Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Peerless Beauty Supplies. |
| Title: | Peerless Hair Dressing Advertising Broadside |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1930s |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | Advertising broadside, featuring 20 smaller images of Black women's hairstyles |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Peerless Beauty Supplies was located in Richmond, Virginia. Peerless Hair Dressing was a product targeted at Black women. Its purpose was to smooth and relax the hair, replacing the natural look of Black hair with something closer to typical Caucasian hair. Such products reflect the cultural and media pressure on Black men and (especially) women to conform to Eurocentric beauty standards.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Peerless Hair Dressing Advertising Broadside is a large point-of-sale poster for Peerless Beauty Supplies in Richmond, Virginia, combining black-and-white photographs with dark blue printing. A banner across the top, dark blue with white lettering, reads "Peerless Hair Dressing on sale here" and a dark blue rectangle in the center gives the name and address of the company, noting that it offers "Everything for The Beauty Salon." Below the banner and surrounding the center block are 20 small oval or rectangular head shots of Black women showing different hair styles; a small notation reads: Photos by "The Browns".
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Peerless Hair Dressing Advertising Broadside,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2021
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 28 May 2021
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Map-Case | Advertising broadside, "Peerless Hair Dressing" 1930s - features 20 small photos of Black women's hair styles | ||||||||||