Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Title:	Oneida Community Secondary Literature Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1837-2002
Quantity:	6 linear ft.
Abstract:	Articles, papers, etc. on the topic of, or with references to, the Oneida Community
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Oneida Community was a utopian commune founded by John Humphrey Noyes in 1848 in the town of Oneida in Madison County, New York. The Oneida community practiced communal property and possessions and believed in a form of Perfectionism -- Christ's Second Coming had occurred in the year 70 CE thus making it possible for them to bring about Christ's millennial kingdom and be free of sin and perfect in this world.. The community rejected monogamy and practiced complex marriage; members were expected to improve themselves via sexual relations with those who were their spiritual superiors, and beginning in 1869 members who wished to have children could do so only with the partner selected for them by a committee based on personal, spiritual, and moral qualities (such controlled reproduction is known as "stirpiculture"). At its height in 1878 the community had 306 members, but by 1880 some members had left, many had embarked upon traditional marriages, and the community itself had been reorganized as a joint-stock company named Oneida Community Ltd. The animal trap, silk thread, and canned vegetable enterprises were all abandoned or sold off by 1916, but Oneida Community Ltd. became well-known for its silver and cutlery, production of which continued until 2005.

The community was from its inception, and remains today, of ongoing interest to students, genealogists, historians, and professional and amateur scholars in a wide range of fields.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Oneida Community Secondary Literature Collection contains articles, papers, clippings, conference presentations, and other assorted material on the topic of, or containing references to, the Oneida Community. These materials were created by high school students, graduate students, amateur genealogists and historians, journalists, academic scholars, and descendants of the community itself. Thus, the materals reflect a wide range of areas of study, including sociology, human sexuality, education, religion, gender roles, family dynamics, utopian communities, local history, and more.

The vast majority of the materials are photocopies.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by author.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Oneida Community Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Oneida Community Secondary Literature Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Some of this material was in the possession of the Oneida Community at the Mansion House, and was donated by them; these items usually have "Mansion House" written on the front cover. Other material was acquired by curators over the years, or arrived unsolicited. For most items, the original source of acquisition is unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Mar 2024
Revision history: 12 Jul 2024 - 6 items added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Articles, papers, etc.
Box 1		Achorn, Erik / Mary Cragin, perfectionist saint 1965 - article, from New England Quarterly 28, 490-518; photocopy
Box 1		Albertson, Ralph / A survey of mutualistic communities in America Oct 1936 - article, from Iowa Journal of History and Politics 34:4, 375-445; photocopy
Box 1		Allison, William Henry / Inventory of unpublished matewrial for American religious history in Protestant church arcives and other repositories 1910 - excerpt, pp. 22-23; photocopy
Box 1		Barkun, Michael / Apocalyptic hopes and utopian responses: The Millerites and communitarians in the 1840s 1981 - conference paper, International Society for the Comparative Study of Civilizations
Box 1		Barkun, Michael / Communal societies as a cyclical phenomenon 1983 - conference paper, National Historic Communal Societies Association
Box 1		Barkun, Michael / The visionary experiences of John Humphrey Noyes 1986 - conference paper, National Historic Communal Societies Association
Box 1		Barkun, Michael / "The wind sweeping over the country": John Humphrey Noyes and the rise of Millerism 1984 - conference paper, Millerism and the Millenarian Mind
Box 1		Bartell, Gilbert / Group sex among the mid-Americans May 1970 - article, from The Journal of Sex Research 6:2, 113-130; photocopy
Box 1		Beecher, Marc / Utopia of obscenity undated - article, from unknown publication; photocopy
Box 1		Bernstein, Leonard / The ideas of John Humhrey Noyes, perfectionist 1953 - article, from American Quarterly 5:2, 157-165; photocopy
Box 1		Bestor, Arthur E. Jr. / Patent-office models of the Good Society: Some relationships between social reform and westward expansion Apr 1953 - article, from The American Historical Review 58:3, 505-526; photocopy
Box 1		Bond, Randall I. / Utopia, reading, and the library 1973 - academic paper; photocopy
Box 1		Boorstin, Daniel / "A case of hypochondria" 6 Jul 1970 - article, in Newsweek, 27-29; clipping
Box 1		Bragg, Quincy A. / The Oneida Community May 1962 - academic paper; typescript carbon
Box 1		Brown, Paul / Resetting the clock in Oneida 1 Feb 1982 - article, from Forbes; clipping
Box 1		Brown, Richard G. / The Oneida Community, the Circular, and the Civil War [1948] - academic paper; typescript carbon
Box 1		"A Bystander" / The Oneida Community and American socialism [1948] - article, from Canadian Monthly, pp. 425-437; photocopy
Box 1		Carmer, Carl / Children of the Kingdom part I 21 Mar 1936 - article, from The New Yorker; full issue and photocopied item
Box 1		Carmer, Carl / Children of the Kingdom part II 28 Mar 1936 - article, from The New Yorker; full issue and photocopied item
Oversize 1		Case, Richard G. / Oneida Community lives on in spirit [1970?] - article, from Empire (Sunday magazine, Syracuse Herald-American); full issue
Box 1		Cavan, Ruth Shonle / The contrasting roles of women at Oneida Community, the midwestern frontier, and the urban east in the mid-nineteenth century Fall 1981 - paper, in Communal Societies 1, 67-79; full issue
Box 1		Church, C.C. / Communism in marriage: Human relationships at the Oneida Community Aug 1926 - aticle, from The Nation 123:3188, 124-136; one complete issue, one clipping
Box 1		Church, C.C. / The Oneida Community: A daring Yankee social experiment May 1924 - article, from The Critic and Guide; reprint, 4 copies
Box 1		Clanfarano, Stanley / Onedia Community: Economic aspects spring 1972 - article, from New York State Tradition 26:46-51; photocopy
Box 1		Cooley, Benjamin Franklin / Summary exposition of the social theory of the dissernters, called perfectionists, which theory is called by them the Bible Argument 1850 - pamphlet; photocopy, 2 copies
Box 1		de Voto, Bernard / Vacation Oct 1938 - article, in Harpers Magazine; full issue
Box 2		Doering, Gail / The Oneida Community:, 1848-1879 1981 - academic paper; typescript
Box 2		Donovan, RobertJ. / The annals of crime [Charles Guiteau] 24 Apr 1954 - article, in The New Yorker; full issue
Box 2		Drahos, Nick / Traps Aug-Sep 1951 - article, in The New York State Conservationist 6:1, 8-12; full issue
Box 2		Dziamka, Kazimierz / The Oneida Community as sect: A sociological perspective 1983 - academic paper; typescript
Box 2		Dziamka, Kazimierz / Raiontal sex? The Oneida Community revisited [1999] - article; printout from unknown online source
Box 2		Etheridge, Carolyn / Equality in the family: Comparative analysis and theoretical model 1978 - paper, in International Journal of Women's Studies 1:1, 50-63; photocopy
Box 2		Fischer, Gail Veronica / "She ought to be a female-man": Dress reform in the Oneida Community 1848-1879 Fall 1995 - article, in Mid-America 77:3, 237-265; photocopy
Box 2		Fitzpatrick, Donovan / Father Noyes and his fabulous flock Mar 1960 - article, in True: The Man's Magazine; full issue, 2 copies
Box 2		Fitzpatrick, Donovan / The Oneida Community: Sexual utopia Jan 1982 - article, in Medical Newsmagazine 26:1, 81-90; photocopy, 3 copies
Box 2		Flynn, Christine Guthorn / The Oneida Community: Perfectionism and family structure 1974 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 2		Fogarty, Robert S. / American communes, 1865-1914 1968 - paper, in Journal of American Studies 9:2, 145-162; photocopy
Box 2		Fogarty, Robert S. / Homeward bound: A utopian credo 1964 - article, New York Folklore Quarterly 20:1, 31-36
Box 2		Fogarty, Robert S. / Nineteenth century utopian Fall 1972 - article, in The Pacific Historian 16:3, 70-76; full issue
Box 2		Fogarty, Robert S. / Oneida: A utopian search for religious security 1973 - paper, in Labor History 14:2, 202-227; photocopy
Box 2		Fogarty, Robert S. / A utopian literary canon 1965 - article, The New England Quarterly 38:3, 386-391; photocopy
Box 2		Forrester, Maurice / From Putney to Oneida 1990 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / Directions for future Oneida scholarship 1994 - conference paper, Communal Studies Association
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / Free love and feminism: John Humphrey Noyes and the Oneida Community 1981 - paper, in Journal of the Early Republic 1:2, 165-183; photocopy, 2 copies
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / Individualism and community: Perspectives from the Oneida, Mormon, and Shaker experiences 1994 - conference paper, Communal Studies Association
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / The psychology of free love: Sexuality in the Oneida Community 1986 - conference paper, National Communal Societies Association
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / Religion and sexuality: Three American communal experiments of the nineteenth century 1981 - reviews of his book
Box 2		Foster, Lawrence / The turbulence of free love: New perspectives on the early development of the Oneida Community 1848-1854 1994 - conference paper, Communal Studies Association
Box 2		Frazer, C.D. / Where everybody's happy Feb 1941 - article, in Forbes 47:3, 12-14; full issue
Box 2		Gaustad, Edwin S. / The rise of adventism 1974 - title page and scattered pages which mention O.C.; photocopy
Box 2		Gottheimer, Stanley / America's greatest experiment with sex Jan 1951 - article, in Male 1:4; full issue but some pages torn out
Box 2		Green, Shirley / The curious history of contraception 1971 - title page and excerpt, pp. 38-43; photocopy
Box 2		Guarneri, Carl J. / Reconstructing the antebellum communitarian movement: Oneida and Fourierism Fall 1996 - paper, in Journal of the Early Republic 16:3, 463-488; photocopy
Box 2		Guma, Greg / The Eddy visions 1982-1983 - two-part fiction piece, in Inroads 2 and 3; full issues
Box 2		Gutierrez, Cathy / The perpetual millennium: Narrative closure and the end of days undated - article; printout from unknown online source
Box 3		Harden, Lisa E. /"...a branch of the kingdom of heaven..." 1978 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 3		Harding, Walter / Henry Thoreau, ghost writer 1952 - article, in Thoreau Society Bulletin 38; photocopy
Box 3		Harding, Walter / Thoreau ghosts Oct 1975 - article, in Yankee; full issue
Box 3		Hawkins, Charles H. / The erotic significance of contraceptive methods May 1970 - paper, in Journal of Sex Research 6:2, 143-157
Box 3		Hays, Constance L. / Why the keepers of Oneida don't care to share the table 20 Jun 1999 - article, New York Times; clipping
Box 3		Hearn, Lafcadio / The Oneida Community's announcement 3 Sep 1879 - editorial draft, in New Orleans Item; typescript carbon
Box 3		Hedden, Worth Tuttle / Communism in New York 1848-1879 summer 1945 - article, in The American Scholar 14:3, 283-292; photocopy
Box 3		Heimert, Alan / Puritanism, the wilderness, and the frontier Sep 1958 - article, in The New England Quarterly 26:3, 361-382; photocopy
Box 3		Himes, Norman E. / Medical history of contraception 1936 - title page and excerpt, pp. 268-279; photocopy
Box 3		Hoehn, Richard A. / The kingdom goes joint stock: Learning from Oneida 100 years later Jan 1981 - article, in The Christian Century 98:3, 77-80; photocopy
Box 3		Holbrook, Stewart H. / When sex flourished in Oneida Feb 1950 - article, The American Mercury 70:2, 204-208
Box 3		Houde, Cornelia / [on dress in the Oneida Community] [1983?] - academic paper?; typescript photocopy
Box 3		Huxley, Aldous / Collected essays [1983?] - title page and excerpt, pp. 82-89; photocopy
Box 3		Inge, W.R. / All things in common 13 Oct 1937 - article, in Syracuse Evening Standard; clipping
Box 3		Jennings, Christine / The perfectionists of the Oneida Community undated - academic paper; typescript
Box 3		Kanter, Rosabeth Moss / Getting it all together: Some group issues in communes 1972 - paper, in American Journal of Orthopsychiatry 42:4, 632-643; photocopy
Box 3		Karp, Laurence E. / Past perfect: John Humphrey Noys, stirpiculture, and the Oneida Community 1982 - two-part article, in American Journal of Medical Genetics 12, 1-5 and 127-130; photocopy
Box 3		Kephart, William M. / Experimental family organization: A historico-cultural report on the Oneida Community Aug 1963 - article, in Journal of Marriage and the Family 25:3, 261-271; photocopy
Box 3		Kephart, William M. / The family, society, and the individual undated - excerpts, in Alternative Living Arrangements[?], chapter 6, pp. 713-725; photocopy
Box 3		Kern, Arthur and Sybil / Almira Edson, painter of family registers Sep 1982 - article, in Antiques, 558-561; clipping
Box 3		Kern, Louis J. / Ideology and reality: Sexuality and women's status in the Oneida Community 1979 - article, in Radical History Review 20, 180-204; photocopy
Box 3		Kirschner, Joseph / Community as family: Growing up in Oneida 1848-1881 1977 - paper, second draft; typecript photocopy
Box 3		Kirschner, Joseph / The Oneida Community and its music: Cement or solvent? Apr 1993 - conference paper, Oneida Community seminar; typescript photocopy
Box 3		Kirschner, Joseph / Women and the communal experience: The Oneida Community 1849-1877 1978 - paper, early draft?; typescript with pencil corrections
Box 3		Kirschner, Joseph / Women and the communal experience: The Oneida Community 1849-1877 Jun 1979 - paper, pre-publication draft; typescript photocopy
Box 3		Kirschner, Joseph / Women and the communal experience: The Oneida Community 1849-1877 Jul 1980 - conference? paper; typescript photocopy
Box 3		Klass, Dennis / Psychohistory and communal patterns 1976 - book chapter, in The Biographical Process, chapter 11; photocopy
Box 3		Klaw, Spencer / Harvard's Skinner: The last of the utopians Apr 1963 - article, Harpers Magazine, 45-51; photocopy
Box 3		Klaw, Spencer / Without sin: The life and death of the Oneida Community undated - review, in Wall Street Journal, and article about book signing, in Syracuse Post-Standard; 2 clippings
Box 3		Korell, Lynda / Questioning perfection: Women, marriage, and motherhood in the Oneida Community Jun 1998 - academic paper, 184 pages; spiral-bound typescript
Box 3		Lawson, Donna / Oneida: America's first free love commune Sep 1973 - article, in Single1:2, 64-65, 98-99; clipping
Box 3		Leonard, Stephen R. / Sewell Newhouse and the Oneida trap business 1952 - article, in North Country Life 6:1, 16-18 and 70; full issue
Box 3		Lerman, Julie / The Oneida Community 1977 - article, in Eidos 1:2, 67-76; full issue
Box 3		Levine, Murray / The uses and abuses of personal criticism Sep 1974 - article, in Psychology Today, 26, 28; photocopy
Box 3		Lockwood, Maren / The experimental utopia in America 1965 - article, in Daedalus 94:2, 401-418; photocopy
Box 3		Lowenthal, Esther / Labor policy of Oneida Community Ltd. Feb 1927 - article, in The Journal of Political Economy 35:1, 114-126; reprint, 3 copies
Box 3		Luedeke, James G. / The Oneida Community 1967 - academic paper; typescript carbon
Box 4		Mallock, W.H. / A century of socialistic experiments Jul 1909 - article, in The Dublin Review 79-106; full issue
Box 4		Mandelker, Ira / Religion, sex, and utopia in nineteenth-century America 1982 - article, in Social Research 49:3, 730-751; photocopy
Box 4		Marvin, Frederick Rowland / John H. Noyes and religious communism 1915 - abridgement of item in Rowland's book Fireside Papers; reprint, 7pp.
Box 4		McGee, Anita Newcomb / An experiment in human stirpiculture Oct 1891 - article, in The American Anthropologist IV, 319-326; 2 photocopies, 1 reprint
Box 4		McLoughlin, William G. / The American Revolution as a religious revival 1966 - essay review, in The New England Quarterly 40:1, 99-110; photocopy
Box 4		Meyer, William B. / The perfectionists and the weather: The Oneida Community's quest for meteorological utopia 2002 - article, in Environmental History 7:4, 589-610; photocopy
Box 4		Miller, Perry / Jonathan Edwards to Emerson Dec 1940 - article, in The New England Quarterly 13:4, 589-617; photocopy
Box 4		Mishler, Paul C. / The Oneida Community: A study in capitalist transformation 1976 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 4		Moore, Dorothy G. / A child of promise Jun 1989 - "a novel based on the life of Harriet Frances Howard"; spiral-bound typescript photocopy
Box 4		Moos, Rudolf H. / The human context: Environmental determinants of behavior 1976 - excerpts, pp. 363 and 370-387; photocopy
Box 4		Myer, Connie / The assassin was in Syracuse 12 Apr 1964 - article, in Syracuse Post Standard Sunday Magazine; full issue
Box 4		Myers, Eleanor / Oneida Community: Land records wouldn't help here Sep 1966 - article, in National Genealogical Society Quarterly 54:3, 193-210; full issue plus photocopy
Box 4		N., G.W. / The Oneida Community: Its relation to orthodoxy Apr 1913 - article, in The New Reformer 7:1, 18-22; full issue
Box 4		Noyes, Hilda Herrick and Noyes, George Wallingford / The Oneida Community experiment in stirpiculture Dec 1967 - article, in Eugenics Quarterly 14, 282-290; photocopy
Box 4		Olin, Spencer / The anti-Noyes faction: The Townerites and the breakup of the Oneida Community Oct 1978 - conference paper, Conference on Utopias and Communes: Historic and Contemporary Perspectives
Box 4		Olin, Spencer / Bible communism and the origins of Orange County fall 1979 - article, in California History 58:3, 220-233; preliminary draft, full issue, 2 photocopies
Box 4		Olin, Spencer / [research notes] 1977 - mix of typed and handwritten notes; photocopies
Box 4		O'Neill, Nena and George / Patterns in group sexual activity May 1970 - article, in Journal of Sex Research 6:2, 101-112; photocopy
Box 4		Orton, Eliot / The break-up of the Oneida Community 1953 - academic paper; 2 typescript photocopies
Box 4		Owings, Loren C. / The Oneida Community: An annotated bibliography 1990 - article, in Behavioral and Social Sciences Librarian 9:1, 39-75; photocopy
Box 5		Peterson, Lynn Dorothy / She shall be a helpmeet: Women's role in the Oneida Community 1981 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 5		Porterfield, Amanda / A sister to Oneida: The missionary community at Mount Holyoke undated - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 5		Rayback, Roger / Revivalism and social reform by T. Smith Apr 1958 - book review, in New York History 39:2, 203-206; full issue
Box 5		Reymer, Andrew / A new kind of love Jul-Aug 1982 - article, in Astrology Guide; photocopy
Box 5		Richards, Charles / Eugenics tried by Oneida Community Mar 1915 - extract, in The Knickerbocker Press; reprint
Box 5		Riesman, David / Some observations on community plans and utopia Dec 1947 - paper, in The Yale Law Journal 57:2, 173-200; photocopy
Box 5		Riley, Christine / The position of women in the Oneida Community 1977 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 5		Rimmer, Robert H. / The Byrdwhistle option 1982 - book review, in unknown publication; photocopy
Box 5		Robertson, Constance Noyes / The Oneida Community Aug 1940 - article, in House and Garden; reprint
Box 5		Robertson, Constance Noyes / The Oneida Community Apr 1949 - article, in New York History 30:2, 131-149; reprint and 2 photocopies
Box 5		Robertson, Constance Noyes / The perfectionist standard: Reading and study in the Oneida Community Jan 1971 - article, in The Courier 7:2, 32-42; 2 full issues
Box 5		Ross, Mary Bishop / "The kingdom of God has come" Oct 1974 - article, in Dartmouth Alumni Magazine 67:1, 30-34; full issue
Box 5		Sandeen, Ernest R. / John Humphrey Noyes as the new Adam 1971 - article, in Church History 40:1, 82-90; photocopy
Box 5		Sanders, Beverly/ A scrap bag palette [Jessie Kinsley's braiding] 1981 - article, in American Craft 41:2, 14-17 and 76; clipping
Box 5		Sanford, Charles L. / Classics of American reform literature 1958 - article, in American Quarterly 10:3, 295-311; photocopy
Box 5		Sanger, Margaret / Continence 1920 - excerpt from Women and the New Race, 115; photocopy
Box 5		Schafer, William J. / God in love 1989 - book chapter, in The Truman Nelson Reader, 142-162; photocopy
Box 5		Schein, Richard / Oneida Community members: Where they came from and why they joined 1984 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 5		Schein, Richard / Utopian hegira: Migration to Oneida undated - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 5		Sears, Paul B. / Utopia and the living landscape 1965 - article, in Daedalus 94:2, 474-486; photocopy
Oversize 1		Shelly, Barbara / The Oneida Community's silver lining 19 Jul 1981 - article, from Empire (Sunday magazine, Syracuse Herald-American); full issue, 2 copies
Box 5		Sibley, Mulford / Oneida's challenge to American culture 1960 - book chapter, in Studies in American Culture: Dominant Ideas and Images, 41-62; photocopy
Box 5		Siegmeister, Walter / Eugenic procreation in the Oneida Community Jul 1936 - article, in Modern Thinker 1:1, 40-44; full issue plus photocopy of article
Box 5		Slom, Stanley / It started out as a commune in 1848 and today Oneida is a thriving business 4 Apr 1973 - article, in The Wall Street Journal, 12; photocopy
Box 5		Smith, James and Lynn / Co-marital sex and the sexual freedom movement May 1970 - article, in The Journal of Sex Research 6:2, 131-142; photocopy
Box 5		Smith, John Maynard / Eugenics and utopia 1965 - article, in Daedalus 94:2, 487-505; photocopy
Box 5		Standard Oil / A community of silversmiths Feb 1933 - article, in Oil Power 8:1, 4-8; full issue
Box 5		Starbird, Ethel / Vermont: A state of mind and mountains Jul 1974 - article, in National Geographic146:1, 28-61; clipping
Box 5		Staubli, Paul / The big Noyes in Oneida 1990 - article, in Vive la Vie, 98-105; clipping
Box 5		Stepanek, Michael / The liberated woman in the Oneida Community 1840-1872 Mar 1977 - article, in Educational Perspectives 16:1, 22-26; photocopy
Box 5		Stephan, Karen and G. Edward / Religion and the survival of utopian communities 1973 - paper, in Journal for the Scientific Stidy of Religino 12, 89-100; photocopy
Box 5		Stephen, Virginia / Victorian free love: The Oneida experiment 1980 - article, in Forum, 8-13; photocopy
Box 6		Stern, Stephen / "Eat unto the lord": Foodways of the Oneida Community undated - academic paper; typescript mimeograph
Box 6		Stewart, James Brewer / Peaceful hopes and violent experiences / The evolution of reforming and radical abolitionism 1971 - paper, in Civil War History 17:4, 293-209; photocopy
Box 6		Stonehill, Judy / As it is in the heaven, or so they thought 1967 - academic paper; typescript photocopy
Box 6		Sweetland, James H. / Federal sources for the study of collective communities 1980 - paper, in Government Publications Review 7A, 129-138; photocopy
Box 6		Swenson, Janice / The Wallingford Community 1851-1881 1963 - academic paper; 3 typescript photocopies
Box 6		Thomas, Robert David / John Humphrey Noyes and the Oneida Community: A nineteenth century American father and his family 1977 - paper, in Psychohistory Review 6:2-3, 68-87; photocopy
Box 6		Thomas, Scott / Sex was just part of it 24 Oct 1993 - article, in Buffalo Magazine, 13-14; full issue
Box 6		Thorpe, Merle / It doesn't work here Feb 1956 - article, in American Legion Magazine; clipping
Box 6		Truesdell, John W. / A séance with delegates from the Oneida Community 1883 - book chapter, in The bottom facts about the science of spiritualism, 170-183; photocopy
Box 6		Tyler, Edward J. / The scent of scandal 1963 - article, in Rural Vermonter 1:6, 7-11; full issue, 2 copies
Box 6		Ungers, Oswald and Liselotte / Early communes in the USA 1972 - article, in Architectural Design 42, 502-512; photocopy
Box 6		Van de Warker, Ely / A gynecological study of the Oneida Community 1884 - paper, in The American Journal of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children 17:8, 785-810; photocopy
Box 6		Veysey, Laurence / Communal sex and communal survival: Individualism busts the commune boom Dec 1974 - article, in Psychology Today 8:7, 73-78; photocopy
Box 6		Warfield, Benjamin / John Humphrey Noyes and his "Bible communists" [part 1] Jan 1921 - paper, in Bibliotheca Sacra 78:309, 37-72; full issue
Box 6		Warfield, Benjamin / John Humphrey Noyes and his "Bible communists" [part 2] Apr 1921 - paper, in Bibliotheca Sacra 78:310, 172-200; full issue
Box 6		Warfield, Benjamin / John Humphrey Noyes and his "Bible communists" [part 3] Jul-Oct 1921 - paper, in Bibliotheca Sacra 78:311-312, 319-375; full issue
Box 6		Wayland-Smith,Giles / Voices from the past and present: Preliminary findings from an oral history on the Oneida Community Apr 1993 - conference paper, Conference on the Oneida Community Mansion House; typescript copy
Box 6		Wayland-Smith, H./An experiment in eugenics Apr 1938 - academic paper; typescript carbon
Box 6		Wayland-Smith, J. Marc / Education in the Oneida Community Dec 1966 - academic paper, typescript
Box 6		Weimer, Mark / The William A. Hinds "American Communities" collection 1987 - article, in The Courier 22:1, 55-65; preliminary draft
Box 6		Weisbrod, Carol / Charles Guiteau and the Christian nation 1989 - paper, in Journal of Law and Religion 7:1. 187-233; photocopy
Box 6		Weisbrod, Carol / On the breakup of Oneida 1982 - article, in Connecticut Law Review 14:4, 717-733; photocopy
Box 6		Weisbrod, Carol / Reynolds v. United States: Nineteenth century forms of marriage and the status of women 1978 - article, in Connecticut Law Review 10, 828-858; photocopy
Box 6		Wyatt, Philip R. / John Humphrey Noyes and the stirpicultural experiment 1976 - article, in Journal of the History of Medicine 31:1, 55-66; photocopy
Box 7		Charles A. Burt v. Oneida Community Ltd. 1891 - in 16 N.Y.S., 289-304; photocopy
Box 7		Charles A. Burt v. Oneida Community Ltd. 1893 - in 137 N.Y.S. 346-365; photocopy
Box 7		Charles A. Burt v. Oneida Community Ltd. Feb 1893 - in Cases in Court of Appeals 1845, 94pp.; photocopy
Box 7		Charles A. Burt v. Oneida Community Ltd. Mar 1893 - in Cases in Court of Appeals 1869, 57pp.; photocopy
Box 7		[Community plate: photographs with captions] 3 Jul 1937 - article, in News-Week, 28-29; full issue + clipping
Box 7		Contributions to the ecclesiastical history of [Congregeational churches] in Connecticut 1861 - excerpt, pp. 327-329; photocopy
Box 7		Ella Florence Underwood, last surviving member of the Oneida Community 3 Jul 1950 - obituary, in TIME 56:1, 74; clipping
Box 7		Heaven on earth: Mansion House meeting 3 Mar 2000 - transcript. Including Bruce Moseley, Mark Weimer, Bob Fogarty, Giles Wayland-Smith, others; typescript, 67pp.
Box 7		Heaven on earth: Mansion House meeting 3 Mar 2000 - agenda, chronology, other supporting documents; bound typescript
Box 7		Historic tableware: The Oneida Community Mar-Apr 1985 - article, in Colonial Homes, 66-71, 176; clipping
Box 7		The Oneida Community Ltd. 1886 - article, in Bon Vivant 1:2, 6-7; full issue
Box 7		Oneida Community Ltd. 1905 - article, in The National Magazine; reprint, 2 copies
Box 7		The Oneida Community: Two sides of a story 29 Dec 1870 - article, in New York Herald, 5; clipping
Box 7		Putney perfectioism 1848 - article, in The New Englander 6, 177-194; photocopy
Box 7		Day & Night: Upstate New York Area Residents Guide Mar-Apr 1981 - several pieces about Oneida, Sherrill, the Mansion House, Oneida Community, etc.; full issue
Box 7		Sexual pleasure in marriage: Postural variations undated - excerpt, pp. 126-129; photocopy
Box 7		Thoreau at the Oneida Community spring 1971 - article, in Thoreau Society Bulletin 115, 3-5; photocopy
Box 7		Wal-neida: Western city near Moscow [1980s] - city planning brochure

	Miscellaneous material
Box 7		Bibliographies undated
Box 7		Calendar, Syracuse Peace Council 1977
Box 7		Chronologies, compiled by Edward Pitts and Stephen R. Leonard 1997
Box 7		Drawings of Mansion House undated - first, second, and third floor; 2 sets
Box 7		Exhibit materials undated - exhibit booklet, "History of Printing at the O.C."
Oversize 1		Exhibit materials - exhibit poster, "The high tide of the spirit"
Box 7		Letters with mentions of Oneida Community 1837, 1866, 1871, 1879 - includes Gerrit Smith, E. Wright, others; photocopies
Box 7		Notebooks undated - 2 spiral-bound notebooks with handwritten pencil notes, author unknown
Box 7		Printed material, miscellaneous 1935, 1975, undated - postcards, "Complex marriage hymn," advertisement for traps, etc.; mix of original and photocopies
Box 7		Unidentified - photocopies

Return to top