Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Ortelius, Abraham, 1527-1598. |
| Title: | Abraham Ortelius Map |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1570 |
| Quantity: | 1 items |
| Abstract: | map of Daphne in Syria, taken from Theatrum Orbis Terrarum |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Abraham Ortelius (1527-1598) was a Flemish cartographer and geographer. He is considered to be the creator of the first modern atlas, the Theatrum Orbis Terrarum (Theatre of the World). Daphne was a rural area near the historic city of Antioch in Syria; known for its beauty, the area was home to wealthy Romans during the Roman Empire.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Abraham Ortelius Map is a page from Ortelius' Theatrum Orbis Terrarum showing an artistic map of Daphne, a hamlet near Antioch in Syria.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Abraham Ortelius Map,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of David Jan Baker, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 19 Jul 2024
Revision history: