Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Ranke, Leopold von, 1795-1886.
Title:	Leopold von Ranke Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1765-1886
Bulk Dates:	1828-1886
Quantity:	5 linear ft. (280 items)
Abstract:	Papers of the German historian. Collection includes letters to Ranke, notes, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, and photographs, as well as poems and family letters to and from Clara Graves, Ranke's wife and great-aunt of poet Robert Graves. Also, bibliographic material about the library, compiled by Theodor Wiedemann.
Language:	Majority in English, scattered items in French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Leopold von Ranke (1795-1886) was a German historian and historiographer. He was highly influential in shaping the modern approach to history, emphasizing such things as reliance on primary sources, narrative history and international politics. He rejected the idea that each era is by definition superior to those that preceded it, as well as the idea of sweeping historical theories that attempt to encompass huge swathes of time and geography. His niece Amalie von Ranke was the mother of the British novelist and poet Robert Graves, whose full name was Robert von Ranke Graves.

Ranke's personal and professional library, consisting of more than 10,000 books, several hundred manuscripts and approximately 5 linear ft. of personal papers, was purchased for Syracuse University in 1887 and formed the nucleus of what is now the Syracuse University Special Collections Research Center (SCRC).

Theodor Weidemann, whose bibliographic aids about the Ranke Library are also included in the collection, was Ranke's amanuensis for the last fifteen years of his life.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leopold von Ranke Papers consists of personal papers relating to Ranke, his wife Clarissa Graves Ranke, and their family and friends. The collection also contains extensive bibliographic material compiled by Theodor Wiedemann about Ranke's library and manuscript collection, as well as a few items that were laid in various volumes of Ranke's personal library and found during cataloging. These items are accompanied by a note indicating where they were found.

The collection is divided into series, possibly based on when items were acquired. The OA (original acquisition) series was part of the purchase of Ranke's library in 1887. The Z series was purchased at auction from Sotheby's in the 1970s. The meaning of the other series (X, Y, GNC) is unknown at this time. Each series contains similar types of material: correspondence, notes, memorabilia, newspaper clippings, photographs, poems and family letters.

Topics discussed in the letters include health advice, child-rearing practices, administration of the English Poor Laws (John T. Graves was a district administrator), British Parliamentary politics, literary criticism and news, reception of Ranke's work in Britain, and the possibility of a revolution in England and Ireland in 1848, among others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into series, possibly based on when items were acquired. Within that, material is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Box 7, item GMC540, is restricted due to fragile condition. Researchers should use either the microfilm version of this item, or one of the two photocopies (GMC541 or GMC542, also in Box 7), NOT the originals.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The personal and professional library of Leopold von Ranke, consisting of more than 10,000 books, several hundred manuscripts and approximately 5 linear ft. of personal papers, was purchased for Syracuse University in 1887 and formed the nucleus of what is now the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at Syracuse University.

The personal papers comprise this collection, the Leopold von Ranke Papers.

The more than 10,000 volumes of Ranke's personal library, containing many works on historical, political and literary subjects dating from the 16th to 19th centuries and in numerous European languages, have been transfered to Rare Books for cataloging. They are accessible via the Classic Catalog.

The manuscripts, containing items in numerous languages dating back to the 16th century, comprise the Leopold von Ranke Manuscript Collection.

Items in the OA and GMC series are also available on microfilm.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leopold von Ranke Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1887.

Z series material purchase with Arents Fund, 5 November 1975.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 27 Feb 2012 - inventory added (MRC); 19 Aug 2013 - correction to X22 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Items in the OA and GMC series are also available on microfilm.

	Original acquisition (OA) series
Box 1		E. Hilpert engraving of "Das Wohnhaus Leopold von Ranke's in der Luisenstrasse 24a." (ID#: OA1)
Box 1		Annotated page proof, pp. 67-78, from Ranke's Englishe Geschichte (Leipzig, 1868) (ID#: OA2)
Box 1		Unidentified letter 8 February 1886 (ID#: OA3)
Box 1		Notes on the Psalms (ID#: OA4)
Box 1		Notes in Ranke's hand (ID#: OA5)
Box 1		Printed folio, "Centenaire du Marquis de Pombal" (ID#: OA6)
Box 1		Certificate, "Seiner Hochwohlgeboren Herrn Wirklichen Geheimrath Leopold von Ranke in Berlin" (bookplate no. 26727> (ID#: OA7)
Box 1		Indenture made between Helena Clarissa Graves and Leopold Ranke declaring the dowry for Clara Graves (ID#: OA8)
Box 1		Receipt for Clara Graves' dowry (ID#: OA9)
Box 1		Receipt signed by Leopold Ranke 22 October 1843 (ID#: OA10)
Box 1		Photograph of Ranke in his study 1884 (ID#: OA11)
Box 1		Unidentified letter, found laid in Regesta chronologico diplomatica: in quibus recensentur omnis generis... (Ranke 321.24 G35f) 1765 (ID#: OA12)
Box 1		Unidentified slips, found laid in Joannis Caspari Barthel... (Ranke 348 B28 t.2 and t.3) (ID#: OA12)

	X Series
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 1 March 1865 (ID#: X1)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 5 March 1865 (ID#: X2)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves, 31 March [no year] (ID#: X3)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 1 December 1865 (ID#: X4)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 1 November 1869 (ID#: X5)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 14 December 1869 (ID#: X6)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to Amelia Graves 7 March 1865 (ID#: X7)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John and Amelia Graves 1 March 1864 (ID#: X8)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves undated (ID#: X9)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 29 October 1865 (ID#: X10)
Box 1		Envelope addressed to Helena Graves 29 August 1843 (ID#: X11)
Box 1		Envelope addressed to Helena Graves, 17 August 1843 (ID#: X12)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke, envelope only, to Rev. Graves 16 July 1865 (ID#: X13)
Box 1		Business card of Samuel Page, notary public and stock broker, with stock quotes for Helena Graves; date on verso 16 October 1843 (ID#: X14)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 15 March 1865 (ID#: X15)
Box 1		Clara Ranke to John Graves 22 March 1865 (ID#: X16)
Box 1		Envelope containing newspaper clippings about Leopold von Ranke's death 24 May 1886 (ID#: X17)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to Charles Graves 27 June 1865 (ID#: X18)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to Robert Graves 3 July 1857 (ID#: X19)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to John Graves 22 June 1865 (ID#: X20)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to "My Dearest Schoolmistress" 17 August 1843 (ID#: X21)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to "My dearest friend" 28 July 1843 (ID#: X22)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to Robert Graves 24 June 1857 (ID#: X23)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to John Graves 3 August 1856 (ID#: X24)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to Charles Graves 16 June 1855 (ID#: X25)
Box 1		Leopold Ranke to. Clara Ranke 17 October 1868 (ID#: X26)
Box 1		Wilhelm Horning, printed funeral oration for General Fieldmarshal Edwin von Manteuffel 21 June 1885 (ID#: X27)
Box 1		G. Kopp, printed funeral oration for General Fieldmarshal Edwin von Manteuffel 21 June 1885 (ID#: X28)

	Y Series
Box 2		Unidentified letter (ID#: Y1)
Box 2		"Extract from Madame von Ranke's letter giving an account of the Jubilee at Berlin on the 20 February 1867 being the 50th anniversary of her husband's connection with the University there" (ID#: Y2)
Box 2		Contract wherein Aaron Graves leased farm land to Simon S. Yoder in the township of Middlefield, Ohio 1 April 1896 (ID#: Y3)
Box 2		Helena Graves to her father 18 December 1817 (ID#: Y4)
Box 2		Clara Graves (Ranke), drawing of Telessin Hall (ID#: Y5)
Box 2		Clara Graves (Ranke), drawing of Telessin Hall (ID#: Y6)
Box 2		One of her grandfathers to Clara Graves (Ranke) 29 May 1825 (ID#: Y7)
Box 2		Riddles and jokes for children (ID#: Y8)
Box 2		Unsigned to John C. Graves undated (ID#: Y9)
Box 2		Miscellaneous hymns (ID#: Y10)
Box 2		A puzzle attributed to Clara Graves (Ranke) (ID#: Y11)
Box 2		Drawing of a castle (ID#: Y12)
Box 2		Copy of a letter from Josephine to Napoleon Bonaparte (ID#: Y13)
Box 2		One of her grandfathers to Clara Graves (Ranke) (ID#: Y14)
Box 2		Clara Graves to Mrs. Graves, in Italian 7 February 1823 (ID#: Y15)
Box 2		"Copy of a letter from Princess Charlotte of Wales to the Hon. George Keppel" 1809 (ID#: Y16)
Box 2		Unidentified author to Clara Graves (Ranke) (ID#: Y17)
Box 2		Unidentified author to Clara Graves (Ranke) (ID#: Y18)
Box 2		"A copy of a very old letter from Mrs. (Anna) Grant authoress of letters from the mountains etc. in answer to a letter from Mr. Chalmers regarding a particular account of his situation for the information of some Ladies." (ID#: Y19)
Box 2		H.S. Parkman, engraving of Thomas T. Biddulph (ID#: Y20)
Box 2		Unidentified note 19 June 1817 (ID#: Y21)
Box 2		Printed page of characters for a drama 1820 (ID#: Y22)
			date based on watermark
Box 2		Poem (ID#: Y23)
Box 2		Thomas More, poem titled, "Lady Byron's answer to her Lord's Farewe1l." (ID#: Y24)
Box 2		List of poets and puzzles (ID#: Y25)
Box 2		Poem, "Quadrilling" (ID#: Y26)
Box 2		Poems (ID#: Y27)
Box 2		"Ossian's address to the Sun from Thomas Travers Burke's versification of the poem of 'Carthon'" (ID#: Y28)
Box 2		"Charade" (ID#: Y29)
Box 2		"An Hieroglyphic Puzzle" (ID#: Y30)
Box 2		Poem (ID#: Y31)
Box 2		Poem, "On Reading Miss Woom's Album" (ID#: Y32)
Box 2		Poem, "On seeing on a Lady's Neck a French Watch Which had Stopped" (ID#: Y33)
Box 2		Poem (ID#: Y34)
Box 2		"Anagram of Walterus Scotus" (ID#: Y35)
Box 2		Elena Graves, letter in Russian (ID#: Y36)
Box 2		Edward Coxe, poem titled, "The Fable of the Crab" (ID#: Y37)
Box 2		Thomas More, poem titled, "On the Death of Her Royal Highness the Princess Charlotte of Wales" (ID#: Y38)
Box 2		Poem, "Lines on the Death of the Princess Charlotte" (ID#: Y39)
Box 2		"Curious Coincidences Respecting the Letter C, as Connected with the Lamented Princess Charlotte." (ID#: Y40)
Box 2		"Sent correspondence" (ID#: Y41)
Box 2		Mrs. Hemans, inscription composed for the funeral monuments of John James Wedderburn (died 11 October 1810) and George Wedderburn (died 23 May 1823) (ID#: Y42)
Box 2		"Sonnet on a Scene in Ely Cathedral" (ID#: Y43)
Box 2		Unsigned to Mrs. Graves, includes a copy of Thomas Moore's poem, "A Canadian Boat-Song" 12 September 1806 (ID#: Y44)
Box 2		Poem, "The Namesakes" (ID#: Y45)
Box 2		"The Cesar's Discovery of the Bodies of Charles the 1st and Henry the 8th in the Same Vault at Windsor." (ID#: Y46)
Box 2		A riddle (ID#: Y47)
Box 2		Riddles (ID#: Y48)
Box 2		"Epigrammes, calembours, et jeux des mots sur Bonaparte" (ID#: Y49)
Box 2		Drawing 1n pencil (ID#: Y50)
Box 2		Unsigned letter to L.C. Graves 10 March 1843 (ID#: Y51)
Box 2		Poem, "The Husband's Complaint" (ID#: Y52)
Box 2		Poem, "Home" (ID#: Y53)
Box 2		Unsigned note to Miss Graves, containing a newspaper clipping postmarked 1830 (ID#: Y54)
Box 2		Unsigned to Miss Graves (ID#: Y55)
Box 2		"Aunt Annie" to Clara Graves (Ranke) undated (ID#: Y56)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Graves (Ranke) 1837 (ID#: Y57)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Graves (Ranke) (ID#: Y58)
Box 2		Poem, "On a Port Never Seen" (ID#: Y59)
Box 2		Poem addressed to Miss Graves, "On a strain of Music Never Heard" (ID#: Y60)
Box 2		"Song for Rousseau's Dream by Uncle Percival" (ID#: Y61)
Box 2		Dolly Swainson to Agey Braithwaite undated (ID#: Y62)
Box 2		Agey Braithwaite to Dolly Swainson, "A Westmoreland Note" undated (ID#: Y63)
Box 2		H. Edmunds, "The Cataract of Ladore" 12 December 1835 (ID#: Y64)
Box 2		Robert Percival Graves, poem "composed on the Interment [of] John Bolton Esq. in Bowness Churchyard March 9th 1837" (ID#: Y65)
Box 2		N. Briggs to Miss Graves 6 October 1839 (ID#: Y66)
Box 2		A sprig of Kenilworth ivy (ID#: Y67)
Box 2		Charles Graves, sonnet to Wordsworth 1833 or 1834 (ID#: Y68)
Box 2		"Remarks on English Ladies by a Roman Translated by H.C.G. (Helena Clarissa Graves)" (ID#: Y69)
Box 2		"Specimens from a Patent Pocket Dictionary" (ID#: Y70)
Box 2		Marin de la voye, poem addressed to Mademoiselle Graves (ID#: Y71)
Box 2		"Schiller to the Ideal" (ID#: Y72)
Box 2		Poem, "Das fugal das Gud'uhl" (ID#: Y73)
Box 2		Poem, "Zwischen Pisa und Livorno" [Between Pisa and Livorno] (ID#: Y74)
Box 2		Robert Percival Graves, printed poem, "To Mrs. Fletcher on the Seventy-fifth Anniversary of Her Birth-day" (ID#: Y75)
Box 2		Alfred A. Percival, to Clara Graves (Ranke) 12 October 1843 (ID#: Y76)
Box 2		Unsigned letter to Helena Graves (ID#: Y77)
Box 2		Clara Graves (Ranke), poem "To Aloe" 21 December 1843 (ID#: Y78)
Box 2		Translation addressed to Clara Graves (Ranke) of "Müde bin ich" [Tired am I] (ID#: Y79)
Box 2		Translation of the German song "The Wanderer" (ID#: Y80)
Box 2		T.W. Zinkheisen, "Fragment eines Briefes aus London vom 3 November" [Fragment of a letter from London on 3 November] (ID#: Y81)
Box 2		Clara Ranke, "A thought on the Minister Eickhorn's Birthday 2 March 1847 (ID#: Y82)
Box 2		Robert Percival Graves, poem "To My Friend, T.H. Bethamley Esq. on the Christening of his Son and my Godson Arthur Thomas Bethamley" 15 March 1847 (ID#: Y83)
Box 2		Memorandum about names (ID#: Y84)
Box 2		"Hymn for a Sick Child" (ID#: Y85)
Box 2		Clara Ranke to Leopold Ranke undated (ID#: Y86)
Box 2		Poem, "To Otto's Father" (ID#: Y87)
Box 2		Richard Brodkin to unnamed recipient undated (ID#: Y88)
Box 2		Unsigned [Lola Muntie?] to Clara Ranke (ID#: Y89)
Box 2		"The Civil Governor of Guernsey, extract from Mr. Carry's letter about Robert" (ID#: Y90)
Box 2		"Extract from a letter written by the Rev'd G. Gisborne to his grandson" 13 March 1845 (ID#: Y91)
Box 2		"Dublin Improvement Bill" 23 February 1847 (ID#: Y92)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Ranke (ID#: Y93)
Box 2		The same (ID#: Y94)
Box 2		Pio del Bufalo della Valle to Helena Graves 4 April 1844 (ID#: Y95)
Box 2		Giovanni Carlo Muti to Helena Graves 1 September 1845 (ID#: Y96)
Box 2		Giovanni Carlo Muti to Helena Graves 28 December 1846 (ID#: Y97)
Box 2		Anagrams (ID#: Y98)
Box 2		Receipt for the purchase of A History of the English Navy 19 December 1862 (ID#: Y99)
Box 2		Poems in English translation, "Über allen Gipfeln" and "Wer nie sein Brod mit Thränen aus Wilhelm Meister" (ID#: Y100)
Box 2		Otto Opel to Leopold Ranke, in Ra 940.7 O61 1bd.) (copy) 23 May 1872 (ID#: Y101)
Box 2		Leopold Ranke to George Reimer (copy; original at University of Illinois) 26 January 1824 (ID#: Y102)
Box 2		"A Prayer to be used for a sick child" (ID#: Y103)
Box 2		Poems collected by Helena Graves's mother (ID#: Y104)
Box 2		Robert Percival Graves to unidentified recipient 1846 (ID#: Y105)
Box 2		Unsigned note, October 28 (ID#: Y106)
Box 2		Unsigned to Dora Wordsworth 12 August 1838 (ID#: Y107)
Box 2		Charles Tennyson Graves, poem (ID#: Y108)
Box 2		Katherine Hyde Clarke, poem "The River of God" (ID#: Y109)
Box 2		"A forest scene from the vision of Dante" (ID#: Y110)
Box 2		"Song from Tennyson's 'Rimes': "O Swallow, Swallow flying South" (ID#: Y111)
Box 2		Unsigned valentine (ID#: Y112)
Box 2		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke 21 October 1847 (ID#: Y113)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Ranke 1843 (ID#: Y114)
			date based on watermark
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y115)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y116)
Box 2		John Graves to his mother 13 September 1844 (ID#: Y117)
Box 2		"Nursery matters" (ID#: Y118)
Box 2		"Lines written by Charles when he was very young" (ID#: Y119)
Box 2		Untitled story (ID#: Y120)
Box 2		William Wordsworth, poem, "On the Projected Kendal and Windermere Rail-way" (ID#: Y121)
Box 2		List of frescos in Rome (ID#: Y122)
Box 2		"Extract of a letter from Colonel Stack commanding the 3d Bombay Light Cavalry to Sir Ephrim Stannas" recommending Lt. John Graves (ID#: Y123)
Box 2		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y124)
Box 3		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y125-127)
Box 3		"Conversations with Clara" (ID#: Y128)
Box 3		"Prayer to be used by a Woman During her being With child" (ID#: Y129)
Box 3		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y130)
Box 3		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y131)
Box 3		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y132)
Box 3		"Extract from a letter of Doctor Amoldo to Rev. Heam" (ID#: Y133)
Box 3		"A Thanksgiving Prayer" (ID#: Y134)
Box 3		Helena Graves to one of her sons undated (ID#: Y135)
Box 3		Anecdotes about medicines (ID#: Y136)
Box 3		Note on children's health and exercise (ID#: Y137)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 25 September [no year] (ID#: Y138)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y139)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 3 January 1848 (ID#: Y140)
Box 3		"Extracts from the life of Canova the Italian sculptor" (ID#: Y141)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 2 June [no year] (ID#: Y142)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 8 March [no year] (ID#: Y143)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 29 March [no year] (ID#: Y144)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 3 July 1848 (ID#: Y145)
Box 3		Advice on medicine for and care of infants (ID#: Y146)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 14 June 1847 (ID#: Y147)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, April 1848 (ID#: Y148)
Box 3		"Advertisement copied from the Athenium" and gossip about Lola Montes [Montez] (ID#: Y149)
Box 3		Information on Lola Montes [Montez] (ID#: Y150)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 12 December [no year] (ID#: Y151)
Box 3		Cecilia Hodgson to Helena Graves and Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 8 February 1849 (ID#: Y152)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y153)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y154)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 11 January [no year] (ID#: Y155)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y156)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 18 July [no year] (ID#: Y157)
Box 3		He1ena Graves to Clara Ranke 18 May 1848 (ID#: Y158)
Box 3		Unsigned to Helena Graves 7 August 1846 (ID#: Y159)
Box 3		Poem, "Lord Teach Us to Pray" (ID#: Y160)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke with extracts from other letters undated (ID#: Y161)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 1 May [no year] (ID#: Y162)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 8 June [no year] (ID#: Y163)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y164)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke, 4 September [no year], on stationery engraved with a portrait of Jenny Lind (ID#: Y165-166)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y167)
Box 3		Helena Graves' "Prescriptions for Clara" 29 March 1847 (ID#: Y168)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 13 December 1849 (ID#: Y169)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Leopold Ranke, 14 January [no year] (ID#: Y170)
Box 3		"From 'The Atlas' newspaper -- a paragraph from the critique upon Ranke's History of Serbia" (ID#: Y171)
Box 3		He1ena Graves to Otto Ranke (ID#: Y172)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y173)
Box 3		William Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 9 October 1843 (ID#: Y174)
Box 3		Robert Graves to Clara Ranke 11 September 1844 (ID#: Y175)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y176)
Box 3		William Percival Graves (?) to Clara Ranke 15 December 1845 (ID#: Y177)
Box 3		Robert Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y178-179)
Box 3		Amelia Graves to Clara Ranke 9 November 1846 (ID#: Y180)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 3 April 1845 (ID#: Y181)
Box 3		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke, 20 August [no year] (ID#: Y182)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 18 March 1848 (ID#: Y183)
Box 3		Note in Ranke's hand with information on other historians and faculty at Berlin (ID#: Y184)
Box 3		"Impromptu verses nursing little Otto sung to God Save the King" (ID#: Y185)
Box 3		Biographical note in French about Leopold Ranke (ID#: Y186)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 15 May 1847 (ID#: Y187)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 10 July 1847 (ID#: Y188)
Box 3		Robert and Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 29 October 1848 (ID#: Y189)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 26 January 1848 (ID#: Y190-191)
Box 3		"Copy of letter from R.P.G. (Robert Percival Graves) to Mr. Dilke, editor of the Athenaeum" 26 January 1848 (ID#: Y192)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 17 April 1849 (ID#: Y193)
Box 3		Helena and Robert Graves to Clara Ranke 28 May 1849 (ID#: Y194)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to Clara Ranke 3 June 1850 (ID#: Y195)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 12 February 1850 (ID#: Y196)
Box 3		Harriett M. Owen to Robert Percival Graves 9 April 1847 (ID#: Y197)
Box 3		Harriett M. Owen to Robert Percival Graves 8 April 1847 (ID#: Y198)
Box 3		Harriett M. Owen to Clara Ranke 20 July 1844 (ID#: Y199)
Box 3		Harriett M. Owen to Clara Ranke 10 March 1848 (ID#: Y200)
Box 3		Harriett M. O¡¿en to Clara Ranke 19 October 1847 (ID#: Y201)
Box 3		C. Hemans to Clara Ranke, 12 October [no year] (ID#: Y202)
Box 3		Unsigned to Clara Ranke, October (ID#: Y203)
Box 3		Fanny Pritt to Clara Ranke 2 March 1847 (ID#: Y204-5)
Box 3		C.K. Richards to Clara Ranke, 9 September [no year] (ID#: Y206)
Box 3		D. Lloyd to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y207)
Box 3		C.K. Richards to Clara Ranke 30 July 1848 (ID#: Y208)
Box 3		Harriet Miller to Clara Ranke 7 December 1849 (ID#: Y209)
Box 3		Robert Percival Graves to John Graves 24 April 1850 (ID#: Y210)
Box 3		Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 23 April 1849 (ID#: Y211)
Box 3		Post script to the above letter (ID#: Y212)
Box 3		M.L. Gisborne to Clara Ranke 26 December 1849 (ID#: Y213)
Box 3		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke 25 August 1849 (ID#: Y214)
Box 3		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke 20 October 1845 (ID#: Y215)
Box 3		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke 9 October 1845 (ID#: Y216)
Box 3		Ranke's notes taken from Joseph Harnmer-Purgstall, Geschichte der Ilchane das ist der Mongolen in Persien...mit neun Beilagen und neun Stammtafelm (Darmstadt, 1842-43) 2:216-17 (ID#: Y216a)
Box 3		Ranke's notes taken frorn Thomas Arnold, History of Rome (London 1840-43), 2:328 (ID#: Y216b)
Box 3		Charles Graves to Clara Ranke 2 February 1850 (ID#: Y217)
Box 3		Selina Graves to Clara Ranke 2 April 1850 (ID#: Y218)
Box 3		Letter fragment (ID#: Y219)
Box 3		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y220)
Box 3		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 18 February 1850 (ID#: Y221)
Box 3		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 26 February 1850 (ID#: Y222)
Box 3		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 30 April 1850 (ID#: Y223)
Box 3		John T. Graves to Leopold Ranke 2 October 1843 (ID#: Y224)
Box 3		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 25 December 1849 (ID#: Y225)
Box 4		Ame1ia Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y226)
Box 4		Garya y Maasaaffa to the Rankes 15 February 1850 (ID#: Y227)
Box 4		Fragment in Ranke's hand (ID#: Y228)
Box 4		Rosine von Wintgen to the Rankes 1 November 1850 (ID#: Y229)
Box 4		A. von Muding to Leopold Ranke 11 February 1850 (ID#: Y230)
Box 4		UnknownauthortoLeopoldRanke,28 April 1850 (ID#: Y231)
Box 4		Ame1la Graves to Clara Ranke 20 April 1850 (ID#: Y232)
Box 4		Unsigned to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y233)
Box 4		"Ode to Ranke" by Walden 20 January 1850 (ID#: Y234)
Box 4		F.N.V. to Leopold Ranke 18 May 1850 (ID#: Y235)
Box 4		Leopold Ranke to Clara Ranke 13 October 1848 (ID#: Y236)
Box 4		Mary Mohl to Clara Ranke, 15 May [no year] (ID#: Y237)
Box 4		(Mary Mohl) to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y238)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 28 April 1850 (ID#: Y239)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 24 March 1850 (ID#: Y240)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 10 May 1850 (ID#: Y241)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 26 April 1850 (ID#: Y242)
Box 4		John T. Graves to his mother 4 November 1845 (ID#: Y243)
Box 4		John T. Graves and Helena Graves 22 and 26 March 1846 (ID#: Y244)
Box 4		John T. Graves and Helena Graves to Clara Ranke 26 March 1848 (ID#: Y245)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Leopold Ranke 23 July 1848 (ID#: Y246)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 27 Ju1y 1849 (ID#: Y247)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 2 November 1849 (ID#: Y248)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 28 January 1850 (ID#: Y249)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 30 January 1850 (ID#: Y250)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Leopold Ranke 3 February 1850 (ID#: Y251)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Leopold Ranke 2 March 1850 (ID#: Y252)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Clara Ranke 11 April 1850 (ID#: Y253)
Box 4		Amelia Graves to Clara Ranke, 13 August [no year] (ID#: Y254)
Box 4		Amelia Graves to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y255)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 7 May 1850 (ID#: Y256)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 9 April 1850 (ID#: Y257)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 4 May 1850 (ID#: Y258)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr (?) to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y259)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr (?) to Clara Ranke (?) undated (ID#: Y260)
Box 4		Amelia Graves (?) to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y261)
Box 4		Hamit S. Miller to Clara Ranke 24 November 1851 (ID#: Y262)
Box 4		Hamit S. Miller to Clara Ranke 30 November 1850 (ID#: Y263)
Box 4		Mary L. Hemans to Clara Ranke, 23 March [no year] (ID#: Y264)
Box 4		Mary L. Hemans to Clara Ranke, 3 October [no year] (ID#: Y265)
Box 4		Author unknown to Clara Ranke 28 January 185? (ID#: Y266)
Box 4		Fanny Prite to Clara Ranke, 6 September [no year] (ID#: Y267)
Box 4		Civilia Kingard to Clara Ranke 8 November 1852 (ID#: Y268)
Box 4		Fanny Prite to Clara Ranke, 18 October [no year] (ID#: Y269)
Box 4		Marfils von Wallchranz (?) to Clara Ranke (?), written on a devotional print of "Marienbads Heilquelle" 23 December 1852 (ID#: Y270)
Box 4		Mary L. Carman to Clara Ranke 10 September or December 1852 (ID#: Y271)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr (?) to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y272)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 17 January 1851 (ID#: Y273)
Box 4		Mara Matilda Twining to Clara Ranke, 5 October [no year] (ID#: Y274)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Leopold Ranke 27 January 1851 (ID#: Y275)
Box 4		? von Preussen to Leopold Ranke 10 November 1852 (ID#: Y276)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Leopold Ranke 14 March 1852 (ID#: Y277)
Box 4		? Tempelhoff to Clara Ranke 1850 (ID#: Y278)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Clara Ranke 1 October 1852 (ID#: Y279)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y280)
Box 4		? Han to Clara Ranke 11 March 1852 (ID#: Y281)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y282)
Box 4		G. Willoghby Hemans to Clara Ranke 12 April 1852 (ID#: Y283)
Box 4		Unidentified author (ID#: Y284)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke (?) undated (ID#: Y285)
Box 4		Mara Matilda Twining to Clara Ranke 2 July 1852 (ID#: Y286)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y287)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y288)
Box 4		"Aunt Annie" to Clara Ranke 6 December 1851 (ID#: Y289)
Box 4		Harriett M. Owen to Helena Graves (?), 3 June [no year] (ID#: Y290)
Box 4		John T. Graves to Leopold Ranke 23 July 1850 (ID#: Y291)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y292)
Box 4		Elizabeth Lutheran Johnson to Clara Ranke March 1848 (ID#: Y293)
Box 4		Mary Mohl to Clara Ranke, 22 August [no year] (ID#: Y294)
Box 4		Katherina Wallace to Clara Ranke 1 December 1851 (ID#: Y295)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Clara Ranke 15 July 1850 (ID#: Y296)
Box 4		Hamit S. Miller to Clara Ranke 1 December 1851 (ID#: Y297)
Box 4		Hamit S. Miller to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y298)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y299)
Box 4		Louisa Hay Kerr to Clara Ranke 15 November 1850 (ID#: Y300)
Box 4		Hingen P. Sobelling to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y301)
Box 4		Sidney Broing to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y302)
Box 4		Mary Mohl to Clara Ranke, 22 January [no year], 11 July [no year], 8 April [no year] (ID#: Y303-305)
Box 4		Rosine von Wintgen to Clara Ranke 20 July 1852 (ID#: Y306)
Box 4		A.S. Smyth to Clara Ranke, 12 October [no year] (ID#: Y307)
Box 4		A.S. Perceval to Clara Ranke 3 June 1850 (ID#: Y308)
Box 4		Hermann Pertr to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y309)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Clara Ranke, 31 July [no year] (ID#: Y310)
Box 4		Marfils von Wallchranz (?) to Clara Ranke, written on a devotional print of "Marienbads Heilquelle" 15 November 1852 (ID#: Y311)
Box 4		Mara Matilda Twining to Clara Ranke 1 January 1853 (ID#: Y312)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y313)
Box 4		Lina Boehm to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y314)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Louise Haberland 4 April 1850 (ID#: Y315)
Box 4		Note citing Crabbe Robinson's recollections of Wordsworth (ID#: Y316)
Box 4		Unidentified author to Clara Ranke undated (ID#: Y317)
Box 4		Clara Ranke to unidentified recipient undated (ID#: Y318)
Box 4		L. Zimmermann to Clara Ranke 26 May 1850 (ID#: Y319)
Box 4		Berlin police certificate 5 January 1853 (ID#: Y320)

	GMC Series
Box 5		Siegfried Hirsch, lecture notes for courses in Staatsgeschichte and Kirchengeschichte at the Prussian War College, schedules of courses, class rolls, German and French newspaper clippings 1848, 1851-1853, undated (13 folders) (ID#: GMC537-538)
Box 6		Siegfried Hirsch, lecture notes for courses in Staatsgeschichte and Kirchengeschichte at the Prussian War College, schedules of courses, class rolls, German and French newspaper clippings 1848, 1851-1853, undated (2 folders) (ID#: GMC537-538)
Package 1		Ranke's passport (ID#: GMC539)
		Theodor Wiedemann, Descriptive evaluation of the Ranke Library
Box 7			Original manuscript pages (ID#: GMC540)
				RESTRICTED: Restricted due to fragile condition. Researchers should use either the microfilm version of this item, or one of the two photocopies (GMC541 or GMC542, also in Box 7), NOT the originals.
Box 7			Photocopy, bound (1 volume) (ID#: GMC541)
Box 7			Photocopy, unbound (ID#: GMC542)
Box 7		Theodor Wiedemann, Catalogue of the manuscripts in the Ranke library (ID#: GMC544)
Box 7		Theodor Wiedermann, Supplements to the catalogue of the manuscripts in the Ranke library (ID#: GMC545)
Box 7		Theodor Wiedemann, Catalogue of the collections of manuscripts from which Ranke had copies made, bound volume (ID#: GMC546)
Box 8		Theodor Wiedemann, Catalogue of some works used by Weidemann in making his abstracts, bound volume (ID#: GMC547)
Box 8		Albert, Prince of Prussia, to Leopold Ranke 24 May 1886 (ID#: GMC548)
Box 8		Königlich General Ordens pour le Merite Kommission to Leopold Ranke 23 April 1875 (ID#: GMC549)
Box 8		Königlich Preussischen Ordens, list of awards of honor May 1874 (ID#: GMC550)
Box 8		Wilhelm Maurenbrecher to Leopold Ranke 11 November 1867 (ID#: GMC551)
Box 8		Jean Francois Boissonade to Emile Egger undated (ID#: GMC552)
Box 8		Otto Richter to Leopold Ranke 28 January 1885 (ID#: GMC553)
Box 8		Ludolf Krehl to Leopold Ranke (?) 25 December 1877 (ID#: GMC554)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, manuscript notes on Montesquieu's "Considerations sur les causes de 1a grandeur des Romains et de leur decadence" (ID#: GMC555)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, manuscript notes on Christophe Coudrette's "Histoire generale...de la Compagnie de Jesus..., cf. Ra 271.5 C85 (ID#: GMC556)
Box 8		Wilhelm von Doenniges to Leopold Ranke 19 August 1854+ (ID#: GMC557)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, miscellaneous trivia: envelopes, visiting cards, announcements, invitations (18 items) (ID#: GMC558)
Box 8		? von Doeninz to Leopold Ranke 23 May 1866 (ID#: GMC559)
Box 8		Lazar Assenitwitz to Leopold Ranke 22 February 1849 (ID#: GMC560)
Box 8		D.P. Carhel (?) to Leopold Ranke 25 May 1866 (ID#: GMC561)
Box 8		Mayor of Berlin to Leopold Ranke, city budget for 1886-1887 17 April 1886 (ID#: GMC562)
Box 8		Johann Eduard Wappaus to Leopold Ranke 3 March 1848 (ID#: GMC563)
Box 8		Ulrich Lianbauant to Leopold Ranke 18 March 1866 (ID#: GMC564)
Box 8		Emmerick von Tkalac to Leopold Ranke 27 February 1884 (ID#: GMC565)
Box 8		? Tempeltrug to Leopold Ranke 28 October 1882 (ID#: GMC566)
Box 8		? von Bergmann to Leopold Ranke 25 May 1886 (ID#: GMC567)
Box 8		Michael Petzoldt to Leopold Ranke 4 May 1886 (ID#: GMC568)
Box 8		G.A. Schönrich, song "Dankt dem Herrn jauchzt volle Chore," composed in honor of Ranke's 90th birthday and as a Christmas gift 1885 (ID#: GMC569)
Box 8		Paul Frohwein to Leopold Ranke 14 March 1886 (ID#: GMC570)
Box 8		Ambassador of the Duchy of Württemberg to an unidentified member of the Ranke family 1886 (ID#: GMC571)
Box 8		Magistrat of Berlin to Leopold Ranke, letter of transmittal 24 January 1854 (ID#: GMC572)
Box 8		Magistrat of Berlin to Leopold Ranke, encloses a census report 14 November 1885 (ID#: GMC573)
Box 8		House Marshall of the King of Prussia to Leopold Ranke, a protocol of directions for attendance at royal balls 14 February and 21 February 1886 (ID#: GMC574)
Box 8		Emil Kuhn to Leopold Ranke 10 May 1878 (ID#: GMC575)
Box 8		Ernst Ranke to Leopold Ranke 6 November 1855 (ID#: GMC576)
Box 8		List of names for mailing announcements of death of Leopold Ranke 1886 (ID#: GMC577)
Box 8		Death notice of Leopold Ranke 24 May 1886 (ID#: GMC578)
Box 8		Miscellaneous trivia (5 items) (ID#: GMC579)
Box 8		E. von Westphalen to Leopold Ranke undated (ID#: GMC580)
Box 8		Heinrich Weiss to Leopold Ranke 25 March 1877 (ID#: GMC581)
Box 8		Milan I (Milan Obrenovic), King of Serbia to Leopold Ranke, letterpress certificate conferring Order of Holy Save 29 November 1884 (ID#: GMC582)
Box 8		Fritz Hummel to Leopold Ranke 2 July 1884+ (ID#: GMC583)
Box 8		Friedrich Klincksieck to Leopold Ranke 29 October 1852 (ID#: GMC584)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, notes found in Wilhelm Wackernagel, Deutsches Lesebuch... (5 vols, Basel, 1836-1878) (ID#: GMC585)
Box 8		E. Partington to Leopold Ranke 1885 ? (ID#: GMC586)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke to Heinrich von Ranke, cf. Leopold von Ranke, Das Briefwerk, edited by Walther P. Fuchs (Hamburg, 1949), pp. 186-87 7 April 1829 (ID#: GMC587)
Box 8		Konstantin Höhlbaum to Leopold Ranke, cf 300.A J91 6 September 1874 (ID#: GMC588)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, fragments of unidentified manuscripts (4 items) (ID#: GMC589)
Box 8		Miscellaneous trivia, photos, and musical scores (9 pieces) (ID#: GMC590)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, glosses and notes to Frederic le Grand, Histoire de mon temps, see Ranke MS 422 (ID#: GMC591)
Box 8		(Heinrich) Julian Schmidt to Leopold Ranke 19 January 1882+ (ID#: GMC592)
Box 8		Ernst Ranke, Festgabe zum Neunzigsten Geburstag Leopold von Ranke, pamphlet printed in Marburg 21 December 1885 (ID#: GMC593)
Box 8		Clara Ranke, verses composed for her husband's birthday 21 December 1857 (ID#: GMC594)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke, notebook in embroidered velvet cover (ID#: GMC595)
Box 8		Friednhelm von Ranke, signed statement that all of the books of his father, Leopold, were included in the sale to Syracuse University 22 April 1887 (ID#: GMC596)
Box GMC597		Classed catalog of books in the Ranke Library (ID#: GMC597)
			in its own oversize clamshell box
Box 8		Friednhelm von Ranke to Herr Mayer and Herr Mueller, list of articles sent to Professor Bennett with the Ranke Library 31 August 1887 (ID#: GMC598)
Box 8		Heinrich Wilhelm Werner Vildhaut to Leopold Ranke 10 May l880 (ID#: GMC599)
Box 8		Leopold Ranke to Marie, Queen of Bavaria 10 March 1864+ (ID#: GMC603)
Box 8		Engelbert Kessler to Leopold Ranke 10 February 1886 (ID#: GMC604)
Box 8		Gisbert Vincke to Leopold Ranke 8 September 1884 (ID#: GMC605)
Box 8		Richard Fleischer to Leopold Ranke 4 July 1882 (ID#: GMC903)
Box 8		Augusta, Empress of Germany, to Leopold Ranke 10 April 1875 (ID#: GMC1080)
Box 8		(ID#: )

	Z series
Box 8		Obituary notice of death of Ranke from the Manchester Guardian 25 May 1886 (ID#: Z1)
Box 8		Clara Ranke to Louisa Tiarks Ranke with a postscript by Leopold undated (ID#: Z2)
Box 8		Typescript commentary on above (ID#: Z3)
Box 8		Seven autographs by Ranke (ID#: Z4)
Box 8		Certified copy made 5 February 1934 of entry of marriage of Leopold Ranke and Helena Clarissa Graves 26 October 1843 (ID#: Z5)
Box 8		Engagement announcement of Maximiliane Helene Ranke to Lieutenant Wilhelm von Kotze, signed by Leopold and Clara Ranke, Berlin 2 March 1864 (ID#: Z6)
Box 8		Articles of agreement for marriage of Leopold Ranke and Helena Clarissa Graves 24 October 1843 (ID#: Z7)
Box ??		Photograph of Ranke in his study undated (ID#: Z8)

	Miscellaneous series
Box 8		Institut impérial de France Medallion, color photocopies (ID#: MISC1)
Oversize 1		Institut impérial de France Medallion (ID#: MISC2)
Oversize 1		Lithograph portrait of Ranke 1859 (ID#: MISC3)
Map-Case 64		Honorary doctorate, Marburg 1883 (ID#: MISC4)
Map-Case 64		Citizenship certificate, Berlin 1885 - modern color photographic reproduction, not original (ID#: MISC5)
Box 8		Unidentified fragment (ID#: MISC6)

Return to top