George Shove Account Book An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Nothing is known of George Shove other than the information given in the collection. He was evidently a general merchant, selling everything from molasses to nails. The location of his store cannot be definitively determined, but if he is of the same family as the creators of the Shove, Bowen and Shove Account Book (see Related Material below), it may have been in Freetown, Massachusetts or thereabouts.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Shove Account Book consists of one volume, a ledger containing credits and debits for various patrons of the merchant George Shove. Items sold include molasses, rum, sugar, shoes, corn, flaxseed and cloth. Items listed in the credit column include wood, coal, "days worked," curing and tanning services, and hoops (whether dress or barrel is not specified). Occasionally food items are listed, such as herring and "a pig."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top