Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Speer, Grant.
Title:	Grant Speer Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1911-1914
Quantity:	1.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, photo album, and printed material documenting a Methodist minister's trip to Europe and "the Holy Land."
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

Grant W. Speer (1869-1955) was an American Methodist preacher in Ohio. He was the pastor of Central Christian Church in Toledo, Ohio for many years. In 1914, he took a trip to Europe and the Middle East to visit "the Holy Land." He is buried in Woodlawn Cemetery in Toledo.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grant Speer Papers span the years 1911-1914 and document a trip around Europe and the Middle East shortly before the outbreak of World War I. The collection is divided into three categories: Correspondence, Photographs, and Printed material.

Correspondence spans April-June 1914 and primarily consists of outgoing letters from Speer to his wife and children while on his trip. Correspondence is sent from various locations as Speer traveled Europe and the Middle East.

Photographs include photographs of Speer at three different ages, but all photographs are undated. The photograph album documents Speer's trip with photos primarily taken by Speer. Most of the photographs focus on landscapes, people, and historically important locations.

Printed material contains two books on Jerusalem and Palestine.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. The photo album and Jerusalem book are housed seperately from the rest of the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grant Speer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Clea and Robert Hupp, 2025.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 17 Jan 2025
Revision history: 2 Oct 2025 - created EAD finding aid and added inventory (CPS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		General Mar-Jun 1914 (4 folders)

	Photographs
Box 1		of Speer undated
Oversize 1		Photograph album from trip 1914

	Printed material
Oversize 2		Jerusalem 1914
			Note: This item's pages are fragile and require careful handling.
Box 1		The Real Palestine of To-day 1911

Return to top