Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Winsor McCay Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1920-1930 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder |
| Abstract: | Editorial cartoons |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Winsor McCay (between 1866 and 1871-1934) was an American cartoonist and animator, best know for his strip Little Nemo..
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Winsor McCay Collection contains ten original editorial cartoons by Winsor McCay. The cartoons are undated. One features a figure labeled "Tammany Boss," referring to the American political organization. Anoher has a figure labeled "Governor Roosevelt"; Roosevelt was governor of New York from 1929-1932.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Winsor McCay Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Ann Moniz, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 10 Sep 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Cartoons | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Editorial cartoons 1920s-1930s (10 items) | ||||||||||
| American industries - Buy American policy Government of the United States / People of America / Special privilege [and] financial influence Income tax collector [riding horse labeled] Senate tax bill Manufacturers sales tax $900,000,000 deficit One thousand, one million, ten million years hence, what will he write? President's chair [with tiger; grafter, gambler, bootlegger, Tammany Boss dancing in front of it] Uniform state narcotic laws Young Democrats Club [missile, aimed at] G.O.P. ramparts [no caption: coliseum packed to capacity, flags with names of states; possibly a convention] (1927) [no caption: Uncle Sam, woman, child; White House, school building in background] |
|||||||||||