Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Seibert, Donald, 1929-2010. |
| Title: | Donald Seibert Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | Circa 1950-2000 |
| Quantity: | 15 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, family memorabilia, photographs, research, publications, and writings of Donald Seibert |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Donald Seibert (1929-2010) was a music librarian, singer, teacher, and writer.
Donald was born October 3, 1929, in Los Angeles, California. He served in the U.S. Navy during the Korean War, and once discharged worked in the advertising department at the New York Times while attending library school at Columbia University. Upon graduation he worked as a music librarian at Julliard School. In 1968, he came to Syracuse University, where he was the music librarian until he retired in 1992. He was an avid music lover. He researched and wrote about Tchaikovsky, sang in the Syracuse Oratorio Society, and wrote articles about music cataloging. When he retired, he taught classes in social class and aging, and tutored at the Learning Place, preparing students for their GED exams.
Donald died December 22, 2010, leaving behind his long-term partner, Charles Tremper.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Donald Seibert Papers contains correspondence, family memorabilia, photographs, publications, musical research, writings, and audiocassettes.
Arrangement of the Collection
The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Donald Seibert Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Charles Tremper, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: DTF
Date: 03 Jun 2022
Revision history:
Inventory
An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.