Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Suggest a change or correction |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Spanish Forger |
| Title: | Spanish Forger Illumination |
| Inclusive Dates: | end of 19th century |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | Detailed medieval-style illumination portraying 15th-century French court |
| Language: | No text |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Spanish Forger, whose real name is unknown, was a painter active in France in the late 19th century. Self-taught in the styles and pigments of the medieval era, he initially came to light as a forger of Spanish-style miniatures but later became recognized as an artist in his own right.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Spanish Forger Illumination consists of an oblong medieval-style painting on vellum. The illustration portrays the French court of Charles VII (1403-1461) and Marie d'Anjou (1404-1463). Charles is holding a sceptre and Marie has a small white dog on her lap. The royal couple is surrounded by courtiers, musicians, etc. A castle is in the background. Like a large number of fakes attributed to the Spanish Forger, the miniature is painted on an original sixteenth-century parchment leaf from a choir book. The miniature has all the major elements characteristic of the Spanish Forger's fakes, including gold overlap from applying gold last (medieval illuminators applied gold before color), as well as exaggerated head tilts and unusually low cleavage.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Spanish Forger Illumination,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 6 Dec 2024
Revision history: