Max
Box 54		Scandinavian Seminar (2 folders)
Box 54		Schooler, Lee (Public Relations Board)
Box 54		Schrayer, Max (Associated Agencies)
Box 54		Schwartz, Nate
Box 55		Sears, Roebuck and Co.
Box 55		Semrow Broadcasting Co., Inc. (WNMP)
Box 55		Semrow, Harry
Box 55		The Sentinel
Box 55		Shapiro, Samuel H.
Box 55		Sherman Hotel
Box 55		Shimer College
Box 55		Showell, John
Box 55		Shriver, Sargent
Box 55		Shumate, Al (Accredited Newspaper Association)
Box 55		Simon, Seymour
Box 55		Social Security Administration
Box 55		Solon, Joseph
Box 55		South End Reporter (Raymond Kelly)
Box 55		South Town Economist
Box 55		Southern Illinois University
Box 55		Sperling, Jack
Box 55		Staff
Box 56		Staff memos (2 folders)
Box 56		Stamp plan
Box 56		Statement of ownership
		Stevenson for President
Box 56			Miscellaneous
Box 57			Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Box 58			Miscellaneous
Box 58		Starr case
Box 58		Stratton, William G., Governor
Box 58		Stone, Jerome H.
Box 58		Suburbia
Box 58		Sun Press, Cleveland (Harry Volk)
Box 58		Sun Times-reprints of L. A. L. editorials
Box 59		Sur-Prize-O
Box 59		Surveys, Lerner area
Box 59		Sweeney, Frank
Box 59		Swim carnival
Box 59		Swinarski, Theodore A.
Box 59		Synagogues, Sisterhoods, Men's Clubs, etc.
Box 59		T, misc.
Box 59		Taylor, Crombie
Box 59		Taxes, miscellaneous
Box 59		Television broadcasting and radio stations
Box 59		Theta Sigma Phi
Box 59		Thillers, Mel
Box 59		Time Magazine
Box 59		Times Home Newspapers
Box 60		U, miscellaneous
Box 60		Unger, Martin E.
Box 60		Unions
Box 60		United Nations
			See also Lerner, Deana.
Box 60		United Nations, San Francisco Conference
Box 60		U.S. Congressmen, Senators and miscellaneous
Box 60		U.S. Department of Commerce Community Relations Service
Box 60		U.S. Department of Interior
Box 60		U.S. Department of Labor
Box 60		U.S. Post Office Department
Box 60		U.S. Treasury Department
Box 61		United Steelworkers of America
Box 61		Universal Pictures (Ben Katz)
Box 61		University of Chicago
Box 61		University of Illinois
Box 61		Universities, colleges and schools
Box 61		Uptown Commission
Box 61		Uptown Federal Savings and Loan Association
Box 61		Uptown National Bank of Chicago
Box 61		V, miscellaneous
Box 61		W, miscellaneous 1951-1965 (3 folders)
Box 62		WMAQ
Box 62		Walgreen Drug Stores
Box 62		Walker, Claude
Box 62		Weber, Alban
Box 62		Weber, Charles
Box 62		Weintraub, Ben
Box 62		Weiss, Edward W.
Box 62		Western Union
Box 62		Westinghouse Broadcasting Co.
Box 62		Wheels, Inc.
Box 62		White House
Box 62		Whitman, Walt
Box 62		Wieboldt Stores, Inc.
Box 62		Wieboldt's Dept. Store
Box 62		Wigoda, Paul T.
Box 62		Will, Herbert L.
Box 62		Willens, Sherwin
Box 62		Winsberg's Dept. Store
Box 62		X, Y, Z, miscellaneous
Box 62		Yates, Sidney R., Congressman
Box 63		Yates for U. S. Senator
Box 63		Young Men's Christian Association (3 folders)
Box 63		Zelezinski, A. V. and Swinarski, T. A.

	Personal File
		Correspondence
Box 64			1931-1946 (5 folders)
Box 65			1947-1950 (4 folders)
Box 66			1951-1954 (4 folders)
Box 67			1955-1958 (4 folders)
Box 68			1959-1962 (4 folders)
Box 69			1964-1965
Box 69			Misc. unidentified correspondence 1929, undated
		Subject File
Box 70			Continental Journey, materials concerning European tour 1960
			Farm mortgage
Box 70				1947-1955 (2 folders)
Box 71				1956-1965 (2 folders)
Box 71				Addition & Furniture
Box 71			Hawaiian trip 1964
Box 71			Herrick Award
Box 71			Home, 4300 Marine Drive
Box 71			House, 2120 W. Lunt, sale of 1959
Box 71			The Italics Are Mine, materials concerning
Box 72			The Itch Of Opinion, materials concerning
Box 72			Jaguar [automobile - "Jagulars are such very good droppers!"]
Box 72			Lerner, Deana - letters from L.A.L.
Box 72			Miscellaneous unidentified papers and notes
Box 72			Photographs of people
Box 72			Photographs of papers
Box 72			Silver jubilee 1951
		Journals
Box 73			Personal notebook undated
Box 73			Pocket calendars 1944-1964

	Manuscripts
		Speeches, etc.
Box 74			1941-1946 (5 folders)
Box 75			1947-1954 (7 folders)
Box 76			1955-1959 (5 folders)
Box 77			1960-1962
Box 77			Miscellaneous speech, article, & editorial materials

	Published Materials
Box 78		Articles by Lerner 1931-1966, undated
Box 78		Articles about Lerner 1936-1965
Box 79		Miscellaneous 1939-1966, undated

	Tape Recordings
Box 80		Recordings of broadcasts

	Correspondence (1979 addition)
Box 1		Business 1935-1966
Box 1		Congratulatory 1946-1964
Box 1		Personal 1927-1968

	Memorabilia (1979 addition)
Box 1		Awards and memorial photographs

	Printed material (1979 addition)
Box 1		General (4 folders)
Box 2		General

	Writings (1979 addition)
		Books
Box 2			Continental Journey
Box 2			The Italics are Mine
Box 2			The Itch of Opinion
Box 2			Truth Ripens (2 folders)
Box 2			Reviews of Lerner's books
Box 2		Editorials 1936-1953 (4 folders)
Box 3		Editorials 1954-1965 (3 folders)
Box 3		Typescripts and holographs
Box 3		Miscellaneous
Box 3		Tape recordings

Return to top