Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam Collection
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Vietnam Moratorium, 1969. |
| Title: | Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1969 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Fliers from anti-Vietnam War protests in October and November of 1969 |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam was a nationwide day of protest on October 15, 1969, intended to show public opposition to President Nixon's failure to end American involvement in the war in Vietnam. Nixon had campaigned on a promise to end American participation, then in its fourth year. More than 250,000 people gathered in Washington, DC to participate, including Coretta Scott King and pediatrician Dr. Benjamin Spock, and supporting protests took place in other countries as well. Following the protests, President Nixon gave his "Silent Majority" speech in which he called on those who had not joined in the protests to continue supporting him. In response organizers held a second Moratorium on November 15 which, by many accounts, remains the largest demonstration ever in the nation's capital.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam Collection consists of flyers from two demonstrations held in October and November of 1969 in Washington, DC, protesting America's continued participation in the Vietnam War. Groups represented in the collection include the Moratorium Committee, the Student Mobilization Committee, the Government Employees Committee, Computer Professionals for Peace, and more. Some fliers call for "immediate, total withdrawal" while others advertise various speakers including Shirley Chisholm, Mayor John Lindsay, Senator Eugene McCarthy, and more.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Moratorium to End the War in Vietnam Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2025, in part from Adah C. Blackman Fund.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 14 Apr 2025
Revision history: