Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Shecter, Louis E.
Title:	Louis E. Shecter Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1919-1972
Quantity:	8.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	American advertising executive, involved in civic committees and American Jewish Congress. Collection includes correspondence, printed material, photographs, audiorecording, speeches, newspapers and clippings.
Language:	English, Hebrew
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Louis E. Shecter (1901-1992) was an American advertising entrepreneur, art collector, and a member of the Jewish community of Baltimore, Maryland.

Shecter graduated from City College High School in Baltimore, MD in 1918. His career began by writing for the Baltimore American, and then he moved on to the Joseph Katz Co. Advertising Agency to work in advertising. By 1926, he became the director of advertising at the Hecht Brothers Stores. Through his many years of advertising experience, he contributed to the Advertising Club of Baltimore (1909) by serving on the Civic Award Committee to select the Man of the Year and coordinate the ceremonies annual luncheon from 1936 to 1955. He served as chairman of the National Commission on Ratification of the Genocide Convention, vice-chairman on International Affairs for the American Jewish Congress, chairman of the Baltimore Chapter of the Commission to End Arab Discrimination, and president of the Baltimore Branch of the American Jewish Congress. He was relentless for many years in pushing the U.S. Congress to ratify the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide (1948), the first human rights treaty adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations, which they finally did in 1988.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louis E. Shecter Papers consist of correspondence-subject files, memorabilia, photographs, printed materials, and writings.

Correspondence-subject files includes three subseries: Advertising Club of Baltimore/Civic Awards Committee, American Jewish Congress, and American Jewish Congress: Genocide Convention. Both the Advertising Club and the American Jewish Congress (AJC) materials consist of letters to Shecter relating to his involvement with both groups. The AJC: Genocide Convention material deals with correspondence between Shecter and various politicians in Washington, D.C. pertaining to US ratification of the Convention. Notable correspondents include then-Vice President Lyndon B. Johnson, Myer Feldman (Deputy Special Counsel to the President), Senators Edward and Robert Kennedy, J. Glenn Beall, Daniel B Brewster, Thomas Dodd, and others. Since Shecter pushed for the U.S. Congress to ratify the Genocide Convention, this section is arranged in chronological order to illustrate the change in attitudes of the Washington politicians. As well as letters, each section contains other materials, such as notes, agendas, minutes, and memoranda, which relate to that group. The remaining correspondences, filed after these sections, consists of letters, many of which Shecter labeled “Personal.”

Memorabilia contains material about Shecter, such as clippings mentioning him, photographs of him, a biography of him, and gifts presented to him, including a book of Jewish hymns and blessings given at a tribute to Rabbi Samuel Rosenblatt.

Photographs consist of movie stills and publicity photos. The movie stills were a part of his family's collection. Films represented include The Disorderly Orderly, Donovan's Reef, The Great Chase, The General, The Moon-Spinners, and The Prize. Publicity photos include Janet Blair, Tony Curtis, Janet Leigh, Judy Garland, and William Lundigan. Many photos are accompanied by the newspaper clipping in which the photo was used.

Printed materials are divided into the same three subseries as Correspondence-subject files: Advertising Club of Baltimore/Civic Award Committee, AJC, and AJC: Genocide Convention. Each subseries includes newsletters, clippings, programs, and other miscellany such as certificates and posters for the Man of the Year luncheon and a poster for the AJC’s ceremony to recognize The Ten Commandments by Cecil B. DeMille in its representation of the Jewish people.

Writings include advertisements, articles, plays, press releases, speeches, and the beginnings of a book about the historic political events of 1967. For this planned book, which Shecter had tentatively titled Highlights of 1967, he sent letters asking many Washington politicians to contribute their thoughts, speeches, and notes on their involvement with events that year. Some respondents sent a single speech or letter while others sent resolutions, house bills, speeches, and newsletters. Unfortunately, there is no copy of the full manuscript.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All materials in Correspondence-subject files subseries are arranged alphabetically except the AJC: Genocide Convention material, which is arranged chronologically. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type and then chronologically within each type. Photographs are subdivided into movie stills and publicity photos, and within that arranged alphabetically. Printed materials are arranged alphabetically by group, then alphabetically by title, type, or topic. Writings are arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval.

Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Louis Shecter material is also held by the Jewish Museum of Maryland and the American Jewish Archives.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Associated Titles

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louis E. Shecter Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Louis E. Shecter, 1964-1972.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Oct 2010
Revision history: 8 Mar 2023 - processed (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-subject files
		Advertising Club of Baltimore/Civic Awards Committee
Box 1			Blalock, Alfred, M.D. 1948, 1952-1953
Box 1			Childs, William T. 1939-1941
Box 1			D'Alesandro, Thomas, Jr. 1948, 1952-1954
Box 1			Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1953-1954
Box 1			Friedel, Samuel N. 1952
Box 1			Kefauver, Estes 1960
Box 1			Lane, Wm. Preston 1948-1949
Box 9			Man of the Year 5 December 1962 - audiorecording of televised Man of the Year ceremony hosted by Advertising Club of Baltimore (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 2:00:00) (ID#: shecter_le_001)
Box 1			McHale, Patricia 1948, 1952-1953, undated
Box 1			McKeldin, Theodore R. 1952-1954
Box 1			Moylan, Charles E. 1948
Box 1			Notes 1939, 1948-1955, 1965 undated
Box 1			Speeches from Luncheon 1947, 1953-1955 - speeches from the annual Civic Award Committee's Man of the Year Luncheon
Box 1			Sobeloff, Simon E. 1949, 1954
Box 1			Symington, W. Stuart 1948,
Box 1			"To Members" 1939-1941, 1948-1949 1953-1956 - generic letters to members updating them on activites and reminding of dues.
Box 1			Tweedsmuir, Lady Priscilla 1951
Box 1			Miscellaneous A-Z 1941-1942, 1946-1956 (2 folders)
		American Jewish Congress
Box 1			Balaban, Barney 1957
Box 1			Baum, Paul 1961-1963
Box 1			Brewster, Daniel B. 1962-1964
Box 1			Brynner, Yul 1957
Box 1			Conference on Foreign Policy 1961
Box 1			DeMille, Cecil B. 1957
Box 1			Dutton, Frederick G. 1963-1964
Box 1			Feldman, Myer 1963-1964
Box 1			Foch, Nina 1957
Box 1			Friedel, Samuel N. 1962-1964, 1967
Box 1			Goldstein, Louis L. 1961, 1964
Box 1			Hardwicke, Cedric 1957
Box 1			Heston, Charlton 1957
Box 1			Humphrey, Hubert H. 1963-1964
Box 1			Johnson, Lady Bird 1965
Box 1			Kefauver, Estes 1962-1963
Box 1			Maslow, Will 1963
Box 1			McGovern, George 1963
Box 1			Newsweek 1963
Box 1			Proxmire, William 1963-1967
Box 1			Salpeter, High 1957
Box 1			Speeches by others 1953, 1957
Box 1			Stevenson, Adlai E. 1963
Box 1			Truman, Harry S. 1949
Box 1			Miscellaneous A-Z 1957-1964
Box 2			Miscellaneous unidentified 1953, 1957, 1960-1962, undated - notes, "To Friends," agendas, etc.
		American Jewish Congress: Genocide Convention
Box 2			Correspondence 1961-1965 (5 folders)
Box 2			Memoranda 1961, 1964
Box 2			Minutes 1963-1964
Box 2			Notes 1963-1964, undated
Box 2			Press releases 1962-1964
Box 2			Resolutions 1960-1964, undated
Box 2			Speeches 1953, 1960-1964, undated
		Personal
Box 2			Applegate, Howard 1965, 1968-1970
Box 2			Blaustein, Jacob 1964
Box 2			Brewster, Daniel 1961-1965, undated
Box 2			DeLoach, Cartha 1965
Box 2			Evening Star "To the Editor" 1947, 1962-1964
Box 2			Fetter, Theodore H. 1965
Box 2			Frankfurter, Felix 1954
Box 2			Friedel, Samuel N. 1961-1964
Box 2			Goldstein, Louis L. 1961-1966
Box 2			Goodman, Philip H. 1960-1962, 1965
Box 2			Hammerman, Sam L. and I. H. 1953, 1962, 1965
Box 2			Johnson, Lady Bird 1964-1965, undated
Box 2			Kennedy, Edward M. 1964
Box 2			Kennedy, Robert F. 1965
Box 2			McCarthy, Eugene J. 1965
Box 2			McGovern, George S. 1965
Box 2			McKeldin, Theodore R. 1952, 1958, 1963-1966
Box 2			McNamara, Pat 1965
Box 2			Mencken, H. L. 1921-1925, 1928-1930, undated
Box 2			Nelson, S. Page undated
Box 2			Radcliffe, George L. 1961, 1965 undated
Box 2			Shusterman, Abraham 1965-1966
Box 2			Smith, Michael Paul 1960, 1963-1964
Box 2			Stevenson, Adlai E. 1963
Box 2			Tawes, J. MIllard 1963-1966, undated
Box 2			Tyler, Herbert H. 1962
Box 2			Washington Post 1963-1965 - letters to the editor
Box 3			Miscellaneous A-Z 1919, 1935, 1947, 1954, 1957, 1960-1968 (3 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 3		Certificates 1924, 1957-1959, 1963, undated - membership and special recognition certificates
		Clippings about Shecter
Box 3			Reviews of I Take Care of My Friends 1936
Box 3			Reviews of Window Shopping 1936
Box 3			Miscellaneous 1928-1929, 1932, 1935-1940, 1947, 1954-1956, 1959-1966, undated (2 folders)
Box 3		Grace, Hymns, and Blessings Compiled and Arranged by Rabbi Ch. M. Brecher 1972 - given to Shecter at a tribute to Rabbi Samuel Rosenblatt
Box 3		Flongs undated - plaster moulds used to cast a stereotype plate in steretyping printing
Box 3		Newsletters 1929-1931
Box 3		Photographs 1953, 1956, 1962-1966 - candid shots with family, friends, and important people like Lyndon B. Johnson (2 folders)
Box 3		Programs 1929, 1936-1938, 1961, 1964, undated
Box 3		Miscellaneous 1938, 1965, undated - contract, business card, biography.

	Photographs
Box 3		Movie stills A-D (2 folders)
Box 4		Movie stills D-T (6 folders)
Box 4		Movie stills, untitled
Box 4		Publicity photos A-Z (4 folders)
Oversize 1		Publicity photos - group photo of the cast of The Ten Commandments on opening night

	Printed materials
		Advertising Club of Baltimore/Civic Award Committee
Box 5			Newsletters 1947-1956
Box 5			Clippings about 1934-1941, 1947-1956 - about the club and its annual Man of the Year luncheon
Box 5			Programs for club events 1936, 1951-1954
Oversize 1			Miscellaneous 1946-1948, 1951-1955
		American Jewish Congress
Box 5			Clippings about 1952-1953, 1957, 1960-1961, 1964, undated
Box 5			Programs for congress events 1956-1957, undated
Box 5			Miscellaneous 1953, 1957
		American Jewish Congress: Genocide Convention
Box 5			Clippings about 1960-1964, undated
Box 5			Miscellaneous 1962-1963

	Writings
Box 5		Advertisements 1928, circa 1962, undated - created by Shecter to promote various products
Oversize 2		Advertisements 1923, 1926-1927, 1947
Box 5		Articles 1928-1931, 1935-1938, 1946, 1957, 1961-1964, 1968, undated - articles about Advertising Club, AJC, and the importance of the US Congress ratifying the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide (2 folders)
Oversize 2		Articles undated
		Book, Highlights of 1967
Box 5			Query letters from Shecter (2 folders)
			Responses
Box 5				Aiken, George D.
Box 5				Allott, Gordon
Box 5				Bayh, Birch
Box 5				Brewster, Daniel
Box 5				Brooke, Edward W.
Box 6				Brooke, Edward W.
Box 6				Church, Frank
Box 6				Clark, Joseph S.
Box 6				Dodd, Thomas J. (2 folders)
Box 6				Dominick, Peter H.
Box 6				Ellender, Allen J. (2 folders)
Box 6				Fulbright, J. W.
Box 6				Griffin, Robert P.
Box 6				Harris, Fred
Box 6				Hartke, Vance
Box 6				Jackson, Henry M.
Box 6				Kennedy, Edward M.
Box 6				Kennedy, Robert F.
Box 6				Long, Russell B.
Box 6				Magnuson, Warren G.
Box 7				McClellen, John L.
Box 7				McGovern, George S.
Box 7				Mondale, Walter F.
Box 7				Moss, Frank E.
Box 7				Muskie, Edmund S.
Box 7				Pastore, John O.
Box 7				Pell, Claiborne
Box 7				Randolph, Jennings (2 folders)
Box 7				Scott, Hugh
Box 7				Sparkman, John
Box 7				Symington, W. Stuart
Box 7				Thurmond, Strom
Box 7				Tydings, Joseph D.
Box 7				Yarborough, Ralph
Box 7				Miscellaneous, B-G
Box 8				Miscellaneous, H-W (2 folders)
Oversize 1			Booklet, Dossier on Eichmann by Louis Shecter 1961 - created for a conference held by the AJC
			Plays
Box 8				I Can Take Care of My Friends 1937 (2 folders)
Box 8				She Ate Her Cake circa 1940
Box 8				Window Shopping circa 1940
Box 8			Press releases 1939, 1946, 1951-1957, 1962-1965, undated - press releases Shecter wrote about the groups in which he was involved
Box 8			Speeches 1932, 1946-1964, undated - completed and drafts of speeches he gave at group functions (2 folders)

Return to top