Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Sergent, Jean
Title:	Jean Sergent Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1918-1964
Quantity:	2.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	Writings, correspondence, and published articles of the French author and novelist.
Language:	French
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Jean Sergent (dates unknown) was a French author and novelist. He served as curator and director of Maison de Victor Hugo in Paris. His published output, other than his 1946 novel les Marches du ciel, appears primarily to have been exhibition catalogs and articles in the world of art.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jean Sergent Papers are arranged into three series: correspondence, printed materials, and writings.

Correspondence contains letters from various people; the majority of letters are to and from Sergent's mother between 1918 and 1921.

Printed materials consist of three published articles relating to Sergent's work as curator of Maison de Victor Hugo written by Sergent. A particular topic of interest explored in these articles appears to have been Hugo's work as a visual artist.

The bulk of the collection is the Writings. This series has been organized into three sub-series based on different stages of the writing and editing process: article drafts, manuscripts, and proofs. Article drafts includes drafts of various articles submitted by Sergent between 1934 and 1964. Included with some of the drafts are letters of acceptance or rejection from the editors of the respective publications. One extensively researched article about Victor Hugo's drawings includes a reproduction of Hugo's drawing Le phare. Manuscripts is the largest, consisting of unedited manuscripts (handwritten and typed) of his novels and short stories, many with handwritten revisions and additions. All of these are unpublished works, aside from Sergent's 1946 les Marches du ciel. The Proofs contains proofs with handwritten revisions.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, printed materials, and article drafts are arranged chronologically. Manuscripts and proofs are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jean Sergent Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean Sergent, 1964 and 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Raz Reuel Nesher
Date: April 26, 2022
Revision history: 26 Apr 22 - collection processed (RRN); 18 Aug 22 - polished collection, updated finding aid (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Correspondence 1918-1919, 1929, 1934-1937, 1945, 1952-1953, 1955-1957, 1959, 1963-1964

	Printed materials
Box 1		Published articles 1955, 1959 undated

	Writings
		Article drafts
Box 1			Article drafts 1934, 1936, 1943, 1947, 1952, 1955-1959, 1962, 1964 undated (3 folders)
		Manuscripts
Box 1			L'eau se perd qui ne coule au fleuve 1964
Box 1			Un jour comme un autre undated (3 folders)
Box 2			les Marches du ciel 1946 or before - hand-written (3 folders)
Box 2			les Marches du ciel 1946 or before - typed (5 folders)
Box 2			les Marches du ciel 1946 or before - fragments (2 folders)
Box 2			Qui perd sa vie... undated - hand-written, part 1 (2 folders)
Box 3			Qui perd sa vie... undated - hand-written, part 1 (6 folders)
Box 3			Qui perd sa vie... undated - hand-written, part 2 (4 folders)
Box 3			Qui perd sa vie... undated - typed, part 1 (3 folders)
Box 3			Qui perd sa vie... undated - typed, part 1 redactions
Box 3			Qui perd sa vie... undated - typed, part 2 (2 folders)
Box 4			Qui perd sa vie... undated - typed, part 2
Box 4			Si vieillesse pouvait 1964 - unedited (3 folders)
Box 4			Short stories undated (3 folders)
		Proofs
Box 4			Description sommaire d'Hauteville-House Maison de Victor Hugo a Guernesey et notice historique undated
Box 4			le Dessins de Victor Hugo 1955
Box 4			l'Hotel Lauzan 1956
Box 4			les Marches du ciel 1946 (3 folders)
Box 5			les Marches du ciel 1946
Box 5			Notice sur trois dessins de Victor Hugo: Le Pendu ou John Brown 1952
Box 5			Preface to La Marionette en France exhibition catalog 1939
Box 5			le Tabac: l'Art et la Curiositè 1937

Return to top