Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Reichle, Donald W. |
| Title: | Donald W. Reichle Audio Fidelity Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1955-1985, 2005 |
| Quantity: | 20 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Collection of record albums (33-1/3) and various other formats from Audio Fidelity, a small recording company started in 1950 that offered very high technical specifications for early hi-fi and stereo audiophiles. There is also a detailed discography for the company. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Audio Fidelity (1954-1984) was a small recording company based in New York City that offered very high technical specifications for early hi-fi and stereo audiophiles. The company was the first to cut a stereo LP for release (side 1 was The Dukes of Dixieland, side 2 was railroad sound effects), and Sidney Frey, its founder and president, was known as "Mr. Stereo" for his pioneering work in making stereophonic sound recordings widely available. Notable artists appearing on the Audio Fidelity label include Louis Armstrong, Al Hirt, Lalo Schifrin, Oscar Brand, Lionel Hampton, Larry Adler, Johnny Puleo, Patachou, Mohammed El-Bakkar, Leon Berry, Eddie Cantor, and many others
In 1985 the company changed its name to Milestone Records and in 1997 was purchased out of bankruptcy. The name "Audio Fidelity Records" is presently (2011) licensed to Morada Enterprises, which releases specialty CDs; the original Audio Fidelity catalog is currently (2011) being released under the Max Cat Records reissue label.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Donald W. Reichle Audio Fidelity Collection consists of recordings on the Audio Fidelity label. The majority are 33-1/3 record albums, with a few other formats also represented.
The collection also contains a CD with an extensive and comprehensive Audio Fidelity discography, compiled by the donor. The discography is interactive and contains the following information:
- Album Titles - Album Titles listed in Alpha Order (large file)
- Album Jackets - More than 650 images of album jackets, crosslinked with album details
- Artists - Artists listed in Order (large file)
- Catalog Numbers - All AF Catalog numbers (no details) listed in Order
- Auction Bids - On-Line Auction bids listed by catalog number
- Matrix Data - Vinyl Record Matrix Data listed by catalog number
- AF Catalog Reproductions - Scanned pages from AF catalog inserts and sleeves
- Track titles - Nearly 6000 track titles with catalog numbers in order, cross-linked to album details.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Donald W. Reichle Audio Fidelity Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Donald W. Reichle, 2010.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 17 Feb 2011
Revision history: 13 Sep 2012 - removed dead link (MRC)
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.