Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Grove Press.
Title:	Prix Formentor Literary Award Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1960-1972
Quantity:	3.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Administrative records, financial records, correspondance, readers reports, photographs, and printed material related to the international literary award.
Language:	Collection materials are in English. Spanish, German, and French.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The Prix Formentor is an international literary prize given to the best unpublished manuscript submitted that year. The award was given from 1961-1967, then took a hiatus until it was reestablished in 2011. Works are submitted by publishers on behalf of the author. The winner(s) are chosen by vote at a meeting of representatives of the participating publishers. Winners receive a financial prize as well as guaranteed publication.

This particular set of material was donated as part of the Grove Press Records, and reflects Grove Press' participation in the award during the 1960s.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Prix Formentor Literary Award Collection consists of six series: administrative records, correspondence, financial records, photographs, printed material, and reader reports. Except for printed material, each series is subdivided by award year. The collection has received minimal processing, with the original arrangement and organization mostly preserved; as a result, some folders may contain items dated prior to or after the year that is indicated on the folder.

Administrative records includes contracts, press releases, lists of submitted works, meeting programs, lists of participating publishers, and so on. A good deal of correspondence is mixed in with this material.

Correspondence is primarily between Grove Press editor Barney Rossett and other editors and publishers, about the award process including submissions, arrangements for meeting/voting, selection of committee members, and so on.

Financial information deals largely with publishers' donations to support the award.

Photographs contains photographs of attendees at Prix Formentor events, including editors, authors, and publishers. There are also a few more formal publicity photographs.

Printed material consists mostly of newspaper and magazine clippings (both original and photocopies) about the award. These include press releases, book reviews, articles about the Prix Formentor and participating publishers, profiles of authors, and so on. There is a small amount of travel-related miscellany, such as maps and hotel brochures.

Reader reports contains evaluations by readers of works submitted for a given year.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Series are arranged alphabetically. Within each series, material is arranged chronologically by award year; note that some folders may contain items dated prior to or after the year that is indicated on the folder. Printed materials are subdivided by format (clippings, posters, etc.)

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Grove Press Records.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Prix Formentor Literary Award Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Donated as part of the Grove Press Records,

Processing Information

The collection has received minimal processing, with the original arrangement and organization mostly preserved.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MS, PA
Date: 19 Apr 2023
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

	Administrative records
Box 1		[General] 1960
Box 1		[General] 1962
Box 1		[General] 1963
Box 1		[General] 1964 (4 folders)
Box 1		[General] 1965
Box 1		[General] 1966 (3 folders)
Box 2		[General] 1966 (8 folders)
Box 2		[General] 1967 (2 folders)
Box 3		[General] undated

	Correspondence
Box 3		[General] 1961 (3 folders)
Box 3		[General] 1962 (3 folders)
Box 3		[General] 1963
Box 4		[General] 1963 (4 folders)
Box 4		[General] 1964
Box 4		[General] 1965 (4 folders)
Box 5		[General] 1965 (2 folders)
Box 5		[General] 1967-1972

	Financial records
Box 5		[General] 1964
Box 5		[General] 1965
Box 5		[General] 1966
Box 5		[General] 1967
Box 5		[General] 1968
Box 5		[General] 1969
Box 5		[General] 1970
Box 5		[General] 1971
Box 5		[General] 1972

	Photographs
Box 5		[General] 1960
Box 5		[General] 1964
Box 5		[General] 1965 (2 folders)

	Printed mmterials
Box 6		Greece, maps of
Box 6		News articles 1960-1963 - book reviews, press releases, bios of authors, articles about the Prix Formentor, etc. (4 folders)
Oversize 1		News articles 1960-1963 - book reviews, bios of authors, articles about the Prix Formentor, etc.
Oversize 1		Posters and book jackets
Box 6		Miscellaneous - promotional material about specific books and authors, airline/hotel/sightseeing information (2 folders)

	Reader reports
Box 6		[General] 1961-1965 (6 folders)

Return to top