Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Shahnameh Manuscript Fragment |
| Inclusive Dates: | 17th century? |
| Quantity: | partial volume, 44 leaves |
| Abstract: | 44 leaves, most from a copy of the Shahnameh, "The Book of Kings," considered the national epic of Greater Iran |
| Language: | Persian |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives |
Biographical History
The Shahnameh, or "Book of Kings," is an epic poem of over 50,000 couplets, written by the Persian poet Ferdowsi between about 977 and 1010 CE. It is mostly derived from a Pahlavi (Middle Persian) work, known as the Khwadāy-Nāmag "Book of Kings," with added material from other sources and from Ferdowsi himself. The work consists of tales of the kings and heroes of Persia from mythical times down to the middle of the seventh century. It represents an effort to preserve the pre-Islamic mythology and national history of the area now known as Iran.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Shahnameh Manuscript Fragment consists of 38 leaves of the Shahnameh, or "Book of Kings," evidently removed at some point from a bound volume. The leaves -- some of which are still attached to one another -- are a mixture of text and miniatures. In most cases the text is laid out in four regular columns, though there are a few pages where the text is written in diagonal diamond-shaped pattern. The illuminations, which range from half-page to full-page, are richly colored and detailed; some have gold-leaf decorations. Of particular interest is one depicting the mother of Rostam recovering from his birth, which was the first documented instance of a caesarean delivery.
There are also six leaves from two other 11th-century CE epic poems sometimes recorded with the Shahnameh: Borzunameh Kohan written by Shamsuddin Ahmad Mir bin Mohammad Kosaj, and Garshasp-nama written by Asadi Tusi.
Arrangement of the Collection
To the extent possible, the pages have been arranged as they would originally have appeared, based on their content.
Other Related Finding Aids
A spreadsheet detailing the contents of each leaf, including chapter and verse, is also available.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Special Collections Research Center has, in its Rare Books holdings, An album of miniatures and illuminations from the Bâysong̲h̲ori manuscript of the S̲h̲âhnâmeh of Ferdowsi, completed in 833 A.H./A.D. 1430, and preserved in the Imperial Library, Tehran.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Shahnameh Manuscript Fragment,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unknown.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 6 Dec 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Shahnameh | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Leaves 1-18 | ||||||||||
| Illustrations: Leaf 1 verso: How Faridun ascended the throne Leaf 2 recto: How Iraj was slain by his brothers Leaf 3 recto: The Story of the Birth of Rustam Leaf 4 recto: How Naudar was slain by Afrasiyab Leaf 5 recto: How Rustam caught Rakhsh Leaf 6 verso: How Rakhsh fought with a Lion Leaf 8 recto: Row Rustam fought with a Dragon Leaf 9 recto: How Rustam slew a Witch Leaf 10 verso: How Rustam took Ulad captive Leaf 12 recto: How Rustam slew the White Div Leaf 14 recto: How Kaus, beguiled by Iblis, ascended the Sky Leaf 15 verso: How Tahmina, the Daughter of the King of Samangan, came to Rustam Leaf 16 recto: How Siyavush played at Polo Leaf 17 verso: How the Nobles did Homage to Kai Khusrau |
|||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Leaves 19-38 | ||||||||||
| Illustrations: Leaf 22 verso: How Piran made a Night-attack on the Iranians Leaf 23 verso: How Rustam fought with Ashkabus Leaf 25 verso: How Rustam slew Gahar of Gahan Leaf 26 recto: How Rustam fought with Puladwand (?) Leaf 27 verso: How the Div Akwan flung Rustam into the Sea Leaf 28 recto: Piran begs Bizhan's Life from Afrasiyab(?) Leaf 29 recto: How Rustam took Bizhan out of the Pit Leaf 30 recto: How Afrasiyab went to fight with Rustam Leaf 31 verso: Khusrau crosses the Jihun(?) Leaf 33 recto: How Asfandiyar returned to Gushtasp(?) Leaf 34 recto: How Rustam shot Asfandiyar in the Eyes with an Arrow Leaf 36 recto: How Sikandar slew a Dragon Leaf 37 verso: How Sikandar's life ended and how they carried his coffin to Iskandariya Leaf 38 recto: How Bahram slew lions, went to the house of a jeweller, and married his daughter |
|||||||||||
| Borzunameh Kohan | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Leaf 39 | ||||||||||
| Illustrations: Leaf 39 recto: fragment of Borzunameh Kohan |
|||||||||||
| Garshasp-nama | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Leaves 40-44 | ||||||||||
| Illustrations: Leaf 40 recto: Wedding of Zabul king's daughter to Jamshid Leaf 44 recto: The death of Jamshid and start of Zahak's kingdom |
|||||||||||