Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Malcolm X Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1968-1969 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Flyers from Malcolm X memorial services |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Malcolm X (1925-1965), also known as Malik el-Shabazz, was a Black Muslim minister and human rights activist. Born Malcolm Little, following a troubled childhood and adolescence he adopted the name Malcolm X and joined the Nation of Islam, becoming one of its most influential leaders. He was an active advocate for Black empowerment and racial justice, but some of his positions (such as advocating racial separation) were controversial. In the early 1960s he broke with the Nation of Islam and founded the Islamic Muslim Mosque and the Pan-African Organization of Afro-American Unity. He was assassinated in 1965; three members of the Nation were convicted of his murder. He and his wife, Betty Sanders, had six daughters.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Malcolm X Collection consists of material relating to the Black Muslim minister and human rights activist.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
See also the Grove Press Records for material relating to Malcolm X's posthumous autobiography, in collaboration with Alex Haley.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Malcolm X Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Aug 2022
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| SC 875 | Memorial service fliers 1968-1969 - fliers for 6 different gatherings, including one organized by the Militant Labor Forum and another at which James Baldwin was a speaker | ||||||||||