Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Posada, José Guadalupe, 1852-1913. |
| Title: | Jose Guadalupe Posada print "Santo Niño Cautivo / El Hacer del Mundo" |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1905? |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | print by Jose Guadalupe Posada, "Santo Niño Cautivo / El Hacer del Mundo" |
| Language: | Spanish |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
José Guadalupe Posada (1852-1913) was a Mexican political printmaker and engraver whose work has influenced many Latin American artists and cartoonists because of its satirical acuteness and social engagement. Posada's best known works are his calaveras, which often assume various costumes, such as the Calavera de la Catrina, the "Skull of the Female Dandy", which was meant to satirize the life of the upper classes during the reign of Porfirio Díaz. Most of his imagery was meant to make a religious or satirical point. Since his death, however, his images have become associated with the Mexican holiday Día de los Muertos, the "Day of the Dead." [Biographical sketch taken from the Library of Congress Name Authority File (LCNAF).]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Jose Guadalupe Posada Print consists of a single print, approximately 16" x 12", entitled "Santo Niño Cautivo / El Hacer del Mundo.". Santo Niño Cautivo (the captive child) is a sculpture in the Capilla de Nuestra Señora La Antigua of the Metropolitan Cathedral of Mexico City. The child represented is a patron saint of those held against their will either literally (e.g., victims of kidnapping) or figuratively (e.g., those battling addiction or other vices).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Jose Guadalupe Posada Print,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 9 Dec 2024
Revision history: