Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Lossing, Benson John, 1813-1891.
Title:	Benson John Lossing Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1843-1917
Quantity:	1.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	The Benson John Lossing Collection is an assortment of correspondence, drawings, writings, and memorabilia relating to the 19th century historian, illustrator, and editor of The American Historical Review (1813-1891). Predominantly correspondence, the collection centers around Lossing's information gathering for his popularizations of American history, while it also illuminates the early publishing industry in the United States.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Benson John Lossing (1813-1891), historian, editor, and wood-engraver, was born at Beekman, Dutchess County, N.Y., son of John Lossing, a farmer, and Miriam (Dorland) Lossing. Benson's father and mother died when he was a child, and his formal education was limited to three years at a district school.

During his apprenticeship to a watchmaker at Poughkeepsie he read a number of history books, and over a period of several years pursued an independent study. At the age of twenty-two he was made joint editor and proprietor of the Poughkeepsie Telegraph, Dutchess County's official Democratic journal; and when he became joint editor of the Poughkeepsie Casket, a literary fortnightly, he began to learn the art of engraving on wood from J. A. Adams, illustrator for this paper. He went to New York in 1838 and in 1839 began two years of editing and illustrating for J. S. Redfield's Family Magazine.

His Outline History of the Fine Arts, prepared largely during spare moments, was published in 1840 as one of Harper's Family Library. For the Pictorial Field Book of the American Revolution (1850-52) Lossing traveled more than eight thousand miles in the United States and Canada, collecting information and dashing off hasty sketches from which he afterwards made block drawings for engravings. Harper & Bros. had advanced him the funds for this enterprise; the book was issued first in parts and later in two large octavo volumes.

During the thirty-five years that followed, Lossing published prolifically, and in all was either author or editor of more than forty titles. Among them were two more of the pictorial series, covering the War of 1812 and the Civil War. From 1872 to 1874 he was an able editor of the American Historical Record and Repertory of Notes and Queries. Lossing was twice married: in June 1833 to Alice Barritt; and during the year after her death, to Helen Sweet. The fact that Lossing's Pictorial Field Book of the American Revolution is still interesting to the layman and authoritatively valuable to the antiquarian would seem to make its author more than a mere popularizer of American history.

[Adapted from American Authors 1600-1900 (1938)]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benson John Lossing Collection comprises Correspondence-family, Correspondence-general, Drawings, Writings, and Memorabilia relating to the 19th century historian, illustrator, and editor of The American Historical Review (1813-1891). Predominantly correspondence, the collection centers around Lossing's information gathering for his popularizations of American history, while it also illuminates the early publishing industry in the United States.

Correspondence-family consists mostly of letters by Lossing to his wife Helen and includes single letters to and from Lossing's son, Edison. Arranged chronologically, the Correspondence-general consists of over 1000 incoming and outgoing letters written between 1843 and 1903, and includes those of artists (John C. Buttre, Thomas S. Cummings, T. Addison Richards, John Rogers, James Smillie, Robert W. Weir); antiquarians (Samuel G. Drake, Lyman C. Draper, John S. Fogg); authors (W. H. Bogart, Thomas Ewbank, Laura C. Holloway, Theodorus B. Myers, Caroline Frances Orne, Nathaniel Paine, Charles F. Richardson, James Riker, Edward M. Ruttenber, Prosper M. Wetmore, Andrew C. Zabriske); clergymen (Henry W. Bellows, Thomas B. Fairchild, Edward D. Neill, Samuel I. Prime, William B. Sprague); editors (Lyman Abbott, Henry M. Alden, Mary L. Booth, Henry B. Dawson, Evert A. Duyckinck, Sarah J. Hale); historians (Samuel G. Arnold, A. B. Berard, A. G. Brackett, Charles C. Jones, George H. Moore, Henry Onderdonk, Jeptha R. Simms, William Leete Stone, John W. Thornton, John F. Watson, Winslow C. Watson, William A. Whitehead); military figures (John W. De Peyster, Dennis H. Mahan, Brantz Mayer, William H. Morris, John E. Wool); physicians (John W. Francis, Samuel W. Francis, F. B. Hough, Usher Parsons); politicians (Charles S. Carter, Schuyler Colfax, Hiland Hall, A. B. Hasbrouck); and publishers (William H. Appleton, Henry C. Baird, Clarence W. Bowen, George W. Childs, Joseph W. Harper, Mason Brothers, George H. Putnam, George P. Putnam). There are also a number of letters written to Mrs. Lossing subsequent to her husband's death in 1891. In addition, Correspondence includes miscellaneous letters about Lossing, letter fragments, and envelopes. A selected index to the correspondence follows the box list.

Lossing's work as an illustrator and historian is represented by Drawings and Writings. The collection contains five pencil sketches, one watercolored, of mostly historical sites. Writings include various chapters from The Discovery of America and Side Lights of History, as well as an assortment of research material, notes, miscellaneous manuscripts, and clippings.

Memorabilia includes financial and legal documents and an Anderson Galleries auction catalog from 1917 containing Lossing manuscripts and drawings.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into Family, arranged alphabetically, and General, arranged chronologically. Writings and Memorabilia are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benson John Lossing Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jun 1992
Revision history: 19 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 5 Jan 2017 - index code fixed (MRC); 14 Jun 2024 - Whitehead letter date corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-family
Box 1		Benson J. Lossing/Helen Lossing (wife) 1857-1889, undated
Box 1		Benson J. Lossing/Edison J. Lossing (son) 1880, 1890

	Correspondence
Box 1		[General] 1843-1862 (34 folders)
Box 2		[General] 1863-1874 (31 folders)
Box 3		[General] 1875-1891, undated (23 folders)
Box 3		[General] 1896-1903 - Letters to Mrs. Helen Lossing
Box 4		Miscellaneous (about Lossing)
Box 4		Fragments
Box 4		Envelopes

	Drawings

	Writings
Box 4		"The Discovery of America" - miscellaneous chapters - ms.
Box 4		"Side Lights of History" - miscellaneous chapters - ms.
Box 4		Research material, notes
Box 4		Miscellaneous manuscripts
Box 4		Clippings

	Memorabilia
Box 4		Financial and legal documents (2 folders)
Box 4		Reviews, miscellaneous printed material relating to William Wilson, whose book of poetry Lossing edited
Box 4		Miscellany
Box 4		Auction catalog from Anderson Galleries, Inc. of Lossing manuscripts and drawings Jan. 29-30, 1917

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence

• A. S. Barnes & Co. : 1886 June 04
• Abbott, Lyman : 1881 June 17; 1881 Sep. 22; 1881 Oct. 13; 1890 Nov. 25; 1898 July 20; undated
• Adams, John D. : undated
• Adams, John Q. : 1881 Feb. 12
• Akers, Charles : 1872 Apr. 09
• Akin, Lemuel T. : 1864 Dec. 05
• Alden, Henry Mills : 1873 June 10; 1873 Aug. 30
• Alden, John Berry : 1884 Feb. 27
• Aldrich, Charles : 1885 Apr. 07; 1885 Apr. 15
• Allen & Co. : 1853 Feb. 03
• Allen, Ethan A., Jr. : 1856 Apr. 02 (misc.); 1856 Dec. 27
• Alofsen, S. : 1861 July 02
• American Literary Bureau : see Carter, Charles S.
• Andrews, C. W. : 1855 Oct. 08
• Andrews, William Loring : 1867 July 01
• Annable, George O. : 1853 Nov. 30
• Appleton, William Henry : 1882 Oct. 30; 1901 Mar. 20
• Armstrong, John : 1850 Sep. 01
• Arnold, Isaac Newton : 1877 Aug. 06
• Arnold, Samuel Greene : 1855 Jan. 22; 1855 July 24; 1859 Jan. 09; 1863 Jan.; 1875 Aug. 16; 1878 July 10; 1887 Apr. 21; 1887 Dec. 30; 1889 Jan. 10; 1889 Jan. 24; 1889 Feb. 24; 1890 Jan. 07
• Aspinwall, Col. : 1860 Feb. 03
• Atlee, Goodwin Yorke : 1870 Dec. 06
• Atlee, Samuel Yorke : 1857 July 03; 1857 Nov. 12; 1862 Jan.; 1862 Mar. 08; 1863 Sep. 14; 1864 July 07; 1864 July 15; 1865 Dec. 19; 1866 May 29; 1868 Apr. 15; 1869 Aug. 06; 1869 Aug. 13; 1869 Sep. 07; 1870 July 28; 1870 Aug. 08; 1870 Nov. 16; 1871 Nov. 17; 1873 Feb. 01; 1876 May 29; 1877 Jan. 31; 1889 Feb. 08; 1889 July 09; 1889 Nov. 09
• Atlee, William Yorke : 1863 July 28; 1864 Apr. 14
• Atwill, C. : undated
• Austin, Benjamin W. : 1886 Oct. 30
• Avery, Samuel Putnam : 1883 Mar. 12
• Bagnall, W. R. : 1882 Dec. 06
• Baird, Henry Carey : 1852 Mar. 03; 1852 July 23; 1853 Mar. 30; 1855 Apr. 06; 1860 Feb. 16?
• Baker, N. B. : 1873 Aug. 21
• Ballou, D. W., Jr. : 1853 Feb. 01
• Balmanno, Robert : 1855 Feb. 27
• Bancroft, George : 1880 Jan. 03
• Bardwell, J. N. : 1876 Mar. 01
• Barnard, Frederick A. P. : 1882 Oct. 19
• Barrett, Charles : 1870 May 25
• Barry, William : 1863 Apr. 15; 1863 Apr. 30; 1863 June 25
• Bartlett, John R. : 1861 Jan. 21
• Beach, W. W. : 1874 July 25
• Beal, Nathan R. : 1860 Apr. 04
• Beckman, James W. : 1853 Jan. 15
• Beers, F. L. : 1891 Jan. 08
• Belknap, William Worth : 1873 Oct. 09
• Bell, Clark : undated
• Bell, T. S. : undated
• Bellows, Henry Whitney : 1867 Feb. 05; undated
• Bennett, L. G. : 1877 Dec. 28
• Benton, Joel : 1870 July 16
• Berard, Augusta Blanche : [1855] May 14; 1863 Aug. 05; 1863 Nov. 19; 1865 Apr. 01; 1865 May 09; 1865 July 25; 1866 Dec. 03; 1866 Dec. 06; 1868 Oct. 18; 1876 July 24
• Bernard, R. : 1862 July 15; 1862 July 21; 1862 July 23
• Bill, Henry : 1865 Aug. 18
• Bill, Ledyard : 1865 Apr. 27; 1865 May 25
• Bishop, N. H. : 1877 Oct. 10
• Bissell, George Edwin : 1870 Dec. 12?; 1879 Mar. 28
• Bland, Fanny : undated
• Boardman, Samuel Lane : 1876 Nov. 25
• Bogart, William Henry : 1853 Jan. 13 (misc.); 1868? Mar. 21; 1883 Mar. 06
• Booth, Mary Louise : 1871 Oct. 02; 1871 Oct. 25; 1874 Dec. 26; 1878 May 13; 1879 Mar. 31; 1880 Jan. 17; 1880 June 14; 1881 Mar. 18; 1885 Sep. 22; See also Harper and Brothers
• Bowen, Clarence Winthrop : 1883 Jun. 19; 1888 Oct. 23; 1888 Oct. 30
• Bowen, Henry C. : 1884 Feb. 11
• Bowen, John Eliot : 1885 May 28; 1889 Apr. 11
• Boynton, Edward Carlisle : 1868 Dec. 04; 1868 Dec. 08
• Brackett, Albert Gallatin : 1872 Apr. 16; 1872 July 28; 1883 Oct. 21
• Bradley, J. W. : 1862 Feb. 24
• Brady, John : 1863 Dec. 20
• Breck, Samuel : 1859 May 30; 1859 June 18
• Brooks, Nathan Covington : 1857 May 05; 1865 Oct. 25; 1888 May 10
• Browne, Daniel Jay : 1852 Oct. 26; 1857 Mar. 14
• Browne, John C. : 1864 Feb. 15
• Browning, W. G. : 1888 June 28
• Bruce, J. M. : 1880 Dec. 02
• Bryant, William Cullen : 1872 Feb. 11; 1872 Feb. 13
• Buchanan, William : 1863 July 17
• Buckingham, Stephen M. : 1869 June 07; 1884 Aug. 03; 1884 Aug. 26
• Bulmer, J. T. : 1889 Jan. 05
• Bunce, Oliver Bell : 1856 Apr. 03; 1875 July 12
• Burgess, Edward : 1872 Sep. 24
• Burnham, T. O. H. P. : 1862 Jan. 24
• Busteed, Richard : 1864 Jan. 26
• Butler, James D. : 1888 Aug. 03
• Butter, B. C. : undated
• Butters, William J. : 1862 Jan. 07; [1862] Mar. 05; undated
• Buttre, John Chester : 1859 Apr. 16; 1859 Aug. 01; 1863 Apr. 18; 1867 Apr. 24; 1871 May 05; 1877 Oct. 29; 1877 Nov. 25; 1878 May 13; 1878 Aug. 30; 1879 July 09; 1879 Oct. 28; 1880 Dec. 04; 1882 Apr. 01; 1891 Apr. 20
• Byers, A. G. : 1864 May 28
• Callahan, S. T. : 1850 July 30
• Caman, E. A. : 1867 July 3
• Campbell, Charles : 1859 Jan. 18
• Carrington, Henry B. : 1876 Oct. 14
• Carter, Charles S. : 1871 Mar. 13; 1871 Oct. 12; 1872 Aug. 27; 1873 Jan. 28; 1874 Jan. 13
• Carter, Enoch : 1855 Nov. 26; 1872 Jan. 11
• Carter, Robert : 1873 June 12
• Case, O. D. : 1867 Apr. 06
• Chapin, John R. : [1859] Apr. 18
• Charlier, Elie : 1883 Oct. 09
• Chase, J. E. : 1870 Jan. 13
• Chase, Nelson : 1873 June 23
• Cheney, T. Apoleon : 1865 Apr. 17; 1866 Sep. 20
• Chester, J. W. : 1857 Mar. 30
• Chester, Joseph Lemuel : 1858 Apr. 08; 1858 Aug. 19; undated
• Chicago Sunday Gazette : see Chester, J. W.
• Childs, Emery E. : 1873 Oct. 22
• Childs, George William : 1862 Sep. 26; 1863 July 06; 1864 Sep. 27; 1862 Mar. 20 (misc.); 1862 Apr. 05 (misc.); See also Peabody, A. P.
• Church, Daniel : 1864 Mar. 27; 1864 Sep. 29; undated
• Clark, Emmons : 1882 Nov. 25
• Clarke, Samuel C. : 1848 Oct. 21; 1885 May 21 (enclosure: from John Eliot Bowen 1885 May 28)
• Cleveland, Daniel : 1891 Jan. 12
• Coffin, Tristram : 1869 July 20; 1888 June 08; 1888 Nov. 29
• Cohen, Joshua J. : 1843 Feb. 26; 1855 Apr. 29
• Colfax, Schuyler : 1873 Mar. 20; 1881 Sep. 06
• Colver, Lincoln : 1887 Jan. 12
• Colyer, Vincent : 1864 June 10
• Combs, Leslie : 1871 Aug. 21
• Cook, Charles : 1850 Aug. 22
• Cook, John A. : 1862 Jul. 28
• Corwin, E. B. : 1856 Mar. 06
• Coryell, S. S. : 1870 Mar. 19
• Cowles, D. J. : 1862 July 18
• Craig, Isaac : 1872 Nov. 12; 1873 Sep. 05; 1883 Aug. 14
• Crane, W. C. : 1888 Aug. 24
• Crannell, W. W. : 1888 Mar. 10; 1889 Nov. 13
• Cruikshank, W. : 1852 June 28
• Cullum, George Washington : 1867 June 22
• Cummings, Thomas Seir : 1852 Oct. 21; 1882 Mar. 29; 1882 Nov. 26; 1885 Nov. 23; 1888 Jan. 08
• Cushing, Caleb : 1865 Feb. 14
• Cushman, Charles N. : 1855 Jan. 23
• Cuzner, Thomas : 1858 Dec. 29
• Dana, D., Jr. : undated
• Darling, Charles William : 1888 May 15; 1888 May 17
• Darlington, William : 1859 Dec. 01; 1860 Feb. 08
• Dawson, Henry Barton : 1852 Mar. 15; 1866 July 04; 1881 Feb. 26; undated (2)
• Day, Alfred : 1867 Nov. 09
• De Lancey, Edward Floyd : 1872 Mar. 20
• De Peyster, John Watts : 1860 July 04; 1865 Feb. 06; 1882 Dec. 04; undated (enclosure: extract of Gen. Scott - Gen. Brown 1814 July 15)
• De Vere, Schele : 1871 Nov. 06
• Dean, Nicholas : 1852 Mar. 31 (misc.)
• Deane, Charles : 1872 July 27
• Denham, Edward : 1891 July 07
• Derby, C. L. : 1857 Aug. 08
• Derby, James Cephas : 1862 Mar. 20 (misc.); 1884 Feb. 15
• Dick, Franklin A. : 1865 Jan. 25
• Dickinson, Wharton : 1876 Aug. 29
• Dobbin, John Cochran : 1855 Nov. 16
• Dobbins, W. W. : 1863 Apr. 25; 1870 Feb. 01
• Doty, L. : 1862 Mar. 29; 1862 May 01
• Drake, Charles Daniel : 1865 Aug. 21
• Drake, Francis S. : 1870 Apr. 16
• Drake, Samuel Gardner : 1852 May 21; 1864 Apr. 25; 1870 Apr. 11; 1871 Oct. 31; 1871 Nov. 11
• Draper, John William : 1877 Apr. 24
• Draper, Lyman Copeland : 1854 May 17; 1854 May 29; 1854 June 06; 1854 June 16; 1854 Sep. 12; 1854 Oct. 18; 1854 Oct. 31; 1854 Dec. 17; 1855 May 16; 1859 Jan. 22; 1861 Mar. 23; 1869 Sep. 17; 1875 Oct. 24
• Duane, William : 1872 Jan. 11; 1872 Apr. 04
• Dudley, Joseph H. : 1869 Feb. 01
• Durand, Asher Brown : 1882 May 14
• Durand, John : 1882 July 17; 1882 July 24
• Duyckinck, Evert Augustus : 1856 Sep. 18 (misc.); 1867 Nov. 26; 1868 Dec. 25; 1872 Apr. 20
• Dwight, Theodore : 16 May 1880
• Dyer, Heman : 1856 Dec. 04
• Eagen, Sam W. : 1852 Apr. 01
• Earle, Alice Morse : undated
• Earnshaw, William : 1866 July 18
• Eastlake, Abram P. : 1875 Feb. 08
• Eaton, John : 1876 Mar. 30
• Edwards, J. : 1879 Apr. 01
• Elliott, Frances : 1862 Mar. 29
• Emmet, Thomas Addis : 1872 Sep. 25 (enclosure: copy of letter by Macy Ball Washington, mother of George Washington, 1760 July 02 to Joseph Ball); 1874 Dec. 31; 1875 Dec. 09
• English, Earl : 1880 May 14; 1880 May 15; 1882 June 07
• Etting, Frank M. : 1866 June 08; 1872 Aug. 27
• Evarts, William Maxwell : 1891 Apr. 06
• Everett, W. E. : 1863 Aug. 25
• Ewbank, Thomas : 1852 Oct. 04; 1853 July 03; 1854 Oct. 05; 1857 May 27; 1863 Aug. 25
• Ewell, Benjamin S. : 1866 Sep. 24
• Fairchild, Thomas B. : 1852 Apr. 09; 1855 Apr. 26; 1855 Dec. 29; 1857 June 29; 1858 June 24; 1859 June 28; 1860 Dec. 08; 1861 Feb. 25; 1861 Sep. 14
• Fairlie, Frederick : 1857 Feb. 19; 1857 Mar. 03; 1857 Mar. 31; 1857 Apr. 08; 1857 Apr. 22; 1857 May 09
• Faxon, William : 1866 Nov. 26
• Field, Cyrus West : 1879 May 03
• Fisk, Jabor? : 1863 May 11; 1863 May 29
• Fiske, Daniel W. : 1863 Oct. 12
• Flagg, H. : 1862 June 20
• Flagler & Company : 1883 Apr. 03
• Fogg, John S. H. : 1866 Mar. 17; 1874 Mar. 10; 1874 June 13 (enclosures: copies of historical docs. in Fogg's collection); 1874 Aug. 19; 1874 Nov. 07; 1888 Sep. 05
• Folwell, William W. : 1874 July 22
• Forbes, Edwin : 1866 Dec. 13
• Force, M. F. : 1873 Nov. 18
• Forsyth, John : 1872 Mar. 18; 1877 Feb. 01; 1877 Feb. 03
• Foster, J. : 1864 Aug. 20
• Fox, P. V. : 1885 Sep. 03
• Fox, Theo. S. : 1853 Jan. 25
• Francis, John Wakefield : 1855 May 25; 1859 Aug. 09; 1855 Feb. 03; 1859 Oct. 22
• Francis, Samuel Ward : 1872 July 27; 1876 Dec. 07; 1880 July 28; 1882 Sep. 09; 1884 Mar. 21; undated
• French, John W. : 1887 June 21
• Frost, John : 1853 Jan. 06 (misc.)
• Fuller, Samuel L. : 1857 July
• Funk, Isaac Kaufman : 1888 June 20
• Furness, Horace Howard : 1863 Jan. 14
• Gardner, Asa Bird : 1875 July 16
• Gautier, John S. : 1870 Apr. 23; 1870 Nov. 05; 1871 Feb. 15
• Gennet, C. M. : 1856 July 05; 1856 Aug. 01
• Gennet, W. : 1861 June 03; 1862 May 22
• George Bruce's Son and Company : 1882 Oct. 14
• Gilder, Jeannette Leonard and Joseph B. : 1884 Aug. 21
• Gilder, Richard Watson : 1871 May 29
• Gilley, Bradbury Poor : 1875 Mar. 31
• Gilmore, James Roberts : 1884 Jan. 20
• Gladwin, George E. : 1880 Dec. 27
• Goodman, Alfred T. : 1862 June 10; 1864 Jan. 04
• Goodman, Thomas A. : 1862 Nov. 15
• Goodrich, Cornelia G. : undated (2)
• Goodwin, William F. : 1860 June 18
• Goshem, A. T. : 1875 Mar. 02
• Gough, John Bartholomew : 1862 Mar. 06
• Gourlie, John H. : 1881 June 02; 1881 Sep. 14; 1882 Aug. 24; 1884 Dec. 04; 1886 Aug. 03; 1888 May; 1888 Aug. 02; 1888 Aug. 26; undated (3)
• Greble, Edwin St. John : 1865 May 19
• Green, Samuel A. : 1874 May 19
• H. S. Goodspeed & Company : 1881 Oct. 20; 1884 Aug. 04
• Hale, John M. : 1855 Dec. 17
• Hale, Sarah Josepha : 1851 May 19; 1857 Apr. 30
• Hall, Hiland : 1863 Apr. 17; 1863 May 06; 1867 Apr. 19; 1873 Apr. 24; 1873 May 10; 1874 Mar. 17; 1874 Apr. 02
• Hall, Thomas S. : 1863 Apr. 23
• Hamilton, A. : undated
• Hamilton, John C. : 1858 Mar. 12
• Hamilton, Mary Morris : 1861 Feb. 24
• Hamilton, Philip : 1872 Nov. 18
• Hammett, Charles E., Jr. : 1852 July 09
• Hannah, George : 1870 Oct. 23; 1870 Nov. 01
• Harden, William : 1872 Jan. 11
• Hardie, James A. : 1863 Aug. 18
• Harpel, Oscar H. : 1874 Sep. 29 (enclosures: 2 copies of broadside, "Prospectus For a Printer's Poems")
• Harper and Brothers : 1857 Nov. 23; 1860 Apr. 28; 1860 Aug. 09?; 1868 July 29; 1870 Oct. 07; 1871 May 10; 1871 Oct. 07; 1872 Dec. 14; 1877 Mar. 19; 1881 Aug. 10; 1882 Oct. 20; 1896 Feb. 04; 1896 Sep. 23; 1887 June 30; See also Booth, Mary Louise; See also Harper, Joseph W., Jr.
• Harper, Joseph Wesley Jr. : 1864 Mar. 05; 1868 Feb. 20; 1868 Feb. 29; 1868 Mar. 18; 1877 Mar. 22; 1878 Mar. 21; 1885 Mar.18; See also Frost, John; See also Allen, Ethan A., Jr.
• Hart, Charles Henry : 1876 Aug. 03
• Hart, Harriette E. : 1870 Aug. 30
• Hasbrouck, Abraham Bruyn : 1862 July 16; 1877 Mar. 17
• Haviland, C. August : 1868 Sep. 02; 1876 Apr. 07
• Hawley, Charles : 1861 Aug. 29
• Hazen, William Babcock : 1879 Dec. 22; 1885 Mar. 02
• Headley, Joel Tyler : undated
• Hepworth, George Hughes : 1884 Feb. 15
• Herbert, Sidney : 1865 Jan. 21
• Holden, A. W. : 1852 Mar. 19
• Holloway, Laura Carter : 1869 Mar. 08; 1871 Apr. 23; 1886 Aug. 10; undated
• Holt, Joseph : 1865 July 05
• Hough, Franklin Benjamin : 1852 July 21; 1870 Dec. 28; 1883 Apr. 09
• Howard, George W. : 1878 Sep. 05
• Hubbell, William Wheeler : 1863 May 20
• Ivison, Henry : 1882 Aug. 28; 1882 Sep. 09
• Johnson, L. D. : 1860 May 30; 1861 Nov. 15; undated
• Joline, Adrian Hoffman : 1887 Aug. 16 (misc.)
• Jones, Charles Colcock : 1872 Sep. 21; 1872 Nov. 06; 1874 Feb. 20
• Jones, Horatio G. : 1857 Sep. 10
• Jones, M. M. : 1875 Oct. 13
• Kelby, William : 1891 Apr. 29
• Kelly, John : 1882 Oct. 18
• Kelly, William : 1867 Mar. 08
• Kennedy, John A. : 1866 Aug. 08
• Ketchum, John Henry : 1884 Mar. 01
• Kidder, Edward : 1853 Apr. 14
• Kidder, Frederic : 1871 Oct. 12; 1871 Oct. 12
• Kimball, E. A. (Mrs.) : 1866 Nov. 20; 1867 Mar. 26
• King, Charles R. : 1887 July 29
• King, John : 1857 Feb. 18
• Kinney, B. H. : 1851 July 24; 1851 Oct. 27
• Kip, Leonard : 1870 Jan. 04; 1870 Jan. 06
• Kip, William F. : 1878 Sep. 11
• Kirk, Stephen Decatur : 1881 Sep. 13; 1881 Sep. 27; 1881 Oct. 10
• Kirke, Edmund : See Gilmore, James Roberts
• Knoedler, W. : 1867 Oct. 28
• Lamb, Martha Joanna Reade Nash : 1888 May 17
• Lamberton, Benjamin Peffer : 1881 Jan. 07
• Latimer, Isaac : 1860 Oct. 4
• LeDuc, William Gates : undated
• Lee, Herbert A. : 1888 June 20
• Lee, Mary Ann Randolph Custis : undated
• Lewis, Edward : 1870 Nov. 27
• Lieber, Francis : 1872 Mar. 05; 1872 Mar. 06
• Lillington, Margaret H. : undated
• Linn, John B. : 1877 Oct. 18
• Lippincott, Joshua Bertram : 1865 Aug. 09
• Littell, Eliakim : 1853 Feb. 28
• Liverman, George : 1860 Jan. 31
• Lossing, Benson J. : 1852 Apr. 09; 1852 May 21; 1852 June 28; 1853 Feb. 03; 1855 Feb. 03; 1855 Dec. 17; 1856 Apr. 27; 1857 Feb. 17; 1857 Mar. 03; 1857 Apr. 22; 1857 May 13; 1857 May 27; 1857 Aug. 27; 1857 Sep. 02; 1859 May 30; 1859 June 18; 1859 Oct. 22; 1860; 1860 Jan. 04; 1860 Feb. 03; 1860 Apr. 30; 1860 Dec. 04; 1861 Feb. 13; 1862 Mar. 06; 1862 Mar. 27; 1862 Oct. 10; 1862 Dec. 17; 1862 June 10; 1862 July 18; 1862 July 24; 1863 June 27; 1864 Feb. 15; 1864 Feb. 27; 1864 Mar. 05; 1864 Oct. 06; 1865 May 19; 1865 Oct. 03; 1866 June 25; 1866 July 4 (2); 1866 Nov. 27; 1866 Nov. 29; 1867 Nov. 09; 1868 Feb. 21; 1868 Apr. 13; 1868 Dec. 19; 1869 Jan. 26?; 1869 Feb. 01; 1869 June 07; 1869 July 09; 1869 July 20; 1869 Sep. 06; 1870 Jan. 06; 1870 May 25; 1870 Sep. 25; 1871 May 29; 1871 July 01; 1871 Oct. 02; 1871 Oct. 25; 1871 Oct. 31 (2); 1872 Feb. 13; 1872 Mar. 18; 1872 Apr. 20; 1872 May 20; 1872 July 27; 1872 Aug. 27; 1873 Oct. 09; 1874 Feb. 05; 1874 Feb. 19; 1874 June 17; 1874 July 14; 1875 Oct. 13; 1876 May 13; 1876 Nov. 25; 1877 Feb. 26; 1877 Oct. 29; 1877 Nov. 25; 1878 May 13 (2); 1878 Aug. 12; 1878 Aug. 30; 1879 Mar. 28; 1879 July 09; 1880 Jan. 13; 1880 Jan. 17; 1880 June 14; 1880 June 28 (2); 1880 Dec. 04; 1881 Mar. 18; 1881 Nov. 02; 1881 Dec. 26; 1882 Apr. 01; 1882 Apr. 17; 1882 June 07; 1883 Apr. 03; 1884 Feb. 15; 1884 Mar. 21; 1884 Aug. 21; 1884 Aug. 26; 1885 Jan. 23; 1885 Sep. 03; 1885 Sep. 22; 1886 Aug. 19; 1886 Oct. 30; 1887 June 21; 1887 June 30; 1887 Oct. 07; 1887 Dec. 24; 1888 June 08; 1888 June 20 (2); 1888 Aug. 24; 1888 Nov. 29; 1889 Apr. 11; 1890 Apr. 19; 1890 May 12; 1890 Sep. 13; 1890 Oct. 14; 1890 Nov. 25; 1891 Mar. 09
• Luce, Stephen Bleecker : 1881 Sep. 27
• Ludlow, R. Fulton : 1888 June 18
• Lyon, I. S. : 1866 Nov. 27
• Mahan, Dennis Hart : 1861 Mar. 04 (misc.); 1865 Aug. 08; 1865 Aug. 22; 1865 Aug. 29
• Marsh, L. R. : 1854 Dec. 22
• Marshall, Elizabeth C. : 1877 Feb. 26
• Marshall, Orasmus Holmes : 1874 Apr. 14
• Martin, H. D. : 1850 Nov. 13
• Marvin, W. T. R. : 1874 Nov. 12
• Mason Brothers : 1857 Jan. 06; 1857 Feb. 11; 1857 Feb. 13; 1857 Feb. 21; 1858 Oct. 26; 1858 Dec. 27; 1862 Oct. 17; 1862 Oct. 20; 1863 Aug. 10; 1864 Jan. 19; 1864 Aug. 13; 1864 Aug. 20; 1865 Apr. 11; 1865 May 05; 1865 May 10; 1865 May 16; 1865 May 17; 1865 May 25; 1865 Sep. 14; 1865 Dec. 15; 1867 Apr. 29; 1868 May. 11; 1869 Feb. 12; 1869 Aug. 25; 1881 Oct. 31; 1881 Nov. 02
• Mason, D. : 1880 June 28
• Mason, E. Williams : 1868 June 19
• Mason, J. : 1861 Jan. 28
• Matthews, James : 1860 June 19
• Mayer, Brantz : 1861 Jan. 21; 1861 Mar. 04; 1864 Oct. 02; 1864 Oct. 06; 1869 Apr. 28; 1870 Jan. 21
• McAllister, John A. : 1855 May 09; 1862 Oct. 10; 1863 June 15; 1863 Aug. 18; 1864 Jan. 14; 1864 Jan. 25; 1864 Mar. 25
• McClelland, R. : 1857 Feb. 04
• McComb, G. T. : 1885 Jan. 23
• McCulloch, Robert : 1875 Dec. 21
• McDonald, John : 1852 July 12
• Meigs, Montgomery Cunningham : 1868 Dec. 19
• Meline, James Florant : 1871 Nov. 30; 1872 Feb. 05
• Merritt, J. P. : 1860 Apr. 02
• Miles, Pliny : 1854 Dec. 09
• Mix, R. E. : 1852 Mar. 11
• Moore, George Henry : 1858 Jan. 22; 1861 Nov. 20; 1870 Sep. 26
• Moore, Jacob Bailey : 1886 May 06
• Moreau, Charles C. : 1874 May 15
• Moreau, Charles S. : 1872 Oct. 20
• Moreau, John B. : 1854 Dec. 11; 1859 Sep. 21; 1863 Dec. 12
• Morgan, Edwin Denison : 1882 Oct. 26
• Morris, George Pope : 1860 Mar. 27
• Morris, William Hopkins : 1865 May 15; 1865 July 03; 1887 Aug. 17
• Morse, Samuel F. B. : 1864 Aug. 19
• Moseley, William : 1854 Oct. 23
• Moss, John Calvin : 1884 Dec. 17
• Mott, Jordan Lawrence : 1883 May 29
• Muhlenberg, Henry Augustus : 1851 Jan. 04
• Munday, Eng. H. : 1862 Apr. 09
• Munsell, Joel : 1865 Jan. 31; 1869 Jan. 26?
• Munson, Lucas : 1849 Nov. 01
• Murray, David : 1882 Oct. 16
• Mutual Life Insurance Company : 1891 Mar. 09
• Myer, Albert James : 1867 Jan. 14
• Myers, Theodorus Bailey : 1867 Oct. 1?; 1871 Oct. 28; 1871 Oct. 31; 1872 Mar. 18; 1876 Mar. 12
• Neill, Edward Duffield : 1872 Apr. 12; 1875 Apr. 20; 1875 Nov. 09; 1878 June 05
• Neilson, Charles : 1848 Aug. 18; 1848 Sep. 04
• Newell, C. S. : 1863 Dec. 15
• Nirtne, James : 1860 Dec. 06; 1864 Oct. 06
• North, Edward : 1862 May 05; 1862 June 30
• Norton, Charles Benjamin : 1885 Mar. 11; 1885 May 12
• O'Callaghan, Dr. (Edmund Balley?) : 1852 Apr. 09
• Oby, Maurice C. : 1855 Jan. 31 (enclosure: letter from Susan Putnam 1855 Jan. 30)
• Oldroyd, Osborn H. : 26 Oct. 1883
• Oliver, Henry Kemble : 1853 Apr. 13
• Onderdonk, Henry Jr. : 1850 Aug. 14; 1852 Jan. 08; 1855 June 04; 1860 Jan. 31; 1868 Dec. 24; 1871 Oct. 24; 1871 Nov.; 1872 Feb. 04; undated (2)
• Oram, Elizabeth : 1853 Sep. 19; 1854 June 17; 1855 Dec. 03; 1860 May 14
• Orne, Caroline Frances : 1856 Mar. 07; 1856 Apr. 14; 1856 May 12; 1856 Aug. 29; 1857 Dec. 17; 1860 Apr. 02
• Orton, William : 1859 June 19
• Osgood, Sam : 1860 July 11
• Paige, Lucius R. : 1888 Jan. 03
• Paine, Nathaniel : 1864 Oct. 2?; 1872 Oct. 22; 1874 May 06; 1875 July 09
• Palmer, A. W. : 1873 Mar. 08; 1873 Apr. 24?
• Parker, Amasa Junius Jr. : 1875 Aug. 13
• Parker, Caroline E. : 1868 Feb. 20; 1868 Mar. 12
• Parsons, Usher : 1861 Aug. 17; 1861 Aug. 26; 1866 Dec. 30
• Peabody, Andrew Preston : 1862 Mar. 19 (misc.)
• Peale, Mary G. : 1868 Apr. 13
• Peck, Oren H. : 1856 Apr. 22; 1856 Apr. 27
• Perine, George Corbin : 1881 Dec. 26
• Perkins, A. T. : 1875 Feb. 23
• Perry, William Stevens : 1874 Mar. 30
• Peterson, Childs : 1860 Feb. 23
• Phelps, Almira Hart Lincoln : 1851 July 14; 1854 Feb. 16
• Phoenix, S. Whitney : 1867 May 11
• Platt, William : 1850 July 24
• Poignand, D. R. : 1861 June 03
• Poillon, William : 1882 Jan. 16
• Polk, Leonidas : 1854 May 20
• Porter, Peter A. : 1860 Feb. 11
• Potter, Chandler Eastman : 1855 Jan. 13; 1855 Jan. 29
• Potter, John E. : 1874 Nov. 04
• Powell, A. Von Haller : 1861 Nov. 18
• Powers, C. : 1873 Mar. 13
• Pratt, George : 1852 June 22
• Preble, George Henry : 1884 Oct. 22
• Prime, Samuel Irenaeus : 1876 Dec. 29; 1882 Sep. 11; undated
• Pugh, George Ellis : 1857 Feb. 18
• Purcell, John Baptist : 1865 July 23
• Putnam, George Haven : 1871 July 01; 1871 Aug. 15
• Putnam, George Palmer : 1857 Mar. 17; 1862 Mar. 27
• Ralph, Joseph : 1886 Mar. 16
• Ramsey, James Gettys McGready : 1860 Oct. 24
• Redfield, Justus Starr : 1868 Apr. 29; 1886 Mar. 12; 1887 Dec. 28
• Reed, William B. : 1862 Dec. 17; 1862 Dec. 18
• Renwick, James : 1882 Sep. 26
• Richards, T. Addison : 1879 Mar. 28; 1890 Oct. 25
• Richards, W. W. : 1891 Mar. 09; 1891 Mar. 12
• Richardson, C. W. : 1851 Oct. 23
• Richardson, Charles Francis : 1882 Jan. 18; 1882 Jan. 20; 1882 Jan. 25; 1882 Apr. 04
• Riker, James : 1854 Apr. 17; 1878 Mar. 19; 1885 Jan. 10
• Risley, John E. : 1862 May 21
• Rives, John Cook : 1857 Feb. 09
• Rogers, John : 1882 Sep. 16; 1882 Sep. 21; 1882 Nov. 03
• Roundtable, Publishers : 1866 July 04
• Ruttenber, Edward Manning : 1855 Oct. 04; 1855 Oct. 18; 1855 Oct. 19; undated
• Ryan, J. S. : 1855 May 09; 1855 June 12
• Sage, Aug. B. : 1858 July 09 (enclosure: watercolor of coins)
• Sammis, D. S. S. : 1877 Sep. 01
• Saratoga Monument Association : 1860 Apr. 16; 1860 Apr. 26; 1860 May 19
• Satterlee, Edward : 1877 Apr. 19; 1877 June 12
• Saunders, Frederick : 1857 Jan. 20; 1871 Dec. 21; 1874 Apr. 08
• Schuyler, Eliza H. : 1856 Sep. 12; 1858 May 23; 1861 Feb. 24; 1861 Apr. 09; 1861 June 06; 1862 Dec. 03
• Schuyler, George Lee : 1857 June 08; 1859 Feb. 13; 1860 Feb. 08; 1863 Feb. 04; 1870 Oct. 22; 1871 Sep. 09; 1872 Aug. 26; 1873 Jan. 05; 1873 May 06; 1875 Jan. 30; 1877 Dec. 06; 1890 Apr. 09; 1890 Apr. 16; 1890 Apr. 19
• Schuyler, John : 1860 Apr. 17
• Schuyler, Ph? : 1865 Oct. 30
• Scott, George R. : 1888 June 18; 1888 June 20
• Sears, Clinton B. : 1881 Aug. 07
• Sedgwick, C. F. : 1850 Nov. 07; 1850 Nov. 25
• Seymour, Horatio : 1853 Jan. 12
• Seymour, John : 1871 July 27
• Shea, John Dawson Gilmary : 1872 May 20; 1882 Aug.
• Sherman, John : 1861 July 18 (misc.)
• Shubrick, William Branford : 1863 July 06
• Simms, Jeptha Root : 1872 Jan. 15; 1872 June 27
• Slocum, Joseph : 1850 May 23
• Smillie, James : 1883 Jan. 01; 1883 Jan. 08; 1883 Mar. 23; 1883 May 07
• Smith, A. B. : 1890 Sep. 13
• Smith, Elizabeth Oakes : 1851 Mar. 01
• Smith, Joub : 1854 June 24
• Smith, Morgan L. : 1874 Sep. 03; 1874 Sep. 14
• Smith, Philip H. : 1903 Dec. 28
• Smith, T. G. : 1853 Dec. 20
• Smyth, Thomas : 1858 June 17
• Sommerville, R. A. : 1857 Apr. 18
• Southwick, Francis : 1862 Sep. 24; 1863 Nov. 11
• Sparks, Jared : 1857 Feb. 20
• Spencer, Jesse Ames : 1863 Feb. 17
• Sprague, William Buell : 1854 Oct. 05; 1862 July 15; 1862 July 18; 1862 July 24
• Staples, Samuel Elias : 1878 Aug. 23
• Stetson, Arthur F. : 1873 Nov. 08
• Stevens, John Austin Jr. : 1863 June 26; 1863 June 27; 1863 Sep. 11; 1896 Oct. 02
• Stiles, Henry R. : 1888 Dec. 07
• Stillwell, E. G. : 1890 Oct. 14
• Stone, William Leete : [1861] Nov. 26; 1865 Dec. 28; 1873 July 28; 1875 Feb. 02; 1879 Apr. 17; 1879 May ?
• Strickland, E. F. : 1876 May 13
• Stryker, William Scudder : 1881 Dec. 05
• Suffern Edward S. : 10 Dec. 1864
• Sugden, Thomas D. : 1872 Nov. 25
• Swain, David Lowry : 1852 Mar. 01
• Swan, Caleb : 1867 May 22
• Swasey, Charles S. : 1864 Mar. 15
• Talbott, E. H. : 1862 Oct. 20
• Tefft, Benjamin Franklin : 1855 Dec. 07
• Terry, Alfred Howe : 1885 Apr. 23
• The Youth's Companion : 1890 July 15
• Thornton, John Wingate : 1850 Nov. 01; 1852 Feb. 02; 1853 Oct. 18; 1871 Oct. 09; 1871 Nov. 20
• Thrall, George E. : 1871 Feb. 15
• Tomlinson, A. : 1855 Dec. 31
• Townsend, Aurelia W. : 1864 Nov. 09
• Turrill, M. Sherman : 1852 May 23; 1852 June 14
• Tuttle, Charles Wesley : 1872 May 18
• Tyler, Moses Coit : 1872 Aug. 02; 1872 Nov. 13
• Van Benshoten, James Cooke : 1869 Mar. 16
• Van Ingen, Henry : 1873 Sep. 06
• Van Rensselaer, Adeline : 1855 Dec. 28; 1856 Jan. 07; 1856 Feb. ?; 1857 Dec. 03
• Van Schaack, Henry Cruger : 1860 Jan. 31
• Vanx, George : 1872 Apr. 24
• Vincent, Frank Jr. : 1889 Mar. 02; 1890 Feb. 15; 1890 Feb. 22
• Vinton, C. Harrod : 1873 Dec. 29
• Vinton, Francis : 1859 Dec. 20; 1860 Dec. 20
• Voelckers, Theo. : 1856 Feb. 01
• Vose, Reuben : 1862 June 23
• W. S. Williams and Company : 1865 Oct. 03
• Walker, Joseph B. : 1855 Jan. 10
• Ward, Aaron : 1867 Feb. 12
• Ward, Elijah : 1860 Jan. 16
• Ward, Richard R. : See Dean, Nicholas
• Watson, Charles M. : 1860 Jan. 09
• Watson, John Fanning : 1853 Feb. 24; 1857 May 13; 1857 Aug. 27
• Watson, Winslow C. : 1871 Dec. 12; 1873 Jan. 07; undated (4)
• Webb, James Watson : 1883 Feb. 17
• Weir, Robert Walter : 1863 Oct. 19
• Wells, Jacob : 1870 June 24
• Wells, William V. : 1857 Sep. 16
• West, George R. : 1857 July 12
• Wetmore, Prosper Montgomery : 1851 June 24; 1860 Dec. 10; 1864 June 29
• Wheeler, John Hill : 1852 June 28
• Whitehead, William Adee : 1872 Dec. 29; 1874 Nov. 30; 1876 Mar. 17
• Whittemore, Henry : 1878 Aug. 06; 1878 Aug. 12
• Whittlesey, Elisha : 1862 Sep. 03
• Wilcox, H. K. W. : 1884 Oct 24; 1884 Nov. 20
• Williams, C. H. S. : 1872 Apr. 06
• Williams, J. : 1861 Nov. 14
• Williams, John Fletcher : 1871 Oct. 26
• Williams, W. W. : 1886 May 17
• Wilmarth, Lemuel Everett : 1882 Jan. 07
• Wilson, Archibald : 1869 July 09; 1869 Sep. 06; 1870 Sep. 25; 1874 Sep. 22
• Wilson, James Grant : 1857 Feb. 06; 1860 Oct. 22
• Wilson, James Ormond : 1865 Dec. 27
• Wilson, Joseph T. : 1888 Aug. 04
• Winsor, Justin : 1887 Mar. 04; 1887 June 23
• Winthrop, B. : 1854 Apr. 05
• Wollett, Charles : 1852 Sep. 06
• Woodhull, Anna M. : 1878 May 27
• Wool, John Ellis : 1861 Jan. 20; 1861 June ?; 1861 July 15; 1861 July 18 (misc.); 1867 July 04
• Woolworth, S. B. : 1874 Mar. 11
• Wright, William : 1885 Jan. 01
• Young, Edward : 1875 Aug. 09; 1875 Aug. 13
• Younglove, Joseph I. : 1866 June 02
• Zabriskie, Andrew Christian : 1874 Aug. 14; 1874 Sep. 05; 1882 June 09

Return to top