Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Portable Globe Copyright |
| Inclusive Dates: | 24 Mar 1845 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Copyright certificate for William M. Beauchamp |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
It is unclear whether or not "Wm. M. Beauchamp" refers to William Millett Beauchamp or his son, William Martin Beauchamp.
William Millett Beauchamp (1799-1867) was the founder of this branch of the family in the United States, having moved from West Pennard, England to Orange County, New York in 1829. He founded and published the Skaneatleses Democrat and worked in the nursery business, being the first to raise teasels in New York state.
William Martin Beauchamp (1830-1925) was an American ethnologist and clergyman. He was educated at the Skaneateles Academy in New York until 1845. He also received degrees from the DeLancy Divinity School and Hobart College. In 1857 he married Sarah Carter and the two resided in Syracuse, New York. Beauchamp was a rector of Grace Episcopal Church in Baldwinsville, New York from 1865 to 1900. He was also an archaeologist for the New York State Museum and published research on the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois).
Information on William Millett Beauchamp from Genealogial and Family History of Western New York: A Record of..., Volume 3, edited by William Richard Cutter, 1912.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Portable Globe Copyright is a 3 page record of a copyright filing by William M. Beauchamp.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Portable Globe Copyright
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown
Finding Aid Information
Created by: KD
Date: 15 Jan 2019
Revision history: