Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Parsons, Alice Beal, 1886-1962.
Title:	Alice Beal Parsons Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1916-1966
Quantity:	12.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, novelist, social worker, feminist. Collection includes correspondence (1916-1961), memorabilia, photographs, printed material, published material, and writings (articles, book reviews, drafts of books, typescripts, galley proofs).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Alice Beal Parsons (1886-1962) was an American author, novelist, social worker and feminist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alice Beal Parsons Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, printed material, published material, and writings.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing mail, including a typed signed letter from Clarence Darrow.

Memorabilia contains a typescript of a court case in which Mr. Darrow was involved, a typescript of Mrs. Parsons' great-grandmother's journal, and a report card for Laura Parsons.

Photographs contains a small number of personal photographs.

Printed material contains publicity material and radio scripts.

Published material contains clippings concerning Parsons' work as well as a personal biography entitled Forever What We Wish, by Helen Bryant.

Writings contains many of her published articles as well as numerous typescripts of both books and short stories.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, as are book reviews in whatever series they appear. All other material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Several articles by Parson are available on the Harper's Magazine website at http://www.harpers.org/subjects/AliceBealParsons.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alice Beal Parsons Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 27 Sep 1979
Revision history: 9 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Correspondence 1916-1961 (3 folders)
Box 1		Correspondence undated

	Memorabilia
Box 1		Transcript: Court case, Illinois vs. Arthur Person 1920 (7 folders)
Box 1		Journal, Lucretia Nevins Starr 1844-1845 - typescript
Box 1		Report card, Laura Parsons

	Photographs
Box 1		Miscellaneous

	Printed material
Box 1		Publicity materials
Box 1		Radio scripts

	Published material
Box 1		Book reviews 1921-1948 (7 folders)
Box 2		Book reviews 1929-1961 (3 folders)
Box 2		Book, Forever What We Wish 1966
Box 2		Bradford Alumnae Bulletin 1932
Box 2		Bretano's Book Parade
Box 2		The Dial 1929
Box 2		Dutton Spring Books 1944
Box 2		Galleys, Forever What We Wish 1966
Box 2		Illinois English Bulletin 1952
Box 2		Literary Mideast USA 1957
Box 2		Miscellaneous
Box 2		Typescripts, Forever What We Wish 1966
Box 2		The Woman Citizen 1926

	Writings
		Articles
Box 2			Beating the economic system 1931
Box 2			Certain people of unimportance 1924
Box 2			Changing views about the hobo 1923 (2 folders)
Box 2			The conquest of emotion 1932
Box 2			The cult of the childless 1931
Box 2			The despotism of Polly Ross 1930 (2 folders)
Box 2			Evening call 1940
Box 2			Every woman's home 1926
Box 2			Four ways to support a family: The parents' wages 1926
Box 2			The future of marriage 1931
Box 2			How changing conditions change mothers 1926
Box 2			It's your country -- pitch in 1945
Box 2			Legacy of a great lady 1962
Box 2			Meantime the summer wind 1935
Box 2			Meantime the summer wind 1953
Box 2			Midsummer evening 1935
Box 2			Sex and genius 1925 (2 folders)
Box 2			Should parents tell all? 1931
Box 3			Sin 1923
Box 3			So you're glad to be home? 1930
Box 3			To confess -- or to pretend 1945
Box 3			Triumph 1948
		Book review clippings
Box 3			1921-1949 (6 folders)
		Book reviews
Box 3			1939-1941 (3 folders)
Box 3			1953
		Books
Box 3			The mountain 1944
		Galleys
Box 3			I know what I'd do (2 folders)
Box 3			The mountain (2 folders)
Box 4			The world around the mountain (4 folders)
		Magazine articles
Box 4			Clippings
		Miscellaneous
Box 4			Miscellaneous
		Rough drafts
			Books
Box 4				Autobiographical (8 folders)
Box 4				Death of a father
Box 4				Fragments (3 folders)
Box 5				The Sandy Point Murders (3 folders)
Box 5				The Sperrys (5 folders)
Box 5				Strangers in Pawlet
Box 5				The traveler (3 folders)
Box 5				The unbelieving sons (2 folders)
Box 5			Fragments
Box 5			Miscellaneous
Box 5			Unfinished novels (3 folders)
Box 6			Unfinished novels (7 folders)
		Typescripts
			Books
Box 6				Autobiographical (3 folders)
Box 6				Brothers (2 folders)
Box 6				The children of disobedience (4 folders)
Box 6				Death of a soul (2 folders)
Box 7				Death of a soul (8 folders)
Box 7				The goal (10 folders)
Box 8				The goal
Box 8				Harder to love (11 folders)
Box 8				I know what I'd do (2 folders)
Box 8				The inheritors (5 folders)
Box 9				The inheritors (5 folders)
Box 9				It's a swell town
Box 9				The lost town (2 folders)
Box 9				The man in the mirror (3 folders)
Box 9				Middle west early novel (2 folders)
Box 9				The mountain (2 folders)
Box 9				The Sandy Point murders
Box 9				The second door on the right
Box 10				The second door on the right
Box 10				The second life of Bye Dongan (4 folders)
Box 10				The Sperrys (2 folders)
Box 10				Strangers in Pawlet (5 folders)
Box 10				The turning point (5 folders)
Box 10				The unbelieving sons (3 folders)
Box 10				The wild filly (2 folders)
Box 11				The wild filly (2 folders)
Box 11				Wolf's clothing
Box 11				The world around the mountain (2 folders)
			Short stories
Box 11				Acl - Mid (13 folders)
Box 12				Mis - Six (5 folders)
Box 13				Sle - Wha (4 folders)
Box 14				Whi - You (2 folders)
Box 14				Untitled

Return to top