Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Proceedings of a Conference on Pacifist Activity
An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Chicago Conference Continuation Committee. |
| Title: | Proceedings of a Conference on Pacifist Activity |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1948 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | 23 pages documenting a conference on "more disciplined and revolutionary pacifist activity" |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Chicago Conference on Social Action was held in 1943 as an opportunity for conscientious objectors to exchange views and consider potential actions. The Chicago Conference Continuation Committee may have been an outgrowth of that, but it had a broader focus on disarmament and peace in general. A.J. Muste was the secretary and Cecil E. Hinshaw was the Chairman.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Proceedings of a Conference on Pacifist Activity consists of a 23-page document documenting the agenda and proceedings of the event. On the second page, the event is described as "A conference on more disciplined and revolutionary pacifist activity." The following paragraph suggests that one impetus for the conference was the death of Mahatma Gandhi in January, 1948. Topics discussed include refusal to pay taxes, conscientious objection to military service, disarmament, and the divide between religious and non-religious wings of the peace movement. Included at the end is a list of conference registrants.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Proceedings of a Conference on Pacifist Activity,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 26 Feb 2025
Revision history: