Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Milton, J. Elet. |
| Title: | J. Elet Milton Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1848-1958 |
| Quantity: | 1.75 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, financial records, and legal papers from the Brewerton, NY historian |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
J. Elet Milton (1881-1968) was a long-time resident of Brewerton, New York. Milton was interested in local history; he donated his substantial collection to the Fort Brewerton Historical Society and made available the land where the first Brewerton Museum was built on Library Street in 1965.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The J. Elet Milton Collection consists of ledgers and subject files. All materials are photocopies.
Ledgers consists of microfilm and bound copies of financial records from an assortment of construction and boat companies.
Subject files cover the Fort Brewerton Bridge and the Syracuse Northern Railroad. The Fort Brewerton Bridge file includes a letter to Milton from 1958 regarding a clipping, copies of the bridge toll receipts for the years 1872-1876, and the 1956 petition to extend the bridge’s charter. The Syracuse Northern Railroad file includes construction specifications for the railroad and an 1869 contract between the Syracuse Northern Railroad Company and what appears to be Davison Belden.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
The Brewerton and West Monroe Plank Road Company and Fort Brewerton Bridge Company financial journals are also available on microfilm.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
J. Elet Milton Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of J. Elet Milton, 1963.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Oct 2010
Revision history: 26 Oct 2023 - collection processed (SAB)
Inventory
Note on alternate formats:
The Brewerton and West Monroe Plank Road Company and Fort Brewerton Bridge Company
financial journals are also available on microfilm.
| Ledgers | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Brewerton and West Monroe Plank Road Company financial journal and William H. Carter's Steamboat Company Captain's settlement book for steamer Oswego (Manhattan) 1856-1893 - two ledgers bound into one book | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Fort Brewerton Bridge Company financial journal 1848-1877 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Oneida Lake and River Steamboat Company financial ledger book 1853-1857 | ||||||||||
| Subject files | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Fort Brewerton Bridge 1856, 1872-1876, 1958 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Syracuse Northern Railroad 1869 | ||||||||||