Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Lowther Castle Ship's Medical Log |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1821-1822 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume (SC) |
| Abstract: | Record of the sixth voyage of the ship Lowther Castle, registered in Great Britain, anchored at Bengal, Whampoa, and Panang. Lists 217 cases and treatments. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The W.C.S. Lowther Castle was originally an East India Company clipper ship. It was named for Lowther Castle on the estate of the Lowther family (near Penrith in northern England), which held the earldom of Lonsdale since 1292.
According to Arthur H. Clark's The Clipper Ship Era (Kessinger Publishing, 2006), "During the years 1819 and 1820 the Company sent to their different stations in Bengal, Madras, Bombay, China, Ceylon, and Penang, twenty-three of their own ships aggregating 26,200 tons...Among the company's ships were...[t]he London, Lowther Castle, Marquis of Camden, and Perseverance." (p. 32). The ship is also one of four depicted in a painting by British artist William John Huggins entitled "East Indiamen in the China Seas," painted circa 1820-1830.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Lowther Castle Ship's Medical Log consists of one volume detailing a single voyage of the Lowther Castle to several destinations. The volume gives details and treatments for more than 200 cases during the voyage, including catarrh, dyspepsia, bilious derangement, fractured clavicle, and more. The physician's name is not given.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has several other 18th and 19th century ship's logs. Please search Libraries Search , for "ship's logs" for a complete listing.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Lowther Castle Ship's Medical Log,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transfer from Kohen collection.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 3 Nov 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)