Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Speed, John. |
| Title: | John Speed Maps of England |
| Inclusive Dates: | between 1603 and 1625 |
| Quantity: | 6 items |
| Abstract: | maps |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
John Speed (1551 or 1552-1629) was an English cartographer, chronologer and historian. Under James VI and I, Speed was tasked with collecting and revising the histories, topographies and maps of Great Britain (encompassing England, Scotland and Wales) which were united under James' rule.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The John Speed Maps of England consists of six maps of counties and regions of England: Berkshire, Cornwall, Gloucestershire, Lancaster, Middlesex, and Sussex.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
John Speed Maps,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of David Jan Baker, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 19 Jul 2024
Revision history: