Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	O'Connor, William Van, 1915-1966.
Title:	William Van O'Connor Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1940-1967
Quantity:	2.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American literary critic, editor, educator, author. Collection contains correspondence (1943-1967) and writings (1960-1966). Correspondents include Kingsley Amis, Caroline Gordon, Lewis Mumford, Karl Jay Shapiro, Allen Tate, Lionel Trilling, Robert Penn Warren, and others. Writings include typescripts of books, plays, and an untitled and unfinished collection of literary reminiscences.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William Van O'Connor (1915-1966) was an American literary critic, editor, educator, and author.

O'Connor was born in Syracuse, New York, on January 15, 1915, the son of Sarsfield and Violet Belle (McKnight) O'Connor. He attended Christian Brothers Academy and graduated from Syracuse University in 1936. After receiving an M.A. at Syracuse University in 1937, he attended Columbia University from which he earned his Ph.D. degree in 1947.

Prior to World War II, O'Connor taught at Ohio State University, 1940-1941, and at Louisiana State University, 1941-1913. A tour in the United States Army which included service in New Guinea from 1943-1946 saw him rise to the rank of Staff Sergeant. After being discharged, he taught at the University of Minnesota, 1946-1962, and at the University of California at Davis, 1962-1966, in the latter case as chairman of the English department. He received a Rockefeller Foundation fellowship, 1946-1947, acted as executive editor of American Quarterly, 1949-1951, served as Berg Professor of English and American literature at New York University, 1958, and was a Fulbright lecturer at the University of Liel, Belgium, 1953-1954, and at the University of Hull, England, 1964-1965.

O'Connor was a prolific literary critic, writer and editor. To his credit are monographs entitled New Woman of the Renaissance (with his wife), 1942; Climates of Tragedy, 1943; Sense and Sensibility in Modern Poetry, 1918; The Shaping Spirit: a Study of Wallace Stevens, 1950; An Age of Criticism, 1900-1950, 1952; The Tangled Fire of William Faulkner, 1954; Modern Prose, Form and Structure, 1958; William Faulkner, 1959; The Grotesque, An American Literary Genre, 1962; A Key to American Literature, 1962; The New University Wits, 1963; Ezra Pound, 1963; Religion and American Literature, with Robert Wiggin and Joyce Cary, 1966. O'Connor also edited Forms of Modern Fiction: Essays Collected in Honor of Joseph Warren Beach, 1948; the six volume series Twentieth Century Literature in America (with Frederick J. Hoffman), of which his own An Age of Criticism was part; a three volume History of the Arts in Minnesota, 1958; A Casebook on Ezra Pound (with Edward Stone); and Seven Modern American Novelists, 1964. He also published a book of short stories, Campus on the River, 1950, and a volume of poetry, High Meadow, 1964.

On January 23, 1942, O'Connor married Mary Theresa Allen, and the couple subsequently became the parents of two daughters, Willa Van and Ellen Lee, and a son, Jewett Marion. O'Connor died at Davis, California, on September 26, 1966, at the age of fifty-one.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Van O'Connor Papers consist of correspondence and writings.

Correspondence, 1943-1967, contains both incoming and outgoing. A complete index of correspondents is included at the end of this inventory.

In general, the correspondence reflects Mr. O'Connor's literary interests, although there are a number of letters of condolence to his wife following his death. Several of the British writers among his correspondents reply at length to his inquiries concerning their participation in the group called the "new university wits." A number of letters deal with the Ezra Pound controversy, and the large number of Lewis Mumford letters includes one expressing reaction to the use of the first atomic bomb. Of particular interest is the long run of letters from Karl Shapiro. Other significant correspondents include the following:

• Kingsley Amis, British author, 1957-1958
• Lee Anderson, 1957-1964
• Joseph Warren Beach, literary critic and educator, 1946-1952
• Cleanth Brooks, literary critic, 1949-1965
• Erskine Caldwell, novelist, 1957
• Hayden Carruth, poet, 1949
• Clem Cristesen, editor of Meanjin, 1944-1947
• Robert Conquest, British author, 1956, 1958
• Malcolm Cowley, literary critic, 1959-1967
• David Daiches, British literary critic, 1943, 1962
• Donald Davie, British author, 1957-1958
• T. S. Eliot, poet, 1958-1959
• D. J. Enright, British author, 1958-1959
• John Gould Fletcher, poet, 1943
• David Garnett, British author and editor, 1954-1965
• Caroline Gordon, literary critic, 1962
• Thom Gunn, British author, 1958
• Frederick J. Hoffman, literary critic, 1944-1966
• Rolfe Humphries, poet, 1943, 1948
• A. E. Johnson, poet and educator, 1914, 1958
• Philip Larkin, British poet, 1958, 1964-1966
• Lewis Leary, educator, 1960-1963
• Harry T. Moore, literary critic and educator, 1961-1963
• Lewis Mumford, author, 1944-1950
• Iris Murdoch, British author, 1958
• Marjorie Nicolson, educator, 1943-1963
• Flannery O'Connor, author, 1947
• Robert S. Phillips, 1962-1967
• Katherine Anne Porter, writer, 1954
• Ezra Pound, poet, 1959 (repro.)
• Nat Rosen, 1949
• Karl Shapiro, poet and editor, 1944-1966
• Theodore Spencer, author, 1943-1945
• Holly Stevens Stephenson, daughter of the poet Wallace Stevens, 1964
• Wallace Stevens, poet, 1948-1951
• Phil Stone, friend of William Faulkner, 1955
• Allen Tate, literary critic, 1943, 1949-1962
• Lionel Trilling, literary critic, 1947-1960
• John Wain, British author, 1958
• Robert Penn Warren, author and educator, 1944-1966
• William Carlos Williams, poet, 1946, 1949

Other prominent persons represented in the correspondence by letters of lesser research significance include Louis S. Auchincloss, F. W. Bateson, Clive Bell, William Rose Benet, Eric Bentley, R. P. Blackmur, John Malcolm Brinnin, Van Wyck Brooks, Oscar Cargill, Bennett Cerf, Richard Chase, John Ciardi, Harold Clurman, Louis O. Coxe, Leon Edel, George Elliott, Francis Fergusson, Vardis Fisher, E. M. Forster, Robert B. Heilman, Irving Howe, Stanley Edgar Hyman, William Inge, Alfred Kazin, Clark Kerr, Sir Geoffrey Keynes, Joseph Wood Krutch, Stanley J. Kunitz, James Laughlin, Robert Lowell, Frederick F. Manfred, Klaus Mann, Josephine Miles, Arthur Mizener, Samuel French Morse, Wright Norris, Raymond Mortimer, Gorham Munson, Howard Nemerov, Aileen Pippett, Henry Rago, Philip Rahv, John Crowe Ransom, I. A. Richards, Mark Schorer, Allan Seeger, Wallace Stegner, E. M. N. Tillyard, William York Tindall, William Troy, Mark Van Doren, Peter Viereck, Jose Garcia Villa, Eliseo Vivas, Brom Weber, Theodore Weiss, Rene Wellek, Eudora Welty, Glenway Wescott, Oscar Williams, Leonard Woolf, and Louis Zukofsky.

Writings, 1960-1966, contain articles, books, drama, poetry and book reviews. The book category includes in several instances both a holograph and typed drafts of a work as well as galley proofs. Two of the books, Sir Ferdinando Gorges, and The Wild Swans, as well as the unfinished and untitled collection of literary reminiscences O'Connor was working on during the summer just prior to his death, are apparently unpublished. The two plays in the collection have been performed, but also apparently are unpublished. A small number of poems eliminated from the manuscript prior to publication are included in the materials relating to the poetry volume, High Meadow. The second poetry volume, Malade, a collection of verse in a lighter vein, does not appear to have been published thus far.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, preceded by two folders of undated letters; the second of these contains those which are partially dated with a month and day but no year. Both folders of undated material are arranged alphabetically by name of sender.

Writings are subdivided by genre (drama, fiction, etc.). Each of the categories which contain more than a single item are further arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Van O'Connor Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Van O'Connor and the William Van O'Connor Estate, 1963-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 7 Feb 1996
Revision history: 20 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 27 Apr 2011 - fixed F. O'Connor date (MRC); 7 Nov 2018 - rehoused, additions processed (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		[General] 1940-1967 (26 folders)
Box 2		Undated, A-Z 1940-1967

	Writings
		Articles
Box 2			"Epigonism in Contemporary Poetry," A Comment, no. 21 Oct 1944
Box 2			"A Memory of Theodore Roethke," Critical Quarterly 1965
Box 2			"Parody as Criticism," College English
Box 2			"A Tribute to Joseph Warren beach," Poetry, XLI, 192-194 Dec 1957
		Books
Box 2			An Age of Criticism, 1900-1950 1952
Box 2			Ezra Pound 1963
			The Grotesque, An American Literary Genre circa 1962
Box 2				Manuscript, pages 1-327 (3 folders)
Box 2				Galley proofs
			Joyce Cary 1966
Box 2				Draft A, holograph 1964-1965
Box 2				Draft B, typescript revised 1964-1969
Box 2				Galley proof A, revised
Box 2				Galley proof B, revised
			The New University Wits circa 1963
Box 3				Draft A, typescript copy
Box 3				Draft B, typescript revised (2 folders)
Box 3				Page proofs
Box 3			Sir Ferdinando Gorges, Founder of American Colonies Summer 1964 - holograph and typescript revised
			The Wild Swans - alternate title: The Swans of Shelley Lake
Box 3				Draft A, typescript copy and holograph revised
Box 3				Draft B, typescript revised - chapters 1-23 (2 folders)
Box 4				Draft B, typescript revised - chapters 24-42
Box 4			Untitled literary reminiscences Summer 1966
		Drama
Box 4			"The Heron and the Hawk" circa 1963 - typescript and typescript revised
Box 4			"In the Cage" 1960-1961 - typescript and printed material
Box 4			"In the Cage" 1960-1961 - notes
		Fiction
Box 4			"Durham Woods," short story 1965
		Poetry
			High Meadow 1964
Box 4				Typescript, typescript revised, reproduction revised, and holograph
Box 4				Poems not used, typescript, typescript revised, repro. revised
Box 4				Page proofs
Box 4			Malade: Twenty-One Poems on the Same Theme undated
		Reviews
Box 4			Ehrengard, by Isak Dinesen, New York Times Book Review Jun 9, 1963
Box 4			No In Thunder, by Leslie Fiedler, Saturday Review Nov 19, 1960
Box 4			Untitled review of seven books, Southern Review circa 1965
		Fragments
Box 4			Miscellaneous

Return to top

Selected Index to Correspondence

• Acevedo, Cristobal de : 1962 Feb 5; 1962 Mar 16; 1962 Sep 10
• Acevedo, Cristobal de : 1962 Feb 5; 1962 Mar 16; 1962 Sep 10
• American Oxonian : 1947 Mar 13 (Denham Sutcliffe)
• Amis, Kingsley, 1922- : 1957 Nov 9; 1958 Jan 6; 1958 Jan 21; 1958 Aug 22
• Anciaux, Andree : 1954 Jan 28
• Anderson, Howard P. : 1962 Aug 23
• Anderson, Lee : 1957 Sep 10; 1957 Sep 15; 1957 Oct 16; 1961 Feb 5; 1963 undated (2 items); 1963 Jan 3; 1963 May 14; 1963 Jul 2; 1963 Aug 17; 1963 Sep 5; 1963 Oct 6; 1963 Oct 11; 1963 Oct 20; 1963 Oct 27; 1963 Nov 14; 1964 Apr 9
• Applegate, Howard L. : see Syracuse University
• Auchincloss, Louis Stanton : 1963 ; 1963 Apr 17
• Baker, Howard : 1963 Apr 16
• Balon, B. : 1962 Feb 8; 1962 Sep 22
• Barnes & Noble, Inc. : 1962 Apr 26 (John D. Wieboldt); 1963 Feb 14 ( " ); 1963 Feb 19 (Dick Epler)
• Bateson, Frederick Wilse, 1901- : 1963 Jul 18
• Beach, Joseph Warren, 1980- : undated; 1946 Aug 31 telegram; 1946 Sep 5; 1948 Dec 3; 1949 Jan 14; 1952 Oct 16; 1952 Nov 1
• Beck, Warren : 1959 Jun 30
• Bell, Clive, 1881- : 1954 Jul 9
• Benet, William Rose, 1886-1950 : 1948 Jul 16; 1948 Jul 26 (Anne G. Mulcahy, Secy)
• Bentley, Eric Russell, 1916- : undated; 1948 Jul 16; 1958 Feb 16; 1960 Dec 28; 1961 Apr 18; 1961 Jun 8
• Blackmur, Richard Palmer, 1904-1965 : 1959 Feb 18; 1959 May 6; 1959 May 13; 1959 Oct 29
• Bowron, Barney and Lucy : 1966 Sep 27 telegram
• Bradbury, Malcolm : 1965 Jan 18; 1965 Jun 8; 1966 Jul 14
• Brennan, Dan : 1960 Feb 1
• Brinnin, John Malcolm, 1916- : 1959 Aug 8
• Brooks, Cleanth, 1906- : undated; 1949 Aug 19; 1962 Nov 16; 1962 Nov 25; 1963 ?; 1963 Sep 26; 1961 Dec 9; 1965 Jan 7; 1965 Feb 25; 1965 Jul 21; 1965 Oct 26
• Brooks, Van Wyck, 1886- : 1948 Jul 23
• Brown, Francis : 1948 Sep 17
• Caldwell, Erskine, 1903- : 1957 Feb 3
• Campbell, Oscar James : 1945 Aug 23
• Cargill, Oscar, 1898- : 1960 Jun 2
• Carpenter, Nan C. : 1960 Nov 17
• Carruth, Hayden, 1921- : 1949 Apr 6; 1949 Jun 20
• CBS Television Network : 1959 Dec 30 (Larry White)
• Cerf, Bennett Alfred, 1898- : 1949 Jul 15
• Chase, Richard : 1961 May 5; 1962 May 5
• Christesen, Clem : 1944 Dec 7; 1944 Dec 29; 1945 May 21; 1945 Aug 8; 1945 Oct 5 (2 letters); 1946 Aug 21; 1947 Jan 10
• Ciardi, John, 1916- : 1961 Aug 4; 1961 Sep 19; 1961 Dec 13
• Clemens, Cyril : see International Mark Twain Society
• Clurman, Harold : 1961 Apr 11
• Columbia University : 1947 May 28
• Conquest, Robert : 1956 May 19; 1958 Apr 3; 1958 May 12; 1958 Jun 28; 1958 Aug 28
• Couch, W. T. : see University of Chicago Press
• Cowley, Malcolm, 1898- : 1959 Dec 23; 1960 Jan 18; 1960 Aug 18; 1960 Dec 19; 1961 Jan 7; 1961 Apr 14; 1961 May 9; 1962 Mar 22 (2 letters); 1962 Oct 8; 1962 Oct 21; 1962 Dec 28; 1963 Jan 23; 1963 Feb 4; 1963 Mar 31; 1963 Oct 20; 1966 Feb 22; 1966 Jun 8; 1967 Jan 6
• Coxe, Louis Osborne, 1918- : 1961 May 29
• Curtis Brown Ltd. : 1965 Jun 17 (Richard Simon)
• Daiches, David, 1912- : 1943 Aug 27; 1943 Nov 8; 1962 Mar 7
• Daly, John Charles Jr., 1914- : 1959 Apr 24
• Davie, Donald Alfred, 1922- : 1957 Dec 31; 1958 Aug 30
• Dempsey, David : 1949 Dec 29
• Downer, Alan Seymour, 1912- : 1944 Feb 23
• Dudley, Ed : 1966 Dec 24
• Edell Leon, 1907- : 1959 Mar 20
• Eliot, Thomas Stearns, 1888-1965 : 1958 Dec 5 (Ann Macfadyen, Secy); 1958 Dec 19; 1959 Jan 9
• Ellegood, Donald R. : 1963 Feb 18
• Elliott, George P. : 1964 Dec 6
• Encyclopaedia Britannica : 1957 Mar 20 (Walter Yust)
• Engle, Pantella : 1966 Sep 29
• Enright, Dennis Joseph, 1920- : 1958 May 8; 1958 Jun 16; 1958 Sep 16; 1959 Feb 11
• Epler, Dick : see Barnes & Noble, Inc.
• Erskine, Albert : undated (autographed card)
• Ervin, John, Jr. : 1958 Jan 23; 1964 Aug 5; 1966 May 25; 1966 Sep 26
• Espinosa, J. Manuel : 1953 Jun 17
• Feikema, Feike : see Manfred, Frederick Feikema
• Feldheim, Marvin : 1947 Jan 9
• Ferguson (J. G.) and Associates : 1962 Dec 17 (T. C. Jones)
• Fergusson, Francis, 1904- : 1958 Oct 10; 1962 Feb 1; 1962 Oct 2
• Fisher, Vardis, 1895- : 1960 Jul 29
• Fishman, Sol & Charlyn : 1966 Sep 28
• Fletcher, John Gould, 1886-1950 : 1943 Oct 9
• Forster, Edward Morgan, 1879- : 1954 Jul 17; 1954 Jul 18
• Garnett, David, 1892- : undated; 1954 Jun 25; 1954 Jul 19; 1956 Sep 5; 1959 Oct 19; 1959 Nov 12; 1960 Mar 8; 1962 Nov 21; 1962 Dec 29; 1964 Apr 20; 1964 May 25; 1964 Sep 19; 1964 Dec 24; 1965 Jan 22; 1965 Jan 29; 1965 Feb 6; 1965 Feb 20; 1965 Jun 6; 1965 Aug 13; 1965 Aug 30
• Gerard, Albert : 1963 Jul 16; 1966 Oct 7; 1967 Jan 10
• Gilmour, Ian : 1958 Apr 24
• Gordon, Caroline, 1895- : 1962 May 23; undated (Saturday); undated (5 letters)
• Gunn, Thom, 1929- : 1958 Mar 29; 1958 Aug 18; 1964 Apr 1
• Halio, Jay : 1967 Jan
• Hall, Varian F. : see Crowell, (Thomas Y.) Co.
• Hancock, Henry and Betty : 1966 Sep 29
• Harper's Magazine : 1962 Nov 15
• Hart, William B. : 1960 Feb 5
• Hatfield, W. Wilbur : 1948 Sep 16
• Hawes, John T. : 1960 Jan 11; 1966 Sep 30
• Heilman, Robert Bechtold, 1906- : 194-Jun 11; 194-Nov 3; 194-Nov 23; 1945 Jan 15
• Helmbold, William : undatedMar 14; 1967 Jan 10
• Hessler, Margery : 1966 Oct?
• Hillhouse, Mildred (Mrs. James T.) : 1966 Sep 27
• Hirsh, Edgar Lewis : 1947 Feb 22
• Hirsh, Margaret (Mrs. Edgar Lewis) : 1966 Sep 27
• Hoffman, Frederick J. : 1944 Apr 17; 1944 Jul 12; 1944 Oct 23; 1944 Dec 18; 1945 Jul 30; 1945 Aug 18; 1945 Sep 13; 1946 Sep 3; 1946 Dec 7; 1961 Nov 16; 1962 Nov 27; 1966 Oct 7
• Holloway, John : 1958 Apr 23
• Hoopes, Robert : 1958 May 21
• Horizon Press : 1963 Jan 18 (Ben Raeburn); 1963 Jan 23 ( " ); 1963 Feb 15 ( " )
• Horneburger, Theodore : 1966 Oct?
• Hoskins, Frank L., Jr. : 1963 Jan 4; 1963 Mar 17
• Howe, Irving, 1920- : 1952 Oct 13
• Hughes, Glenn : 1962 Sep 11
• Humphries, Rolfe, 1891- : 1943 Nov?; 1943 Nov 11
• Hurrell, Dennis : 1966 Oct 30
• Hyman, Stanley Edgar, 1919- : 1961 Apr 22
• Indiana University Press : 1958 Nov 26
• Inge, Villiam Motter, 1913- : 1963 Sep 17
• International Mark Twain Society : 1950 Jun 1 (Cyril Clemens)
• Jeffares, A. Norman : 1965 Dec 13
• Johnson, A. E. : 1944 Jun 26; 1944 Jul 15 (2 copies, 1 annot.); 1958 Jan 31
• Johnson, Catherine (Mrs. A.E.) : 1960 Dec 1
• Jones, Brynmor : 1966 Oct 7
• Jones, Joseph : 1964 Dec 9
• Jones, T. C. : see Ferguson (J. G.) and Associates
• Judge, Joan F. : 1963 Feb 13
• Kazin, Alfred, 1915- : undatedApr 17
• Keithy, Robert : 1965 Aug 1
• Kerr, Clark, 1911- : 1963 Mar 5; 1964 Feb 7; 1966 Sep 28
• Keynes, Sir Geoffrey, 1887- : 1956 Oct 7
• Kohler, Charlotte : see Virginia Quarterly Review
• Krieger, Murray : 1956 Oct 24
• Krutch, Joseph 'Mood, 1893- : 1948 Jun 20
• Kunitz, Stanley Jasspon, 1905- : 1952 Oct 29; 1963 Mar 13 telegram
• Kwiat, Joseph and Charlotte : 1962 Nov 22; 1966 Sep 26
• Kwist, Joseph and Charlotte : 1962 Nov 22; 1966 Sep 26
• Langford, Richard E. : 1964 ?; 1964 Feb 19; 1964 Apr 1; 1964 Apr 14
• Langford, Richard E. : 1964 ?; 1964 Feb 19; 1964 Apr 1; 1964 Apr 14
• Larkin, Philip, 1922- : 1958 Apr 2; 1958 Apr 11; 1958 Apr 24; 1958 Aug 22; 1964 Mar; 1964 Mar 24; 1964 Apr 23; 1964 May 26; 1965 Jun 23; 1965 Sep 8; 1966 Dec 20
• Larkin, Philip, 1922- : 1958 Apr 2; 1958 Apr 11; 1958 Apr 24; 1958 Aug 22; 1964 Mar; 1964 Mar 24; 1964 Apr 23; 1964 May 26; 1965 Jun 23; 1965 Sep 8; 1966 Dec 20
• Laughlin, James : 1949 Nov 23; 1965 Sep 3
• Laughlin, James : 1949 Nov 23; 1965 Sep 3
• Lea, Thomas C. : 1949 Feb 10
• Leary, Lewis, 1906- : 1960 Mar 26; 1960 May 12; 1960 Dec 31; 1962 May 21; 1962 Jul 27; 1962 Aug 28; 1962 Oct 3; 1963 Mar 19; 1966 Sep 29
• Letarges, Josh : 1966 Sep 27
• Levinson, Jack : 1966 Sep 26
• Lippincott, Ben : 1966 Sep 28 telegram
• Lippincott, Gertrude : 1966 Oct?
• Louisiana State University Press : 1964 Jun 3 (Richard L. Wentworth)
• Lowell, Robert, 1917- : 1961 Jan 2
• Lowry, W. McNeil : 1960 Mar 9
• Lytle, Andrew Nelson, 1902- : 1963 Jun 11
• Macleod, Norman : 1945 Jul 4
• Manfred, Frederick Feikema, 1912- : 1948 Oct 23; 1949 Jan 11; 1957 Jul 17
• Mann, Klaus, 1906-1949 : 1943 Nov 11; 1943 Dec 12
• McCoy, William F. : 1966 Sep 26
• Meserole, Harrison T. : 1966 Oct 5
• Miles, Josephine, 1911- 196- : 1961 Dec 5; 1963 May 27
• Mizener, Arthur Moore, 1907- : 1959 Oct 26
• Moore, Geoffrey Herbert, 1920- : 1957 Jan 6; 1964 May 26; 1964 May 29; 1966 Oct 7
• Moore, Harry Thornton, 1908- : 1961 Sep 8; 1961 Oct 14; 1961 Oct 22; 1961 Dec 6; 1962 May 30; 1962 Dec 5; 1963 ; 1963 Jul 22; 1963 Oct 25; 1963 Dec 3
• Mooser, Gurden : 1966 Dec 15
• Morris, Wright, 1910- : 196-May 14
• Morse, Samuel French : 1957 May 7; 1960 Aug 8; 1960 Sep 30
• Mortimer, Raymond, 1895- : 1954 Jul 23; 1955 Feb 15
• Moss, Howard : 1954 Dec 6
• Mrak, Emil M. : 1963 Jun 3; 1966 Oct 5
• Mumford, Lewis, 1895- : 1944 Sep 10; 1944 Oct 15; 1945 Jan 1; 1945 Feb 22; 1945 Mar 11; 1945 Jun 1; 1945 Jul 22; 1945 Aug 19; 1945 Nov 3; 1946 Jan 6; 1946 Dec 30; 1947 Jan 8; 1947 Jul 6; 1948 Jul 23; 1949 Jan 9; 1949 Oct 10; 1950 Jan 1
• Munson, Gorham Bert, 1896- : 1946 Jul 12; 1966 Nov 30
• Murdoch, Iris, 1919- : undated (circa 1958); 1958 ?Feb 7
• Musgrove, S. : 1953 Nov 18
• Nemerov, Howard, 1920- : 1959 Jun 4; 1959 Jul 6
• Nicolson, Marjorie Hope, 1894- : 1943 Nov 1; 1943 Nov 17; 1946 Mar 2?; 1947 Mar 3; 1947 Mar 10; 1947 Jul 28; 1947 Oct 22; 1954 Oct 11; 1957 Jul 24; 1963 Jul 30
• O'Connor, Flannery, 1925- : 1957 Jan 19
• Oates, Joyce Carol : 1963 Aug 6
• Pattinson, William : 1966 Nov 25
• Phillips, Robert S. : 1962 Aug 29; 1962 Sep 16; 1962 Dec 26; 1963 Feb 19; 1963 Jul 18; 1963 Aug 7; 1963 Oct 27; 1965 Jun 10; 1965 Aug 22; 1966 Jun 3; 1966 Aug 11; 1967 Feb 14
• Pinto, Vivian de Sole, 1895- : 1965 Mar 19; 1965 Jul 3; 1965 Dec 25; 1966 Jul 30; 1966 Sep 27 telegram; 1966 Sep 27; 1966 Oct 13
• Pippett, Aileen (Mrs. Roger) : 1956 Sep 20; 1956 Oct 11; 1956 Oct 30
• Porter, Katherine Anne, 1894- : 1954 Apr 2?; 1954 May 14; 1954 May 22, incl. photo
• Pound, Ezra, 1885- : 1959 Jun 15, reproduction
• Powers, Jim : undated
• Princeton University Press : see Smith, Datus C. Jr.
• Pryce-Jones, Alan : see Times Literary Supplement
• Puknat, Betty (Mrs. Siegfried B.) : 1966 Oct?
• Puknat, Siegfried B. : 1966 Oct 2
• Putney, Wright Westcott : 194-3 letters; 1944 Aug 3
• Raeburn, Ben : see Horizon Press
• Rago, Henry Anthony, 1915- : 1957 Aug 28
• Rahv, Philip, 1908- : 1958 Nov 22; 1960 Sep 28; 1960 Dec 13
• Ramsay, Robert L. : 1946 Nov 16
• Ransom, John Craxe, 1888- : 195-Feb 14; 1956 Dec 3; 1957 Aug 14; 1957 Sep 37 [27]; 1959 Feb 14
• Read, Sir Herbert Edward, 1893- : 1965 Dec 13
• Reisman, Leon : 1966 Sep 30
• Richards, Ivor Armstrong, 1893- : 1944 Jan 10
• Roethke, Beatrice (Mrs. Theodore) : 1963 Feb 16; 1965 Feb 7
• Rosen, Nat : 1949 Aug 26
• Ruben, Louis : 1961 Mar 21
• Russell, Robert E. : 1966 Sep 26
• Schorer, Mark, 1908- : 1960 Apr 30; 1961 Nov 7; 1963 Apr 23; 1963 Aug 6; 1964 Mar 27; 1965 May 12
• Seager, Allan, 1906- : 1959 May 20
• Shannon, James P. (auxiliary bishop of St. Paul) : 1966 Sep
• Shapiro, Karl, 1913- : undated; no year Jun 2; no year Jul 1; no year Jul 31; no year Aug 20; no year Aug 23; 1944 Sep 9; 1944 Sep 22; 1944 Oct 1; 1944 Oct 11; 1944 Oct 12; 1944 Nov 3; 1944 Nov 12; 1944 Nov 25; 1944 Dec 10; 1944 Dec 19; 1944 Dec 25; 1945 Apr 30; 1945 Aug 11; 1945 Aug 22; 1945 Sep 24; 1945 Nov 6; 1945 Nov 23; 1946 Jan 24; 1946 Jan 27; 1946 Feb 25; 1946 Mar 6; 1946 Mar 23; 1946 Apr 9; 1946 Apr 30; 1946 May 24; 1946 Jun 6; 1946 Jul 10; 1946 Jul 25; 1946 Aug 24; 1946 Sep 14; 1947 Jan 27; 1947 Mar 5; 1947 Mar 17; 1947 Apr 11; 1947 May 22; 1947 Jul 17; 1947 Aug 8; 1947 Sep 19; 1947 Oct 3; 1947 Dec 10; 1948 Feb 25; 1948 May 15; 1948 Oct 20; 1948 Nov 3; 1949 Jan 11; 1949 Jan 17; 1949 Mar 31; 1949 Apr 11; 1949 May 31; 1949 Jul 25; 1949 Nov 8; 1949 Nov 27; 1950 or 1951 Apr 20; 1950 or 1951 Sep 20; 1950 Jan 3; 1950 Jan 11; 1950 Feb 21; 1950 Mar 24; 1950 Apr 27; 1950 Jun 8; 1950 Aug 7; 1950 Aug 8; 1950 Aug 18; 1950 Oct 18; 1951 Jan 3; 1951 Apr 23; 1951 May 17; 1951 May 31; 1951 Jul 3; 1951 Jul 30; 1951 Aug 1; 1951 Aug 21; 1951 Sep 4; 1951 Sep 13; 1951 Sep 24; 1951 Nov 13; 1951 Nov 26; 1951 Dec 12; 1952 Jul 15; 1952 Oct 8; 1953 Jun 15; 1953 Dec 9; 1954 Sep 21; 1954 Sep 30; 1954 Oct 13; 1954 Oct 25; 1954 Nov 1; 1954 Nov 8; 1954 Nov 13; 1954 Nov 24; 1955 Oct 17; 1955 Oct 25; 1955 Nov 12; 1955 Nov 15; 1955 Nov 17; 1955 Nov 28; 1956 Feb 11; 1956 Oct 23; 1956 Nov 7; 1956 Dec 21; 1957 Mar 28; 1957 Apr 26; 1957 Sep 27; 1957 Nov 21; 1957-1962 ; 1958-1962 Jun 22; 1958-1962 Tuesday; 1958 Jan 31; 1958 May 26; 1958 Sep 30; 1959 Feb 19; 1959 Apr 20; 1959 Apr 28; 1959 May 4; 1959 May 7; 1959 May 12; 1959 May 18; 1959 Jun 10; 1959 Jun 15; 1959 Jul 1; 1959 Jul 6; 1959 Jul 13; 1959 Jul 16; 1959 Oct 5; 1959 Oct 26; 1959 Nov 21; 1960 Mar 12; 1960 Mar 21; 1960 Aug 31; 1961 Apr 11; 1961 May 4; 1961 May 22; 1961 Jun 16; 1961 Jun 19; 1961 Sep 9; 1961 Oct 29; 1962 Oct 30; 1963 Jul 23; 1966 Jan 6
• Simon, Irene : 1966 Sep 28
• Simon, Richard : see Curtis Brown Ltd.
• Smith, Datus C., Jr. : 1948 Apr 15
• Southern Illinois University Press : 1962 May 31 (Vernon Steinberg); 1962 Jun 13 ( " ); 1962 Jul 26 ( " ); 1962 Nov 21 ( " ); 1963 Jan 21 ( " ); 1963 Jan 30 ( " ); 1963 Feb 8 ( " ); 1963 Feb 26 ( " ); 1963 Mar 7 ( " ); 1963 Mar 25 ( " )
• Southern Review : 1964 Jul 14
• Spencer, Theodore, 1902-1949 : 1943 Dec 14; 1945 Jun 26; 1945 Aug 23
• Stanley, Donald : undatedMar 8; 1963 Aug 21
• Stegner, Wallace Earle, 1909- : 1965 Dec 19
• Steinberg, Vernon : see Southern Illinois University Press
• Stephenson, Holly Stevens : 1964 Jun 20; 1964 Jul 26; 1964 Aug 25; 1964 Sep 17
• Stevens, Wallace, 1879- : 1948 Apr 9; 1948 May 14; 1948 May 19; 1948 May 24; 1948 May 25; 1948 Jul 22; 1948 Sep 24; 1949 Mar 25; 1949 Mar 28; 1949 Mar 31; 1949 Nov 17; 1949 Dec 28; 1950 Apr 25; 1951 Aug 13
• Stone, Phil : 1955 Nov 15
• Strauss, Helen : see William Morris Agency
• Sutcliffe, Denham : see American Oxonian
• Syracuse University : 1963 Mar 11 (Howard L. Applegate); 1965 Sep 16 ( " )
• Tannenbaum, Lawrence : 1947 Jan 14
• Tate, Allen, 1899- : 1943 Aug 24; 1943 Sep 28; 1943 Nov 25; 1949 Nov 9; 195-Oct 18; 1950 Jan 24; 1953 Sep 22; 1954 Apr 10; 1957 Aug 12; 1958 Oct 14; 1958 Dec 3; 1959 Feb 6; 1959 Mar 26; 1959 Jun 10; 1960 Jan 8; 1961 Nov 10; 1961 Nov 23; 1962 Dec 17
• Taylor, William E. : 1953 advertisement; 1954 advertisement; 1954 Jan 25; 1954 Feb 26; 1954 Mar 12; 1954 Mar 16; 1954 Mar 18; 1954 May 21
• Thanksgiving Day : 1948 Sep 28
• Thomas Y. Crowell Co. : 1959 Jul 9 (Marian F. Hall); 1960 Jan 13 (Robert L. Cromell); 1960 Feb 2 ( " ); 1960 Feb 8 ( " )
• Tillyard, Eustace Mandeville Wetenhall, 1889- : 1945 May 23
• Times Literary Supplement : 1954 Jul 27 (Alan Pryce-Jones); 1954 Oct 12
• Tindall, William York, 1903- : 1949 Mar 22; 1951 Jun 21; 1959 Sep 6; 1961 Apr 24; 1963 Mar 24; 1964 Jan 12
• Tinley, Rene : 1966 Nov 22
• Tolley, William Pearson, 1900- : 1966 Sep 28
• Tooker, Stebbin : 1966 Oct 14
• Trilling, Lionel, 1905- : 1947 Feb 23; circa 1948 incomplete; 1948 Aug 1; 1948 Sep 20; 1949 Mar 14; 1949 May 27; 1949 Jun 14; 1949 Sep 27; 1949 Oct 10; 1949 Oct 18; 1949 Oct 20; 1950 Mar 7; 1954 Oct 20; 1956 Mar 7; 1956 Nov 9; 1957 Aug 14; 1958 Feb 18; 1959 Jan 6; 1959 Jun 11; 1959 Nov 16; 1960 Jan 4; 1960 Dec 11
• Troy, William : 1948 Sep 19; 1948 Sep 25
• Unger, Leonard : 1962 Nov; 1962 Nov 5
• University of Chicago Press : 1949 Mar 28 (W. T. Couch); 1949 Apr 4 ( " )
• Utley, Francis Lee, 1907- : 1946 Apr 3; 1946 Apr 20; 1946 Dec 23
• Van Doren, Mark, 1894- : 1943 Dec 12; 1958 Oct 16
• Van Norden, Linda : 1962 Jun 6
• Varma, D. P. : 1965 Mar 9
• Viereck, Peter Robert Edwin, 1916- : undatedMay 27
• Villa, Jose Garcia, 1914- : 1946 Apr 16
• Virginia Quarterly Review : 1956 May 24 (Charlotte Kohler)
• Vivas, Eliseo, 1901- : 1961 Apr 25; 1961 Nov 9
• Wain, John Barrington, 1925- : 1958 Mar 23; 1958 Apr 1; 1958 May 13; 1958 May 31
• Wang, David Rafael : 1960 Nov 5
• Warnke, Janice : 1962 Jul?
• Warren, Robert Penn, 1905- : undated; 1941 Jul 12; 1941 Aug 1 (unsigned); 1946 Mar 16; 1947 Jul 19; 1947 Nov 16; 1951 Apr 16; 1952 Apr 22; 1952 Oct 29; 1953 Mar 4; 1953 Jun 4; 1954 Jun 24; 1954 Oct 18; 1955 Jul 28; 1957 Jul 7; 1957 Jul 25; 1958 Jan 14; 1958 Oct 30; 1959 May 2; 1961 May 29; 1961 Nov 6; 1962 Sep 28; 1963 Jul 16; 1966 Oct 18
• Watson, George : 1963 Aug 24
• Weber, Brom : 1963 Apr 7
• Weiskopf, F. C. : 194-Nov 25
• Weiss, Theodore : 1944 Jun 17; 1944 Sep 19; 1945 Aug 26; 1945 Sep 30; 1946 Apr 24
• Wellek, Rene, 1903- : 1961 Nov 17
• Welty, Eudora, 1909- : 1957 Jan 18; 1963 Mar 7 telegram
• Wentworth, Richard L. : see Louisiana State University Press
• Wescott, Glenway, 1901- : 1963 Jul 22
• West, Ray B. : 1959 Mar 25
• Wheelwright, Philip Ellis, 1901- : 1943 Dec; 1944 Jan 2
• White, Larry : see CBS Television Network
• Wickes, George : 1966 Oct
• Wieboldt, John D. : see Barnes & Noble, Inc.
• Wild, John : 1943 Nov 3
• Wilder, Amos Niven, 1895- : 1949 Jun 20
• William Morris Agency : 1963 Jan 18 (Helen Strauss)
• Williams, Annie Laurie : 1963 Sep 30
• Williams, Oscar, 1900- : 1964 Jul 13
• Williams, William Carlos, 1883-1963 : 1946 May 22; 1949 Aug 22
• Wilson, Edmund, 1895- : 1948 Dec 14
• Winsor, Pat : 1966 Oct 11
• Woolf, Leonard Sidney, 1880- : 1954 Aug 14 (Aline Burch, Secy)
• Woolman, Marjorie : 1966 Oct 27
• Yust, Walter : see Encyclopaedia Britannica
• Zukofsky, Louis : 1959 May 29

Return to top