Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Phillips, Wilbur C., 1880- |
| Title: | Wilbur C. Phillips Manuscript |
| Inclusive Dates: | Undated |
| Quantity: | 1 item (SC) |
| Abstract: | Book ms. for Adventuring for Democracy, published by the Social Unit Press, New York, 1940. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Wilbur Cary Phillips (1880-1967) was an American author, social scientist, and social philosopher.
Phillips was born in Central New York in 1880, the son of a clergyman. He attended Colgate Academy before graduating from Harvard University in 1904. He was appointed Secretary and Administrative Officer of the New York Milk Committee in 1906, where he served until 1911. On May 16, 1911, he married Elsie LaGrange Cole in New York City. That same year, he accepted a position as Secretary of the Milwaukee Child Welfare Commission. Phillips also established the National Social Unit Organization (NSUO), serving as executive director. During this time, Phillips worked on developing a social unit plan. After 1920, he decided not to work in positions that might distract him from developing his ideas, thus worked the remainder of his life unsalaried. Continuing to work toward his plan, Phillips established various committees and councils. He died in New York City in 1967.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Wilbur C. Phillips Manuscript is a typed manuscript for the book Adventuring for Democracy, published by Social Unit Press in 1940. The book describes one of Phillips's social unit experiments in Cincinnati.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Associated Titles
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Wilbur C. Phillips Manuscript
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: LDC
Date: 15 Jan 2009
Revision history: