Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Martinelli, Ezio, 1913-1980.
Title:	Ezio Martinelli Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1927-1968
Quantity:	5.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, family, business, and personal (1927-1967); artwork, including photographs and reproductions of Martinelli's United Nations commission; statements on his work; and printed material, including clippings about Martinelli (1928-1968), and exhibition announcements, catalogs, and invitations (1934-1968). Correspondents include Aldo John Casanova, Ed Colker, Martin Craig, Dorothy Dehner, Helmut von Erffa, Giannetto Fieschi, Horace Gregory, Peter Grippe, Edmund Haines, Stanley Hayter, Louis I. Kahn, Leon Kelly, Leon Kroll, Norman Lewis, Sam Maitin, Barbara Brooks Morgan, Marnie Pomeroy, Melville Price, Walter Reinsel, Theodore Roszak, Charles Seide, Helena Simkhovitch, David Smith, and Carl Zigrosser.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ezio Martinelli (1913-1980) was an Italian-American sculptor and painter. He was a WPA artist and part of the Abstract Expressionist movement, along with others such as Willem de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, and Jackson Pollock. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Bologna and the National Academy of Design in New York, and later taught at Sarah Lawrence College, the American Academy in Rome, and Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1927 to 1968, the Ezio Martinelli Papers comprises family and general correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the New Jersey-born artist. Illuminating Martinelli's artistic style as well as his Italian heritage, the collection documents both the career and personal life of the painter, sculptor, printmaker, etcher, engraver, and educator.

Arranged chronologically, the Family correspondence (Box 1) consists primarily of incoming letters from 1954 to 1963 from Martinelli's parents. The general Correspondence (Boxes 1-3), also in chronological sequence, spans the years 1927 to 1967 and is composed of both incoming and outgoing letters. In the interest of preservation, photocopies were made of the deteriorating outgoing carbons and are interfiled in the Correspondence. Correspondents include artists (Aldo John Casanova, Edward I. Colker, Martin Craig, Dorothy Dehner, Giannetto Fieschi, Peter Grippe, Stanley William and Helen Phillips Hayter, Leon Kelly, Leon Kroll, Norman Lewis, Richard Lippold, Samuel Maitin, Frank R. Metz, Barbara Brooks Morgan, Oke Gustaf Nordgren, Melville Price, Walter Reinsel, Kurt Roesch, Theodore J. Roszak, Charles Seide, Charles Seliger, Helena Simkhovitch, David Smith, Helmut Von Erffa, Carl Zigrosser); and art-related institutions (American Federation of Arts, Art Institute of Chicago, Brooklyn Museum, Carnegie Institute, Cleveland Institute of Art, Elgin Academy, Ford Foundation, Gotham Gallery, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, International Graphic Arts Society, Inc., Morris Gallery, National Association of Women Artists, Inc., National Institute of Arts and Letters, Newark Museum, Philadelphia Museum College of Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Print Club of Philadelphia, Print Council of America, Ringling Museum of Art, United States. Information Agency, United States. Public Buildings Administration, Whitney Museum of American Art, Willard Gallery). Among additional correspondents are literary figures (Giovanni Carandente, Paul Cummings, Horace Gregory, Marnie Pomeroy); museum curators (Richard Eugene Fuller, Lloyd Goodrich, Una E. Johnson, Katharine Kuh, Carl O. Schniewind, James Johnson Sweeney, Mahonri Sharp Young); musician Edmund Haines; patrons and clients (Anne Jefferson, Joint Industry Board of the Electrical Industry, Barbara M. Kaerwer, Charles Kligerman, Albert R. Lee Co., New Directions, Samuel A. Seaver, Elaine and Herb Stanton, S. Sterling Co., Steuben Glass, David P. Wollowick); and university administrators (Pierre Bedard, Emanuel M. Benson, Andrew C. Ritchie, Harold Taylor). A selected index to the Correspondence follows the box list.

Artwork (Boxes 3-4) encompasses catalog design and layout for Sarah Lawrence College, photographs, three printing blocks, and reproductions. Photographs document techniques used to construct the sculpture mounted on the outer wall of the United Nations General Assembly building, and also represent miscellaneous mural designs and sculpture. Reproductions depict the United Nations sculpture in addition to miscellaneous images arranged chronologically (1930-1967). Several statements on art constitute Writings (Box 4).

Memorabilia (Boxes 4-11) includes awards, identification and membership cards, and invitations, financial/legal material, juvenilia, printed material, and typescript reviews by others, as well as information about art associations, fellowships, teaching, and travel. Fellowship material (1956-1966) relative to the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation consists of applications, correspondence, and published reports. Financial/Legal material (1939-1964) includes contracts, receipts, and sales records pertaining to Martinelli's artwork. Printed material contains newspaper clippings (1928-1968), exhibition material (1934-1968), and published reviews and articles about Martinelli (1936-1967). Catalogs and invitations for Martinelli's group and one-man shows, several posters, and catalogs and information regarding miscellaneous art juries are among the exhibition material. Teaching-related material is arranged by organization title and comprises alumnae magazines, announcements, brochures, catalogs, and newsletters. Travel-related material is specific to Martinelli's month as artist-in-residence at the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art in Sarasota, Florida during the spring of 1964.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Corrsepondence is arranged chronologically (see index at the end of this finding aid for notable correspondents). Other series are arranged alphabetically by type or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ezio Martinelli Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ezio Martinelli, 1968, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ASE
Date: Aug 1993
Revision history: 7 Dec 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 28 Sep 2015 - index corrected, bio expanded (MRC); 02 Feb 2024 - date corrected in inventory (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Biographical Material

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		Family correspondence 1954-1963
Box 1		Correspondence 1927-1957 (6 folders)
Box 2		Correspondence 1958-1963 (8 folders)
Box 3		Correspondence 1964-1967, undated (3 folders)

	Artwork
Box 3		Catalog design and layout, Sarah Lawrence College 1959, undated
		Photographs
Oversize 1			"Manes Flayed II" (sculpture) 1954-1955
Box 3			United Nations sculpture undated
Box 3			Miscellaneous 1939, undated
Box 3		Printing blocks (3 blocks in 2 folders)
		Reproductions
Box 4			United Nations sculpture 1961-1964, undated
Box 4			Miscellaneous 1930-1967, undated (2 folders)

	Writings
Box 4		Statements on art 1955, 1964, undated

	Memorabilia
		Art associations
Box 4			American Federation of Arts 1956-1960
Box 4			Ford Foundation 1957, 1961
Box 4			International Graphic Arts Society, Inc. 1957-1962
Box 4			Morris Gallery 1958 (?)
Box 4			Print Council of America 1958-1963, undated
Box 4			Willard Gallery 1955
Box 4			Miscellaneous (A-Z) (2 folders)
Box 4		Awards, identification and membership cards, andinvitations 1934-1966
		Fellowships
			John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
Box 4				Application material
Box 4				Correspondence 1956-1960
Box 5				Reports 1957-1966 (2 folders)
		Financial and legal
Box 5			Contracts, receipts, sales records, etc. 1939-1964, undated
Box 5		Juvenilia 1928-1936, undated
		Printed material
Box 5			Clippings 1928-1968, undated (2 folders)
			Exhibition material
Box 5				Announcements, itineraries, etc. 1934-1967, undated (2 folders)
				Catalogs, invitations
Box 6					Group shows 1934-1955 (8 folders of 23)
Box 7					Group shows 1955-1962 (7 folders of 23)
Box 8					Group shows 1962-1968, undated (8 folders of 23)
Box 9					One man shows 1946-1968, undated (2 folders)
Box 9				Photographs 1960
Box 9				Posters 1957, 1960, 1968
Box 9				Miscellaneous art juries 1938-1967, undated
Box 9			Reviews, articles about 1936-1964 (5 folders)
Box 10			Reviews, articles about 1965-1967, undated (3 folders)
		Teaching related
			Parsons School of Design
Box 10				Alumnae magazine, art class brochure, teachingschedule 1955-1964
Box 10				Catalogs 1954-1964 (2 folders)
			Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art
Box 10				Workshop brochures and subscription information 1947-1949
			Print club
Box 10				Announcements undated
			Sarah Lawrence College
Box 11				Alumnae magazine, catalog, newsletters, report 1958-1968, undated
Box 11				Course catalogs 1947-1964 (2 folders)
		Travel-related
Box 11			John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, Florida 1964
Box 11		Typescript reviews by others undated
Box 11		Miscellany

Return to top

Selected Index to Correspondence

• Newark Museum : 1947 June 27; 1947 Aug. 4; 1964 Apr. 22; 1964 May 11 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Ritchie, Andrew C. : 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 5
• [John and Mable] Ringling Museum of Art : 1963 Sept. 27; 1963 Oct. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Feb. 19; 1964 Feb. 26 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Apr. 15; 1964 Apr. 17 (2 outgoing typescript carbons); 1964 June 14 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 June (?) ; See also Memorabilia: Travel-related
• [John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation : See Memorabilia: Fellowships
• [Solomon R.] Guggenheim Museum : 1952 Dec. 18; 1957 July 17 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 July 22; 1957 Sept. 14 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 Sept. 16; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 15; 1963 Mar. 28; 1963 Apr. 22; 1963 Apr. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 May 10 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 Apr. 28; 1966 May 11 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 May 23; 1966 June 7 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 Sept. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Albert R. Lee Co. : 1959 Apr. 20 (outgoing typescript original and carbon)
• American Federation of Arts : 1947 May 14; 1947 Dec. 3; 1948 June 2; 1949 Feb. 28; 1949 May 2; 1950 Jan. 26; 1956 Feb. 24; 1957 Feb. 8; 1957 May 22; 1958 Apr. 9; 1959 Jan. 21 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1959 Feb. 9; 1963 July 22 (outgoing typescript draft); 1963 Sept. 24 (attached: carbon of letter sent by AFA to John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art); 1963 Sept. 29 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Jan. 29 ; See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• Andersen, Wayne V. : 1957 Aug. 23; 1957 Aug. 29 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Arnheim, Rudolf : 1965 Dec. 17; undated
• Art in America : 1955 Aug. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1955 Oct. 25 (to Willard Gallery); 1955 Nov. 2 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1961 Apr. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 May 3; 1963 Nov. 25; 1963 Dec. 2 (outgoing typescript carbon with attached biographical material); 1963 Dec. 3; 1963 Dec. 8 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Jan. 8; 1964 Jan. 9 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Jan. 18 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Feb. 10; 1966 Sept. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Art Institute of Chicago : 1945 May 31; 1945 June 5 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Mar. 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Mar. 11; 1946 June 8; 1946 June 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Feb. 6; 1947 Mar. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Mar. 27; 1951 Dec. 21; 1953 Jan. 16; 1955 Jan. 27 (telegram); 1955 Feb. 3; 1955 Feb. 17; 1955 Apr. 4; 1956 June 20; 1956 June 21; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1961 Oct. 23; 1962 Jan. 30 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Feb. 6
• Bedard, Pierre : 1956 Apr. 28; 1956 June 20; 1957 May 2; 1958 Apr. 20 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Benson, Emanuel M. and Gertrude Acherman : 1952 Dec. 9; 1953 Mar. 15; 1955 Feb. 17; 1958 Apr. 8; 1958 June 18; 1959 Oct. 20; 1959 Oct. 30; 1959 Oct. 31 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1961 Mar. 29; 1961 Oct. 23 (assistant to Benson, Herbert H. Hickmott)
• Bok, Curtis : 1940 Mar. 21 (to Martinelli's wife)
• Brennan, Sherry (first wife?) : 1938 July 8 (poetry); 1940 Aug. 29 (from the Barnes Foundation); 1941 Jan. 4 (note on reverse of Albany Institute of History and Art letter); undated
• Brooklyn Museum : 1951 Nov. 5; 1952 Jan. 28; 1952 May 20; 1956 June 20; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 5; 1959 Mar. 3
• Carandente, Giovanni : 1965 Dec. 21 (change of address notification); 1966 Jan. 10 (in Italian); 1966 Feb. 11 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Carnegie Institute : 1950 Aug. 7; 1950 Aug. 22; 1950 Nov. 8; 1957 Dec. 31; 1958 Jan. 8 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Jan. 15; 1958 Apr. 20 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Apr. 22; 1959 Feb. 11 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1959 June 19; 1959 June 22 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1960 May 6 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Casanova, Aldo John : 1965 Nov. 29; 1965 Dec. 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1965 Dec. 10; 1966 June 25
• Cleveland Institute of Art : 1966 Feb. 25
• Colker, Edward I. : 1956 Jan. 11; 1957 June 30; 1959 Nov. 2; 1960 Oct. 18 (attached: Colker's partial Guggenheim application); 1961 May 4; 1962 Feb. 21; 1962 May 20; 1962 Sept. 9; 1963 Apr. 15
• Craig, Martin : 1957 June 29; 1958 May 15
• Cummings, Paul : 1963 May 8
• Dehner, Dorothy : 1959 Feb. 26; 1959 Mar. 7 (outgoing typescript carbon on reverse of Feb. 26 letter); 1959 Mar. 9; 1959 July 29 (postcard); 1961 Oct. 30 (index card)
• Elgin Academy (Elgin, Illinois) : 1941 May 2 (telegram); 1941 May 6
• Fieschi, Giannetto : 1959 Apr. 28; 1959 Sept. 9
• Ford Foundation : 1958 July 23; 1958 Sept. 20 (outgoing typescript photocopy with nominee list); 1959 Feb. 4; 1959 May 22; 1960 Jan. 18; 1962 Dec. 28; 1963 Jan. 1 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 Jan. 14; 1963 Jan. 14 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 Jan. 23 (photocopy to the Museum of Modern Art); 1963 Mar. 15; 1963 Mar. 21 (outgoing typescript carbon); See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• Fujita, S. Neil : undated
• Fuller, Richard Eugene : 1956 June 22; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Giordano, Frank A. and Lillian : 1957 Jan. 22; 1957 June 12; 1957 Sept. 13; 1957 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 21 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 26; 1958 May 29; 1958 Sept. 5; 1959 Oct. 4 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1959 Nov. 19; 1961 Oct. 21 (carbon of letter sent to the United Nations); 1961 Oct. 24; 1962 May 8; 1966 Mar. 9
• Goodrich, Lloyd : 1956 June 26; 1958 Apr. 23(outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Gotham Gallery (New Hope, Pennsylvania) : 1961 June 21 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Sept. 13 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Jan. 16; 1962 Feb. 16 (outgoing typescript carbon); undated (3 items)
• Gregory, Horace : 1951 May 28 (postcard); 1951 (postcard); 1952 Aug. 3; 1952 Aug. 15
• Grippe, Peter : 1952 Aug. 6; 1964 Apr. 8
• Haines, Edmund : 1957 Mar. 22; 1957 May 1; 1966 Feb. 1
• Hayter, Stanley William and Helen Phillips : 1953 Jan. 23 (original card by H. P.); 1955 Jan. 8 (original card by S. W.); 1955 Feb. 2 (exhibition catalog of S. W.); 1960 May 11 (postcard); 1960 May 19 (outgoing typescript carbon); undated (4 letters)
• International Graphic Arts Society, Inc. : 1956 Jan. 3; 1956 Nov. 9; 1957 Jan. 14; 1957 Jan. 18; 1957 Mar. 8; 1961 May 5; 1961 June 14; 1961 June 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Dec. 15; 1963 July 5; 1963 Dec. 30 ; See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• Jefferson, Anne : 1957 Nov. 19; 1958 Oct. 10
• Johnson, Una E. : See Brooklyn Museum
• Joint Industry Board of the Electrical Industry (New York City) : 1964 May 25; 1964 June 21 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Kaerwer, Barbara M. : 1959 Jan. 23 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1959 Jan. 30; 1959 Jan. or Feb. (?) (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1959 Apr. 21; 1959 May 4 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Kahn, Louis I. : 1958 Apr. 8
• Kelly, Leon : 1946 Sept. 12; 1946 Sept. 25
• Kligerman, Charles : 1958 Nov. 18; 1959 Jan. 23 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Kligerman, Joshua C. : 1961 Apr. 5; 1961 Aug. 30; 1961 Sept. 21; 1961 Sept. 30 (outgoing typescript carbon with price list of artwork); 1961 Oct. 2; 1961 Nov. 20; 1961 Nov. 28 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Dec. 27 (outgoing typescript carbon with price list of artwork); 1961 Dec. (?); 1962 Dec. (?); 1963 Jan. 1 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 Feb. 9; 1963 May 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 May 15; 1963 May 18 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 Sept. 29 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 Oct. 14; 1964 Feb. 6 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Mar. 5; 1964 May 2 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 May 26 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 May (?); 1964 May or June (?); 1964 June 3 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Kroll, Leon : 1957 July 17 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 July 24; 1957 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Apr. 20 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Oct. 10 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Oct. 13; 1959 Apr. 13 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Jan. 20 (stamped signature)
• Kuh, Katharine : 1947 Feb. 6; 1947 Mar. 27; 1956 July 9; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Laughlin, James : See New Directions
• Lewis, Norman : 1957 Mar. 25 (?); 1957 Apr. 27; 1957 May 31
• Lippold, Richard : 1959 Dec. 4
• Lord & Taylor : 1948 Sept. 28; 1948 Nov. 8; 1948 Nov. 9 (typescript copy to Mrs. Gardner, Sarah Lawrence College); 1950 May 4; 1950 May 12; 1950 May 19; 1952 May 1
• Maitin, Samuel : 1966 Oct. 11; 1966 Oct. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); undated
• Metz, Frank R. : 1957 June 25
• Moholy-Nagy, Sibyl : 1959 Nov. 13; 1959 Nov. 22 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Morgan, Barbara Brooks : 1957 May 30; 1957 Nov. 12 (postcard); 1961 Sept. (?) (postcard); 1961 Oct. 21; 1961 Nov. 24 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Jan. 7
• Morris Gallery (New York City) : 1955 Feb. 15; 1956 July 18; 1956 Dec. 18; 1958 Mar. 25 (postcard); 1960 Sept. 3 ; See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• National Association of Women Artists, Inc. : 1959 Feb. 26; 1959 Apr. 19
• National Institute of Arts and Letters : 1957 Oct. 10; 1957 Nov. 22; 1958 Nov. 24; 1958 Dec. 1 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Dec. 3; 1958 Dec. (?) (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1959 Apr. 2; 1959 Apr. 3; 1961 Jan. 12 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Jan. 20; 1966 Mar. 10; 1966 Mar. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 Mar. 17; 1966 Mar. 18; 1966 Apr. 6 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 May 11; 1966 June 7; undated (outgoing typescript photocopy) ; See also Memorabilia: Awards, Identification and Membership Cards, Invitations
• New Directions : 1963 May 16; 1963 May 18 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1963 May 31
• Nordgren, Oke Gustaf : 1947 June 7
• Philadelphia Museum College of Art : 1946 Mar. 4; 1949 Sept. 23; 1955 Feb. 17 (?); 1958 Apr. 8; 1958 June 18; 1959 Oct. 20; 1959 Oct. 30; 1959 Oct. 31 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1961 Mar. 29; 1961 Oct. 23
• Philadelphia Museum of Art : 1943 Dec. 30; 1952 Dec. 9; 1956 Mar. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1956 Mar. 21; 1956 Mar. 29; 1961 Sept. 25; 1962 Apr. 13; 1962 Apr. 18; 1967 Mar. 22
• Philadelphia Museum School of Art : See Philadelphia Museum College of Art
• Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art : See Philadelphia Museum College of Art; Memorabilia: Teaching-related
• Pomeroy, Marnie : 1954 June; 1954 Aug. 10 (?); 1954 Nov. 30 (?); 1955 Feb. 8 (?); 1955 June 29; 1955 Nov. 10; 1956 June (?); 1956 Oct. (?); 1957 Dec. 11; 1958 Sept. 25; undated
• Prentice Hall Publishers : 1962 Feb. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Apr. 4 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Apr. 11
• Price, Melville and Barbara : 1962 Mar. 26 (postcard); 1962 May 29; undated
• Print Club (Philadelphia) : 1944 Oct. 26; 1944 Nov. 15; 1944 Dec. 21; 1944 Dec. 27; 1946 Feb. 9 (typescript carbon from the Shipley School); 1947 Feb. 24; 1947 Dec. 4; 1948 Jan. 19; 1948 Apr. 12; 1948 Dec. 8 (postcard); 1948 Dec. 10 (postcard); 1948 Dec. 20; 1948 Dec. 29; 1949 Jan. 5; 1949 Sept. 8; 1949 Sept. 15; 1950 Sept. 14; 1952 Jan. 31; 1952 Mar. 27; 1952 Apr. 21; 1952 Sept. 16; 1952 Oct. 16; 1953 Dec. 11; 1954 Sept. 24; 1956 June 22; 1962 Oct. 3; 1962 Oct. 15 ; See also Memorabilia: Teaching-related
• Print Council of America : 1957 May 3; 1961 Oct. 31; 1961 Nov. 28; 1961 Dec. 20; 1961 Dec. 26; 1962 Jan. 3 (2 form letters); 1962 Jan. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon of list of prints); 1962 Jan. 26; 1962 Feb. 5; 1962 Feb. 11 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 Feb. (?); 1962 Mar.; 1962 June 18; 1963 Jan. 21; 1963 June 12; 1963 July 11; See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• Reinsel, Walter : 1958 Mar. 1 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Apr. 28; 1958 Aug. 5; 1958 Aug. 27; 1958 Aug. (?) (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1964 May 26; 1964 June 3 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Roesch, Kurt : 1947 June 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1955 July 19
• Roszak, Theodore J. : 1954 July 21; 1955 Aug. 16; 1956 Dec. (?); 1958 Aug. 8 (postcard); 1958 Aug. 27; 1960 Oct. 6 (postcard); 1962 (personalized greeting card)
• S. Sterling Company : 1961 Nov. 28 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Dec. 12; 1961 Dec. 26 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Sarah Lawrence College : See Taylor, Harold; Artwork: Catalog design and layout; Memorabilia: Teaching-related
• Scarmolin, A. Louis : 1947 May 19
• Schniewind, Carl O. : 1945 May 31; 1945 June 5 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Mar. 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Mar. 11; 1946 June 8; 1946 June 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Mar. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1951 Dec. 21; 1953 Jan. 16; 1956 June 20
• Seaver, Samuel A. : 1961 Nov. 6; 1962 Jan. 19 (note); 1962 Jan. 30 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 Feb. 13; 1964 Feb. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Seide, Charles : 1946 May 18; undated
• Seliger, Charles : 1958 July 10 (artwork attached); 1958 Sept. 17
• Simkhovitch, Helena : 1957 July 27; 1957 July 29 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 Oct. 23 (postcard); 1958 Mar. 8 (postcard); 1958 June 20
• Smith, David : 1950 Sept. 6; 1950 Sept. 30; undated
• Stanton, Elaine and Herb : 1961 June 30; 1961 July 10 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 July (?); 1961 Aug. 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1961 Aug. (?); 1961 Sept. 13 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 July 1 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1962 July 24; 1966 Mar. 9 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1966 Mar. 31; 1966 Apr. 7 (outgoing typescript carbon)
• Steuben Glass : 1957 Dec. 16; 1958 Jan. 21 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Jan. 27; 1958 July 17; 1958 Sept. 25; 1959 Mar. 27; 1959 June 12; 1960 Sept. 27 (attached: press release describing engraved crystal)
• Swarthmore College : 1945 Mar. 25; 1945 May 19; 1946 Mar. 3; 1946 Apr. 14
• Sweeney, James Johnson : 1952 Dec. 18; 1957 July 17 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 July 22; 1957 Sept. 14 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1957 Sept. 16; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 May 15
• Taylor, Harold : 1948 Dec. 1; 1950 Nov. 21; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Toch, Maximilian : 1935 Apr. 29
• United States Information Agency : 1961 Mar. 10; 1961 Mar. 14 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1961 Apr. 13; 1961 Apr. 20 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1967 June 7
• United States. Federal Works Agency. Public Buildings Administration : See United States. Public Buildings Administration
• United States. Public Buildings Administration : 1940 Nov. 2; 1941 Jan. 9; 1941 Jan. 14; 1941 Dec. 18 (Art Week National Exhibition Headquarters)
• Von Erffa, Helmut : 1939 Sept. 20; 1945 Mar. 25; 1945 May 19; 1947 May 11; 1947 Sept. 12; 1947 Oct. 2; 1948 Jan. 23; 1948 Feb. 8; 1948 Feb. 10; 1948 Feb. 17; 1949 Nov. 18; 1952 June 16; 1956 May 30; 1957 May 20; 1957 Oct. 8; 1957 Dec. 5; 1958 June 9; 1958 June 21 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 July 16; 1958 Nov. 7; 1962 Sept. 30; undated
• Whitney Museum of American Art : 1955 Apr. 12; 1955 Apr. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1956 June 26; 1958 Apr. 23 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1959 Feb. 17; 1960 May 6 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1960 May 13; 1966 Nov. 18; undated (outgoing typescript photocopy)
• Willard Gallery (New York City) : 1945 May 28; 1945 June 1 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1945 June 5 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1945 June 14; 1945 June (?) (outgoing typescript carbon); 1945 Oct. 9 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1945 Nov. 14; 1945 Dec. 3 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1945 Dec. 6; 1945 Dec. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Jan. 24 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Jan. 30; 1946 Feb. 2 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Feb. 28; 1946 Mar. 4 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Apr. 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Apr. 18; 1946 Apr. 22 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 May 17; 1946 May 23 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 June 10 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 June 17 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 June 20; 1946 June 28 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1946 Oct. 14; 1946 Nov. 13; 1946 Nov. 17 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1946 Dec. 12; 1946 Dec. 15 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1947 Jan. 8 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1947 Jan. 10; 1947 Jan. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Jan. 21; 1947 Jan. 30 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Feb. 1; 1947 Feb. 5; 1947 Feb. 11 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Mar. 21 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Mar. 25; 1947 Mar. 31 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1947 Apr. 18; 1947 May 3; 1947 July 23; 1947 Oct. 20; 1947 Dec. 19; 1948 Oct. 7; 1949 Feb. 14; 1950 Oct. 24; 1954 June 11 (postcard); 1954 July 16 (postcard); 1955 Oct. 25 (from Art in America); 1956 Nov. 29 (carbon to Henry Allen Moe re: Guggenheim fellowship); 1958 June 27; 1958 July 6 (outgoing typescript photocopy); 1958 Aug. 2; 1958 Sept. 18; 1958 Oct. 9 (postcard); 1958 Nov. 7 (from the Museum of Fine Arts of Houston); 1959 Jan. 7 (carbon from the Museum of Fine Arts of Houston); undated (8 items) ; See also Memorabilia: Art Associations
• Willis, Betty : 1947 Apr. 2 (gallery sale)
• Wollowick, David P. : 1964 May 4; 1964 May 4 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 May 21; 1964 May 26 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 June 14 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1964 June (?)
• Young, Mahonri Sharp : 1953 Feb. 17
• Zigrosser, Carl : 1956 Mar. 15 (outgoing typescript carbon); 1956 Mar. 21; 1956 Mar. 29; 1961 Sept. 25 (outgoing typescript carbon)

Return to top