Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Marans, Moissaye, 1902-1977
Title:	Moissaye Marans Papers
Dates:	1927-1965
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence (1933-1964); artwork reproductions; and printed material, including articles and clippings (1927-1964), and exhibition catalogs(1939-1965).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

American Jewish sculptor, specialized in religious subjects. Born in Roumania.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Encompassing incoming letters and outgoing carbons, as well as a variety of printed material, the Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-2) makes up the bulk of the collection. Correspondents include fellow artists (Edmond Amateis, Enid Bell, Ralph Fabri, John Gregory, Willard Hirsch, Paul Manship, Henry Rox, Frederic Whitaker); authors (Philip Desind, Katharine Morrison McClinton, Raymond F. Piper); clergy (John Haynes Holmes); and politicians (Jacob K. Javits). Organizational correspondence includes that of museums (Jewish Museum, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts); professional associations (Architectural League of New York, Audubon Artists, Inc., National Sculpture Society); patrons (Community Church of New York, Congregation Emanu El, First Presbyterian Church, Ridgewood Methodist Church, West Baden College); and publications (/Advance, Architectural Record, The Chicago Jewish Forum, The Church Woman/). Materials pertaining to the 1939 New York World's Fair and the United States Treasury Department document not only Marans' secular work, but also the relationship between government and the arts.

Artwork reproductions from various periodicals are arranged by sculpture title, while two pages of notes on his work constitute Marans' Writings (Box 2).

Memorabilia is composed entirely of printed material, which includes articles and clippings (1927-1964), as well as a number of exhibition catalogs (1939-1965).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Moissaye Marans Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jul 1995
Revision history: 4 Jun 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 19 Jul 2023 - dates, descriptions updated (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1		Advance 1954-1956
Box 1		Abingdon Press 1963
Box 1		Amateis, Edmond 1947
		American Jewish Tercentenary
			See Jewish Museum (New York, N.Y.)
Box 1		Architectural League of New York 1950-1958 - includes the League’s publication of 1950-1952 Gold Medal Award Winners
Box 1		Architectural Record 1953
Box 1		Audubon Artists, Inc. 1954-1963
Box 1		Bell, Enid 1957
Box 1		Brooklyn Association for Mental Health, Inc. 1957-1963
Box 1		Burdell, Edwin S. 1955-1956
Box 1		Carnegie Endowment for International Peace 1951-1957
		Cecere, Gaetano
			See National Sculpture Society
Box 1		The Chicago Jewish Forum 1955-1963
Box 1		The Church Woman 1955
Box 1		Clay Club Sculpture Center 1949-1951
Box 1		Community Church of New York 1952-1963
Box 1		Congregation Emanu El (Houston, Texas) 1954-1959
Box 1		Congregational Christian Churches. Missions Council 1955
Box 1		Desind, Philip 1955
Box 1		Fabri, Ralph 1956 1963
Box 1		Fairmount Park Art Association 1940-1949 - includes the Association’s 3rd Sculpture International Press Report (1949) and artist listing
Box 1		Family Guidance Center (Boston, Mass.) 1956
Box 1		First Presbyterian Church (Beloit, Wis.) 1958-1959
Box 1		Gregory, John 1954
Box 1		Hirsch, Willard 1950
		Holmes, John Haynes
			See Community Church of New York
Box 1		Javits, Jacob K. 1959
Box 1		Jewish Museum (New York, N.Y.) 1947-1954
Box 1		Kitner, Harold 1955
Box 1		McClinton, Katharine Morrison 1956-1961
Box 1		Manship, Paul 1954
Box 1		National Council of Jewish Women 1958-1963
Box 1		National Sculpture Society 1940-1964
Box 1		New York World's Fair, 1939 1938-1942 undated
Box 1		Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1941-1961
Box 1		Piper, Raymond Frank 1947-1959 undated
Box 1		Ridgewood Methodist Church (Ridgewood, N.J.) 1961-1962
Box 1		Rox, Henry 1953-1954
		Sculpture Center
			See Clay Club Sculpture Center
		Swarz, Sahl
			See Clay Club Sculpture Center
		United States. Post Office
			See United States. Public Buildings Administration
Box 1		United States. Public Buildings Administration 1938-1944 (3 folders)
Box 1		United States. Treasury Department
			See New York World's Fair, 1939 and United States. Public Buildings Administration
Box 2		West Baden College (West Baden Springs, Ind.) 1950-1952
Box 2		Whitaker, Frederic 1964
Box 2		Witherspoon, Margaret 1958-1961, undated
Box 2		World Council of Christian Education and Sunday School Association 1951-1962
Box 2		A-Z, unidentified (3 folders)

	Artwork
Box 2		Reproductions (by title) - A-Z (2 folders)

	Writings
Box 2		Notes on work undated

	Memorabilia
Box 2		Articles 1951-1964, undated
Box 2		Clippings undated - majority are photocopies
Box 2		Exhibition catalogs 1939-1965, undated (6 folders)

Return to top