Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Kitchen, Thomas. |
| Title: | SS Nevada Cabin and Deck Plans |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1890 |
| Quantity: | 2 items |
| Abstract: | maps |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The SS Nevada was an American steamship owned by millionaire lumber baron Duane L. Bliss which operated on Lake Tahoe. The 60-foot luxury vessel was lanched in 1890. After catching fire in 1892 the vessel was repaired and renamed the SS Tallac; it carried passengers, freight and mail on Lake Tahoe until the late 1930s. In 1940, Bliss had the aging vessel towed to the center of the lake and burned.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The SS Nevada Cabin and Deck Plans consists of two large hand-drawn diagrams of the cabin and deck layout.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
SS Nevada Cabin and Deck Plans,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of David Jan Baker, 2024.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 19 Jul 2024
Revision history: