Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | O'Brien, Minna G. |
| Title: | Minna G. O'Brien Letter |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1921 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Letter from Minna O'Brien, at The British Institute of Florence, to Mrs. Walter E. Peck. Letter discusses Florence, sculpture, the poet Shelley, and a recent "small revolution" involving bombs, machine guns and soldiers. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Mary (Minna) Gertrude O'Brien (1867- ) was the mother of American writer, poet, editor and anthologist Edward Joseph Harrington O'Brien (1890-1941). Walter E. Peck (1891-1954) was a literary critic, professor, and author, who edited several volumes of Shelley's poetry as well as writing a biography, Shelley: His Life and Work (1927). The name of his wife, the recipient of the letter in the collection, is not known.
Note: Special Collections Research Center expresses its gratitude to Joshua Kotin of Princeton University for his identification of O'Brien.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Minna G. O'Brien Letter consists of a single letter from O'Brien to an unnamed friend, the wife of British literary critic and Shelley biographer Walter E. Peck. The letter offers congratulations on "the advent of the son and heir," discusses Shelley's description of Florence's art and sculpture, and mentions "a small revolution that we have had here...with many killed and a large number of wounded; bombs thrown, and the city bristling with armed soldiers."
The sheets bear the letterhead of The British Institute of Florence, founded in 1917 by a group of Anglo-Italian scholars.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Minna G. O'Brien Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transfer from Rare Books, 1970.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jun 2010
Revision history: 23 Sep 2024 - bioghist updated (MRC)