Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (NAFAD) Collection
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (U.S.) |
| Title: | National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (NAFAD) Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1965 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Material relating to preparation for a fashion show by the African American trade group |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (NAFAD) was a trade group founded in 1949 in New York City for Black fashion professionals, who had been largely blocked from entree into the fashion industry. It was founded by Mary McCleod Bethune-Cookman and Jeanetta Welch Brown, both of whom had been actively involved in championing professional opportunities for Black women. NAFAD's work created bridges between Black fashion industry professionals and mainstream "gatekeepers" such as Vogue magazine, the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute, and the world of Seventh Avenue designers and couturiers.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (NAFAD) Collection contains mimeographed, handwritten, and typed reports and sketches pertaining to meetings of the San Francisco chapter of NAFAD, most relating to plans for the group's "Fall Fashions West Convention" in 1965. Topics include the format of the fashion show, stage planning, color schemes to be adopted, names of participants, and more.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
National Association of Fashion and Accessory Designers (NAFAD) Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 4 May 2021
Revision history:
Inventory
| Administrative material | |||||||||||
| SC 869 | Miscellaneous 1965 - minutes, sketches, lineup of costumes, etc. | ||||||||||