Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Scheuer, Steven H.
Title:	Steven H. Scheuer Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1939-1996
Quantity:	294 linear ft.
Abstract:	Research files, correspondence, photographs, clippings, press releases, reviews, writings (scripts, story proposals, articles), printed material, and miscellanea from the American movie and television historian and critic.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Steven H. Scheuer is a movie and television historian and critic. He was the editor of Movies on TV (originally titled TV Movie Almanac & Ratings) which went through 17 editions between 1958 and 1993. The first guide of its kind (it preceded the still-active Maltin's TV Movies and Video Guide by ten years), the book contained a mixture of movies, videos and TV movies with ratings up to four stars.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Steven H. Scheuer Papers contains research files, correspondence, photographs, clippings, press releases, reviews, writings (scripts, story proposals, articles), printed material, and miscellanea. The collection is partially processed and the inventory below is to the box level.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is partially processed. For the most part original order has been retained.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Steven H. Scheuer Television History Interviews.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Steven H. Scheuer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Steven H. Scheuer.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: 24 May 2007
Revision history: 27 Feb 2017 - broadcasting standards, box 231 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	All About TV
		Research files
Box 1			A-F
Box 2			misc
		Show files
Box 3			1978-1979
Box 4			1979-1983
Box 5			1984-1985
Box 6			1986-1988
Box 7			misc
Box 8			misc
Box 9		General files

	Baseline, Inc
Box 10		General files

	Cable Key
Box 11		1981
Box 12		1982-1984
Box 13-15		Research files (3 boxes)

	Movies
		Research files by title
Box 16			AA-AN
Box 17			AB-BA
Box 18			AN-AY
Box 19			BA-BE
Box 20			BI-BL
Box 21			BO-BY
Box 22			BU-CA
Box 23			CA-CH
Box 24			CI-CO
Box 25			CO-DI
Box 26			CR-DE
Box 27			DE-DO
Box 28			DO-EL
Box 29			DR-FO
Box 30			EM-FA
Box 31			FR-GE
Box 32			FB-FO
Box 33			GH-GR
Box 34			GR-HA
Box 35			HA-HE
Box 36			HI-HU
Box 37			I-IN
Box 38			IN-JE
Box 39			JE-JU
Box 40			KA-LA
Box 41			LA-LI
Box 42			LI-LO
Box 43			LO-MA
Box 44			MA-ME
Box 45			MI-MY
Box 46			NA-NJ
Box 47			NI-OM
Box 48			ON-OX
Box 49			PA-PH
Box 50			PI-PR
Box 51			PR-RA
Box 52			RA-RE
Box 53			RE-RO
Box 54			RU-SC
Box 55			SE-SH
Box 56			SH-Z
Box 57			SH-SM
Box 58			SN-SS
Box 59			ST
Box 60			ST-TH
Box 61			SU-SW
Box 62			SW-TH
Box 63			TH-TR
Box 64			TH-WH
Box 65			TR-VI
Box 66			VE-WH
Box 67			WH-WO
Box 68			WO-ZU
Box 69			BI-UR 1989-1991
Box 70-73			unsorted (4 boxes)
Box 74		Research files general
Box 75		File cards
Box 76		Mss for Movie Guide

	Radio TV Daily
Box 77		General files 1939, 1943
		Subject files
Box 78			A-G
Box 79			G-Q
Box 80			R-Z
		Research files
Box 81			CA-DUZ
Box 82			EA-HAR
Box 83			MAS-POZ
Box 84			PRA-STRA
Box 85			TUI-Z
		Correspondence
Box 86-90			Alphabetical, mixed (5 boxes)
Box 91		Correspondence by state
		Photographs by subject
Box 92			A-LY
Box 93			M-Z
Box 94			misc
		Printed material
Box 95			1951-1964
Box 96, 97			misc (2 boxes)
Box 98		Research files, A-Z

	Scripts and story proposals
Box 99-105		misc (7 boxes)
Box 106		Hello World
Box 107		by Scheuer
Box 108, 109		by Scheuer (2 boxes)

	Soap Opera Scene
Box 110		1976-1981
Box 111		1981-1983
Box 112		1982
Box 113		1990-1996

	TV Key
Box 114		Audio tapes
Box 115, 116		Clippings (2 boxes)
		Correspondence
Box 117			1950s
Box 118			misc
Box 119		Features
Box 120		Features
		Keynotes
Box 121			1954-1957
Box 122			1958-1964
Box 123			1965-1967
Box 124			1967-1970
Box 125			1970-1975
Box 126			1975-1978
Box 127			1978-1980
Box 128			1979-1981
Box 129			1980-1983
Box 130			1987-1991
Box 131			1990-1992
Box 132			1992-1994
Box 133			1994-1996
Box 134			unsorted
		Local
Box 135			1956-1959
Box 136			1960-1962
Box 137			1962-1964
Box 138			1964-1965
Box 139			1967-1969
Box 140			1969-1972
Box 141			1972-1973
Box 142			1973-1974
Box 143		Local/Metro 1974-1977
Box 144, 145		Metro 1982 (2 boxes)
		Mailbag
Box 146			1953-1964
Box 147			1956-1962
Box 148			1965-1967
Box 149			1967-1970
Box 150			1971-1976
Box 151			1976-1979
Box 152			1979-1981
Box 153			1981-1996
Box 154		Keynotes & Mailbag 1978
		Mimeo
Box 155			1960-1963
Box 156			1963-1965
Box 157			1965-1969
Box 158			1969-1970
Box 159			1972-1974
Box 160			1974-1976
Box 161, 162		Movie Preview (2 boxes)
		Original
Box 163			1955-1957
Box 164			1958-1960
Box 165			1960-1963
Box 166			1963-1965
Box 167			1966-1970
Box 168			1971-1973
Box 169			1973-1974
Box 170			1974-1976
Box 171			1976-1979
		Photos
Box 172			1950s-1960s
Box 173			1950s-1960s
Box 174			misc
Box 175		Press releases 1980-1981
		Previews
Box 176			1955-1958
Box 177			1958-1960
Box 178			1966-1967
Box 179			1970
Box 180			1971
Box 181			1971
Box 182			1977-1978
Box 183			1979
Box 184			1980
Box 185			1982
Box 186			1982
Box 187			1981-1983
Box 188			1990-1996
Box 189		Radio copy
Box 190		Wire copy
Box 191		Witbeck reviews
Box 192		General files, A-Z
Box 193-198		Research files (6 boxes)
		Mixed editions
Box 199			1955-1956
Box 200			1966-1967
Box 201			1975
Box 202			1979
Box 203			1979
Box 204			1980
Box 205			1980
Box 206			1980-1982
Box 207			1977-1978
Box 208-213			mixed dates (6 boxes)

	TV Watching
Box 214, 215		Program and research files (2 boxes)

	Video buyers service
Box 216-222		Miscellaneous (7 boxes)

	Manuscripts
Box 223		Miscellaneous

	Personal files
Box 224-229		Personal business files (6 boxes)
		Personal research files
Box 230			ACLU
Box 231			Broadcasting standards, NBC 1983, 1986, undated - radio, television, and advertising (3 volumes)
Box 231			Children & TV
Box 232			Children & TV
Box 233			FCC
Box 234			P
Box 235			Public TV
Box 236-241			TV (6 boxes)
Box 242-246			General (5 boxes)
		Personal subject files
Box 247			"Law and the Media, New Technology"
Box 248			"Seminars"
Box 249			"Telefilm"
Box 250			"VBS"
Box 251			F-W
Box 252			"Hopewell Productions"
Box 253-279			misc (27 boxes)

	Photographs
Box 280-295		Miscellaneous (16 boxes)

Return to top