Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Mason, Norman P.
Title:	Norman P. Mason Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1953-1963
Quantity:	12 linear ft.
Abstract:	Commissioner, Federal Housing Administration. Collection contains correspondence, subject files, printed material, clippings, photographs, press releases.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Norman P. Mason (1897-?) was an American lumber dealer and government official from Chelmsford, Massachusetts. In 1954 he was appointed commissioner of the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), and in that position, according to an article in Time magazine (26 Jan 1959), he "cleaned up the FHA, went on to speed up and expand its loan program, started a housing program for old folks, worked hard for urban renewal and better quality houses for home buyers." In 1959 he was named by President Eisenhower to head the Housing and Home Finance Agency.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman P. Mason Papers contain correspondence, subject files, printed material, clippings, photographs, press releases from Mason's years working for the government in various capacities related to housing.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order. The inventory below is a simple box list.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman P. Mason Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman P. Mason, 1963-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1963
Revision history: 3 Sep 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Subejct files
Box 1		Housing consultant 1963 - letters, carbons, 2 pictures
Box 1		Morris Milgram, Modern Community Developers Inc. 1961 - correspondence
Box 1		Gov. Charles Chaffee, R.I. 1963 - correspondence
Box 1		Brookings Institution 1962 - correspondence
Box 1		Chicago, Kent College of Law 1963 - correspondence
Box 1		Cleveland Metro. Housing Authority and other companies 1961-1963 - correspondence
Box 1		Karl L. Falk 1962 - correspondence
Box 1		Correspondence relating to new position as housing consultant, incl. Alliance of Progress letter/reply 1961 - correspondence
Box 1		Manuals, "Housing and Home Finance Agency" and "Federal Housing Administration Organization, Programs and Operations"
Box 1		HHFA Data Book
Box 1		Report on government housing policies and program hearings, study of international housing
Box 2		FHA apopintment commission
Box 2		"Housing record of the Eisenhower administration, 1953-1960"
Box 2		Central Savings Bank
Box 2		Clippings - Mason's departure in 1961, misc. other topics
Box 2		Congratulations on position as housing consultant
Box 2		National Civil Service League
Box 2		Address to Federal Savings League 1963
Box 2		Monograph on housing financing, Senate Banking and Currency Commission
Box 2		Treatise, "The Total Enterprise Concept," by Donkeny and Daniels
Box 2		Guest register 1955-1960
Box 2		Fitness of American Youth, report by the President's Council 1959
Box 2		U.S. Government Organization Manual 1960-1961
Box 3		Correspondence, outgoing, alpha by recipient - carbons; most in response to letters of congratulation on appointment as FHA administrator (7 folders)
Box 3		Personnel papers as FHA Commissioner 1954, 1960, undated - copies of designation letters from Eisenhower, statement of acceptance, more
Box 3		Personal correspondence 1960
Box 3		Mason, personal stories
Box 3		Mason, re. outside interests, resignation letters, etc.
Box 4		Addresses 1954-1955 - bound volume
Box 4		Addresses 1956-1961 - bound volume
Box 4		Public statements 1959-1961 - bound volume
Box 5		Nomination as FHA administrator, HHFA 1959 - carbons of replies
Box 5		Biographical sketch of Mason, U.S. Housing Administrator
Box 5		Mason, newspaper clippings 1959
Box 5		Mason, miscellaneous
Box 5		Congratulatory letters, carbons of replies 1954 (5 folders)
Box 5		F. Stuart FitzPatrick Memorial Award 1960 - congratulatory letters and replies
Box 5		Report, Mason to Gen. W. B. Persons, Assistant to the President, re. Dr. Weaver 5 Jan 1961
Box 5		Congratulatory letters, carbons of replies 1954
Box 6		Essay by Mason, "The Conquest of the Air" Jun 1912
Box 6		Congratulatory letters and a "Salute to Eisenhower" 1954
Box 6		Miscellaneous clippings, formal dinner menus, copy of Time magazine 21 Sep 1958
Box 6		Notebook, Mason, personnel file
Box 6		Tape recording, "Nationwide Capitol Assignment" 14 Jul 1959
Box 6		Plaque, "Honorary Citizen of Jacksonville, Florida" May 1958
Box 6		Photo album, "A memento of N. Mason's years as Housing Commissioner and Labor Administrator in the U.S. Government Washington D.C. April 1954 - January 1966" 1966
Box 7		Views and opinions on Norman P. Mason
Box 7		"Housing record of the Eisenhower administration, 1953-1960" - summary
Box 7		"Platform Text of the GOP on Housing and Health: Approaches to the Problem" by N. Mason - outline of Democratic platform in regards to housing
Box 7		National Diary 1959
Box 7		National Diary 1960
Box 7		FIABCI
Box 7		A Study of Housing Programs and Policies
Box 7		Views on Reduction of Housing [illegible]
Box 7		The FHA Story - summary
Box 7		Reports to the Subcommittee on Housing of the Senate Banking and Currency Committee
Box 8		Book and correspondence relating to FHA appreciation party for Mason, held Feb. 5, 1959 at the Carlton Hotel
Box 8		Photographs and certificate of appreciation form the National Academy of Science and National Research Council
Box 8		Program, "Dinner with..." 27 Jan 1960
Box 8		"Tribute of Appreciation" from G. girls
Box 9		Appointments
Box 9		Swearing-in ceremonies
Box 9		FHA 25th Anniversary
Box 9		Swearing-in ceremonies, retirement
Box 9		Miscellaneous
Box 9		F. Stuart FitzPatrick Memorial Award
Box 9		FHA top staff
Box 9		FHA zone commissioners, field directors
Box 9		HHFA, office of administrator - VHMCP, CDP, CFA, URA, FNMA, FHA regions
Box 9		Meetings with groups
Box 9		Executive committee reservists and advisory committee
Box 9		Committee meetings
Box 9		Presentation of awards
Box 9		Book I - citations and awards
Box 9		Book II - citations and awards
Box 9		Awards
Box 9		[untitled]
Box 9		Appointments
Box 9		Appointments BKI
Box 9		Mortgage credit hearings, Subcommittee on Housing, Senate Banking and Currency Committee

Return to top