Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | New Music Edition. |
| Title: | New Music Edition Compositions |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1947-1955 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the music publisher. Submitted, but never published, choral and instrumental compositions by 16 composers. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
New Music Edition was an imprint of music publisher Carl Fischer LLC. They published both choral and instrumental works.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The collection of New Music Edition Compositions consists of compositions submitted, but never published. Sixteen composers are represented in the collection, in both choral and instrumental works.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
New Music Edition Compositions
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Frank Wigglesworth, 1987.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: -
Date: Aug 1988
Revision history: 2 Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC);
23 Jan 2025 - collection rehoused, description updated (MRC)
Inventory
| Compositions | |||||||||||
| Ames, W. T. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Sonata for viola and piano 1952 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Song cycle, words by Adelaide Crapsey 1951 - November night; Susanna and the elders; The guarded wound; Amaze; The warning | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Miscellaneous 1947-1951, undated - Meeting; Rapid transit for high voice and piano; Star moss; Pygmalion, by H.D.; Now close the windows (Robert Frost) | ||||||||||
| Archer, Violet | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Death be not proud, for male chorus Feb 1949 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Divertimento, for oboe, Bb clarinet, and bassoon undated | ||||||||||
| Brogue, Roslyn | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Quartet for piano and strings: a fantasy on the chanson, "Mille regretz" 1949 | ||||||||||
| Brown, Merton [MISSING 1/23/2025] | |||||||||||
| Suite for string quartet 1950 | |||||||||||
| Cumming, Richard | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | The knight's page, for recitation and piano 1953 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Piano sonata (published by J&W Chester, London) circa 1953 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Prelude, adagio and toccata (for organ?) 1952 | ||||||||||
| Engel, Lehmann | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Sonata for violin and piano 1953 - includes photodopy of music with hand corrections, plus test pressing of recorded performance on 2 78rpm phonodiscs [MISSING phonodiscs as of 1/23/2025] | ||||||||||
| Goodman, Alfred Grant | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Seven sketches for piano, op. 16 1950 | ||||||||||
| Hurst, George | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Fantasy on an original theme, for pianoforte undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Three murders, for baritone and piano, poems by Lawrence Josephs undated - includes only no. 1, "For Love" | ||||||||||
| Lavender, William | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Fantasy for string orchestra 1951 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Monotone, for a cappella chorus, text from Chicago Poems by Carl Sandburg 1949 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Toccatina for piano 1948 | ||||||||||
| Moss, Larry | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Elegy, for piano 1949 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Four songs on text of Carl Sandburg, for baritone or mezzo-soprano and piano 1950 - Prairie; Fog; Village in late summer; Autumn movement | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Intermezzo, for piano 1949 | ||||||||||
| Parris, Robert | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | In time like grass, for voice and piano 1949 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Three love lyrics, for tenor and piano undated - Madrigal (anon.); Eyes, hide my love (Daniel); Madrigal (Wilbye) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Three songs from The Gardener (Rabindranath Tagore), for baritone with the accompaniment of piano and celesta 1948 | ||||||||||
| Ricklis, Leon | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Fantasy sextet, for string quartet, percussion and piano 1950 | ||||||||||
| Siracusa, Frank | |||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Chamber quartet, for Bb clarinet, tenor trombone, cello, piano 1954 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Chant for keyboard 1953 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Concert for a chamber trio, flute, Bb trumpet and viola 1953 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Three studies for keyboard 1954 | ||||||||||
| Stanley, William P. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Sonata for cello and piano undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Three songs from The Tower, by William Butler Yeats undated - The fool by the roadside; from Sailing to Byzantium; A prayer for my son | ||||||||||
| Stearns, Peter Pindar | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Four lyrics from The Book of Tao (Lao Tse), for soprano and clarinet 1954 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Sonata for piano 1954 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | String quartet no. 3 in A minor 1955 | ||||||||||
| Watt, Jay | |||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Prelude [for piano] 1951 | ||||||||||