Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Sheehan, William F. (William Francis), 1859-1917. |
| Title: | William F. Sheehan Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1891-1910 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear feet |
| Abstract: | American politician, lieutenant governor of New York. Collection consists primarily of correspondence. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
William F. Sheehan (1895-1917) was an American lawyer and politician from New York. Born in Buffalo, New York, he graduated from St. Joseph's College and was admitted to the bar in 1881. He practiced in Buffalo from 1881 to 1895 and in New York City from 1895 until his death. He directed several companies, and served in the New York State Assembly from 1885 to 1891, holding the post of Speaker in 1891. Sheehan was Lieutenant Governor of New York State from 1892 to 1895. He was very active in Democratic politics all his life on both the state and national levels. He was a member of the Democratic State Committee from 1889 to 1893 and of the Democratic National Committee in 1891 and 1896; he was also a delegate to the Democratic National Convention from New York twice (1892, 1912) and to the New York state constitutional convention in 1915.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The William F. Sheehan Papers consists of correspondence written to and by Sheehan and several newspaper clippings relating to some of the correspondents. The bulk of the letters are from around 1904 and are concerned with Theodore Roosevelt. Other letters concern personal matters, the state of the Democratic Party in New York and nationally, and local political matters. Some of the more interesting correspondents include E.H. Harriman, Adlai Stevenson, Daniel A. Lamont, Archibishop Michael Corrigan, New York Times editor Charles Ransom Miller, John C. Spooner, Arthur P. Gorman, James W. Gerard, Governor of Minnesota John Lind, James A. O'Gorman and Henry L. Stimson.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
William F. Sheehan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 1964-1965.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001
Revision history: 8 Nov 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC);
9 Oct 2014 - inventory added (MRC)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | General 1891-1894, 1896-1904, 1906-1916, 1919 (15 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | General undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||