Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	San Juan, E. (Epifanio), 1938-
Title:	Epifanio San Juan Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1959-2023
Quantity:	0.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Handwritten and typewritten drafts of articles, books, poems etc. by the Filipino poet
Language:	English, Filipino
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Epifanio San Juan (1938- ), also known E. San Juan, Jr. is a well-known Filipino American literary scholar, poet and activist, and the author of numerous books on race and cultural studies. A graduate of Harvard University, he has taught English, literature, and cultural studies at universities in the United States, the Philippines, Taiwan and Europe; he was also director of the Philippines Cultural Studies Center in Storrs, Connecticut, and chairman of the Department of Comparative American Cultures at Washington State University. Among his many awards and honors are a Fulbright fellowship, the Centennial Award for Achievement in Literature from the Cultural Center of the Philippines, the Spanish Siglo de Oro Prize, a National Book Award in Cultural Studies, and the Gustavus Myers Center for Human Rights' Outstanding Book Award on Human Rights.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Epifanio San Juan Papers consists of biographical material and writings.

Biographical material consists of a detailed c.v.

Writings contains handwritten and typewritten drafts of articles, books, essays, poems, and other items. Some are in English, others are in Filipino. Essay and book topics include literary criticism, education, politics, indigenization, Filipino history, etc.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type and then by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Epifanio San Juan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of collection, gift of Epifanio San Juan, 2017, 2024. A few poems, transfer from Filipiniana Collection.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Aug 2010
Revision history: 5 Jul 2017 - adds, promoted to regular collection (MRC); 13 Jun 2024 - essays added, articles series merged in (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Biographical material
Box 1		Curriculum vitae (c.v.)

	Writings
		Books
Box 1			Carlos Bulosan: A critical appraisal 2017 - galleys with corrections, color printout of cover
Box 1			Sisa's Vengeance 2010 - galleys; inside back of folder has taped-down notice for a book by Carlos Bulosan, with an Afterword by San Juan
		Essays
Box 1			Benjamin Appel's Fortress in the Rice: Forging the radical consicence of empire - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Deracination & overseas trajectories: Speculations on the Filipino diaspora experience - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Interrogating education in the Philippines 2022-2023 - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Knowledge, representation, truth: Learning from Charles Saunders Peirce's semiotics [2003?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Kwalta, sakrifisyo ni isinumpang babae patryarkong moralidad pulitikang sekswal, at [illegible] uring panlipunan sa busabos ng palad ni Faustino Aguilar [2019?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Marx's commodity-fetishism & the crisis of contemporary (conceptual/post-conceptual) art [2016?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Modernidad at globalisation: Diyalektika ng Pahon at Lugar 2014 - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Panitikan sa gilid ng bangin [2014?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Peirce/Marx: Project for a dialogue between pragmaticism & Marxism [2013?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			The politics of art, the art of politics: Knowledge or pleasure, subversion or acquiescence? [2023] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Problematizing translation in the Philippine context: From transgression to transfiguration [2016?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Reflections on academic cultural studies and the problem of indigenization in the Philippines [2013?] - proofs, for publication in Topia
Box 1			Repleksiyon tungkol sa neokolonyang edukasyon: Neoliberalismong indoktrinasiyon laban mapagpalayang pagtutoropkabatiran - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Salapi, dangal, paniniwala: Ang komodifikasiyon ng kalungawa sa [illegible] ni Faustino Aguala [2016?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Sikolohiyang Filipino: Vicissitudes of indigenization in the Philippines [2021?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Toward a dialog and synergism articulating Marxism and pragmatism [2005?] - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1			Werning / interview/ San Juan part two 29 Oct 2021 - typescript draft with handwritten edits/corrections
Box 1		Poems 1959-1964 - typescript and handwritten drafts of three poems
		Poetry collections
Box 1			Balikbayan mahal: Passages from exile - galleys with occasional corrections
Box 1			Punta spartivento & other mobilizations for our time [2016?] - typescript with corrections

Return to top