Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Schaub-Koch, Emile, 1890-
Title:	Emile Schaub-Koch Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1933-1965
Quantity:	3.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the Swiss art critic. Collection focuses on Schaub-Koch's interest in American sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington.
Language:	English, French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Emile Schaub-Koch (1890-?) was a Swiss art critic and author. He wrote extensively on American sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington.

Born March 6, 1890 in Switzerland, Emile Schaub was educated in Paris at the École Supérieure Libre des Sciences, but made his name in the field of fine arts criticism. He married Anna Koch in 1914 and added her name to his, becoming Emile Schaub-Koch. They were married for more than 30 years, until her death in 1946, and had one adopted son.

Schaub-Koch was named honorary professor at the Université de France; he was a member of the editorial board of the International Studies of Science and Letters and an honorary member of many other scholarly European societies. He was awarded the Croix de Devouement by the government of Portugal, and by 1948 he had written over 250 publications on scientific and literary subjects as well as art criticism. In 1948 he became intensely interested in the work of American sculptor Anna Hyatt Huntington, and devoted the following years to writing books and articles about her work and its relationship to other art forms from earlier periods. Schaub-Koch did much to popularize Huntington's work in Europe, to the extent that she is better known abroad than in her own country. His works, written originally in French, have been translated into English, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Emile Schaub-Koch Papers include correspondence, photographs, manuscripts, and published materials both by and about Schaub-Koch.

Correspondence includes incoming notes, cards and letters. The majority are thank-you notes to Professor Schaub- Koch for complimentary copies of his books. The correspondence is in French, Spanish, Italian, and English, most from Europeans.

Photographs include pictures of Brookgreen Gardens, Anna Hyatt Huntington's sculpture garden and preserve in South Carolina; a picture of a portrait of Mrs. Huntington by Marion Boyd Allen; and numerous photographs of Mrs. Huntington's work, used by Professor Schaub-Koch as illustrations for his many books on her sculpture.

Manuscripts consists of a typescript article by Schaub-Koch, translated by Tere Rios, entitled "The work of Anna Hyatt Huntington." It is undated.

Published material consists of articles, books, clippings, and pamphlets by and about Professor Schaub-Koch and others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Photographs are subdivided by type; within that, photographs of Mrs. Huntington's work is arranged alphabetically by title of the piece. Published materials are subdivided by type; within that, they are arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

For additional Schaub-Koch correspondence and writings, see the Anna Hyatt Huntington Papers.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Emile Schaub-Koch Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Emile Schaub-Koch, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Dec 1966
Revision history: 14 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 1 Dec 2021 - correspondence, Box 3, updated (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Incoming 1933
Box 1		Incoming 1948-1952 (6 folders)
Box 1		Incoming 1954-1957 (7 folders)
Box 2		Incoming 1958-1959
Box 3		Incoming 1959-1961 (8 folders)
Box 3		Incoming 1962, 1964, 1965, undated - includes carbon of letter from ESK to Anna Hyatt Huntington

	Photographs
Box 4		Brookgreen Gardens
Box 4		Display
Box 4		Portrait of Anna Hyatt Huntington, by Marion Boyd Allen
Box 4		Works by Anna Hyatt Huntington, A-Z (17 folders)

	Manuscripts
Box 5		The Work of Anna Hyatt Huntington / Emile Schaub-Koch, translated by Tere Rios

	Published material
		Articles
Box 5			About Emile Schaub-Koch
Box 5			By Emile Schaub-Koch
Box 5			About others
		Books, by Emile Schaub-Koch
Box 5			Anna Hyatt Huntington and the Hindu People
Box 5			Anna Hyatt Huntington, Sculptor de la Vie
Box 5			Hindu Art and the Art of Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 5			A obra animalista e monumental de Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 6			L'oeuvre d'Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 6			Physiologie Esthétique de l'oeuvre animalier d'Anna Hyatt Huntington
Box 6			Valeurs de rappels d'esthétique comparative
Box 6			Vie et modelage
		Clippings
Box 6			About Schaub-Koch
Box 6			About others
		Pamphlets
Box 6			Extrait de la revue d'esthétique / Perigord, Monique
Box 6			Invertebrata / Schaub-Koch, Emile

Return to top