Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Royce, William Hobart, 1878-
Title:	William Hobart Royce Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1834-1963
Quantity:	55.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American author, bibliographer, book collector, founder of the Balzac Society of America. Correspondence (1901-1962) from Marcel Bouteron, Edwin Preston Dargan, Jean Pommier, Stefan Zweig, and others, mostly Balzac collectors and scholars; writings (1905-1962), including articles, and books on Balzac, as well as translations; and material relating to the Balzac Society of America, including its Bulletin (1940-1962) and membership files (1940-1962).
Language:	English, French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William Hobart Royce (1878-1963) was an American author, bibliographer, book collector, and founder of the Balzac Society of America.

Born on March 20, 1878, in Springfield, Massachusetts, Royce completed his formal education by graduating from the Springfield High School in 1897. Later he would write that his "only university has been the New York Public Library."

After some bookstore experience in Springfield, Royce entered the book trade in New York City, spending twelve years with the book department of the American News Company and seven years with the Lexington Book Shop. In 1917 he joined the Gabriel Wells rare book firm, for which he was manager for over 30 years. Wells and Royce shared a deep interest in Balzac (it was Wells who saved Balzac's house at Passy from destruction), and during this time the firm became the center of the sale of Balzaciana. Royce himself assembled a major collection of Balzac material. His Balzac library was sold and his papers were donated by his daughters Eva Allen Royce and Abbie Anna Royce to Syracuse University's Special Collections Research Center.

Royce's published works ran to over a dozen titles. His books on Balzac include Balzac, Immortal (1926), A Balzac Bibliography (1929), Indexes to A Balzac Bibliography (1930), and Balzac as He Should Be Read (1946). Royce published over a half dozen volumes of his own verse; he wrote verse also under the pen names Willie Penmore and Cassandra.

In 1940 Royce founded The Balzac Society of America. For over two decades he served as its president and edited its Bulletin. In recognition of his contributions to Balzac bibliography and collecting, Royce was awarded the Cross of the Legion of Honor in 1935 and was made an honorary citizen of Issoudun, the French provincial town which is the setting of La Rabouilleuse.

Royce was married in 1908 to Eda Maria Wallin. They had two daughters, Eva Allen Royce and Abbie Anna Royce, M.D. He died on 28 Jan 1963.

Royce was the subject of a "Profile" article in The New Yorker, Apr 1, 1933, pp. 18-21. For further biographical and anecdotal material, see Life, 24 Feb 1947, pp. 19-20, 22; and "Brooklyn Balzac" by Stefan Zweig in Who, vol. 1, no. 3 (Jun 1941), p. 48.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Hobart Royce Papers, 1834-1963, contain correspondence, autograph (handwritten) material, Balzaciana, material related to the American Balzac Society, printed material, writings, and memorabilia. Royce's arrangement of the material has been preserved. Royce maintained detailed records of his collection and numbered many of the items. These numbers whenever extant are retained in the following inventory.

Correspondence, 1901-1962, is international in scope, largely with book dealers, collectors and scholars, often Balzac specialists. The bulk of the letters date from the years 1927 to 1957. Principal correspondents include Marcel Bouteron, curator of the Lovenjoul Collection at the Chateau de Chantilly; Edwin Preston Dargan (the "Vautrin" of the correspondence, who, like other of Royce's correspondents, adopted a Balzacian pen name), professor of French literature at the University of Chicago and editor of the University of Chicago Studies in Balzac; Walter Scott Hastings (pen name "Daniel D'Arthez"), professor of modern languages at Princeton University; Jean Pommier, successor to Bouteron at Chantilly; and Stefan Zweig, Austrian writer. To these and to other of his correspondents, Royce was "Colonel Philippe Bridau." Other Balzac specialists and collectors heavily represented are Philippe Bertault, William L. Crain, Jaques (Jack) Henriquez (pseud. Ki Wist), Ethel Preston, Max M. Rottenberg, and Helen Elcessor Barnes Wodrada. Correspondence with Belle da Costa Greene and Herbert Cahoon of the Pierpont Morgan Library concerns the manuscript of Eugenie Grandet, which came to the Morgan through Royce. International concern over the imprisonment of Marcel Bouteron by the Nazis is reflected in correspondence of 1942. Occasional correspondents include Philippe Bertault, Rubin Cohen, Christian Gauss, Gordon S. Haight, William Somerset Maugham, André Maurois, Paul Métadier, Henri Peyre, Horatio Smith, Shea Tenenbaum, but also corporate bodies such as the Bibliothèque Nationale, the French Ambassy, NY, the Lenin Public Library of the U.S.S.R., Moscow, the Public Library, Museums, and National Gallery of Victoria, Syracuse University Press, the UNESCO, and University of Chicago Press. There are miscellaneous letters from various correspondents to Auguste Giraldi, Royce's printer and publisher of Le Messager de New York. Three undated nineteenth-century letters from Paul Lacroix to Armand Dutacq refer to Mme. Evelina Hanska, to her sister, Mme. Jules Lacroix, and to his quarrel with Balzac which interrupted his collaboration in La Revue de Paris. There is one folder of undated Royce correspondence.

Autograph material contains material by Champfleury, Henri Lavedan, Eduard Pailleron, Frederic Mistral, François Coppée, C.J. Paul Bourget, Honoré de Balzac, F.F. Arbuthnot, Mithell Kennerly, Walter R. Benjamin, Eveline de Balzac, Arnold Bennett, Marcel Bouteron, L. Duhamel-Surville de Balzac, Julius Chambers, André Chaucerel, Mary Hanford Ford, Hugo Muensterberg, Bliss Perry, Arthur Rau, George Saintsbury, Louis Adolphe Thiers, Benjamin W. Wells, Katherine P. Wormeley, Louise Imogen Guiney, order issued by the République Francaise to Mme de Balzac, Hector Berlioz. "Autograph" is here used as an archival term referring to handwritten documents.

Balzaciana contains mostly printed matter, which apart from a few exceptions is dating from the twentieth century. The series is subdivided into Balzac in the Theater, Book dealer catalogs / Inventories / Advertisements, Clippings, Portraits/Pictures, Transcriptions, Miscellany.

Balzac Society, 1942-1960, contains membership files, dinner invitations, announcements etc. of the Balzac Society of America

Printed material contains Balzac related essays and articles published in scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Whole issues have been moved to rare books for cataloging and can be found through SU library's catalog.

Writings, 1905-circa 1962, include drafts and printed matter under the headings addresses, essays, and books; translations; printed issues of the Bulletin of the Balzac Society (1942-1960), files containing material for the Bulletin issues; a chapter on Balzac in D.C. Cabeen's A Critical Bibliography of French Literature; works written by others; a sampling of Royce's Poetry; and miscellany. Monograph material includes successive drafts of A Balzac Bibliography and Indexes to a Balzac Bibliography and bibliographical notes for a projected supplement to A Balzac Bibliography.

Memorabilia, 1904-1963, is subdivided into the headings Clippings; Family; Photographs, Pictures, etc.; Royce on the Radio; and Miscellany. A group of materials relating to the Royce family includes a folder of legal and financial documents and seven folders of memorabilia (inscribed charts, drawings, and photographs; printed matter; and the transcripts of Radio interviews two of which are with Royce (on Dave Elman's Auction Gallery in 1945 and on Physionomie de la Semainein 1949) and a third is a Balzac related edition of Invitation to Learning of the Columbia Broadcasting System. There are also several portraits of Royce and his wife, Eda Maria (Wallin) Royce as well as other pictures related to Royce's family and professional network and miscellany.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically, with undated material and a small amount to Auguste Giraldi at the end. Writings are subdivided alphabetically by type and within each type arranged alphabetically by title. Miscellany is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Hobart Royce Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Abbie A. Royce, M.D., and Eva A. Royce, 1973.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EL
Date: Mar 1974
Revision history: 28 May 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 31 Oct 2014 - additions processed, inventory expanded (SM); 17 Mar 2016 - cataloging rejections integrated (SM); 4 Oct 2019 - issues of Courier reintegrated (MRC); 4 Apr 2023 - locations of items in map case corrected (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Professional
Box 39			[chronological] 1901- Jun 1926 (8 folders)
Box 40			[chronological] Jul 1926-Mai 1928 (6 folders)
Box 41			[chronological] Jun 1928- Sep 1930 (8 folders)
Box 42			[chronological] Oct 1930- Mar 1932 (6 folders)
Box 43			[chronological] Apr 1932-Mar 1933 (4 folders)
Box 44			[chronological] Apr 1933-Jun 1934 (6 folders)
Box 45			[chronological] Jul 1934-Jul 1936 (9 folders)
Box 46			[chronological] Aug 1936-Jun 1939 (8 folders)
Box 47			[chronological] Jul 1939-Aug 1942 (6 folders)
Box 48			[chronological] Sep 1942-Dec 1946 (6 folders)
Box 49			[chronological] Jan 1947-Mar 1949 (8 folders)
Box 50			[chronological] Apr 1949-Sep 1950 (6 folders)
Box 51			[chronological] Oct 1950-Dec 1952 (9 folders)
Box 52			[chronological] 1953-1960 (9 folders)
		Professional/family
			[chronological] 1961-1962
Box 53			Correspondence donated by B. Dedinsky - from others to others, undated correspondence, correspondence with Syracuse University (1955-1960), correspondence of Daughter Abbie on behalf/regarding her father, correspondence with Daughter Abbie 1927-1955 (14 folders)
Box 53			Syracuse University (6 folders)
Box 53			Undated correspondence
Box 53			From others to others
Box 53			Daughter Abbie on behalf of / regarding her father
Box 53			Daughter Abbie 1927-1955
		Family
Box 54			Daughter Eva 1926-1944 (9 folders)
Box 55			Daughter Eva, mother in law 1945-1960 (12 folders)
Box 56			Sister in law, Mr. & Ms. Vogel, wife, wife to daughter Eva, family correspondence undated (5 folders)

	Autograph material
		"Autograph" is here used as an archival term referring to handwritten documents.
Box 56		Numbers 301, 800-832, 836 (34 folders)
			These folders contain the following: annotations by Champfleury on proof sheets of his "Balzac au College" (301), letter (28 Jun 1906) by Henri Lavedan (800), Eduard Pailleron (801), Frederic Mistral (29 Oct 1867, 802), poem by François Coppée (803), letter by C.J. Paul Bourget (804), corrected proof-sheets with instructions in the hand of Honoré de Balzac for his "Mémoires de deux jeunes mariées" (4 Sep 1841, 805), two letters (17 Jan/16 May 1901 by F.F. Arbuthnot to Smithers, one by Mithell Kennerly to Royce (2 Nov 1927), and a note (Oct 17 1927) by Walter R. Benjamin (806/807; Royce A1), letter by Eveline de Balzac to bookseller (808; Royce A3), Arnold Bennett's MS of "The most romantic figure in the history of fiction: Balzac-Genius and perfect fool" (809; Royce A4), the winged griffins of the Balzac type founder sent to Royce by Marcel Bouteron (translation of Bouteron's letter; (810, Royce A5), letters by Marcel Bouteron and L. Duhamel-Surville de Balzac to G. Wells (both from 11 Jan 1926; 811/812; Royce A6), 2 letters (14 Mar/15 Sep 1909) by Julius Chambers to T.P. Hyatt; 813/814, Royce A7), autograph on visiting card (1 Jan 1928) by André Chaucerel to Gabriel Wells (815, Royce A8), Mary Hanford Ford to T.P. Hyatt (816, Royce A9), letter (13 Nov 1909) by Hugo Muensterberg to T.P. Hyatt (816a, Royce A11), letter (5 May 1909) by Bliss Perry to T.P. Hyatt (817, Royce A12), letter (12 Jan 1926) by Arthur Rau to G. Wells accompanied by a note from Marcel Bouteron (818, Royce A13), Letters of English publishers to Roberts Bros., Boston (819), letter (1 Apr 1908 by George Saintsbury to T.P. Hyatt (820, Royce A16), letter (4 Nov 1834) by Louis Adolphe Thiers (French minister of the interior) to Balzac (821, Royce A17), letter (12 Oct 1909) by Benjamin W. Wells to T.P. Hyatt (822, Royce A18), five letters (1908) by Katherine P. Wormeley to T.P. Hyatt (823, Royce A19), letter by Katherine P. Wormeley to Mrs. Francis (824, Royce A20), 10 letters (1887-1893) by Katherine P. Wormeley to Mr. Niles (825, Royce A21), photostates of a letter by Balzac to M. Dablin (826, Royce A23), Balzac, B. de "Procès verbal d'autopsie d'un cheval" (6 Jun 1849; 827, Royce A24), Balzac's autograph corrections on a proof of a cover of "Scènes de la vie privée" (1844; 828, Royce A25), photostates of three letters: Balzac to M. Moret and to Guilbert de Pixerecourt, and Mme de Balzac to M. Moret (829, Royce A27a,b,c), note of the Prix de L'Ecole Centrale signed by Balzac, proviseur (830, Royce A2), Notes on Balzac by Louise Imogen Guiney (22 Nov 1890; 831), order (25 Jul 1850) issued by the République Francaise to Mme de Balzac (832), photostat of a letter by Hector Berlioz to Balzac (+ correspondence Jaque Barzun (Columbia) - Royce about authenticity of a Balzac note; 836, Royce P63)
Box 57		Numbers 837, 1025, 1229, 1250, 1251, 1252, Royce A22 (8 folders)
			These folders contain the following: photostates of Balzac's MS of "Ursule Mirouët" (837), a contract with Souverain (1225, 1251), letters by Balzac to Mme Lemoine (1229; before part of the autograph collection of Dr. Max Thorek), to Gosselin (1250), misc. unidentified autograph material, and of Balzac's correction on "Illusions perdues" and "La Bousse", letter to anonymous regarding the first performance of Quinola (1252)
Box 93		Scrapbook Balzac, Ursule Mirouët (with photostats of original MS)
		Miscellaneous
			See Balzaciana: Clippings: Scrapbook "Letters to Madame Hanska, Etc. for letters from Balzac, Honoré de (29 Jul 1832) and Wormeley, Katherine Prescott (15 Feb 1888), and a post card from the Roberts Brothers, Publishers (2 Jan 1889).

	Balzaciana
		Balzac in the theater
Box 57			"A Night Off: Or a Page From Balzac" 13 Mar 1885 - satin playbill
Box 57			Theater programs etc.
		Book dealer catalogs / inventories / advertisements
Box 57			Miscellaneous - various Balzac related book catalogs, library inventories, promotion materials (3 folders)
Box 92			Miscellaneous - various Balzac related book catalogs, library inventories, promotion materials (5 folders)
		Clippings
Box 58			Clippings - from "The Book Lover", misc. (6 folders)
Box 59			Clippings - misc., Osterlind case, Sent by Santiago Gastaldi from Uruguay, from the literary review, related to "La physiologie du marriage", Balzac scrapbook (10 folders)
Box 91			Balzac scrapbooks - 2 volumes, one of which is bound into Wilson, Woodrow, "A History of the American People"
Oversize 8			Scrapbook "Ville de Tours - Centenaire de Balzac"
Box 93			Scrapbook "Letters to Madame Hanska, Etc."
		Portraits / pictures
Box 60			Portraits / pictures - Balzac, Louise Antoinette Laure de Berny (2 folders)
Oversize 1			Portraits and caricature of Balzac - one with a dedication to Royce signed by Helen Elcessor Barnes [Wodrada], Marcel Bouteron, et al.
Oversize 1			Portrait of Balzac and illustrations for Balzac editions - publ. in London by Ch. Tile, Balzac portrait by Adrien Norgeot, "Philippe Bridau" by Henri Monnier Del, illustration by Adrien Moreau for George Barrie's Sons' Balzac edition (Vol. 21, p. 244)
Map-Case			Engraving of the Balzac statue by Auguste Rodin
Map-Case			Portrait of the young Balzac - copy of the painting with dedication by Marcel Bouteron
Oversize 4			2 Balzac portraits and 2 photographs with dedications to Royce by Elisabeth McCausland and Berenice Abbott 1938
Map-Case			Portrait of Evelina Hanska - photograph of the painting by Moritz Michael Daffinger
Oversize 1			Ernest ...[?], drawing of the Maison de Balzac Mar 1920
Oversize 3			Huard, Charles, illustrations for Oeuvres Completes of Balzac 1912 - Édition Conard, Paris
Oversize 4			Peldmany [?], Max, drawing of a house [Maison de Balzac?] with dedication to Royce 1930
Oversize 1			Portrait of Charles Henri Delacroix - black and white photograph of the painting with dedication on the back
Oversize 4			Richter, Klaus, "Honoré de Balcack" - portrait made in drypoint (Kaltnadelradierung)
		Transcriptions
Box 60			Letter by Friedrich Engels to Margaret Harkness
Box 60			Four Balzac letters to the painter François Gérard
Box 60			Balzac, Correspondence inédite, Lettres à madame de Brugnolle 1845
Box 60			Russel, correspondence with W.B. Morris, John Rudd, Katherine P. Wormeley
		Miscellany
Box 60			Advertisements / announcements
Box 60			"Alphabetical Index of Balzac's Correspondence"
Box 60			"The Balzac Handy Book" [part I] - containing e.g. a "List of Balzac's Works in the Order of Reading - arranged chronologically according to time of action"
Box 61			"The Balzac Handy Book" [part II]
Box 61			"Bibliographical Precisions on Some Works of Balzac"
Box 61			Bookplates individual (2)
Box 61			Catalog of the exhibition "Balzac et son temps"
Map-Case			Chart showing autobiographical references in Balzac's works [?] - with a dedication by Marcel Bouteron
Box 61			2 charts by Marcel Bouteron
Box 61			Contents of the Balzac edition by Barrie
Box 61			Dedication drafts - for the "Index to a Balzac Bibliography"
Box 61			Illustrations to Balzac's works
Box 61			Little notebook
Box 61			List of the works of Balzac [hand written]
Box 62			Massant, Raymond, misc. Balzac memorabilia
Box 62			Misc. reference cards sent by Edwin Preston Dargan
Box 62			Notes to Balzac, Le Père Goriot (ed. By Pierre-Georges Castex, Paris 1960)
Box 62			Photographs of Balzac's printing office
Box 62			Prospectuses of various editions of Balzac (2)
Box 62			Scrapbook "À notre Napoléon des lettres"
Box 62			Various items
Oversize 5			Fougères [poster] - French and English version
Oversize 4			Frontispiece of volume of the A.N. Macdonald Balzac edition "Extra Illustrated by Elbert Anderson Young" 1912
Oversize 6			Three-dimensional Balzacitems - "BALZAC" [wooden letters], portrait of Balzac [wood cut matrix], portrait of Balzac [stucco relief plaque]

	Balzac Society
Box 62		Announcement of the foundation of the Groupe d'études Balzaciennes - French and English version
Box 62		Balzac popularity questionnaire
Box 62		Call to all Balzaciens to support the arrested Marcel Bouteron
Box 62		Dinner attendance list
Box 62		Invitations to the Annual Reunion of the Glorious Company of Balzacians of America
Box 62		Invitation to the foundation meeting of a Canadian Balzac Society
Box 62		List of members who should receive "Balzac and the Sociological Novel" and the prospectus to "A Balzac Bibliography"
Box 62		Balzac related events
Box 62		Membership files/applications
Box 63		Membership files/applications (3 folders)
Box 63		Membership files/file card index (2 folders)
Box 63		Membership files/mailing lists
Box 63		Replies to Balzac Dinner invitations or attendance
Box 63		Schedule for the exhibition "Balzac et son temps"
Box 63		Signatures of "Les Balzaciens"
Oversize 1		Honoré de Balzac Birthday Dinner 1941 - photograph

	Printed material
		Anonymous or unknown authors, A-Z by article title or topic
Box 1			"About Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1426)
Box 1			"Account of the Balzac Exposition, New, Oct 1947"
Box 1			"The Achievement of Balzac"
Box 1			Advertisements for Balzac editions, in The Booklovers Magazine
Box 1			"L'ami de Balzac"
Box 1			"Les amis de Balzac forment une société"
Box 1			"L'amitié en reserve de Balzac"
Box 1			"An Anecdote of Balzac"
Box 1			"Anecdotes on Balzac"
Box 1			"An Anecdotic Study of Balzac as a Man" (Royce catalog number: R3469)
Box 1			"Une année Balzac"
Box 1			Announcement of the Balzac Dinner, 1 May 1943
Box 1			Announcement the New Balzac Postage Stamp
Box 1			Article on Balzac's Annual Vintage, rue Raynouard
Box 1			Article on Fournier's statue of Balzac at Tours
Box 1			Article on Maison de Balzac
Box 1			Aspects of Balzac (Royce catalog number: R1798)
Box 1			"Autour du Balzac de Rodin"
Box 1			"Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R 1462)
Box 1			"Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1527)
Box 1			"Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1780)
Box 1			"Balzac"
Box 1			"Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1915)
Box 1			(N.Y.), "Balzac a l'atlier"
Box 1			"Balzac à le flair d'un policier"
Box 1			"Balzac: An Unpublished Story by the Great Frenchman" (Royce catalog number: R3470)
Box 1			"Balzac, Das Mädchen mit den Goldaugen," Review in Schweizer Bücher-Zeitung)
Box 1			(G.), "Balzac-Ausstellung im Palais Lobkowitz"
Box 1			"Balzac - His Life and Career" (Royce catalog number: R1578)
Box 1			"Balzac, Interesting Facts as to How He Worked Up His 'Peasants'" (Royce catalog number: R1797)
Box 1			"Balzac a l'honneur"
Box 1			"Balzac à Milan (1837)" (Royce catalog number: R1872)
Box 1			"Balzac Admirers View Wells' Gift of Memorabilia to French Museum"
Box 1			"Balzac and American Novelists" (Royce catalog number: R1454)
Box 1			"Balzac and his 31 Waistcoats" [Advertisement]
Box 1			"Balzac and His Secretary" (Royce catalog number: R1434)
Box 1			"Balzac and His Writings" (Royce catalog number: R1588)
Box 1			"Balzac and Maupassant"
Box 1			"Balzac and Renan scripts bought by New York Publisher" (Royce catalog number: R1788)
Box 1			"Balzac as a Psychological Enigma" (Royce catalog number: R1568)
Box 1			"Balzac as a Politician"
Box 1			"Balzac at Home" (Royce catalog number: R1901)
Box 1			"Balzac aux Jardies"
Box 1			"Balzac Centenary"
Box 1			"Balzac chez lui"
Box 1			"Balzac chez lui, et vu pas Stefan Zweig"
Box 1			"Balzac Days"
Box 1			"Le 'Balzac' de Rodin"
Box 1			"Balzac en Savoie ou le 'Roman de Septembre'"
Box 1			"Balzac et Bedouck"
Box 1			"Balzac et la Touraine"
Box 1			"Balzac et le tabac"
Box 1			"Balzac et les itinéraires parisiens de la Comédie humaine"
Box 1			"Balzac et les prix littéraires"
Box 1			"Balzac et Madame Hanska"
Box 1			"Balzac et M. Tardieu"
Box 1			"Balzac et ses compatriotes"
Box 1			"Balzac - Eugénie Grandet" (Royce catalog number: R2945)
Box 1			"Balzac Forgets His Table Etiquette"
Box 1			"A Balzac for the Beasts"
Box 1			"Balzac Had Wise Friends" (Royce catalog number: R1784)
Box 1			"Balzac House Saved" (Royce catalog number: R1795)
Box 1			"Les Balzaciens en Amérique"/"Une exposition Balzac"
Box 1			"Balzac in England" (Royce catalog number: R1449)
Box 1			"Balzac in English" (Royce catalog number: R3452)
Box 1			"Balzac in Undress" (Royce catalog number: R1577)
Box 1			"Balzac unconnu"
Box 1			"Balzac jugé par Balzac"
Box 1			"The Balzac Letters Controversy"/"Balzac Intime" (Royce catalog number: R1427)
Box 1			"Balzac Love Letters Found in Ukraine"
Box 1			(M., O.G.), "Balzac, marchand de bois"
Box 1			"A Balzac Museum" (Royce catalog number: R1486)
Box 1			"The Balzac Museum" (Royce catalog number: R1483)
Box 1			"Balzac nous dît comment on mangeait au temps de Rastignac"
Box 1			"Balzac observateur"
Box 2			"Balzac, peintre de Paris"
Box 2			"Balzac - regény a Peste Naplóban. Modeste Mignon"
Box 2			"Balzac roturier; un ermite de lettres"
Box 2			"Balzac saisi," in Le Figaro
Box 2			"Balzac saisi," in Paris-Journal
Box 2			"The Balzac 'skeleton'" (Royce catalog number: R1938)
Box 2			"Balzac's Relations with Madame Hanska"
Box 2			"Balzac's View of Women"
Box 2			"Balzac Wrote Part of Stories on Proof" (Royce catalog number: R1509)
Box 2			"Balzaciana" (Royce catalog number: R1936)
Box 2			(M., Ch.), "Un Balzacien"
Box 2			"Balzacien, M. Auriol?" Announcement of the new edition of Balzac, "L'Œuvre de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: S2475A/S2475B)
Box 2			"Balzac's Climaxes" (Royce catalog number: R1481)
Box 2			"Balzac's Country Doctor" (Royce catalog number: R1536)
Box 2			"Balzac's Eugénie Grandet" (Royce catalog number: R1600)
Box 2			"Balzac's La Comédie humaine, A Daughter of Eve, and Letters of Two Brides"
Box 2			"Balzac's Perfumer" (The Nation) (Royce catalog number: R1777)
Box 2			"Balzac's Perfumer" (New York Evening Post)
Box 2			"Balzac Tried Everything Once"
Box 2			"Balzac's Two Brothers and Alkahest" (Royce catalog number: R1537)
Box 2			"Balzac's Vogue in America" (Royce catalog number: R1657)
Box 2			"Bookwright"
Box 2			"Boro Man, resembling Balzac, Eager Collector of His Works"
Box 2			"Brunetière's Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1664)
Box 2			"Buys Balzac Manuscript" (Royce catalog number: R1800)
Box 2			"Le Candidat-Omnibus" (Royce catalog number: R1504a)
Box 2			"La canne de Balzac" (Paris-Journal)
Box 2			"La canne de Balzac" (Siècle)
Box 2			"Cast of Balzac's Hand Given to Paris Museum"
Box 2			"Ce qu'on voyait de chez Balzac"
Box 2			"Cem anos depois… Os [sic] últimos momentos de Balzac vistos por Victor Hugo"
Box 2			"Les cent jours de H. de Balzac"
Box 2			"Les cent visages de Balzac"
Box 2			"Le centenaire de Balzac"
Box 2			"Le centenaire de Balzac imprimeur"
Box 2			"Le centenaire de la mort de Balzac"
Box 2			"Le centenaire du Romantisme à Issoudun"
Box 2			"El centenario de Balzac"
Box 2			"The Centennial of Balzac's Birth" (Royce catalog number: R1477)
Box 2			"Les champs de bataille de l'Empire" (Royce catalog number: R1502k)
Box 2			"Chez les Balzaciens d'Amérique"
Box 2			"Chronique bibliographique ... Lettres à l'Étrangère, Tome III"
Box 2			"The Clinical Significance of Balzac's Death from Overwork" (Royce catalog number: R1569)
Box 2			"Comédie Humaine..." (Royce catalog number: R1450)
Box 2			"La Comédie humaine - Oeuvres complètes de M. H. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502)
Box 2			(L., Ed.), "Comme quoi avant dix-huits cents ans, un conte de M. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502a)
Box 2			"Commemoration of Balzac Centenary at Bristol"
Box 2			"Concerning the Maison Vauquer of Balzac's le Père Goriot" (Royce catalog number: R1479)
Box 2			"La conférence du 3 Février à l'Alliance Française"
Box 2			"Un congrès plusieurs pèlerinages et des expositions vont marquer l'année Balzac" (Royce catalog number: S2939a)
Box 2			"Conjecture on Balzac's 150th Birthday (Royce catalog number: S2980a)
Box 2			"Contes bruns, par une tête à l'envers" (Royce catalog number: R1875)
Box 2			[Reeve, Henry?]"The Correspondence of H. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1593)
Box 2			"The Costumes of the Comédie Humaine" (Royce catalog number: R1772)
Box 2			"Courrier des lettres: Balzac et l'Étrangère"
Box 3			"Création artistique et vie religieuse chez Balzac"
Box 3			"Critic and Author" (Royce catalog number: R1429)
Box 3			"Les 'Culottes de bois' de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1619)
Box 3			"La culture Français dans les Démocraties populaires, Balzac en Hongrie"
Box 3			"Dans le genre de Balzac"
Box 3			"Daniel Stone's Portraits Unveiled at 'Les Jardins' [sic]"
Box 3			"The Death of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1457)
Box 3			"De Balzac à Vautel"
Box 3			"Une dedicace de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1614)
Box 3			"Le Dernier Chouan on le Bretagne en 1800, par M. Honoré Balzac (Royce catalog number: S3344A)
Box 3			"Des descendants de Balzac"
Box 3			"Deux reliques de Balzac"
Box 3			"De Vermeer à Balzac"
Box 3			"Les dix mille élégances de M. De Balzac"
Box 3			"D'un nouvel obscurcissement de l'horizon du cot de oriental sou..." (Royce catalog number: R1502g)
Box 3			"Décolleté des ménage. Le theatre romanticism à l'Odéon"
Box 3			"The English Balzac"
Box 3			"Inveiglement du secateurs Clément de Ris et la tribunal d'Angers: Histoire et legende (1801)"
Box 3			"An Episode under the Terror"
Box 3			"Erection place de Palais-Royal de la statue de Balzac"
Box 3			"Essai, jusqu'au 31 décembre 1894, d'une bibliographie des lettres d'Honoré de Balzac parues dans les journaux, les recueils et les volumes." (Royce catalog number: R2949)
Box 3			(G.,L.; G.E. [= Guinot, Eugène?]), "Etudes litteraires. Oeuvres de M. De Balzac - La Fleur des Pois" (Royce catalog number: R1502b)
Box 3			"Eugénie Grandet's home: the pension Vauquer" (Royce catalog number: R1487)
Box 3			"Eugène Sue"
Box 3			(K., R.), "Eugénie Grandet à l'Odèon"
Box 3			"Uma Exposiçâo Consagrada à vida e à obra de Balzac"
Box 3			"Une exposition Balzac"
Box 3			"The Extraordinary Author of the Human Comedy"
Box 3			"A Famous Controversy Ended"
Box 3			"Famous Courtship by Mail Ended in Marriage, but too late"
Box 3			"Famous Love Letters: Balzac to Countess Hanska"
Box 3			"Les femmes et l'amour dans l'oeuvre de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1617)
Box 3			"Ferry's Balzac", "Lettres à l'Étrangère", "The Best of Balzac", Honoré de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1774, R1775, R1776, R1778)
Box 3			"Les Fêtes du Centenaire du Romantisme à Issoudun"
Box 3			"Feu Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1681)
Box 3			"Food and letter" (Royce catalog number: R1796)
Box 3			"A memoir of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1817)
Box 3			"The France of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502)
Box 3			"French Novels: de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1734)
Box 3			"French Town Honors Balzac Student Here"
Box 3			"From Hackwork to Masterpieces: Balzac and the 'Comédie Humaine" (Royce catalog number: R1668)
Box 3			"Funérailles d'Honoré de Balzac"
Box 3			"The Genius of Rodin" (Royce catalog number: R1566)
Box 3			"Un gilet de Balzac"
Box 3			"Goriot apó"
Box 3			"Gozlan's Balzac en pantoufles" (Royce catalog number: R1781)
Box 3			"Un grand centenaire"
Box 3			"Graphologue en defaut"
Box 3			(G., D.), "Guide to Balzac"
Box 3			"Henri de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1573)
Box 3			"Mr. Henry James on Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1492)
Box 3			"Honor of the Family - Balzac to Broadway" (Royce catalog number: R1801)
Box 3			"Honorato de Balzac"
Box 3			"Honoré Balzac"
Box 3			"Honoré Balzac"
Box 3			"Honoré de Balzac," in Basler Volksblatt
Box 3			"Honoré de Balzac," in Bentley's Miscellany (Royce catalog number: R1458)
Box 3			"Honoré de Balzac," in Die Barke
Box 3			"Honoré de Balzac à Minerva: M. Le professeur Sentou évoque sa pensée politique et sociale"
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac. Charmante conférence de M. Marcel Bouteron"
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac," "Il y a 100 ans le (futur) cinéma comptait (dêjà) six scénaristes"
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac: The Interpreter of Life"
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac, premier president de la Société des Gens de Lettres"
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac," in The Saturday Review (Royce catalog number: R1904)
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac," in Harper's New Monthly Magazine (Royce catalog number: R1655)
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac," in Temple Bar (Royce catalog number: R1918)
Box 4			"Honoré de Balzac, par M. Théophile Gautier" (Royce catalog number: R1857)
Box 4			"Husbands, Build You with Care to Keep Your Wives Faithful"
Box 4			"L'illumination d'Honoré de Balzac"
Box 4			"L'illustre Gaudissart"
Box 4			"Inauguration du monument élevé à la mémoire d'Honoré de Balzac"
Box 4			"Inauguration du monument de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1929)
Box 4			(F., E.0), "L'inauguration du monument de Balzac"
Box 4			"Inauguration d'une plaque à la Maison de Balzac"
Box 4			"Inauguration d'un portrait en marble de Balzac..."
Box 4			"Une inauguration en l'honneur de Balzac"
Box 4			(S., A.), "Indiscrétions littéraires. M. De Balzac"
Box 4			"Inexhaustible Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1802)
Box 4			"Les journées Balzaciennes d'Alençon"
Box 4			"Lettres à l'Étrangère..." (Royce catalog number: R1451)
Box 4			"Une lettre et une protestation de Mme. De Balzac"
Box 4			(E., M.V.), "Lettre sur la famille d'Honoré de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R2533)
Box 4			"Die Liebe führte ihn nach Wien..."
Box 4			[unsigned, written by Hazletine, M.W.], "A Life of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1793)
Box 4			"Literary Pilgrimages at Home and Abroad VII. Aspects of Balzac's Paris" (Royce catalog number: R1785)
Box 4			"Literary Relics of Balzac for U.S."
Box 4			"Littérature. Jane la Pâle, Par H. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502c)
Box 4			"Le livre des 400 auteurs"
Box 4			"Livres aux enchères" (Royce catalog number: R1716)
Box 4			"Livres imprimés par Balzac"
Box 4			"The love Affairs of Hugo and Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1565)
Box 4			(S., G.V.), "Au Lycée Français de Bruxelles. Balzac en Images..."
Box 4			"Madame de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1485)
Box 4			"M. De Balzac - Sa Revue parisienne-M. Victor Hugo jugé par Balzac"
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac," in Annales
Box 4			"A la maison de Balzac," in Excelsior
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac," in Journal [?]
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac," in Nouvelles Littéraires
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac," in Paris-Journal
Box 4			"A la maison de Balzac," in Paris-Journal, 23 Apr 1909
Box 4			"A la maison de Balzac," in Paris-Journal, 11 Nov 1910
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac est sauvée"
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac et l'institut"
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac de la rue Raynouard"
Box 4			(P., M.), "La Maison de Balzac menacée"
Box 4			"La Maison de Balzac nous sera conservée"
Box 4			"La maison de Balzac. Une visite prochaine de M. M. Dujardin..."
Box 4			"Le mariage de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1683)
Box 4			"Le mariage de M. de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1504b)
Box 4			"Maximes et pensées de Napoléon"
Box 4			"M. de Balzac"
Box 4			"A la mémoire de Balzac," in Paris-Journal, 1910
Box 4			"A la mémoire de Balzac," Paris-Journal, 1911
Box 4			"Metropolitan Provincialism"
Box 4			"Mr. Royce Addresses Spectator Club at 1st Luncheon Meeting"
Box 4			"Le mobilier de Balzac 'expulsé'"
Box 4			"M. Grandet n'était pas le Roi des Avares!"
Box 4			"Monsieur, Madame et Mademoiselle Grandet"
Box 4			"M. Marc Eigeldenger parle de Balzac"
Box 4			"M. Paul Bourget sur l'écran du cinéma" (Royce catalog number: R1583)
Box 4			"M. Pierre Benoit et Balzac"
Box 4			"The Morality of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1844)
Box 4			"Mort d'Honoré de Balzac"
Box 4			"Mort de Surville de Balzac"
Box 4			"Un musée de Balzac dans l'Amerique du Sud"
Box 4			"Le Musée Balzac s'ouvrit, hier, à un petit groupe d'invités"
Box 4			"Le Musée Balzac. Un homage au génie"
Box 4			"le Musée Balzac a ouvert ses grilles..."
Box 4			"Musée falling to decay"
Box 4			"Musée Balzac Saved" (Royce catalog number: R2206)
Box 4			"The Mythical Englishman" (Royce catalog number: R1491)
Box 4			"Nécrologie: Joseph Gabalda"
Box 5			"The New Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1490)
Box 5			"New Light on the Tragic Life of Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1571)
Box 5			(C., G.), "Un noble parrainage: Balzac père des bateaux parisiens"
Box 5			"Notice and excerpt of Henri de Curzon's article on...Vautrin)
Box 5			"Une nouvelle bibliographie de Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1615)
Box 5			"Une nouvelle de Balzac: Le Sous-Préfet"
Box 5			"Nouvelles Balzachinades" (Royce catalog number: R1502d)
Box 5			"The Novel and its Art" (Royce catalog number: R1484)
Box 5			"The Novel's Three giants"
Box 5			"Obras de Balzac no Cinema"
Box 5			"A l'Odeon. Une pièce inédite de Balzac..."
Box 5			"L'Oeuvre de Balzac"
Box 5			"Un parapluie d'occasion"
Box 5			(M., H.), "A l'Opéra-Comique: 'la Peau de chagrin'," "La Maison de Balzac"
Box 5			"Parmi la descendance de Balzac dans la vie et dans la fiction," "Ausuijet de Mme. De Balzac et de sa correspondance" (Royce catalog number: R1514, R1515)
Box 5			"Paul Bourget balzacien"
Box 5			"Peasant studies in French fiction" (Royce catalog number: R1595)
Box 5			"Uma personagem Balzaciana: Honoré de Balzac"
Box 5			"Un portrait de Balzac"
Box 5			"Pour l'aménagement du site de la maison de Balzac"
Box 5			"La première tragédie de Balzac"
Box 5			"Un précieux manuscrit de Balzac"
Box 5			"Programme," Tournées Ch. Baret 'Le Faiseur' [empty envelop]
Box 5			"Private libraries ... Mr. Royce's Balzacian Collection Contains Many Rare Examples" (Royce catalog number: S2439A)
Box 5			"À propos de Barbey d'Aurevilly et Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1616)
Box 5			"Un projet de journal de J.-K. Huysmans. La Comédie humaine"
Box 5			(C., A.M.), "A propos du centenaire de la mort de Balzac"
Box 5			"Le Quinzaine Honoré de Balzac"
Box 5			"Ramsey Assessor Owns World's Most Complete Set of Balzac"
Box 5			"Rastignac 1946"
Box 5			"La réalité et le réel dans Balzac"
Box 5			"Recent French Literature" (Royce catalog number: R1913)
Box			"Review of Balzac, 'La Femme Auteur' et autres fragments inédits"
Box 5			Review of Benjamin, Balzac
Box 5			(P., A.), Review of Evans Louis, "Lambert et la philosophie de Balzac"
Box 5			(Bury, R. de), Review of Hanotaux et Vicàire, "Balzac imprimeur" (Royce catalog number: R1745)
Box 5			Review of Saltus, "Balzac," "Balzac's Pere Goriot," "Cesar Birotteau" (Royce catalog number: R1700, R1701, R1702)
Box 5			Review of Sanders, "Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1766)
Box 5			Review of Second, "Essais sur Balzac par M. Paul Flat" (Royce catalog number: R1447)
Box 5			Review of Lawton, "Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1660)
Box 5			"Un Secret de Balzac"
Box 5			Review of Serval, "Une amie de Balzac: Mme Marbouty"
Box 5			Review of Seillière, "Balzac et la morale romantique"
Box 5			Review of Zweig, "Balzac"
Box 5			Review of "The Village Rector," Robert Bros. Edition (Royce catalog number: R1549)
Box 5			"The Revived Interest in Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1478)
Box 5			"Revue de Paris"
Box 5			"Rodin's Balzac"
Box 5			"Rodin Reflections Invited by a Group of His Bronces"
Box 5			"Royce Finds Balzac Shakespeare's Peer"
Box 5			"Sainte-Beuve and the Romantics" (Royce catalog number: R1594)
Box 5			"Second-Théâtre-Français. Les Ressourices de Iuinola, par M. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502i)
Box 5			(S., A. [Second, Albéric]), "Le sire de Balzac dans sa terre de Villerglé"
Box 5			"Une soirèe chez M. De Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1502h)
Box 5			"Les sources d'un roman de Balzac"
Box 5			"La statue de Balzac joue de Malheur"
Box 5			"La statue de Balzac par Falguière"
Box 5			[Fagel, André], "Les statues" (Royce catalog number: R1663)
Box 5			"The Style of Balzac and Thackeray"
Box 5			(P., C.), "Sur la gouvernante de Balzac...," "L'italien de Balzac"
Box 5			"Swineburne's Debt to Balzac"
Box 5			"Tales from Balzac" (Royce catalog number: R1937)
Box 5			"Théâtre-Historique, La Marate" (Royce catalog number: R1505)
Box 5			(S., G.), "Théâtres Parisiens...L'École des Ménages, au théâtre Saint-Georges"
Box 5			"Topographie littéraire. Découverte de quelque grands hommes contemporains ..." (Royce catalog number: R1502e)
Box 6			"Town in France Hails Balzac Bibliographer..."
Box 6			"à travers le continent Balzacien" (Royce catalog number: R1618)
Box 6			"À travers le passé. Les différents logis et petites habitudes d'un grand homme"
Box 6			"El Triumfador del Condurso de Balzac Recibió sus Premios"
Box 6			"The True Story of Balzac and Madame Hanska" (Royce catalog number: R1572)
Box 6			"Two Literary Studies" (Royce catalog number: R1454)
Box 6			"A Unique Treasure" (Royce catalog number: R1905)
Box 6			(R., F.), "L'U.R.S.S. et Balzac"
Box 6			"A vida de Balzac"
Box 6			"La vie secrète des grandes amoureuses"
Box 6			"Une vieille maison de Doude dans un roman de Balzac"
Box 6			"Visite à Balzac"
Box 6			Levaillant, Maurice, "La vocation de Balzac"
Box 6			"Le vrai Vautrin"
Box 6		Abbott, Lawrence F. [empty envelope] (Royce catalog number: R1400)
Box 6		Abraham, Pierre
Box 6		Adams, J. Donald
Box 6		Adémar, Jean
Box 6		Agate, James
Box 6		Ageores, Joseph (Royce catalog number: R1407)
Box 6		Alain
Box 6		Alain; Bede, Jean-Albert; Bouteron, Marcel; Creyton, Helene; Descaves, Pierre; Estrangin, Guy; Messieres, René de; Ozenfant; Peyre, Henri; Royce, William Hobart; Stern, Alfred;
Box 6		Alain; Bourin, André; Bouteron, Marcel; Gallotti, Jean; Henriot, Emile; Kemp, Robert; Maurois, Andre; Romains, Jules
Box 6		d'Alméras, Henri
Box 6		d'Alméras, Henri (Royce catalog number: R1422)
Box 6		Ambrière, [Francis]
Box 6		Ambrière, Francis
Box 6		Amyot, R.-T.
Box 6		Andrieu, Paul-Léon; Chargelègue, Jack; Labbe, P.; Vannier, Daniel
Box 6		Aparicio, Antonio
Box 6		Aparicio, Antonio
Box 6		Arbelet, Paul (Royce catalog number: R1947)
Box 6		[d']Arghiavine, [René]
Box 6		d'Ariste, Paul
Box 6		Ariste, Jean-Paul
Box 6		Arland, Marcel
Box 6		Armory
Box 6		Arnault, Eugène; Blaize, Jean; Charlety, Sébastien; Dévigne, Roger; Escholier, Raymond; Labadie, Jean; Lecomte, Georges
Box 6		Arnold, Matthew (Royce catalog number: R1951)
Box 6		Aruss, Arsène (Royce catalog number: R1952)
Box 6		Arvad, Inga
Box 6		Aubrée, Etienne
Box 6		Auclair, Marcelle
Box 6		Audiat, Pierre
Box 6		Auriant
Box 6		Avenal, Paul (Royce catalog number: S3418A)
Box 6		Ayme, Marcel
Box 6		Azorin
Box 6		Bac, Ferdinand
Box 6		Babelon, Jean
Box 6		Bachlin, Henri (Royce catalog number: R1971)
Box 6		Bachlin, Henri and Dumesnil, René (Royce catalog number: R1973, R1975, R1976, R1977 )
Box 7		Baer, Arthur "Bugs"
Box 7		Baker, H. Barton (Royce catalog number: R1981)
Box 7		Balducci, Luigi
Box 7		Baldensberger, Fernand
Box 7		Ballaguy, Paul (Royce catalog number: R1990)
Box 7		Balzac, Honoré de (4 folders)
Oversize 2		Balzac, Honoré de, La Cousine Bette et Les Deux Musiciens [first edition, publ. as a roman-feuilleton series in "Le Constitutionel"] 1846
Oversize 5		Balzac, Honoré de, Une Ténébreuse Affaire [reprint] 28 Jan 1941
Oversize 12		Balzac [the journal] #1-19
Box 7		Banville, Theodore de
Box 7		Barbou, Alfred
Box 7		Barbagelata, J.C.
Box 7		Bareches, Francois
Box 7		Barr, Jean de (Royce catalog number: R2008)
Box 7		Barzun, Jacques
Box 7		Basil, Otto
Box 7		Billy, André & Maurois, André
Box 7		Bauër, Gérard (Royce catalog number: R2019, R2020, R2021, R2022, R2023, R2024, R2025, R2026, R2029, R2030 )
Box 8		Bauer, Gilles
Box 8		Beaumont, Germaine
Box 8		Beaurepaire-Froment (Royce catalog number: R2039)
Box 8		Becker, May Lamberton
Box 8		Béguin, Albert
Box 8		Béguin, Albert; Ducourneau, Jean A.; Hugo, Victor
Box 8		Bell, Lisle
Box 8		Bellaigne, Camille (Royce catalog number: R2042)
Box 8		Bellessort, André (Royce catalog number: R2047, R2048)
Box 8		Ben [cartoon]
Box 8		Benda, Julien (Royce catalog number: R2051)
Box 8		Benedict, Joan (Royce catalog number: R2052, R2053)
Box 8		Benjamin, René (Royce catalog number: R2060, R2198 II-VI)
Box 8		Benjamin, René; Bergner, Georges; Charensol, Georges; Chaucerel, André; Dullin, Charles; Fouchardière, G. De la; Gandon, Yves; Jollivet, S.; Néroman, D.; Le Scribe Accroupi; Vindex
Box 8		Bennett, Arnold
Box 8		Bernard, Gabriel
Box 8		Bernheim, Adrien
Box 8		Bernoville, Gastan
Box 8		Berry, Marion
Box 8		Bersaucourt, Albert de (Royce catalog number: R2071, R2073)
Box 8		Bertaut, Jules
Box 8		Bertault, Philippe
Box 8		Bertrand, Jules (Royce catalog number: R2075, R2076, R2077, R2079, R2080, R2081, R2088, R2089, R2090 ) (2 folders)
Box 9		Berthier, Pierre-Valentin
Box 9		Bicho, Jocelyn Guttmann
Box 9		Bidou, Henry
Box 9		Bienstock, J.-W. (Royce catalog number: R2111)
Box 9		Biez, Jacques de (Royce catalog number: R2114, R2115, R2116)
Box 9		Billy, André (Royce catalog number: R2120)
Box 9		Biré, Edmond (Royce catalog number: R151, R2122, R2124, R2125, R2135 )
Box 9		Blanc, Francisque
Box 9		Blei, Franz (Royce catalog number: R2140)
Box 9		Block, Louis J. (Royce catalog number: R2141)
Box 9		Boissy, Gabriel (Royce catalog number: R2145)
Box 9		Bonneau, Alcide (Royce catalog number: R2146)
Box 9		Bordeaux, Henry (Royce catalog number: R2158, R2159, R2161)
Box 9		Botrot, Jean
Box 9		Botrot, Jean et alii, in Noveades
Box 9		Bougiovanni, Giannetto
Box 9		Boulé, Alphonse (Royce catalog number: R181)
Box 9		Bourges, Ernest
Box 9		Bourget, Paul (Royce catalog number: R2185)
Box 10		Bourget, Paul (Royce catalog number: R2172, R2178, R2184, R2189)
Box 10		Bournon, Fernand
Box 10		Boussel, Patrice
Box 10		Bouteron, Marcel (Royce catalog number: R198, R1496, R2200, R2202, R2203, R2204, R2207, R2208, R2209, R2210, R2211, R2212, R2213, S3724 ) (3 folders)
Box 10		Boy-Zelénski, Thadée
Box 10		Bozd, Ernest (Royce catalog number: R2219)
Box 10		Boynton, H.W. (Royce catalog number: R2220)
Box 10		Brami, Me Edmond
Box 10		Brandes, Louis de (Royce catalog number: R2225)
Box 10		Brasbeau, J.
Box 10		Brasillach, Robert
Box 10		Breillat, Pierre
Box 10		Bridges, William
Box 10		Brion, Marcel
Box 10		Brisson, Adolphe
Box 11		Britt, George
Box 11		Brooks, Jerome (Royce catalog number: R2246)
Box 11		Brooks, Obed
Box 11		Brooks, Philip
Box 11		Brousson, Jean-Jacques
Box 11		Brown, John L. (Royce catalog number: S3784A)
Box 11		Browne, Junius Henri (Royce catalog number: R2254, R2255)
Box 11		Brun, Charles-A
Box 11		Bruneau, Charles
Box 11		Brunet-Houard
Box 11		Brunetiere, Ferdinand (Royce catalog number: R2261, 2265)
Box 11		Brunot, Henriette
Box 11		Bruyr, José (Royce catalog number: R2270)
Box 11		Burns, Robert
Box 11		Burton, Richard
Box 11		Cabanès, Auguste (Royce catalog number: R3003)
Box 11		Callcis, Roger
Box 11		Caillet, Gérard
Box 11		Cain, Julien
Box 11		Campbell, Helen
Box 11		Cantagrel, Roger
Box 11		Canteleu, Comte Le Couteulx de
Box 11		Carbonelle, Henri
Box 11		Carité, Maurice
Box 11		Carli, Decio
Box 11		Caro, E.
Box 11		Cather, Willa
Box 11		Caussy, Fernand
Box 11		Cazenove, Marcel
Box 11		Carzin, Paul
Box 11		Céard, Henry
Box 11		Cendrars, Blaise
Box 12		Cestre, Charles
Box 12		Champfleury (Royce catalog number: R2336)
Box 12		Chamson, André
Box 12		Chancerel, André
Box 12		Chapelan, Maurice
Box 12		Charensol (Royce catalog number: R2347)
Box 12		Charles-Brun, E.
Box 12		Charles, Etienne
Box 12		Charlier, Gustave
Box 12		Charnace, D. De
Box 12		Chastain, André-Henry (Royce catalog number: R2352)
Box 12		Chavance, René
Box 12		Chercheur, Le (Royce catalog number: R2357, R2358)
Box 12		Chevaier, Denys
Box 12		Chevassu, Francis (Royce catalog number: R2361)
Box 12		Chew, Samuel C. (Royce catalog number: R2362)
Box 12		Chiesa, Lorenzo dalla
Box 12		Chonez, Claudine
Box 12		Cladel, Judith
Box 12		Claretié, Jules
Box 12		Clark, Lee
Box 12		Clerk, Charles
Box 12		Clouard, Henri
Box 12		Coblentz, Stanton A. (Royce catalog number: R2395)
Box 12		Cohn, Adolphe (Royce catalog number: R2397)
Box 12		Cohen, Gustave
Box 12		Cohen, Rubin
Box 12		Coiplet, Robert
Box 12		Colette
Box 12		Collins, James H. (Royce catalog number: R2398)
Box 12		Collins, Wilkie
Box 12		Colombier, Pierre de
Box 12		Colt de Wolf, Bradford (Royce catalog number: R2402)
Box 12		Comité du "Balzac" de Rodin
Box 12		Conner, J. Wayne
Box 12		Cook, Keningale (Royce catalog number: R2408, R2409)
Box 13		Coppin, Joseph (Royce catalog number: R2410)
Box 13		Coquiot, Gustave
Box 13		Crawfurd, Oswald (Royce catalog number: R2418)
Box 13		Crepet, Jacques (Royce catalog number: R2419)
Box 13		Couvreur, Jean
Box 13		Courville, Georges
Box 13		Crévecoeur
Box 13		Croce, Benedetto (Royce catalog number: R2421)
Box 13		Crowley, Aleister (Royce catalog number: R358)
Box 13		Croze, J.-L.
Box 13		Curnousky, M.
Box 13		Cournousky, M., and Bienstock, J.-W. (Royce catalog number: R2423)
Box 13		Curtius, Ernst-Robert (Royce catalog number: R2426)
Box 13		Curts, Jack
Box 13		Dacier, Ralph (Royce catalog number: R2432)
Box 13		Dargan, E. Preston (Royce catalog number: R2438)
Box 13		Dark, Sidney
Box 13		Daudet, Léon
Box 13		Daudon, René
Box 13		Darignon, Henri
Box 13		Davis, Bob
Box 13		Day, F. Holland (Royce catalog number: R2456)
Box 13		Deanville, May
Box 13		De Casseres, Benjamin (Royce catalog number: R2460)
Box 13		Deauville, Max (Royce catalog number: R2457)
Box 13		Delacour, André
Box 13		Delécluze, Étienne-Jean
Box 13		Delon, Georges
Box 13		Delorme, Hugnez
Box 13		Demeure, Fernand
Box 13		Demilly, Adolphe
Box 14		Dermée, Paul
Box 14		Deroger, Michelle
Box 14		Derys, Gaston (Royce catalog number: R2475)
Box 14		Desanti, Dominique
Box 14		Desbordes-Valmore, Marceline (Royce catalog number: R2476)
Box 14		Descaves, Lucien
Box 14		Descaves, Pierre
Box 14		Des Granges, Charles-Marie (Royce catalog number: R2490)
Box 14		Després, René
Box 14		Des Prugnes, Robert
Box 14		Dethez, Albert
Box 14		Dieuaide, A. (Royce catalog number: R2941)
Box 14		Dodd, Lee Wilson
Box 14		Doumic, René (Royce catalog number: R2507)
Box 14		Drake, William A.
Box 14		Dredd, Firmin (Royce catalog number: R2512)
Box 14		Drion, Huib
Box 14		Drumont, Édouard
Box 14		Dubalek, Felix
Box 14		Duberry, Henri
Box 14		Dubay, Pierre (Royce catalog number: R2518)
Box 14		Dupuy, Aimé
Box 14		Durtal
Box 14		Dutacq, Jean
Box 14		Dyck, Richard
Box 14		Eaton, Walter Prichard
Box 14		Edgett, E.F.
Box 14		Edmond, Paul (Royce catalog number: R2947)
Box 14		Erio, Paul
Box 14		Elst, J. Van der
Box 14		Emmanuel, Pierre
Box 15		Erceville, S.M. De
Box 15		Erskine, John (Royce catalog number: S4174)
Box 15		Escholier, Raymond
Box 15		Espiau, Marcel
Box 15		Espina, Antonio
Box 15		Estrangin, Guy F.
Box 15		Etienne, Louis (Royce catalog number: R2546)
Box 15		Evans, David Owen
Box 15		Fadiman, Clifton P.
Box 15		Faguet, Émile (Royce catalog number: R2553, R2560)
Box 15		Fairman, Milton
Box 15		Falconer, W.L. (Royce catalog number: R2564)
Box 15		Fallois, Bernard de
Box 15		Farrell, James J.
Box 15		Faure, Gabriel (Royce catalog number: R2566)
Box 15		Faure-Bignet, J.-N.
Box 15		Ferdar, Émile
Box 15		Fernandez, Ramón (Royce catalog number: R2572)
Box 15		Ferran, Anré
Box 15		Ferry, Gabriel (Royce catalog number: R2577, R2580, R2581, R2582, R2583, R2587, R2589, R2591)
Box 15		Fess, Gilbert Malcolm [empty envelop]
Box 15		Fiessinger, Ch.
Box 15		Fiéret, A.
Box 15		Finamore, Michele
Box 15		Fiske, John Safford (Royce catalog number: R2603)
Box 15		Fisher, W.E. Garrett (Royce catalog number: R2606)
Box 15		Fitzgerald, Ellen (Royce catalog number: R2604)
Box 15		Flaneur, Le
Box 15		Flandreysy, Jeanne de
Box 15		Flat, Paul (Royce catalog number: R2616)
Box 15		Flers, Robert de
Box 15		Fleurs, Robert de (Royce catalog number: R2619)
Box 15		Flood, Renée
Box 15		Florence, Jean
Box 15		Foley, Charles
Box 15		Fontenoy, Henri
Box 15		Forest, H.U.
Box 15		Forman, Henry James
Box 16		Fouqueure, André
Box 16		Franc-Nohain
Box 16		Frank, Nino
Box 16		Freeman, David
Box 16		Fréteval, Jean
Box 16		Frollo, Jean
Box 16		Frye, Prosser Hall
Box 16		Furman, Alfred Antoine (Royce catalog number: R552)
Box 16		Furne, Charles
Box 16		Gaffarel, Paul
Box 16		Galantière, Lewis (Royce catalog number: R2655)
Box 16		Gallotti, Jean
Box 16		Gandon, Yves
Box 16		Gannett, Lewis
Box 16		Gastaldi, Santiago (4 folders)
Box 17		Gastaldi, Santiago (5 folders)
Box 17		Gaubert, Ernest
Box 17		Gauchez, Maurice
Box 18		Gautier
Box 18		Gauss, Christian
Box 18		Gauthier, Jacques
Box 18		Gautier, Théophile (Royce catalog number: R2680)
Box 18		George, Albert J., and Wells, Lester G.
Box 18		George, W.L. (Royce catalog number: R2700)
Box 18		George
Box 18		Getteman, Auguste (Royce catalog number: R2704)
Box 18		Gibb, Margaret Murray
Box 18		Gide, Andre
Box 18		Gilbert, Eugène
Box 18		Gill, And.
Box 18		Ginisty, Paul (Royce catalog number: R2715, R2716)
Box 18		Girard, Georges
Box 18		Girard, Maxime (Royce catalog number: R2721)
Box 18		Giron, Roger
Box 18		Giusso, Lorenzo
Box 18		Givens, Mary L.
Box 18		Gleadell, W.H. (Royce catalog number: R2726)
Box 18		Goldschneider, Cécile
Box 18		Gorki, Maxime (Royce catalog number: R2734)
Box 18		Gorman, Herbert
Box 18		Gosset, Léon (Royce catalog number: R2735)
Box 18		Got, R.; Guth, Paul; Hoog, Armand; Loize, Jean; Metzel, Boris; Nadeau, Maurice; Picard, Gaston; Picon, Gaëtan; Sigeaux, Gilbert;
Box 18		Gouthier, Henri
Box 18		Goulard, Roger
Box 18		Gould, Charles
Box 18		Gourmont, J. de (Royce catalog number: R2738)
Box 18		Gozlan, Léon (Royce catalog number: R2746)
Box 18		Grammont, Jean
Box 18		Grandmaison, Louis de (Royce catalog number: R2750)
Box 18		Granzotto, Gianni
Box 18		Grappe, Georges
Box 19		Grasser, Jean-Laurent
Box 19		Grasset, Bernard
Box 19		Gregh, Fernand (Royce catalog number: R2755)
Box 19		Grenier, Jean
Box 19		Grippe-Soleil
Box 19		Groc, Léon
Box 19		Guérard, Albert
Box 19		Guiard, Marcel
Box 19		Guillemin, Henri
Box 19		Guinand, Jean
Box 19		Guyon, Bernard
Box 19		Guyot, Charly
Box 19		Guyot, Yves
Box 19		Haas, J.
Box 19		Hake, Thomas St.E. (Royce catalog number: R2775)
Box 19		Hale, Philip
Box 19		Hanlon, Louis
Box 19		Hancock, Albert Elmer (Royce catalog number: R2780)
Box 19		Hannigan, D.F. "In My Study"
Box 19		Hanotaux, Gabriel (Royce catalog number: R2781, R2783)
Oversize 2		Hanotaux, Gabriel
Box 19		Hansen, Harry (Royce catalog number: R2784)
Box 19		Harper, George McLean (Royce catalog number: R2785)
Box 19		Harry, Myriam (Royce catalog number: R2787)
Box 19		Hastings, Walter Scott (Royce catalog number: R2788, R2789, R2790)
Box 19		Hauser, Fernand
Box 20		Hazzlit, Henry
Box 20		[Heartman, Charles]
Box 20		Helm, W.H. (Royce catalog number: R2805, R2811)
Box 20		Henley, William Ernest (Royce catalog number: R2812)
Box 20		Hennion, Horace (Royce catalog number: S4639E, S4639F, S4639G, S4639H) (5 folders)
Box 21		Hennion, Horace (3 folders)
Box 21		Henriot, Émile (Royce catalog number: R2816, R2818, R2823, R2824, R2825, R2826, R2827) (2 folders)
Box 21		Henriquez, Jack [or Jaques; pseud. Ki Wist]
Box 21		Hercourt, Jean
Box 22		Hériat, Philippe
Box 22		Herman, Arthur
Box 22		Hermant, Abel (Royce catalog number: R2829)
Box 22		Héros. Eugène
Box 22		Hervey, Charles (Royce catalog number: R2833)
Box 22		Heydt, Herman A.
Box 22		Hickok, Guy
Box 22		Hillard, Katherine
Box 22		Hofmannsthal, Hugo von (Royce catalog number: R2837)
Box 22		Holden, Edward S. (Royce catalog number: R2841)
Box 22		Hoog, Armand (Royce catalog number: S4671A)
Box 22		Hopkins, Frederick
Box 22		Hopkins, Tighe
Box 22		Hosotte, Louis (Royce catalog number: R2844)
Box 22		Hough, Henry Beetle
Box 22		Hourdin, Georges
Box 22		Huard, Frances Wilson (Royce catalog number: R2850)
Box 22		Huard, Charles
Box 22		Huart, Marcel
Box 22		Hubbard, Elbert
Box 22		Hubac, Pierre (Royce catalog number: R2852, 2853)
Box 22		Hugalde, Isabel Pernas
Box 22		Hugault, Henry
Box 22		Hughes, Randolph
Box 22		Hugo, Victor (Royce catalog number: R2858)
Box 22		Hunter, Richard S. (Royce catalog number: R2864)
Box 22		Huret, Jules (Royce catalog number: R2465)
Box 22		Ibánaz, Vicente Blasco (Royce catalog number: R2868)
Box 22		Jackson, Joseph F. (Royce catalog number: R3063)
Box 22		Jaloux, Edmond
Box 22		James, Henry (Royce catalog number: R3067, R3068, R3070)
Box 22		Jammes, Francis
Box 22		Janin, Jules (Royce catalog number: R3074)
Box 22		Jarblum, Irène
Box 23		Jarry, Paul (Royce catalog number: R3090, R3091)
Box 23		Jean-Aubry, G.
Box 23		Johnson, Virginia W. (Royce catalog number: R3096)
Box 23		Johnston, Alva
Box 23		Johnston, Charles, and Spencer, C. (Royce catalog number: R3097)
Box 23		Jollivet, Simone
Box 23		Jones, Ernest
Box 23		Josephson, Matthew
Box 23		Jouin, Henry (Royce catalog number: R3100)
Box 23		Jules-Bois, H.A.
Box 23		Kahn, Gustave (Royce catalog number: R3107, R3108)
Box 23		Kahan-Rabecq, M.M.
Box 23		Kemp, Robert
Box 23		Keany, George
Box 23		Kent, Philip (Royce catalog number: R3111, R3112)
Box 23		Kihlman, Herman
Box 23		Kingdon, Frank
Box 23		Kleinmichel, Comtesse Marie (Royce catalog number: R3115)
Box 23		Knight, Joseph (Royce catalog number: R3117)
Box 23		Kronenberger, Louis
Box 23		Krutch, Joseph Wood
Box 23		Kündig, H. (Royce catalog number: R3121)
Box 23		Kuza, W.
Box 23		Labracherie, Pierre
Box 23		Lacoste, Josette
Box 23		Ladvocat (Royce catalog number: R3134)
Box 23		Lafleur, Paul F. (Royce catalog number: R3136)
Box 23		La Jeunesse, Ernest
Box 23		Lalo, Charles
Box 24		Lalou, René
Box 24		Lancaster, H.C.
Box 24		Lang, Georges-Emmanuel (Royce catalog number: R3144)
Box 24		Langers. Pierre
Box 24		Langley, Ernest F.
Box 24		Lannes, Roger
Box 24		Lanson, Gustave (Royce catalog number: R3146)
Box 24		Lapaire, Huguez
Box 24		Lapie, P.O.
Box 24		Laprade, Jacques de
Box 24		Larguier, Leo
Box 24		La Sablière, François de
Box 24		Latourette, Louis (Royce catalog number: R3159)
Box 24		Laugel, A. (Royce catalog number: R3161, R3162)
Box 24		Lavadeur, Patrick
Box 24		Lavedan, Pierre (Royce catalog number: R3163)
Box 24		Lavrischeff, Eloise
Box 24		Leblond, Marius-Ary
Box 24		Lebouc, Jules
Box 24		Le Breton, André (Royce catalog number: R3168, R3169)
Box 24		Lecigne, C. (Royce catalog number: R822)
Box 24		Le Coq, M.-J.
Box 24		Lécyer, Raymond
Box 24		Ledent, Roger
Box 24		Ledru-Rollin
Box 24		Lefèvre, Frédéric (Royce catalog number: R3181)
Box 24		Le Fouineur
Box 24		Lefranc, Jean (Royce catalog number: R3184)
Box 24		Le Gallienne, Richard
Box 24		Le Gentil, René
Box 25		Léger, Charles (Royce catalog number: R3187, R3188, R3190)
Box 25		Lemonnier, Monique
Box 25		Lenôtre, G. (Royce catalog number: R3198)
Box 25		Lepage, Édouard
Box 25		Lepage, Henry (Royce catalog number: R3200)
Box 25		Lerminier, J.L.E. (Royce catalog number: R3203)
Box 25		Leroy, Louis (Royce catalog number: S4922A)
Box 25		Levaillant, Maurice (Royce catalog number: R3209, R3210, R3211, R3212, R3213, R3214, R3215, R3216, R3217 )
Box 25		[Levaillant, Maurice?] (L., M.) (Royce catalog number: R3128)
Box 25		Levander, [Hans]
Box 25		Levinson, André
Box 25		Levron, Jacques
Box 25		Lewis, Lloyd
Box 25		Lewys, Georges
Box 25		Lièvre, Pierre
Box 25		Lilly, William Samuel (Royce catalog number: R3225, R3226)
Box 25		Liseur, Le
Box 25		Littlefield, Walter (Royce catalog number: R3230)
Box 25		Lloyd
Box 25		Lœwel, Pierre
Box 25		Loïc, Pierre
Box 25		Loize, Jean
Box 25		Loménie, Louis de (Royce catalog number: R555)
Box 25		London, John o'
Box 25		Lotte, Fernand (Royce catalog number: S4969A)
Box 25		Louÿz, Pierre (Royce catalog number: R3244)
Box 26		Lovenjoul, Charles de (Royce catalog number: R2939)
Box 26		Loving, Pierre (Royce catalog number: R3245)
Box 26		Lowenthal, Marvin (Royce catalog number: S4971)
Box 26		Ludwig, Emil (Royce catalog number: R3251)
Box 26		Lumet, Louis (Royce catalog number: R3252, R3253, R3254)
Box 26		Lurin, Louis
Box 26		Lvouski, Zinovy
Box 26		Lynn, Jacques
Box 26		Mabbott, J.O.
Box 26		Mabie, Hamilton W.
Box 26		MacDonnell, John de Courcy (Royce catalog number: R3264)
Box 26		MacKall, Leonard L.
Box 26		Mabille de Poncheville, A.
Box 26		Madaule, Jacque
Box 26		Malo, Henri (Royce catalog number: R3277, R3278)
Box 26		Mann, Heinrich
Box 26		Manderoy, René
Box 26		Mannoni, Paul
Box 26		Manziarly, Alex de
Box 26		Mapes, Ella Stryker (Royce catalog number: R3283)
Box 26		Márai, Sandor (Royce catalog number: R3284)
Box 26		Marble, Annie Russel (Royce catalog number: R3285)
Box 26		Marcade, Auguste
Box 26		Marceau, Félicien
Box 26		Marès, Roland de (Royce catalog number: R3289)
Box 26		Marie, Aristide
Box 26		Marix, Thérèse
Box 26		Marques, Denis
Box 26		Marsan, Eugène
Box 26		Marsan, Jules
Box 26		Marteau, Jean
Box 26		Martel, Tancrède (Royce catalog number: R3294)
Box 26		Martin, B.E. And C. M. (Royce catalog number: R3295)
Box 26		Martin, Max
Box 26		Martineau, René (Royce catalog number: R3299)
Box 26		Mason, Wildred (Royce catalog number: R3303)
Box 27		Masques, Les
Box 27		Massant, Raymond
Box 27		Massis, Henri
Box 27		Mathiex, Paul
Box 27		Maupassant, Guy de
Box 27		Maurevert, Georges
Box 27		Mauriac, Claude
Box 27		Maurice, Arthur
Box 27		Maurice, Arthur Bartlett
Box 27		Maurois, André I
Box 27		Maurois, André II
Box 27		McAree, J.V.
Box 27		McCausland, Elisabeth
Box 27		McFee, William
Box 27		Meetkerke, C.E.
Box 27		Meillac, Camille
Box 27		Mélesville, M.M. And Duveyrier, C. (Royce catalog number: R933)
Box 27		Melia, Jean (Royce catalog number: R3319)
Box 27		Méré, Charles (Royce catalog number: R3322)
Box 27		Merlant, Joachim (Royce catalog number: R3329)
Box 27		Méryan, Claude
Box 27		Messières, Renè de (Royce catalog number: S5115A)
Box 27		Meylan, Pierre (Royce catalog number: S5118)
Box 27		Michand, Régis
Box 27		Michel, H. (Royce catalog number: R957)
Box 27		Middleton, George
Box 28		Mille, Pierre
Box 28		Mille, Piere, and Flores, Angel
Box 28		Miomandre, Francis de (Royce catalog number: S5142, S5142A)
Box 28		Mirbeau, Octave (Royce catalog number: R954)
Box 28		Mitchell, Clifford
Box 28		Mitton, Fernand
Box 28		Mitty, Jean de
Box 28		Mok, Michel
Box 28		Molles, Marie Devening
Box 28		Molloy, J. Fitzgerald (Royce catalog number: R3353)
Box 28		Monahan, Michael (Royce catalog number: R3354)
Box 28		Mongredien, Georges
Box 28		Monier, R.
Box 28		Mouselet, Charles (Royce catalog number: R3359, R3360)
Box 28		Monsigny
Box 28		Montel, François (Royce catalog number: R3364, R3365, R3368, R3369, R3372, R3378) (2 folders)
Box 28		Montzaigle, Paul de (Royce catalog number: R2999)
Box 28		Monval, Jean
Box 29		Moore, George
Box 29		Morand, Paul
Box 29		Morembert, H. De
Box 29		Moreno, E.
Box 29		Morhardt, Mathias
Box 29		Moser, Françoise
Box 29		Moussat, Émile
Box 29		Mousset, Albert (Royce catalog number: R3402)
Box 29		Mousset-Merey, A. (Royce catalog number: R3400)
Box 29		Nairne, Campbell
Box 29		Nels, Jacques
Box 29		Nemésio, Vitorino
Box 29		Nicholls, N. and W.
Box 29		Nilsson-Ehle, Hans
Box 29		Nordau, Max
Box 29		Norton, G.M. (Royce catalog number: R3478)
Box 29		Nozière, Fernand
Box 29		O'Brien, Edward J.
Box 29		Oppenheim, Ralph (Royce catalog number: R3486)
Box 29		Orr, Lyndon (Royce catalog number: R3487, R3488)
Box 29		Orthys, Fred
Box 29		Oswald, Marianne (Royce catalog number: S5239A)
Box 29		Padroso, Silvio
Box 29		Pailleron, Marie-Louise
Box 29		Palencia, Ceferino
Box 29		Palfrey, Thomas R.
Box 29		Palme, Sven Ulric
Box 29		Parker, D.C. (Royce catalog number: R3504)
Box 29		Parrot, Louis
Box 29		Parsons, George Frederic (Royce catalog number: R3505)
Box 29		Pascal, Félicien (Royce catalog number: R3516, R3517)
Box 29		Patin, Lacques (Royce catalog number: R3522, R3523, R3524, R3525)
Box 29		Paul-Bousquet, Marina
Box 29		Pechegut, C.
Box 29		Peck, Harry Thurston (Royce catalog number: R3529)
Box 29		Pécuchet, Aloysius
Box 29		Péguy. Charles
Box 29		Pellissier, Georges (Royce catalog number: R3533)
Box 29		Pereira, Consiglieri sa
Box 29		Pereire, Alfred
Box 29		Pérès, J. (Royce catalog number: R3536)
Box 29		Perry, T.S. (Royce catalog number: R3540)
Box 29		Petit, Henri
Box 29		Petit, Jean
Box 29		Petitot, J.
Box 29		Pesti, Naplö
Box 29		Peyre, Henri
Box 29		Peytel, Adrien
Box 29		Piatier, Jacqueline
Box 29		Picard, Gaston (Royce catalog number: R3549, R3550, R3552)
Box 29		Pick, Robert
Box 29		Pillement, Georges
Box 29		Piérard, Louis
Box 29		Pierra
Box 30		Pierre, André
Box 30		Pierre, Victor (Royce catalog number: R3558)
Box 30		Pierrefeu, Jean de (Royce catalog number: R3559)
Box 30		Pilon, Edmond (Royce catalog number: R3561)
Box 30		Pinson, Paul et al. (Royce catalog number: R2944)
Box 30		Pinthus, Kurt (Royce catalog number: R3566)
Box 30		Pinvert, Lucien (Royce catalog number: R3567)
Box 30		Pijotat, Raymond
Box 30		Pitrou, Robert
Box 30		Place, Joseph (Royce catalog number: R3574, R3575, R3576, R3577, R3578)
Box 30		Placido e Silva, de
Box 30		Plauzoles, Joseph
Box 30		Pogany, Joseph
Box 30		Pohl, Gerhart
Box 30		Poitou, Eugène (Royce catalog number: R3583)
Box 30		Pommier, Jean
Box 30		Poncheville, André M. De
Box 31		Pontmartin, Armand de
Box 30		Porché, Francois
Box 30		Poulet, Georges
Box 30		Pourchet, Maurice
Box 30		Preston, Ethel
Box 30		Prévost, Marcel
Box 30		Prinet, Gaston
Box 30		Prior, Henry (Royce catalog number: R3600, R3601, R3602) (2 folders)
Box 30		Prist, Paul
Box 30		Prod'homme, J.-G.
Box 31		Puel, Désiré
Box 31		Radziwill, Princesse Catherine (Royce catalog number: R3615, R3616, R3617)
Box 31		Rageot, Gaston (Royce catalog number: R3620)
Box 31		Ramband, Henri
Box 31		Randall, A.W.G.
Box 31		Ravon, Georges
Box 31		Reck-Malleczwen (Royce catalog number: R3627)
Box 31		Reclus, Maurice
Box 31		Regard, Maurice
Box 31		Régis, Roger
Box 31		Regnier, Henri de
Box 31		Reh, Alfred
Box 31		Renand, Jean-Joseph
Box 31		Reval, Gabrielle
Box 31		Révész, Béla
Box 32		Reymond, Arnold
Box 32		Rhodes, Albert (Royce catalog number: R3637)
Box 32		Richard, Marius
Box 32		Richard, Marius, and Roubier, Jean
Box 32		Rickel, Harry (Royce catalog number: 12959)
Box 32		Riebe, Edgar Carlos (Royce catalog number: R3640)
Box 32		Rigaud, A.
Box 32		Ris, Louis Clément de
Box 32		Risley, R.V. (Royce catalog number: R3642)
Box 32		Robert le Diable
Box 32		Roberts, William
Box 32		Rodocanachi, E. (Royce catalog number: R3654)
Box 32		Rogers, W.G.
Box 32		Rollins, Carl Purington
Box 32		Rolland, Amédée (Royce catalog number: R3655)
Box 32		Romane, Jacques
Box 32		Ronin, Paul
Box 32		Rónai, Paul
Box 32		Rops, Daniel
Box 32		Rosny Ainé, J.H.
Box 32		Rougemont, Édouard de (Royce catalog number: R3660)
Box 32		Rousseaux, André
Box 32		Roussilon, L.E. (Royce catalog number: R3661, R3662)
Box 32		Roux, Marquis de
Box 32		Roy, Claude
Box 32		Royaumont, Louis de
Box 32		Royce, William Hobart
Box 33		Royce, William Hobart (3 folders)
Box 93		Royce, William Hobart
Box 33		Rudwin, Maximilian
Box 33		Sacy, S. De
Box 33		Saint-Cyr, Charles de
Box 33		Saint-Georges, Maurice-André
Box 33		Sainte-Beuve, C.A.
Box 33		Sainte-Croix, Camille de
Box 33		Saintsbury, George (Royce catalog number: R3722)
Box 33		Saldaña, J.M. Fernández
Box 33		Salmon, André
Box 33		Saltus, Edgar
Box 33		Samõez, João Gaspar
Box 33		San Lazzaro, G. Di
Box 33		Sanborn, Alvan F. (Royce catalog number: R3728)
Box 34		Sand, George/"Aurora"
Box 34		Sanders, Mary F. (Royce catalog number: R3731, R3732)
Box 34		Sanvoisin, Gaëtan
Box 34		Sargent, George H.
Box 34		Saulnier, Albert
Box 34		Saunier, Charles (Royce catalog number: R3741)
Box 34		Saurat, Denis
Box 34		Savary, Léon
Box 34		Schaffer, Aaron (Royce catalog number: R3747)
Box 34		Schalbert, Edwin
Box 34		Schell, Stanley (Royce catalog number: R3748)
Box 34		Scherer, Edmond (Royce catalog number: R1168)
Box 34		Schewirekki, Stephen (Royce catalog number: R3749)
Box 34		Schinz, Albert
Box 34		Schneider, Louis
Box 34		Schneider, Gustave
Box 34		Scott, Mary W. (Royce catalog number: R3755)
Box 34		Séché, Alphonse, and Bertrant, Jules (Royce catalog number: R3757)
Box 34		Séché, Léon (Royce catalog number: R3759, R3760)
Box 34		Seillière, Ernest (Royce catalog number: R3773)
Box 34		Sergines
Box 34		Serval, Maurice (Royce catalog number: R3779, R3780 )
Box 34		"Serviteur du Livre, Le"
Box 34		Sexagenus
Box 34		Shanks, Lewis Piaget (Royce catalog number: R3786)
Box 35		Scherer, J.W. (Royce catalog number: R3788, R3789, R3790)
Box 35		Shermund[cartoon]
Box 35		Shinn, Charles Howard (Royce catalog number: R3791)
Box 35		Shipley, Joseph T.
Box 35		Showerman, Grant (Royce catalog number: R3792)
Box 35		Silvio
Box 35		Simon, P.-Max
Box 35		Slocombe, George (Royce catalog number: R3797)
Box 35		Smith, Harry L.[empty envelope] (Royce catalog number: S5606A)
Box 35		Smith, Katherin Augusta (Royce catalog number: R3800)
Box 35		Smith, Pat
Box 35		Sordet, Dominique
Box 35		Souday, Paul (Royce catalog number: R3809, R3811, R3812, R3813)
Box 35		Speicher, Eugène (Royce catalog number: R3816)
Box 35		Spencer, Edwina (Royce catalog number: R3817)
Box 35		Spent, Henry
Box 35		Spoelberch de Lovenjoul, Vte de (Royce catalog number: R3820, R3837, R3840, R3841, R3843, R3844, R3845, R3846 ) (2 folders)
Box 35		Stallings, Lawrence (Royce catalog number: R3849)
Box 35		Stanley, Hiram M. (Royce catalog number: R3850)
Box 35		Stany
Box 35		Steell, Willis
Box 35		Stein, Esther
Box 35		Stephen, Leslie (Royce catalog number: R3854)
Box 36		Stern, Alfred
Box 36		Strachey, J. St. Loe (Royce catalog number: R3856)
Box 36		Strauss, Harold
Box 36		Strazzarino, Hector
Box 36		Strowski, Fortunat
Box 36		Stutchbury, Harold O.
Box 36		Suzini, Germaine
Box 36		Suzini, Jean
Box 36		Symons, Arthur (Royce catalog number: R3863, R3864, R3865)
Box 36		Syracuse University Library Associates 1958-1959 - 3 issues of the Courier
Box 36		Taft, Lyman W.
Box 36		Tailhade, Laurent (Royce catalog number: R3868)
Box 36		Talmeyr, Maurice (Royce catalog number: R3871, R3872)
Box 36		Tauber, Paul
Box 36		Tazelaar, Marguerite
Box 36		Tenenbaum, Joshua (Shea)
Box 36		Tharaud, Jérô et Jean
Box 36		Théolleyne, Jean-Marc (Royce catalog number: R3893)
Box 36		Thiébault-Sisson
Box 36		Thierry, Georges
Box 36		Thomas, Jacques
Box 36		Thompson, Charles Willis (Royce catalog number: R3888)
Box 36		Thornton, Hermann H.
Box 36		Tian, Renzo
Box 36		Tild, Jean
Box 37		Tinker, Edward-Laroque
Box 37		Tirand, Max (Royce catalog number: R3893)
Box 37		Toldo, Pietro (Royce catalog number: R3894)
Box 37		Treich, Leon
Box 37		Treizc, Les
Box 37		Trent, William Peterfield (Royce catalog number: R3919, R3920, R3921)
Box 37		Truc, Gonzague
Box 37		Truillot, A.
Box 37		Tuckerman, H.J. (Royce catalog number: R3922)
Box 37		Tuttle, A.H. (Royce catalog number: R3923)
Box 37		Unt, V.
Box 37		Urteaga, Franklin
Box 37		Uzanne, Octave (Royce catalog number: R3929, R3933)
Box 37		Valerio, Edith (Royce catalog number: R3937, R3938)
Box 37		Vandérem, Fernand (Royce catalog number: R3940)
Box 37		Van Gelder, Robert
Box 37		Vandoyer, Jean-Louis
Box 37		Vaulx, Bernard de
Box 37		Vautel, Clément
Box 37		Vauzelles, Ludovic de
Box 37		Verne, Maurice
Box 37		Vidal, Maurice
Box 37		Viguez, Édouard
Box 37		Vivian, Herbert
Box 37		Vivier, Michel
Box 37		Walbridge, Earle F.
Box 37		Wallquist, Örjan
Box 37		Walpole, Sir Hugh
Box 37		Walton, Edith H.
Box 37		Weadock, Louis (Royce catalog number: R3975)
Box 37		Wenger, Jared
Box 37		Werveke, Jan (Royce catalog number: 2416)
Box 37		Werth, Alexander
Box 37		West, Anthony
Box 37		Westrum, A.S. Van (Royce catalog number: R3980)
Box 37		White, Robert
Box 37		Williams, Talcott (Royce catalog number: R3984)
Box 38		Wittfogel, K.A.
Box 38		Woodlock, Thomas F.
Box 38		Worthington, Hugh S. (Royce catalog number: R3988)
Box 38		Wyzewa, Théodore de (Royce catalog number: R3991)
Box 38		Xan, Fernand
Box 38		Yanitelli, Victor R.
Box 38		Ybbarra, J.R.
Box 38		Yeats, William Butler
Box 38		Yerly, Robert
Box 38		Young, Stanley
Box 38		Zabludovski, Mikhail
Box 38		Zagorski, M.
Box 38		Zavaes, Alexandre
Box 38		Ziman, H.D.
Box 38		Zimand, Roman
Box 38		Zweig, Stefan [2nd folder: unrevised proofs of Zweig's "Balzac"] (2 folders)

	Writings
		Books
Box 64			A Balzac Bibliography - draft (6 folders)
Box 65			A Balzac Bibliography - draft (5 folders)
Box 66			A Balzac Bibliography - draft, notebook, galleys, addenda (6 folders)
Box 67			A Balzac Bibliography [Additional Material] (5 folders)
Box 68			A Balzac Bibliography [Additional Material] (6 folders)
Box 69			A Balzac Bibliography [Additional Material] (5 folders)
Oversize 1			A Balzac Bibliography (Epitome)
Box 69			A Balzac Bibliography - title page draft
Box 69			"Suggested Outline for Analysis of the Topical Index of A Balzac Bibliography" - hand written draft
Box 70			"Outline for Analysis of the Topical Index of A Balzac Bibliography" - several drafts (5 folders)
Box 70			"Indexes to a Balzac Bibliography" (4 folders)
Oversize 10			Index cards for topical index
Oversize 11			Index cards for topical index
Box 90			Index cards [large]
Box 70			Works of Balzac [introduction] (4 folders)
Box 71			"Works of Balzac. Note of Explanation to Map of Balzac's Human Comedy"
Box 71			A Balzac Bibliography [notebooks]
Box 71			Notebooks
Box 71			[First] Supplement to a Balzac Bibliography - hand written draft (4 folders)
Box 72			[First] Supplement to a Balzac Bibliography - hand written draft (5 folders)
Box 73			[First] Supplement to a Balzac Bibliography - hand written draft (5 folders)
Box 74			[First] Supplement to a Balzac Bibliography - hand written draft (6 folders)
Box 75			[First] Supplement to a Balzac Bibliography - notes, clippings, and note cards (6 folders)
		Bulletin of the Balzac Society
Box 75			Material for no 13 to 15 (3 folders)
Box 76			Material for no 16 to 21 (5 folders)
Box 77			Material for no 22 to 25 (3 folders)
Box 77			Drafts of Bulletin no 1-10
Box 77			Printer's copies
Box 77			Proof sheets
Box 77			Issues no 1-35 1940-1962
		Chapter
Box 77			Chapter on Balzac in D.C. Cabeen's A Critical Bibliography of French Literature
		Essays
Box 77			"Balzac" - in the American Society of the French Legion of Honor magazine
Box 77			"Balzac: An Appreciation" (2 folders)
Box 77			"Balzac as He Should Be Read" (2 folders)
Box 78			"Balzac as He Was Not" (2 folders)
Box 78			"Balzac Bibliography with a Purpose" (3 folders)
Box 78			"Balzac en Amérique"
Box 78			"Balzac, Immortal" (2 folders)
Oversize 7			"Balzac, Immortal" - scrapbook
Box 78			"Balzac in Bay Ridge" - Essay series in "The Brooklyn Spectator" (20 folders)
Oversize 8			"Balzac in Bay Ridge" - scrapbook
Box 78			"Notes on Rare Books"
Box 78			"Balzac Receives an Envoy" (2 folders)
Box 79			"Balzac Receives an Envoy" (4 folders)
Box 79			"A Balzac Renaissance"
Box 79			"Balzac, the Galley Slave" (2 folders)
Box 79			"Chronological Order of La Comédie Humaine"
Box 79			Description of "Le Decret des Ruggeri," an "assembly of 52 manuscript pages and printer's proofs" - hand written
Box 79			"Dilettante"
Box 79			"Great Anniversaries: Balzac" (4 folders)
Box 79			"How Balzac Wrested Fame from Failure"
Box 79			"Le bibliographe de Balzac"
Box 79			"My Ember in the Bonfire of Fame" - published in the series "The Seasons Greetings from Balzac and Royce"
Box 79			"An Unpublished Letter of Balzac" (2 folders)
Box 79			"Why Fine Bindings?" (2 folders)
		By others
Box 79			Anonymous, Balzac bibliography - French; in card form; Henry Goulet, éditeur, Paris
Box 79			Barquet, Nicolás, "Gayarre: El cantante de la voz de oro" - English title: "Gayarre: The Singer with the Golden Voice"
Box 79			Baudelaire, Charles, Selections from "Paris Spleen" - translated by Louise Varèse
Box 79			Brereton, Geoffrey, "Paul Valéry" - from his Introduction to the French Poets
Box 79			Bouteron, Marcel, "Balzac et le conseil du Roi," and "Bedouck!" (2 folders)
Box 79			Cohen, Rubin, "Balzac in the U.S. During the 19th Century"
Box 80			Cohen, Rubin, "Balzac in the U.S. During the 19th Century"
Box 80			Gastaldi, Santiago, "La Comedia Humana. Analisis de su contento sociólogico y artistico"
Box 80			Hastings, Walter Scott, "Balzac and Souverain," "Balzac," "Maria" - galley proofs of "Balzac" (3 folders)
Box 80			Le Courtois, Claude, "L'art de la nouvelle chez Balzac"
Box 80			Middleton, George, "That was Balzac"
Box 80			Ronai, Paul [?], "L'Israélite: An Early Work of Balzac"
Box 80			Stutchbury, Harold Owen, parts of his Chronological Bibliography of Balzac and Balzac's Autobiography
Box 80			Swinburne, Algernon Charles, Lesbia Brandon - photostat copy of the portion of his unpublished novel that mentions Balzac
Box 80			Weiner, L., Balzac and His Times (3 folders)
Box 81			Weiner, L., Balzac and His Times
Box 81			Wist, Ki, "le travail de Balzac"
Box 81			French articles on Balzac - type written; Ex Libris Walter Scott Hastings
Box 81			Reviews of Royce's Balzac Bibliography
Box 81			Le Messager de New York - 8 issues
Box 81			Poem by anonymous, "Balzac: Hommage à Auguste Rodin"
Box 81			Poems by Angelo, Alfred Antoine Furman, Théo, and Gaston Prinet
Oversize 1			Poem by Lewys, Georges, "Britannia, Britannia Forever!" 1941 - with an autograph dedication by the author to Royce
		Royce's poetry and other items
Box 81			Poems under the pseudonyms "Cassandra," "Colonel Philippe Bridau," "Pennmore" - "Pennmore" is subdivided in "general" and "war poems" (4 folders)
Box 81			General 1925-1943 (3 folders)
Box 82			General 1944-1960 - incl. undated poems (5 folders)
Box 82			War poems 1940-1946 - incl. undated war poems (5 folders)
Box 82			Poem drafts (3 folders)
Box 82			Compilations of Royce's poems
Box 82			Sonnets of a Bibliographer
Box 82			Novel draft [?] - unfinished
		Translations by Royce
Box 82			Alain, "With Balzac"
Box 83			Balzac translations (5 folders)
Box 84			Balzac translations (9 folders)
Box 85			Balzac translations (4 folders)
Box 85			Béguin, Albert, "Balzac Visionaire" - English title: "Balzac the Visionary" (2 folders)
Box 85			Benedek, Marcel, "Balzac"
Box 85			Benjamin, René, "La prodigieuse vie d'Honoré de Balzac" - English title: "The Prodigious Life of Honoré de Balzac"
Box 85			Bouteron, Marcel, "Le culte de Balzac dans le monde", "Études Balzaciennes" - English titles: "The Cult of Balzac in the World", "Balzac Studies" (3 folders)
Box 86			Curtius, Ernst Robert, "Balzac"
Box 86			Ducourneau, Jean A., "An Unpublished Work of Balzac - Le Réclamiste (The Puffer)"
Box 86			Evans, Henri, Review of Hunt, Herbert J. "Honoré de Balzac. A Biography" and "Balzac's Comédie Humaine" 1959
Box 86			Flat, Paul, Essais sur Balzac - English title: Essays on Balzac (2 folders)
Box 86			Gauthier, Henri, "The Usurer in three Works of Balzac" (2 folders)
Box 86			Le Breton, André, L'homme et I'oeuvre - English title: Balzac: The Man and His Work
Box 86			Lindgren, Hellen "Honoré de Balzac" 1900 - essay in "Skalder och Tänkare: Litterära Essayer", pages 307-339, transl. by Eda M. Royce
Box 86			Métadier, B. Paul, "A Great Invalid Misunderstood" Jan 1958
Box 86			Picon, Gaeton, [preface to?] "Illusions perdues" Jan 1958 - English title: "The 'Lost Illusions' or Hope Recovered"
Box 86			Mercure de France Jan 1958 - from which Royce translated the essays by Métadier and Picon
Box 86			Pommier, Jean, "About the First Edition of Louis Lambert" Oct 1959
Oversize 9			Rónai, Pál [Paul], "Jegyzetek Honoré de Balzac Fiatalkori Regényeihez" 1930 - English title: "Notes to the Oeuvres de jeunesse of Honoré de Balzac". Budapest: Rónai Miksa Könyvkereskedése
Box 86			Sandeau, M. Jules, "The Last Fairy", accompanied by "The Life and Misfortunes of Horace de Saint-Aubin"
Box 86			Thun-Hohenstein, Graf Paul, "Die Novelle von Balzac" 1930-1931
Box 86			Zweig, Stefan "Balzac," from Három Mester. Balzac, Dickens, Dosztojevszkij - Translation from the German Drei Meister [?]
Box 86			Translation fragment of unknown origin
		Miscellany
Oversize 4			Photostat of a "Map of Balzac's Human Comedy"
Box 86			Advertisements for Royce's Balzac publications
Box 86			Announcement of the name change from "Les Études Balzaciennes" to "L'Année Balzacienne" - hand written draft
Box 86			Announcement of the publication of the definitive edition of Balzac's works - hand written draft
Box 86			"Balzac and the College Girl," "The College Girl and Balzac" - lecture in 2 parts
Box 86			Balzac: bibliographic citations for David C. Cabeen's A Critical Bibliography of the 19th Century
Box 87			Balzac: bibliographic citations for David C. Cabeen's A Critical Bibliography of the 19th Century
Box 87			"The Balzac Library of W.H. Royce" (2 folders)
Box 87			Balzac, "Le secret des Ruggieri" - type written description of a collection of 52 manuscripts and printer's proofs
Box 87			Calendar of the life of Balzac 1819-1828 - 2 drafts (3 folders)
Box 87			List of Balzac editions
Box 87			List of "Royce's Contributions Published in Bruno's 'Life in Letters'"
Box 87			Note on the introduction to "Balzac's Masterpieces" - Here, Royce claims that the introduction was actually written by him but he withdrew his name after it was "garbled".
Box 87			"Old Book Table Dinner" 12 Dec 1935 - speech
Box 87			Royce's annotations to "Balzac and his Publisher Souverain"
Box 87			"Unpublished Table of the Literary Order" [of Balzac's works]

	Memorabilia
		Clippings
Box 87			Anonymous about Royce in the American Collector 1927 - presumably written by Charles Heartman
Box 87			Concerning Auguste Geraldi - Geraldi was a Balzacien and publisher e.g. of Royce's poems
Box 87			Concerning Royce (8 folders)
Box 88			Concerning Royce
Box 88			Printed obituaries concerning Royce's death
Box 88			Transcript of an article in the Norwich Bulletin about a Balzac lecture by Royce
Box 88			Stefan Zweig on Royce
		Family
Box 88			Legal and financial (2 folders)
Box 88			Renewal of Mrs. Royce's subscription to the Brooklyn Academy of Arts, Music and Science 1934
Box 88			Clippings concerning the Royce family
Box 88			Genealogy (4 folders)
Box 88			Autographs of the Royce family
		Photographs, pictures, etc.
Box 88			Two drawings in pencil signed by Marcel Bouteron
Box 88			Royce 'hoody portrait'
Box 88			Royce
Box 88			Miscellaneous
Oversize 5			5th Anniversary Dinner of Le Messager de New York
Oversize 4			Drawings of Royce - 3 items
Oversize 5			Photograph of Royce - by Berenice Abbott
		Radio appearances
Box 88			Royce on the radio 22 May 1945, 27 Mar 1946, 22 May 1949 (3 folders)
		Miscellany
Box 88			Clippings concerning George Middleton
Box 88			Dinner in honor of César Birotteau
Box 88			Dinner in honor of the conferring of the medal of the Légion d'Honneur to Royce
Box 88			Invitation to the 5th anniversary of Le Messager de New York
Box 88			Note about a monk from Portugal
Box 88			Note on an event commemorating Royce's 70th birthday
Box 88			Numeroscope for Royce
Box 89			Portrait of Gabriel Wells - Royce's employer
Box 89			Program of the 9th Annual Banquet of the Bookseller's League 10 Feb 1904
Box 89			Reviews etc., concerning Royce's Balzac Bibliography
Box 89			Royce, membership cards
Oversize 4			Diploma of Royce's honorary membership of the Centro Literario-Filosofico "Arca del Sur" of Uruguay 15 Jul 1951
Oversize 5			Diploma of Royce's membership of the French Legion of Honor and membership medals 09 Oct 1935
Box 89			Various materials
Oversize 1			List of "The First/Second Hundred Greatest Names in Literature"
Oversize 1			Announcement diploma of a "Fête Romantique" by the City of Issoudun, France related to the citizenship award for W.H. Royce 29 Jun 1930 - parchment
Oversize 2			"Honoré de Balzac. La Comédie Humaine au Jardin de la France" - original engravings by Ferdinand Dubreuil, text by Roland Engerand
Box 90			Index card catalogs

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence

• Aubrée, Etienne : 1944; 1945; 1946
• Baldensberger, Fernand : 1934; 1943
• Bouteron, Marcel : 1925-1926; 1926-1928; 1928-1930; 1930-1932; 1932-1933; 1933-1934; 1934-1936; 1936-1939; 1939-1942; 1942-1946; 1947-1949; 1949-1950
• Bédé, Jean-Albert :
• Cahoon, Herbert : 1957
• Chauncerel, André : 1929
• Crain, William L. : 1927; 1928; 1930; 1930; 1931; 1950; 1950
• Dargan, Edwin Preston : 1922--1926; 1926-1928; 1928-1930; 1930-1932; 1932-1933; 1933-1934; 1934-1936; 1936-1937
• Furman, Alfred A. : 1929
• Gastaldi, Santiago : 1930-1932; 1932-1933; 1933-1934; 1934-1936; 1936-1939; 1939-1942; 1942-1946; 1947-1949; 1949-1950; 1950-1952; 1953-1960
• Gould, Charles (University of Bristol) : 1952; 1953-1959
• Haas, J. (Tübingen University, Germany) : 1927-1928; 1928-19291921-1928; 1928-1930
• Hennion, Horace : 1948; 1951; 1951
• Henriquez, Jack [Jaques, pseud. Ki Wist] : 1939; 1939; 1950; 1950-1952; 1953-1959
• Hunt, Herbert J. : 1957-60
• Lecuyer, Maurice A. (Yale) : 1952
• Middleton, George : 1939; 1939; 1944
• Pommier, Jean : 1949; 1949; 1958
• Preston, Ethel : 1927;
• Ritti, Paul : 1923-1926; 1926-1928; 1928-1930; 1930-1932; 1932-1933; 1933-1934; 1934-1936; 1936-1939; 1939-1942; 1942-1946; 1947-1949; 1949-1950; 1950-1952
• Ronai, Paul (Paulo) : 1930; 1931; 1938; 1957
• Rottenberg, Max M. : 1930
• Tenenbaum, Shea (Joshua) : 1950; 1950-1951
• Wodrada, Helen Elcessor Barnes : 1923, 1924; 1934; 1934, 1936; 1936, 1939; 1939
• Zweig, Stefan : 1939; 1939-1940

Return to top