Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Petrow, Richard.
Title:	Richard Petrow Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1963-1969
Quantity:	2.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author. Collection includes correspondence, notes, galley proofs, and research material relating to his books Across the Top of Russia and The Black Tide.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard Petrow was an American author. Much of his writing focused on some aspect of marine stewardship, including shrimping, boating, arctic seas, and oil spills.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Petrow Papers consists of correspondence and writings. The majority of the collection is research notes for his book The Black Tide, which deals with the 1967 wreck of the tanker Torrey Canyon and the ensuing oil spill on the coasts of Cornwall (England) and Brittany (France).

The collection begins with a small amount of Correspondence. Writings includes notes, galleys, proofs, and research material relating to articles, books, and scripts written by Petrow. The majority concerns The Black Tide, but there is also material from his book Across the Top of Russia, about the cruise of the U.S. Coast Guard ship Northwind into the polar seas north of Siberia.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type and within that by title of work.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Petrow Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DB
Date: Mar 1978
Revision history: 5 Aug 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		David McKay Company, Inc. 1967-1969
Box 1		Northwind [Coast Guard ship] 1965
Box 1		Reader's Digest 1967-1969

	Writings
		Articles
Box 1			"Eight boating crises" 1964-1965
Box 1			"Florida's newest boom industry: cattle rustling" 1967-1969
Box 1			"Government scientists keep shrimp hopping" 1963-1968
Box 1			"Those wonderful fish that no one wants" 1968
Box 1			"Unraveling secret signals of the animal world" 1968
Box 1			"The World Glory disaster" 1968
		Books
			Across the top of Russia
Box 1				Editing material 1966
Box 1				Galleys 1967
Box 1				Page proofs 1967
				Research material
Box 1					Biographies 1965
Box 1					Notes 1965
			The Black Tide
				Research material
Box 1					Birds 1967 (2 folders)
Box 1					Bombing 1967
Box 1					British government (official) 1967
Box 1					British Petroleum 1967
Box 1					Coast guard 1967
Box 1					Cornwall (character) circa 1967
Box 1					Correspondence 1967-1968
Box 1					Cost 1967
Box 1					Detergents and booms 1967
Box 1					Effect of oil outside of Cornwall (in England) 1967
Box 1					Effect on other countries 1967
Box 1					First sighting 1967
Box 1					Flags of convenience 1967
					France
Box 1						Miscellaneous 1967
Box 1						General articles 1967
Box 1						News clippings and chronological messages 1967
Box 1						Scientific 1967
Box 1						Tourism 1967
Box 1					French beaches 1967
Box 1					French crabbers 1967
Box 1					French fish and birds 1967
Box 1					General articles 1967
Box 1					Grounding 1967
Box 2					Insurance 1967
Box 2					Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) 1967
Box 2					Italian crew 1967
Box 2					Lawsuit 1967
Box 2					Liberian inquiry 1967-1968
Box 2					Local authorities 1967
Box 2					Marine life 1967-1968
Box 2					Military operations 1967
Box 2					Miscellaneous 1967
Box 2					Navy 1967
					Oil pollution
Box 2						General 1967
Box 2						Before Torrey Canyon 1966-1967
Box 2						Early days 1967
Box 2						Middle 1967
Box 2						Aftermath 1967
Box 2						Tankers other than Torrey Canyon 1967
Box 2						World War II tankers 1967
Box 2						Profit from 1967
Box 2					Oil slick 1967
Box 2					Photographs 1967
Box 2					Political implications 1967
Box 2					Porthleven 1967
Box 2					Press comments, cartoons 1967
Box 2					Preventative action (future) 1967
Box 2					Rescue 1967
Box 2					Rugiati, Captain Pastrengo 1967
Box 3					St. Ives 1967
Box 3					Salvage 1967-1968
Box 3					Scientific aspects 1963-1968
Box 3					Tankers 1967
Box 3					Testimonies 1967
Box 3					Torrey Canyon 1967
Box 3					Tourist problem 1967
Box 3					Typescript notes undated (3 folders)
Box 3					United States reaction to Torrey Canyon 1967
Box 3				Uncorrected proof 1967
		Scripts
Box 3			CBS Radio 1963-1964
Box 3			CBS Television, "One of a kind: the reconstruction" 1964

Return to top