Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Price, Willard, 1887-1983.
Title:	Willard Price Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1936-1972
Quantity:	4.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Autographed books, some manuscripts and correspondence of the Canadian-born American natural historian and author of children's fiction.
Language:	Majority of the collection is in English, but there are also published editions in Danish, Dutch, French, German, Japanese, Norwegian, and Spanish
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Willard Price (1887-1983) was a Canadian-born American natural historian and author of children's fiction.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Willard Price Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, and writings.

Biographical materital contains clippings about Price and his list of his publications.

Correspondence is both incoming and outgoing. Correspondents include friends, editors, librarians, and so on; several are from readers of his books expressing. One, to University of California-Riverside, expressed his disbelief that they are offering a course on astrology and numerology; another laments that his books have to "live down the ill repute of such series as the Horatio Alger books.

Writings make up the bulk of the collection. It contains manuscripts, galleys, and published editions of many of Price's books, and a folder of assorted items attached to typed notes by Price giving his thoughts on them.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Writings are subdivided by type and within that arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Willard Price Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Willard Price.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 22 Mar 2010
Revision history: 18 Jul 2024 - collection fully processed, rehoused, prepped for offsite (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Clippings - clippings about Price, with his typed notes and observations, and two letters to the editor from Price
Box 1		Lists

	Correspondence
		Miscellaneous 1963-1971

	Writings
		Manuscripts
Box 1			Diving adventure - typescript with corrections (3 folders)
Box 1			Elephant adventure - typescript with corrections (3 folders)
Box 1			Elephant adventure - galleys
Box 1			Elephant adventure - "master proof" galleys
Box 1			Japanese miracle and peril - typescript with corrections, pp. 1-75
Box 2			Japanese miracle and peril - typescript with corrections, pp. 76-374 (4 folders)
Box 2			Lion adventure - typescript with corrections (2 folders)
Box 2			Odd way round the world - typescript with corrections and layout notations (4 folders)
Box 3			Rivers I have known - typescript with corrections (5 folders)
Box 3			Rivers I have known - galleys
Box 3			Rivers I have known - "master proof" galleys
		Published editions
Box 4			Abenteuer [Adventure] 1972 - German (1 volume)
Box 4			Adventures in paradise 1956 - English, Danish (2 volumes)
Box 4			African adventure 1963 - English (1 volume)
Box 4			[Against poachers in Kilimanjaro] Gegen wilderer am Kilimandscharo 1970 - German (1 volume)
Box 4			Amazing Amazon 1952-1954 - English, French, German, Spanish (4 volumes)
Box 5			Amazing Mississippi 1962 - English (1 volume)
Box 5			Amazon adventure 1951 - English, French (1 volume)
Box 5			America's paradise lost: The strange story of the secret atolls 1966 - English (1 volume)
Box 5			Barbarian 1941 - historical novel set in Japan; English (1 volume)
Box 5			Cannibal adventure 1972 - English (1 volume)
Box 5			[Children of the rising sun] 日の出の子供 - Japanese (1 volume)
Box 6			Diving adventure 1970 - English (1 volume)
Box 6			Elephant adventure 1964 - English (1 volume)
Box 6			Gorilla adventure 1969 - English, French (2 volumes)
Box 6			Harpun, colt, und weisse segel [Harpoon, colt, and white sails] 1970 - German (1 volume)
Box 6			I cannot rest from travel 1951 - English, German, Norwegian (3 volumes)
Box 7			Incredible Africa 1961-1962 - English, Afrikaans (2 volumes)
Box 7			Japan rides the tiger 1942 - English (1 volume)
Box 7			Japanese miracle and peril 1971 - English (1 volume)
Box 7			Journey by junk 1953, 1955 - English, Norwegian (2 volumes)
Box 7			Lion adventure 1967 - English (1 volume)
Box 8			Odd way round the world 1969 - English (1 volume)
Box 8			Riptide in the South Seas 1936 - English (1 volume)
Box 8			Rivers I have known 1965 - English (1 volume)
Box 8			Roaming Britain 1958 - English (1 volume)
Box 8			Roving south: Rio Grande to Patagonia 1948-1949 - English, Norwegian (2 volumes)
Box 9			Safari Adventure 1966 - English (1 volume)
Box 9			South Sea Adventure 1952 - English (1 volume)
Box 9			Underwater Adventure 1955 - English (1 volume)
Box 9			Volcano Adventure 1956 - English (1 volume)
Box 9			Whale adventure 1960 - English (1 volume)
Box 9			Where Are You Going, Japan? 1938 - English (1 volume)
		Miscellaneous
Box 1			Reflections and observations - letters, clippings, miscellaneous material, each with a typed sheet attached giving Price's thoughts and observations on different topics

Return to top