Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Women's Trade Union League of New York |
| Title: | New York Women's Trade Union League Pamphlet |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1947-1948 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Pamphlet describing education programs available through the Women's Trade Union League of New York. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Women's Trade Union League (WTUL) (1903-1950) was an American organization, with chapters in various states, formed to support the efforts of women to organize labor unions and to eliminate sweatshop conditions. The WTUL played an important role in strikes in American cities that led to the establishment of the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union and Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, and campaigned for women's suffrage among both male and female workers. It was formed and named after the British organization of the same name.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The New York Women's Trade Union League Pamphlet consist of a small bi-fold pamphlet describing the New York chapter's educational program for the 1947-1948 season. Topics include world events, history, and fine arts.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings in adult education, the labor movement, and women's suffrage in both our manuscript and cataloged holdings. Please search our collections and/or Libraries Search for additional material.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
New York Women's Trade Union League Pamphlet,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2020.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Dec 2020
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| SC 864 | Educational program 1947-1948 - back includes list of officers | ||||||||||