Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | The pink paper. |
| Title: | The Pink Paper Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1993-1996 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Newsletter published by and for the LGBTQ+ community of Syracuse, NY |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
According the masthead of the publication, The Pink Paper was "a news publication for the alternative community of Syracuse." The not-for-profit newsletter reported on local and national news of social and political significance to the LGBTQ+ community of Syracuse, New York. The Pink Paper was distributed free within the Syracuse area. The newsletter was in print from the late 1980s to the early 1990s.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Pink Paper Collection contains issues of the Syracuse-area LGBTQ+ newsletter. Regular features included book reviews, a calendar of events, advertisements for local businesses, and "help wanted" ads. News items covered anti-gay legislation in Colorado, a local radio show "This Way Out," the April 1993 March on Washington, Stonewall 25th anniversary celebrations, "lesbian and gay music makers," and more.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Associated Titles
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
The Pink Paper Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transfer from University Archives, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 11 Apr 2025
Revision history: